Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Mainstays Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Mainstays Queen Bed in Black offers a durable and stylish option that works well with a variety of home decor styles. This bed features an industrial-style, platform frame, which gives it a sleek, minimalistic look. Its power-coated steel construction provides this Queen platform bed with enhanced stability and toughness. Additionally, this item features square tubular framing, which reduces the bed's weight without reducing its durability. Furthermore, Mainstays Parsons bed is equipped with a wire mesh support system that offers a powerful stand-in for box springs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%64 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Great bed at an affordable price!

12/19/2011
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed frame ships in two different boxes that ships on two different days. This was an early Christmas gift to me from my boyfriend. I was basically looking for a bed frame that was affordable. This bed frame was the perfect color - black...just exactly what I was looking for. This bed also eliminates the need for a box spring which was perfect for me because I was only looking to pay for a new mattress anyway. I was specifically looking for a steel bed like this instead of a wood bed because of the bed bug epidemic. Since bed bugs aren't attracted to steel, this bed was the perfect match for me. It took my boyfriend no longer than an hour to put it together. My new queen size mattress fits just perfect on the frame. And yes, two people fit on the bed without any worries. I've had the bed for almost 3 weeks now and haven't had any problems yet! If you're not trying to spend much money and still trying to be stylish, this is a great pick!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Great bed at an affordable price!

12/19/2011
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an early Christmas gift to me from my boyfriend. I was basically looking for a bed frame that was affordable. This bed frame was the perfect color - black...just exactly what I was looking for. This bed also eliminates the need for a box spring which was perfect for me because I was only looking to pay for a new mattress anyway. I was specifically looking for a steel bed like this instead of a wood bed because of the bed bug epidemic. Since bed bugs aren't attracted to steel, this bed was the perfect match for me. It took my boyfriend no longer than an hour to put it together. My new queen size mattress fits just perfect on the frame. And yes, two people fit on the bed without any worries. I've had the bed for almost 3 weeks now and haven't had any problems yet! If you're not trying to spend much money and still trying to be stylish, this is a great pick!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Decent Bed for the Price

07/11/2011
By ,
Washington D.C
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart put a lot of work into making sure that the bed wasn't damaged. Unfortunately, due to the nature of a metal bed/how heavy it was, there was still a small but somewhat noticeable dent in the foot board, seeing as it's 70 lbs total, it wasn't really worth asking for a replacement.
The assembling was very easy and they gave you all the tools, which is great so you don't have to buy them specially.
It's also raised pretty high, which is nice because you can store most one layer storage boxes straight under the bed (or suitcases if you wanted).
The bed is nothing spectacular, but for the similarly priced beds; it's a good deal. We have our 6" foam mattress we also bought for walmart and it works fine. It does squeak/move around a little though, but that probably comes hand in hand with the easy assembly. Also if you live on the east coast, a lot of beds have problems with bed bugs, so going with a medal bed is safest since those pests live in wood. It's also raised and doesn't require a box spring (eliminating the need for wood in a box spring). So props to walmart for offering a reasonably priced metal bed!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Good bed with lot of comfort

06/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all excellent packing . it came in two boxes. The headboard and footboard are covered with a paper so that no scratches on them.Heavy weight. Since ship to home is free we haven’t had any trouble. They have stick to what they have described about item.
Value for money and very strong. They have provided required tools and no challenges with assembling and we completed it in less than 20 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Good Value for the Price

08/09/2012
By ,
Near Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bed for over 2 years, and have been sleeping on it every night.
We bought this bed for its price when my boyfriend and I had first moved in together and couldn't afford anything more expensive, figuring that we'd upgrade once we could. He and I have both had job changes for the better since then, and even after we moved to a bigger place and could afford a much better bed, we stuck to this one.
Our footboard came with a dent in it, but since it didn't interfere with the functionality of the bed, we didn't mind. It was easy to assemble, my now-fiancee put it together with a drill in like 5 minutes. We put a bedskirt on it to prevent damage to the bottom of the mattress, which worked out wonderfully. It used to squeak with movement, but a little bit of WD-40 was all it needed.
My one word of advice is that you should invest in a thick, sturdy mattress. That was the only thing we had to upgrade on the bed. When we first started out with a thinner, cheaper mattress, we could feel where the netting support came together in the middle, and used to get backaches from the lack of cushion. But now we have upgraded to a Sertapedic mattress, and it is wonderful. Absolutely no complaints about the bed whatsoever.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Box dimensions

01/01/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE NOT USED THE BED YET SO I CANNOT COMMENT ON THE QUALITY OF THIS ITEM. I AM ONLY PROVIDING THE BOX DIMENSIONS FOR WHEN YOU PICK IT UP.
THIS IS FOR THE QUEEN SIZE BED FRAME ONLY
This bed came in two boxes.
Box 1:
84" X 6" X 3"
This box is very wide and I do not believe it will fit into many cars. This box would not fit into the trunk of a new Monte Carlo. It stuck out about half way and used bungee cords to secure it. I made it home without a problem. I do not recommend picking this item up with a car.
Box 2:
65" X 41" X 7"
This box is able to fit into a car very easily if the rear seat fold down, but you will still have the other box that will mostly not fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Great Buy

08/09/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something nice and sleek for my bedroom and thankfully this fit perfectly! first off the shipping was very fast and convenient. I was able to follow the instructions and put it together easily (not too many pieces). I am also glad at how sturdy it turned out being even without a box spring and just my large mattress. Overall, the look and the height make this a great product for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

I love this bed!!!

09/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it came on time with all parts i put it together on my own in about 30 mins and was able to use both my box spring and mattress my bed is high but i wanted it that way i love this bed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Unbelievable!

02/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest, I wasn't expecting much for a $159 bed. When it arrived, my husband and I had it put together in less than 30 minutes. Yes, you read that right - 30 minutes. AND, it comes with the little wrench you need to put everything together. The bed is a lot taller than I expected, and it looks amazing. Really, this bed looks like it cost at least triple what I paid for it. It's very sturdy also, I'm sure it'll last for several years, perhaps a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

DO NOT BUY

02/27/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you notice, all reviews on this item except for one, have only owned the item for 1 week or less. I have now had this frame for two months, and it is already breaking down. It squeaks at the slightest movement, and when you actually make a movement while sleeping, the sound it makes is extremely loud and alarming. I cannot believe how bad this frame has become. I own an expensive memory foam mattress that you can't even tell when someone else moves on it, but this bed frame somehow squeaks at the smallest movement. Do not waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black
07/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just received today and I am so excited! It looks just like the picture. I was a little concerned that there were no directions but turns out we didn't need them, it was super easy to put together! I love Wal Mart and they have definitely came through for me again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Don't be fooled by the price

09/29/2011
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely not a you get what you pay for product. It is very inexpensive, but yet of great quality. Assembly was a breeze, but I did not follow the instructions in the section for assembling the base because I put it together by myself. If you will also be putting the bed together solo , I would suggest the following: securing the legs(end & center) of the first half of the base (closest to the headboard) first. Next, secure the remaining end leg to the base and placing it on top of the bed. Then, scoot under the bed to add screw the last two screws into the center leg support. The bed is also high enough from the floor that you could use the bottom for storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Sophisticated looking bed/very affordable price!

10/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, all pieces/tools included, packaged very well to prevent scratches in transit. Aside from a tiny bit of squeaking here and there when getting in and out, we're very pleased with this bed. And it looks great, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

above and beyond my expectations

02/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled it (alone) in 10 minutes. no kidding 8 pcs. about 16 bolts.
End product is a super sturdy bed in a style than can go with just about any decor.
NOTE: unlike most platform beds, this guy is quite tall and if desired, can fit underbed storage boxes without needing risers.
Low price, good durability, extra height for easy storage and "go-with-everything" style makes this bed a terrific purchase for a teen/young adult's bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Breaks! 3 months all the support welds come apart

11/16/2011
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
at first -- after the 2 extra weeks waiting on the bolts to put it together... this bed was comfy
it made some noise
but about 3 months in a few of the welds gave way , then all of a sudden all the weld joints have come apart + only the bars hold mattress
this is shoddy workmanship
and now I can not find the manufacturers # to contact
Do not waste your time or money on this!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Over One Year, And Still Good

07/26/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've now owned this bed since December 2011, and still love it. Sure, it may squeak every now & then but at less than $150 you can't expect the Room & Board version of the Parsons Bed! The bed is higher usual, which is good for someone who doesn't like platform beds that are more like sleeping on the floor (Literally!) You can also skip the box-spring which is awesome. This is an excellent overall value if you want the aesthetic of an industrial style bed without the hefty price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

excellent bed!

08/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this bed. i use it with both a box spring and top mattress, it makes it high, but i love it that way! there is no squeaking or anything. the support for the mattress is a hard grid of metal. it is not a 'mesh', it spans from side to side, so the entire base is supported. after i was finished putting the bed together, i stood on the support without the mattress, and it was not flimsy at all. i weigh 100lbs. The space under the bed is more than adequate! i drape a blanket over the sides and its more than enough room for my 7 and 8 year old boys to play fort in! i've had this bed for 5 months now, and i still love it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

I would not buy this bed again.

05/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off it is noisy squeaks a lot. the screws come loose and the welds on the bit that supports the mattress are starting to break. and so far the legs are bending. I am the only one that sleeps in this bed. we are really thinking of taking the part that makes it possible to not need a box spring out, as it isn't made well at all. so far the main frame is ok other than squeaky. I do like the headboard, after having hip replacement surgery it was sturdy enough I could use it to pull myself up and get better position when my body refused to cooperate with me. with little kids who like to sit on here and watch tv. and I have caught the 3 yr old jumping on this bed. it seems sturdy to look at, but the legs on the mattress support section bent the first month. not sure if Walmart will do anything on this. I have nothing to sleep in if I return it before getting a new one. I do like the way it looks. and it is easy to put together. and while I am a heavy person at 233 lbs it should be able to support a married couple right? I also like the height of the bed which was the main attraction at the time I got it. needed extra storage space. but it needs 2 more inches for the medium size tote Walmart sells.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black

Great Bed!

07/30/2012
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was very valuable and looks like something you would find at a high end store! very sturdy, EASY to put together and doesn't require a box spring! well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Queen Parsons Bed, Black
12/30/2011
By ,
Hobe Sound Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great bed frame for the money. Sturdy and easy to assemble. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next