Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

The original LeapPad1 Explorer is the personalized learning tablet just for kids with a built-in camera and video recorder. As 2012 winner of the Educational Toy of the Year, this green LeapPad offers limitless learning and endless play through the LeapFrog Explorer Library of hundreds of cartridge games and activities with innovative creativity and reading apps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation87%152 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

LeapPad Explorer Tablet - A mom's perspective

09/04/2011
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I am a mother to 2 kids, 3 ½ and 6 and write at MommyGoggles.com
I like to think of the new LeapPad Explorer as the iPad for kids. Books, games, video, pictures, apps – and lots more!
The screen quality on the LeapPad Explorer is bright and amazing!
With Tucker being left handed, one of the first things that I looked at, was to see if the attached stylus is made for right handed, left handed, or versatile for both. This was one thing that we loved about the original Leapster verses the new Leapster Explorer.
Unfortunately the LeapPad Explorer is made for right handed kids, with no option to switch it over to the left side like the Leapster Explorer had, however the attached stylus is a nice length so it can be used right handed or left. The only drawback is that if your child is left handed, the string from the stylus will lay directly over the screen.
APPS
There are 4 apps included when you buy the LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer. From the award winning educational toy company comes LeapPad, the learning tablet just for kids. With a built-in camera, and a library of 100+ games and activities, the durable LeapPad features innovative apps that inspire creativity and turn reading into fun and games. It’s a new way to learn, a new way to play – a new way to unlock your child’s potential!
CAMERA
There are a lot of games within the LeapPad Explorer. One that Tucker has a lot of fun with , as did Kambry, is the LeapPad Camera and Video Recorder. With this, they can take a picture using the camera on the back, and go in to the LeapPad Photo Lab and play around with the images they take.
ART STUDIO
I am pretty impressed with the quality of the pictures for a kids’ learning toy. Before I handed the LeapPad back to Tucker, I thought I’d play around, then show him what I made. Here’s what had him giggling for a while.
They can take pictures of each other and add fun things to the pictures. Maybe Kambry wants to be a pirate – she can create her own fairy tale.
BOOKS
The LeapPad Explorer has amazing interactive books. This has to be probably my favorite feature of the LeapPad! Within the ‘My Books’ menu, there is a bookshelf where you can pick out what book they want to read, or read along with.
GLOSSARY
If your little one doesn’t know how to pronounce the word, no worries, there is a glossary that when you tap on the word – it literally sounds it out for them!
All you have to do is tap on a word and it will sound it out for you, as well as use it in a sentence.
Video of glossary: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMjnDawXY0c
CARTRIDGES
The LeapPad Explorer has a cartridge slot. One thing that I was curious about was ‘Do you have to buy all new cartridges if you already have Leapster Explorer cartridges?’ The answer is NO! You can use those cartridges that your kids use with their Leapster Explorer, with the LeapPad. LeapPad works with all Leapster Explorer™ and LeapFrog Explorer™ cartridge games and downloadable apps—more than 100 learning adventures await!* Touch the screen with a finger, tap it with the stylus or turn, twist and shake the tablet for exciting motion-based play!
GAMES
As with the Leapster Explorer, the LeapPad Explorer has games. One of my kids’ favorite games is Jewel Train 2. This is a fun game that involves the kids thought process, as well as their memory. I have found myself playing this when the kids are in bed. Hey, at least I admit it.
Overall: WE LOVE the LeapPad Explorer!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 2 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Exceeds Expectations!

08/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't think it was possible for LeapFrog to come out with a tech toy more comprehensive than the Explorer. Somehow they've outdone themselves with LeapPad. While we received one from LeapFrog for review purposes (all options are 100% my own), I plan to purchase a 2nd for Christmas for my daughter.
With the biggest, brightest screen yet and the built-in tilt sensor, it's apparent out of the box LeapPad is a winner. Tilt it and the pet goes sliding across the screen making the kids giggle. And while it's fun for them to take pictures and videos of themselves and their family and create an "All About Me" story featuring their favorite subject, LeapPad lives up to the educational expectations typical of a LeapFrog product. For example, the interactive books include three reading levels which automatically adjust as your child progresses.
Completely customizable, users can create a profile complete with a picture of themselves making even the home screen fun as they sign in by clicking on their own picture. The pad works both with fingers and a stylus, and luckily a stylus tether is included. On of my favorite features as an educator is "Pet Pad," and included app allowing users to play with and customize their pets. While some like "Flingo" are fun using the tilt sensor to fling your pet, "Trick Time" offers handwriting practice forcing small fingers to trace letters accurately before moving on.
I would absolutely recommend LeapPad for it's intended age group, 4-9 and look forward to having two (and avoiding arguments).
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, Pink
4.4 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
 
 
+64points
Review 3 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

my daughter takes it everywhere

09/09/2011
By ,
Lake Arrowhead CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My name is Amanda and I blog at MommyMandy. We received the LeapFrog LeapPad to review and right away my five year old couldn't wait to play with it!
The first thing I noticed was that the LeapPad came with two stylus and one has an attachable cord. This I was excited about because I knew it would not easily be lost.
We then set Sarah up with her own account. It's great because with the built in camera we took her picture to personalize her account.
The screen is 5 inches and has a 480x272 pixel resolution. I was impressed with the size of the screen and it fits perfectly in little ones hands.
The LeapPad has a built in 2GB memory and also has a built in camera, video recorder and microphone making it very versatile!
We love that the LeapPad also uses the LeapFrog Explorer cartridges and apps., and in a way the LeapPad is similar to the explorer. Kids can read stories, play games, color, draw and so much more. Like the Explorer I love the option of uploading apps (games# right onto the system, when traveling you don't have to worry about lost cartridges.
The LeapPad does come with installed games #and of course you can add many more to it). It has four apps installed.
Pet Pad, Story Studio, Art Studio, and one app of your choice.
The LeapPad is for ages 4 to 9, but I can see 3 year olds loving the coloring and drawing. You can purchase the leapPad in green or pink at many local retailers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 4 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

LeapPad is incredible for toddlers learning!

09/26/2011
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutely LOVE it! First, it works with the Leapster Explorer games they already own. They boys love that they can still play their favorite games. It has a five inch touch screen that can sense either the included stylus, or in my boys case, little fingers, and it has great resolution. By the end of the year, the LeapPad will have over 100 learning games, digital books and apps, LeapFrog's largest library ever.
On top of the new expanded screen, the LeapPad has a built in camera, video recorder and microphone. My boys can't get enough of these! They can take pictures and add effects like adding a mustache or stretching and swirling their heads. Story Studio - All About Me allows them to take pictures and record their voice to create stories about themselves. My boys can't get enough of these, fortunately the LeapPad holds 120 minutes of video or 30,000 pictures. All the stories, pictures, videos and art they create can be uploaded to the family computer through LeapFrog Connect so they can be cherished forever.
The LeapPad also has a built-in accelerometer which senses the motion of the LeapPad to allow the boys ways to interact with the material like never before. Just like my iPad, they can tilt the LeapPad and see that reflected on the screen. I can't wait to see all the Exciting new games!
Best of all, The LeapPad help us stay on top of our children's learning. Each time the LeapPad is connected to the computer, their activity is downloaded to the LeapFrog Learning Path. We have it set up to email us progress reports. LeapFrog Learning Path lets us know things like how long each child has played, what kind of questions they are answering and achievements they have reached, and help us identify not only areas in which they excel, but also places they may need a little extra help. It helps us to help them!
Yes, it's only September, but Santa is already thinking about buying a few more LeapPads! I'm certain they'll be a HUGE hit with my boys this year!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green
11/03/2011
By ,
Fort Walton Beach , FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Daughter was suppose to get this for Christmas but we decided to give it to her for her 5th birthday , and even then she got it early , well she LOVES it , has been playing for 30 mins straight . I have to tell her BED TIME , its deff worth it , the only thing is I think it should come with the AC adapter that way you aren't wasting batteries right away .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

LeapPad

10/26/2011
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a christmas present, so only I have played with it. It comes with Pet pad where your child can trace letters, art studio and story studio. We chose a free train game. A must is the $20 ultra ebook, these are the ones with the 3 reading levels, sounding out words etc. But there are only 3 available now. We also got $8 book called Learn to Read 1 and the Mr Pencil cartridge. Owning a computer for this item is a must. you have to connect to the internet to download. It is time consuming to set up, so don't wrap it up without getting it ready first! Downloads may be purchased with the code cards or your credit card online. We purchased rechargeable batteries. As much as I have played with it/synced it to the computer after the kids have gone to bed, it is still going....It's been a week now.
My only gripe is the cost to put it all together, but I see the future and potential in available downloads.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Leapfrog Leappad is Awesome!!

08/18/2011
By ,
Lansing,Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did not order the leappad from Walmart. We ordered it through Leapfrog.com on Monday. No one else had it so we can order it at the time.We did over night shipping. When we order the leappad bundle for $159.99. The bundle pack is two games and a $20.00 app center. We also order the headset for $12.99 The headset is very good. He plays his Leappad every day. This toy is awesome. He will take pictures and they turn out great too. I am very happy with this product and glad we got it for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 8 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Better than the Leapster Explorer....

09/12/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son adores his Leappad. I bought it for him to replace his Explorer and because he really wanted it and he loves it. He takes it everywhere, he even sleeps with it. I wish in a way it had a charger like the Explorer did, but Duracell rechargeable batteries do wonders, get two sets and your all set. You can have one in the game while he plays and one charging all the time. It's a great system and seems just as durable as the Explorer was. The only drawback that I had through the whole process was changing his apps over to the Leappad, but the kind people at Leapfrog after a few emails and a call fixed the whole thing, they were very helpful. He's three so I think anyone whose children are 3-9 should consider buying this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Great toy for preschoolers

09/04/2011
By ,
Cary, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter is almost 4 and has had her leap pad for a couple of weeks. She loves playing with it. I am technologically inept, but I was able to follow the instructions and get it set up very easily. We did burn through 4 "AA" batteries in one day, though. We were tavelling (2 planes rides, airport, etc) and it was heavily used. But it was a lifesaver since it kept her occupied flying across the country. It has also come in handy keeping her entertained when we are dining out. I do wish it came with more games. I downloaded some more apps and a video. The apps are $7.50-$10 each, so it can add up quite quickly. But I would purchase this again in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 10 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Power up issues with 2 units, now no refund

03/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked for the hottest toy out there this Christmas- the Leappad. We couldn't find it local, but I came across it here two days before Christmas, so I figured, great a late present. Received it and the kids loved it! Every few days they had an issue powering it up, but when i would try it, it would turn on, and figured they forgot to charge the batteries, or some such thing. Then it happened right when I was with them, and sure enough, push the power button and no response. I called in and talked to a tech, he had me remove the batteries and clean the connections with an eraser, I complied, knowing this would not fix it, but of course it powered up. I thanked him, but told him we both knew this was not the issue since it hadn't powered up even with the adapter plugged in. Upon pressing him, he admitted that this was an issue they were dealing with on other leappads, and he assured me they would take care of it if it happened again. Sure enough, a day or two later it happened again. They kindly replaced the unit with a new one (note: with no statement that if I took another one I could not get a refund if the next one failed). You guessed it- the new one failed the first morning. I immediately called and asked for a refund, offering to pack up all the parts from the original and second one if they would send me a box. I was told that in reward for me giving them another chance, they would not issue a refund because I had a replacement, refunds only given with the original!!! I'm not happy, and I will continue to tell my story until I get a refund!! Thanks, Dean
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Review 11 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

good for the money

09/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
love leap pad products and this seems to be a well made product my child loves it and while he is only 3 and below the age reccomendation he uses our ipad very easily but seems to have trouble with some of these games. Also the apps are WAY to expensive keep in mind when u but this that is only comes with a few apps and to get more you have to pay between $7-10+ dollars each new game! so while i dont want my 3 year old to break my $500 ipad i like that it has hundreds of free apps that amuse and teach him. his $100 leappad will end up costing us just as much i fear in the long run
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Review 12 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green
09/28/2011
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With this product, there should have been an ac adapter. Little kids will run down the batteries very fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 13 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Great Product!

10/21/2011
By ,
Granbury,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad they came out something for the kids! My son has autism and responds well to touchscreen. I was dreading paying 500-800 dollars for the ipad but then leafrog came out with this. it is great! it also it not cheap looking and is durable cause my son can get rough with toys sometimes. I could not thank leapfrog enough for coming out with a great product. its very easy to download the apps and games. it walks you through it and was very easy. if you have a child with autism i would highly reccomend this product. it also will entertain you child at doctors offices and on trips. you can feel comfortable giving you child this product beacuse it educational. also the camera and video recorder is great and fun and kids can edit the pictures! Great product! thanks leapfrog!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Leapfrog AC Adapter

04/16/2012
By ,
Galveston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wanted to let all the parents out there know about the "Leapfrog AC Adapter"(IT WORKS WITH ALL LEAPFROG SYSTEMS!!!!!). You can purchase this item by itself, if you dont have it, or in a bundle that walmart.com offers including: AC Adapter, LeapPad, and carrying case for $129. Buying this charger is essential because you'll save a lot of money on batteries and you can get an outlet converter adapter for your car so you can plug it in while on road trips. That way you can get rechargeable batteries for instances when u absolutely cannot plug the game in. I saw about 20 different reviews where parents complained about battery usage, guess they never did research on the product to find out if there was a charger available...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/04/2012
Wow! I'm so glad you posted this because I was thinking the same thing when reading all the complaints about the batteries..Yes everyone there is a charger available for like $10!
THanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Better Than I Expected & I Knew It Would Be Great.

08/21/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received a LeapPad for review purposes from Leapfrog and are already HUGE fans of LeapFrog's educational games, toys and videos. We did receive the LeapPad for review purposes, but the thoughts, opinions and my experience with the system that I express here are solely my own.
We have had the Leapster Explorer for a year or so and my 4 and half year old loves it. We have about 8 or nine games for the Leapster Explorer and several of the Leaplets you can download, so I would think it's fair to say we know the learning system pretty well and really are fans of the Leapster Explorer... thus my anticipation of the new LeapPad. I was excited to see how LeapFrog was going to top it, so to speak.
I had no idea that the LeapFrog LeapPad would be as great as it is or anticipate how quickly my little one would take to it.
I will just highlight the things we like best about the LeapPad and anything we don't like...
What We Like:
*Overall size and feel of the device. It's kid friendly without being too bulky. The screen is big & bright and it's really neat how you can customize your sign in with a picture.
*Built in camera. In the Leapster Explorer it's an add-on and in my opinion makes the device a little bulky. We leave ours on all the time and since it is on there, the case designed for the Leapster Explorer doesn't zip all the way around easily.
*Interactivity: My 4.5 year old loves the fact that you can twist, turn and shake it to interact in the games. She got a super huge kick out of the fact that you blow into the microphone to blow dry your pet in the PetPad app.
*The Apps & Games: As I mentioned above, we have begun to build up quite the library of books, leaplet games and cartridge games for our Leapster Explorer and those games can be used on the new LeapPad. From my 4.5 year olds perspective, there are lots of fun games to play. From my perspective as a parent, I like the fact I can shop for games, etc. based on what area of learning I would like for my child to focus on.
*Adjust To Your Child's Learning: Just like the Leapster Explorer, the games have various levels which automatically adjust to your child learning level and progress.
*Extra Stylus: The stylus can be tethered or not and you get a back-up one in case you lose or break one.
What We Don't Like:
*Invest In Some Good Rechargeable Batteries: Like any battery-powered handheld gaming or learning device, it does seem to run through batteries fairly quickly. We plan on investing in some really good rechargeable batteries.
*Tethered Stylus: I know a lot of parents will really like the option to tether the stylus, but for my 4.5 year old, we noticed than when she has the stylus tethered, she holds it with an improper "pencil-grasp" and really seems to hold the stylus very awkwardly... this is the case for the Leapster Explorer as well. Untethered she doesn't seem to have any problems and she holds the stylus lightly and with a "proper pencil-grasp". As parents who had a little one whose grasp didn't develop naturally, this is important to us, we will risk losing a stylus. I just wanted to point this out, it has nothing to do with the educational value or quality of the LeapPad... just something that quickly affect a little one who is just learning printing skills.
Age Recommendations:
My opinion would be the manufacturer's suggested starting age of 4. One for the safety and handling aspect...this is almost a $100 (& worth it) item and really I think that waiting until 4 can really make sure your child gets what they should out of the LeapPad and protects your investment a bit. I know my daughter would have been much rougher on the system a year ago than she is now. Also, all of the games, etc. that are for the Explorer items are for 4 and up, some even older. We did have our Leapster Explorer at 3.5, but my daughter just now gets how to work the camera and make stories, etc. on her own. I'm not saying a 3 year couldn't play the games... my kiddo could (with some help), I just feel like waiting until as close to 4 as possible might be better.
Overall Thoughts:
I would definitely recommend the LeapPad to someone looking for a fun learning system for their child. It's a great supplement to things they may be learning at school or home and is a fun way for them to learn touchpad and over all "techy" skills that they will need to know. It's a huge hit at our house and my 4.5 year old did state that she likes it better than her Leapster Explorer, which was a total shock to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+237points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/03/2011
So this item says system requirements are high speed internet. Is this not portable? Or does it need to be plugged into a computer to work?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Love, Love, Love IT!!!!!!

09/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 yr old a month a go and he has not put it down yet! He LOVES it! He mainly uses the alphabet stew app and Mr. Penicl for now. When he masters those 2 we will add more apps. I also bought the Dora eboon and the Letter factory movie(great for road trips). I purchased lithium batteries at first and thery were dead within a weeks time, so I would suggest buying rechargable batteries especially if your child will use the camera a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 17 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

LeapPad review

10/24/2011
By ,
Lone Star State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would like to first laugh at the one star review because "she" didn't like it, but her kid did. Moving on, buy this! By far the best educational toy on the market thus far. The best part? Your child will continue to learn from it for many years and not get bored. With the digital and touch technology of today your child could spend hours interested in the LeapPad. My only dislike is not in the toy iteslf, but the price of the games. I still bought it and extra games, so it didn't bother me that much. Buy, buy, buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 18 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

Only learning tablet that keeps my son interested

04/23/2012
By ,
Lake forest, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back on dec 2011 we got our son the mobie go and v tec reading. Didnt care about the v tec reading and loved the mobie go at first. but he found it uninteresting and never asked to play with after about a week. he mastered the games we got him and got borad. But sence we got him the leap pad he draws in the art studio plays learning games that help him trace letters numbers and shapes. he asks to play with it everyday and is very proud of him self when the complets something. he jst loves it! we got it for him for his 3rd bday. I know it says 4 and up but he already knows his abc's numbers 1-20 his shapes and how to sound out the letters. so we figured he would be ready for it. and he was. it does eat up battiers but just buy them at coscto. also get the a/c adapter for when there playing at home. but if the batterie thing doesnt bother me so much (yet) because he just loves it and i like to see him happy and learning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green

my little girl loves it!

08/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the camera on the leap pad is really clear. the screen in huge. my daughter loves taking pictures and videos. she loves pet that you can make. there so much you can do on the leappad. we orderd it from the leapfrog site. it was the bundle. it came with the pad and two $20.00app download cards.
with reg shipping it was $147.00. We are very happy with it. the only reason i didnt put 5stars for meets expectations is because i thought it cam with the mickey anamation studio. i found out you have to buy it seprate and its not even out yet. we really wanted that app/game. its still a really great learning toy. its everything in one and more! its like the leapster explorer,camera,video camera and tag in one! you dont have all those books to store eather. there was never enough room on the tag for all her books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer Learning Tablet, green
09/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it and so does my 4 year old son! Only con is it needs a rechargeable batterie pack it goes through batteries quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next