Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lifetime Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Lifetime Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

The six-foot Lifetime Wave Kayak is specifically designed for kids ages five and up, or up to 130 pounds. The wide stance provides a stable paddling platform to keep your child safely in the kayak. Its sloped back end and swim-up step allows the rider to easily re-enter the kayak from the water. With scupper holes, multiple footrest positions, and great stability, the Wave is perfect for kids recreational kayaking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%77 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Sturdy

01/07/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 year old daughter saved up to purchase this Kayak. She has only played with it in our pond since it has been chilly. I was worried that the small Kayak would not be sturdy, but she didn't have any trouble board & un-boarding it. I think it's a great product for the price that you pay. When she bought it, it was on sale for $99 so I think it is well worth the money. We wanted a small kayak to be able to take with us on camping trips and out on the boat. This is perfect. My daughter chose the green one, which came with the paddle, but I have read that if you buy the yellow one it comes with the back rest also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Superb kayak for 5-10 year olds

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this kayak after seeing a fleet of them at my five-year-old daughter's camp, and seeing how easily they were paddled by kids 5-10 years old. The stability is excellent, when swimming my daughter can pull herself on to it, and even the paddle is decently high quality. The handle on the front makes it easy to attach to my kayak with a rope, so I can pull her around if she gets tired. We attached the rope to a carabiner, so she can attach it herself while we're on the lake. Yesterday we had three little girls on it and it did fine. If you get more than one, they stack nicely. Can't believe it's this inexpensive.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Perfect kayak for young children.

07/12/2014
By ,
Southern Pines, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this for my son, who is 4 1/2 and he loves it! We put him in the pool to test it out and he is ready for the river. Nice, solid construction and nice that it comes with the paddle and backrest. Very light to move around.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Good kayak for the kids but...

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first saw this kayak in the Walmart store, but it was the display item. So I went on line to order this for my 8 yr old. When ordering this kayak it came up on walmart.com at 119.00 and the store display was 114.00. Ok, well I wasn't going to worry about the $5 difference. Next I got to choose from yellow, which was the one I saw on display, or orange. I opted for orange as we have a couple adult yellow kayaks and though that the orange would be different. It arrived to my walmart store a day early - which is great. Perfect condition BUT be warned, the orange one DOES NOT come with a back rest. The yellow one does. Why? I don't know. Same exact kayak, same exact price between yellow or orange on website but no back rest. Not that it's an amazing addition but it's definitely worth having. Now it looks like (as of today anyways) that you can't even buy the yellow one on-line. Only orange. My Walmart store is wonderful and allowed me to exchange the orange one for the display yellow kayak. So I'm pretty happy. Just be warned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Why was it made with pre-formed 2 holes in it?

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like it, it was just what I wanted.. something I could carry, me being small, to the car and to the water all by myself. It is comfortable, my back hasn't been strained, and with the keel on bottom, it doesn't slide from side to side when paddled like some other small paddle boats. The paddle is even a high quality ! I had been looking for a kayak this size , not a sit upon, but couldn't find one. I just dont' understand why they manufacted this with two holes in the bottom, thus , once once's weight is in the boat, you are always sitting in a cold puddle of water. I also don't understand why they market this as a kayak when it's really a 'sit upon'..I have used it 30 min. a day every day and it is relaxing and wonderful.. but I'm now going to have to buy a wetsuit or somehow put fiberglass over those holes when summer is over, as I wanted to use it year round...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Awesome kayak for the money!!

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my son (55 lb., 10 years old) one of these for Christmas. He has used it several times on flat water with no issues and he loved it. Finally got up the nerve to put him on the river in it. Did a 5 mile float for Fathers Day with no issues at all. River has a few descent Class II rapids. Yak was very easy for him to control and never flipped it. This is a great addition for any family wanting to get the kids on the water in a kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Bought for Seven Year Old

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this kayak as a gift for my son's seventh birthday.
It shipped for free quickly to my house - comes wrapped in clear plastic - thankfully it wasn't a surprise!
The kayak itself is perfect - I have no complaints. We took it to the river this weekend and have already logged several hours of fun - it never once flipped - two small kids can easily ride - very sturdy - kids loved jumping off and getting back on even in deep water wasn't an issue.
I will be ordering more.
My boys are 7, 5, 4. Even my 4 year old had no problems using this kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great youth kayak

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 yr old used this kayak at camp and begged me to buy one. We purchased this online at Wal-Mart. It came quickly. It had a few scratches from shipping (it is wrapped only in plastic and does not come in a box). But I would expect it to get scratched quickly from use anyways. My son and his friends immediately put the kayak in the water and used it. They had a great time. Very lightweight and easy for them to use without adult assistance. I would highly recommend. Make sure you order the model with the backrest...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Fantastic for small children

07/22/2014
By ,
Gassaway, wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My three year old granddaughter literally was like a duck in water with this. It is super stable and very easy to paddle. We love it and may purchase another soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son went at it like a pro! We have never kayaked in our life and had a blast! We did take a couple with us that had some experience but everything was so smooth and he did amazing. Could not tell at all it was his first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Amazing Kayak for Kids

08/22/2013
By ,
MA/ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 yellow youth kayaks. They came with a foam seat back strap and a paddle. (We found the seat back strap was unnecessary.) They are light and very easy for little kids to manage on their own. Our kids LOVED them! Our 4 yo was self sufficient from the minute we brought them to the lake. Our big 12 yo was technically too big for them but he still was able to have fun with them. (They are meant for kids more in the 4-10 age range). We thought the price point was great. Walmart had the best price when we did the comparison. We picked them up at the store and were able to fit them in our Honda Pilot with the back seats flattened. We bought long rope with plenty of slack and tied the paddles to the kayaks to make sure they didn't get lost.
These kayaks are awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great beginner kayak

06/13/2014
By ,
Houston, tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very easy to paddle but will outgrow it within the year. It is best for 5-9 year olds. My 6 year old grandson loves it but having to exchange one for a bigger one for the 11 year old.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great Kayak for young children

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter's 6th birthday and she loves it!! I was at first afraid being so young and only using one once last year but she did excellent and picked it up real fast again. It comes with a back rest but the foam tore apart after one use, other than that it's probably the thing I've invested in for her, and she's so tiny that she can use this for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Awsome

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trimmer and light weight than others. Even has molded hand places to carry it easy. Also
light weight a grandmother can carry! It has a backrest and a paddle with it. Quick delivery was just a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great starter kayak

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son(8) loves this kayak and his little sister(5) is starting to take it out by herself. Worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Good kayak for under 60-pound child

07/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great kayak for children weighing 60 pounds or less!
Our 50-pound grandson loves this kayak!
Kayak tips easily if more than 60 pounds climbs aboard.
The paddles that came with the kayak are awesome!
The kayak tipped as soon as my 140-pounds climbed aboard;
however, I did manage to balance on the kayak to keep from tipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

great kayak for kids

07/04/2014
By ,
belmont michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fedex deliverer boasted this was his first boat delivery. I was very happy with this kayak . Gave it to my granddaughter for her eight birthday.she will use it lots at the cottage. She loves kayaking
but needed a smaller one. The lifetime has many features the pelican and dolphin for kids do not have. Flat bottom allows standing, swimming and climbing back on. Overall quality much better.she will have years of enjoyment at the lake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Really cute kayak

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the yellow kayak for my kids age 4 and 5. They love it! It seems safe though they wear life jackets. I highly recommend. Just a side note, we live in Hawaii and the cost to ship was ridiculous. There is also no ship to store option which is lame because they obviously ship items here everyday. On the bright side, we live in Hawaii and my kids can enjoy the kayak at gorgeous beaches almost any day of the year. The yellow kayak comes with back support.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Great First Kayak

08/13/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 8 year old Son. He loves it. It arrived on time, well packaged and not a scratch on it. We got the yellow one and it came with a back rest and a paddle. Looking forward to lots of fun on the water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lifetime, 6', 1-Man Wave, Youth Kayak, Orange, with Bonus Paddle

Love our new toy!

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kayak was a birthday gift to my son and he loves it! We have been kayaking everyday since its arrival.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next