Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Garmin Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Featuring free Lifetime Map and Traffic updates, the Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS offers the most up-to-date maps, points of interest and navigation information available at your fingertips. Traffic information is updated constantly, and map updates are available for download up to four times a year. The new Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is less than 9 mm thick, and has a full glass 4.3" diagonal multi-touch display. Dual orientation capabilities allow you to use the nuvi 3790LMT either horizontally or vertically, fitting smartly in your hand when walking. The sleek design of this Garmin GPS also disappears neatly into your pocket or purse. With a rechargeable lithium-ion battery, it's ready to guide you by car or foot. With trafficTrends, your nuvi 3790LMT automatically learns daytime trends for traffic flow to improve your routes, and better predict your estimated time of arrival based on time of day and day of week.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation87%87 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

The refurbished 3790LMT is a fantastic deal.

04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a refurbished 3790LMT from Walmart to replace my old Garmin 855 and I love it. The price/performance ratio is fantastic. If it didn't come in a box marked "Refurbished" I would have thought it was brand new. I haven't had any problems with it except for some difficulty installing software (not firmware) updates. This problem is not peculiar to this model and is fairly common in Garmin automotive GPS units. The updates did finally install but it can be frustrating if it's your first experience with Garmin software updates. I should mention that the software updates are optional and not critical to the operation of the GPS. Other than that the 3790LMT is great. The biggest difference between the 3790LMT and the newer 3490LMT is the guidance system. The 3790LMT uses Guidance 2.0 while the 3490LMT uses Guidance 3.0. The routing is the same in these two systems but Guidance 3.0 provides some additional features that I neither need nor want. You can check it out for yourself on the Garmin web site.
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

NEVER BUY A REFURBISHED GPS!!!

12/18/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This so-called "refurbished" top-of-the-line Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT GPS had software issues that, apparently, were the reason it was returned by the original buyer. These issues were never fixed! For several days, the unit would say/show "turn left/right" when the correct direction was the opposite direction. It showed random routes that were nowhere near the input address. After a few days, the display "froze" and locked onto one specific screen that would not change. I later discovered that this unit had had ongoing issues that Garmin never resolved and dropped this model from their 2012 inventory. I returned the unit and replaced it with Garmin's Nuvi 3490LMT paying full price--and exceptional GPS unit. Buyer beware of "refurbished" products! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Fabulous value for money

09/13/2012
By ,
Toronto, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these units, one for a friend and we are very happy with it. It looks really sleek, the retail price of this type (the latest is 3490) is about $350 so for $159, it cannot be beat. The refurb unit looks brand new and works great. The features that set it apart from most others are - powered mount (making it easy to remove the unit for storage), longer battery life, touch sensitive glass screen (needs very gentle touch to type), 3d view of downtown areas, realistic photo views of exits with warning bell upon key exits, ability to switch orientation from portrait to landscape and best of all, a really slim body. Best way to mount it is using an adhesion mat (like the Bracketron mat) on the dashboard and then attach the suction cup to the surface of this mat - with no adhesion disc used. That way, you can remove the mount or mat and transfer to another vehicle without any damage or glue residue. Do admit that recalculation is a tiny bit slower at times, but given all the other features, you barely notice it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Andrew

12/25/2011
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Garmin Nuvi is an excellent product. My previous GPS was not a Garmin and now that I own this Garmin I will never own another brand again. Also, the value for the refurbished price was an excellent value. I highly recommend this product. The Voice Commands really do work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Item was defective

07/29/2012
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device was defective no volume when mounted in the holder and very low volume when hand held I had to return it for a full refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Nice GPS

07/29/2012
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought refurbished- but looks like new to me. Work great with no issues!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Very Cool GPS

08/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it arrived it had a very small scratch on the screen, not even noticeable when it's powered on. Other than that everything else looked like new. The Refurbished Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is very high tec. I've had it a couple months and it works great. I updated from a Tom Tom 340s to the Gramin Nuvi 3790 LMT because I was having issues updating the unit. I'm so glad I picked the Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT. With voice command, a memory card slot, lifetime updates and a much brighter screen in the day time, what's not to like? The only trouble I've had was getting the right size screen protector. I found that a 5 inch screen protector for the Garmin Nuvi 1450 works pretty well. It fits perfect side to side and is just short enough length wise that it dosen't cover the mic up.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

It is smarter than I am

08/15/2012
By ,
Greenville SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first GPS receiver that had either speech recognition or traffic. I don't know what I expected from the speech recognition, but while it does everything it is supposed to do after some reading, it doesn't do what I THINK I wanted and expected, being able to speak favorites and have it recognize them. But after thinking, I can see where my ideas are somewhat impractical; I do not downgrade it for this.
Traffic ... unusual ... coming home from Atlanta last week, it changed my route on its own to avoid a wreck ... which I ignored and the wreck was cleared. I may disable this; it is easy to do.
I find that it runs HOT plugged into 12V; haven't played with it on batteries enough to have a feel. It may be the backlight that either heats it or loads the power supply. Having owned multiple Garmin units before, this is what is below expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT great features

08/12/2012
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is a great refurbished buy. I have only had it a few weeks and like its features while driving...things like the intersection or exit shows on screen what it should look like with what lane you should be in, red light camera and speed camera zones warning comes up, wish these things came with a preferred route feature vice showing you a way to go but you know that time of day will not work easily. Otherwise, this has worked well. it does warn not to keep it in car in high heat so i try to take it out. The AZ heat of 118 can be brutal and the software did lock up on me, I think, due to overheating once. Let it set a few minutes with the AC on and it came back with the route I was trying to get too still loaded. Nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished
07/29/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best GPS you can buy if you ask me. Lifetime maps and traffic updates are a real plus also. You can't go wrong with your purchase of the Garmin 3790LTM.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Doesn't meet expectations

07/17/2012
By ,
Chandler, Az.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is it good value for the money? Yes. That said there are significant areas to be aware of.
1. Since it says City Search that means you won't get topographical maps unless you kick in an extra $100.
2. Searching is unnecessarily cumbersome. If you enter a zip it will only look in the state you're in. You need to first change states(if you know it), enter zip, the full address etc. Frustrating if you just need the general area and/or don't have the extra detail.
3. Weird routes. An extra 100 miles when going to a little Mexican town Algodones. It take you all the way to Mexicali then wonders South into Mexico before heading back. Neither Algodones nor another name Vincente Guerreo show up even when the state: Baja California is placed in. put in 287 Alamo and it magically appears. Saving an extra 90 min. The first correction made change from "less fuel" to shortest route. The logic defied me but that was the suggestion. I have no clue why the map didn't recognize Ca. St Route 186
4. Garmin support is unmatched and they will walk you through anything. I've noticed that a recent mantra is due to customer demand...well in the case of topographic maps that means it's less expensive. So they see no problem adding $100 to an already expensive model. Re: zip code could never get a decent answer. Supposedly it cuts the search time. How long does it take for a computer to search the zips? Really. BTW it took less than a minute on google maps to enter each route and compare distances. Algodones popped up by "l" amazing.
5. They promote the eco feature It doesn't work even gentle acceleration and braking doesn't register green. Acceleration is how close you keep to their posted speed limit...nothing extra for coasting....just a gimmick, but interesting in a way.
6. Other mapping annoyances not recognizing the HOV turn lane from the one used by normal traffic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Verry good GPS

12/14/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gps seems to work flawlessly, Easy to program in a Ad by voice commands.
Lots quicker than our old one.
Garmin is a Great Company They have excelent customer service. Always quick response from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished
07/18/2012
By ,
SE Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 3790LMT is an amazing feature pack GPS unit packaged in an incredibly thin case. It fits nicely inside a shirt pocket. It is really designed to also be used when on foot, particularly with its dual mode display (landscape and portrait). It does everything that my larger nuvi 2460 and more. This refurbished unit was also a great value at less than 1/2 its original list price. The unit itself appears brand new and comes complete with all accessories.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Great GPS...Great price...fast delivery!!!

07/10/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS was a last minute birthday gift for my wife. This is the the 2nd refurbished item I've purchased from walmart.com. I must say I have been very impressed with the products and the prices on both occasions.
The Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is very nice! The voice recognition is stellar and highly functional. It will provide extra safety for my wife. And her three year old Pantech cell phone connects via bluetooth to the device. The address book connected seamlessly. She is able to use both of these features very well, which is a big statement considering my precious wife is not very tech savvy!!! Not only will this GPS device get my wife where she needs to go, she will get there safely! There are free map upgrades for life and free traffic service for life. A great deal for less than $160!
The GPS works great. Perfect navigation. I have yet to have any advertisements pop up via the FM traffic updates. We live in the greater Phoenix, AZ area. Of course, I have only had this device less than 24 hours.
I considered the newer Nuvi 3490, but the price difference was too much to justify the few "upgrades" there are to that product, in my opinion.
Happy shopping.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Good bang for the buck

08/12/2012
By ,
Tacoma, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the 3790, however it has locked on me once when I was trying to find an address in an unfamiliar city. I hope this doesn't happen, or it's going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished
07/09/2012
By ,
johns creek, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband as a gift. I researched extensively for a GPS that would be really user friendly and most importantly safe to use while driving. My husband travels alot for business in unfamiliar cities and I really wanted to replace his first generation Garmin with a newer model that was hands free and had voice recognition. It basically operates like a smart phone. Couldn't be happier with the operation and features of this model. It is so slim it fits easily in his briefcase. The large screen makes it easy to read. I was hesitant at first to consider a refurbished model, but after reading the warranty conditions I felt really comfortable that WalMart would stand behind this product. I can't believe I got a GPS that works this well for 1/3 the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Easy to use, update, Looks like new.

07/19/2012
By ,
Philly, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a bit of research I decided on this model. Walmart had the best price. This is my first GPS unit and I'm very happy with my purchase. I was weary of buying a refurb, but it looks and operates flawlessly. Mounted my unit on the dash with the included disc. Gets me from A - B without the normal stress I endured using my Mapquest printouts. Trying to drive in traffic and understand the printout put me and drivers around at risk.
Now it's like having my personal co-pilot mounted to my dash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Lots of software issues with this unit.

11/15/2012
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let me start off by saying that I own 3 other Garmin GPS units. (2 handheld & 1 Other Nuvi) I have had no issues with these other units. This 3790 unit seems to have software problems, It constantlly promps to change the elevation, Time, Direction, and other options to a point of distraction. ( as many as a dozen times on a 2 hour trip) Sometimes it will show you a list of all your turns when you ar 17 to 20 miles from your next turn. If i wanted to look at a list like that i will use mapquest!) I spent a couple of hours on the phone with an Garmin tech trying to resolve these issues, I downloaded some new software updates. these problems do not happen as frequent as they did at first, but itis still annoying. I do like how fast the map loads. and that you can download different vehicles from the internet. I currently use an X-Wing from Star Wars on mine! you can even have Darth Vader or Yoda give you directions ( How cool is that!) I also like the fact that it has lifetime maps and traffic, and shows the speedlimit on most major roads. My next GPS will still be a Garmin but not this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Great display, voice command works well

09/08/2012
By ,
Mission Viejo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had previously purchased a 3780LMT at full price, and ended up returning itr because the software was flakey, and the touch-screen was balky. This refurbished 3790LMT is a great deal! They've apparently worked out the software bugs, and the addition of the voice command is great. Sometimes the touch screen requires more than one try, but usually only on the initial screen. I also have a 765T, and this is a real improvement. I especially like that it slips right into my shirt pocket. I think it would be better with the non-slip surface of my 765, but you can't have everything. This does have all the bells and whistles, and at half price! I've had to re-learn how to use it, but that's just a temporary adjustment on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT 4.3" Slim Portable GPS, Refurbished

Great price. Very user friendly.

08/29/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the 4th Garmin for our family.
PROS:
This unit is the best one yet. I love the fact it has lifetime maps (limited to 4 updates per year) and lifetime traffic. The thin/portable size is convenient.
The feature where it learns your driving habits is pretty cool. This morning, it told me how long it was until I arrived at work and that their was no traffic. I checked to see if I had set the route, I hadn't. It had learned my driving habit and had already determine my most likely destination.
CONS:
The only downside to this is that the battery doesn't last as long as I had hoped for. I used it remotely for a short period of time, and the low battery warning showed up within 2 minutes.
I would definitely by another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next