Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lifetime Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Lifetime Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

The six-foot Lifetime Wave Kayak is specifically designed for kids ages five and up, or up to 130 pounds. The wide stance provides a stable paddling platform to keep your child safely in the kayak. Its sloped back end and swim-up step allows the rider to easily re-enter the kayak from the water. With scupper holes, multiple footrest positions, and great stability, the Wave is perfect for kids recreational kayaking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%90 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Sturdy

01/07/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 year old daughter saved up to purchase this Kayak. She has only played with it in our pond since it has been chilly. I was worried that the small Kayak would not be sturdy, but she didn't have any trouble board & un-boarding it. I think it's a great product for the price that you pay. When she bought it, it was on sale for $99 so I think it is well worth the money. We wanted a small kayak to be able to take with us on camping trips and out on the boat. This is perfect. My daughter chose the green one, which came with the paddle, but I have read that if you buy the yellow one it comes with the back rest also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Perfect kayak for young children.

07/12/2014
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this for my son, who is 4 1/2 and he loves it! We put him in the pool to test it out and he is ready for the river. Nice, solid construction and nice that it comes with the paddle and backrest. Very light to move around.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Nice for a child's beginner.

08/27/2014
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My just turning eight year old gran wanted a kayak for her birthday and this one had good ratings. Be sure to measure your child. She's 57" tall and 92 lbs. Her legs were too long so we returned it for a 10' kayak.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Superb kayak for 5-10 year olds

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this kayak after seeing a fleet of them at my five-year-old daughter's camp, and seeing how easily they were paddled by kids 5-10 years old. The stability is excellent, when swimming my daughter can pull herself on to it, and even the paddle is decently high quality. The handle on the front makes it easy to attach to my kayak with a rope, so I can pull her around if she gets tired. We attached the rope to a carabiner, so she can attach it herself while we're on the lake. Yesterday we had three little girls on it and it did fine. If you get more than one, they stack nicely. Can't believe it's this inexpensive.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Good kayak for the kids but...

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first saw this kayak in the Walmart store, but it was the display item. So I went on line to order this for my 8 yr old. When ordering this kayak it came up on walmart.com at 119.00 and the store display was 114.00. Ok, well I wasn't going to worry about the $5 difference. Next I got to choose from yellow, which was the one I saw on display, or orange. I opted for orange as we have a couple adult yellow kayaks and though that the orange would be different. It arrived to my walmart store a day early - which is great. Perfect condition BUT be warned, the orange one DOES NOT come with a back rest. The yellow one does. Why? I don't know. Same exact kayak, same exact price between yellow or orange on website but no back rest. Not that it's an amazing addition but it's definitely worth having. Now it looks like (as of today anyways) that you can't even buy the yellow one on-line. Only orange. My Walmart store is wonderful and allowed me to exchange the orange one for the display yellow kayak. So I'm pretty happy. Just be warned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Perfect for easy summer fun!

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 3 boys (5, 7, and 12) and we are often looking for fun inexpensive ways to spend our weekends. These are the perfect solution. We got one for each. The 5 year old picked on it up quickly, but tired easily. No problem. He jumped on dad's kayak and dad towed the empty kayak behind his. Our 7 year old loved it and managed to hold up for at least an hour or two. Our oldest had a blast and since he is only about 85lbs, he still has at least another year or two left on this. They stack easily and fit comfortably in the back of my Tahoe with the seat down. As far as getting them to the water, our 12 year old carried two of them down, so they are really manageable. We went don to the harbor, but I can't wait to take them to the lake, too. They seem like they'll really hold up until the kids outgrow them. Beyond that, this price beat out every other online retailer by $40-$50. If I could rate these higher than 5 stars, I would. Watching my boys on the water laughing and enjoying life? Priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Amazing Kayak for Kids

08/22/2013
By ,
MA/ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 yellow youth kayaks. They came with a foam seat back strap and a paddle. (We found the seat back strap was unnecessary.) They are light and very easy for little kids to manage on their own. Our kids LOVED them! Our 4 yo was self sufficient from the minute we brought them to the lake. Our big 12 yo was technically too big for them but he still was able to have fun with them. (They are meant for kids more in the 4-10 age range). We thought the price point was great. Walmart had the best price when we did the comparison. We picked them up at the store and were able to fit them in our Honda Pilot with the back seats flattened. We bought long rope with plenty of slack and tied the paddles to the kayaks to make sure they didn't get lost.
These kayaks are awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great First Kayak

08/13/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 8 year old Son. He loves it. It arrived on time, well packaged and not a scratch on it. We got the yellow one and it came with a back rest and a paddle. Looking forward to lots of fun on the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Why was it made with pre-formed 2 holes in it?

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like it, it was just what I wanted.. something I could carry, me being small, to the car and to the water all by myself. It is comfortable, my back hasn't been strained, and with the keel on bottom, it doesn't slide from side to side when paddled like some other small paddle boats. The paddle is even a high quality ! I had been looking for a kayak this size , not a sit upon, but couldn't find one. I just dont' understand why they manufacted this with two holes in the bottom, thus , once once's weight is in the boat, you are always sitting in a cold puddle of water. I also don't understand why they market this as a kayak when it's really a 'sit upon'..I have used it 30 min. a day every day and it is relaxing and wonderful.. but I'm now going to have to buy a wetsuit or somehow put fiberglass over those holes when summer is over, as I wanted to use it year round...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rhode Island
SoT Kayaks
Posted 07/30/2014
Just FYI, this is indeed a kayak, specifically of the "Sit-On-Top" variety. You can find these anywhere in full sizes up to 14' (from what I've seen) at outdoor stores like Dick's, EMS or REI. All SoT kayaks are made with these holes, called scupper holes. They are there to automatically bail the water out of the boat, but as you've seen, they also allow water into the boat. The idea is that the boat never takes on too much water to overcome its buoyancy, or add too much extra weight to paddle effectively. This is more of an issue with bigger boats that can hold more water. If you'd rather not have the holes, you can buy scupper plugs to keep the water out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Does not come with a back support seat

11/10/2012
By ,
Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The kayak itself is good, but it does NOT come with a back support seat. I was surprised as I own 3 kayaks (adult and kids) and they all came with back support and paddles. This kayak does have hooks where the back support would strap into, but no back support.
While the photograph shows no back support, I bought it on the basis of some reviews here which referred to a back support and the description never said "no back support". Kinda disappointed after spending over $100 on this. It should at least come with all the essentials. What good is a car without seats?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington, TX
yellow
Posted 05/06/2013
Other reviews of people who bought the yellow one say it comes with a backrest, what color did you buy? Maybe only the yellow one includes it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Bought for Seven Year Old

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this kayak as a gift for my son's seventh birthday.
It shipped for free quickly to my house - comes wrapped in clear plastic - thankfully it wasn't a surprise!
The kayak itself is perfect - I have no complaints. We took it to the river this weekend and have already logged several hours of fun - it never once flipped - two small kids can easily ride - very sturdy - kids loved jumping off and getting back on even in deep water wasn't an issue.
I will be ordering more.
My boys are 7, 5, 4. Even my 4 year old had no problems using this kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great little kayak for the kids

07/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kids are having a ball with this little kayak and there's not much damage they can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle
07/16/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our grandchildren love this kayak. Even the four year old was able to master getting around and controlling direction. This is a good investment. Now we want to get a bigger one for the adults.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Awsome

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trimmer and light weight than others. Even has molded hand places to carry it easy. Also
light weight a grandmother can carry! It has a backrest and a paddle with it. Quick delivery was just a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Youth kayak

10/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. Stable and tracks decent. Easy enough to use that my 5 year old was paddling around by himself within 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Awesome kayak for the money!!

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my son (55 lb., 10 years old) one of these for Christmas. He has used it several times on flat water with no issues and he loved it. Finally got up the nerve to put him on the river in it. Did a 5 mile float for Fathers Day with no issues at all. River has a few descent Class II rapids. Yak was very easy for him to control and never flipped it. This is a great addition for any family wanting to get the kids on the water in a kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Jr kayak

10/09/2014
By ,
Pollock Pines
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my grandson
Looks great came with back rest and paddle! Great deal!! He's 7 he'll love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great Kayak for the kids

08/08/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Kayak is durable and light. We purchased the yellow one because that one comes with a back rest. The backrest is not adjustable enough, so doesn't really do anything for my kids. They are 6 and 8 years old. Maybe when they are 12 the straps will be short enough to support them. They are adjustable, but only to a certain extent. Note: this is rated for 150 lbs max. Any heavier and it would probably deflate to much and not float that well. After you sit on it, the 3 or more plugs let some air out, but fills back up after you get off of it. Guess the plugs are to let water out if some gets inside the plastic. The plugs are on top, so not really any chance of getting water inside the plastic unless you loose the plugs.
Again, it's a great boat for the price! Go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Arrive exactly the way pictured. Well made.

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these kayaks for our grandkids because we live at a beach and at least a dozen kids have them and seemed to have great fun with them this summer. When I asked their parents where they bought them they all said WALMART.COM. So easy, shipped directly to our home, with a great price. Santa will be giving them soon, I'm sure they'll love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Love it

09/20/2012
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the kids and small adults! We were carrying the kayak on our boat and we broke down...mom paddled back home in the kid kayak to get he parts and we were on our way!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next