Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Video Signal Amplifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

General Electric GE Video Signal Amplifier

The GE Video Signal Amplifier improves signal strength for cable or antenna connections. This signal amplifier features a return path of -24dB.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation76%28 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Excellent add-on for over the air TV broadcast

07/05/2011
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave up cable about six months ago and have enjoyed the extra $150.00 a month in my pocket. Between Netflix and Hulu, pretty much all my shows are covered. Local and National sports and news on the other hand are a different story. I purchased an over the air antenna for this purpose but found that when I split the signal between two tvs, I lost a significant number of channels on both tvs. This amplifier was the answer and it saved me a lot of headaches from constantly moving the antenna around (it is on the roof)! The most important tip I can give is to make sure this amplifier is connected between the antenna and the splitter. I had initially tried connecting it between the cable in my house and the tv and it did not do much as the signal was already fairly distorted by that point. Placing this amplifier close to the original source, the antenna, and before the signal is split is the key to getting great results from this product. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to avoid a bunch of headaches!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 2 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

For amplifying signal for long-run antennae

06/18/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked extremely well for me. I believe there might be confusion as to the purpose of the device, which may account for some of the ratings. I don't believe the device will help you pick up signals out of range without the device. However, it will amplify the signal you get, which will help the signal stay strong should the antennae be far from your TV, and it may also improve signals that your antennae picks up but are somewhat weak.
In my case, I attached the antennae directly to my TV without using this device. Then, I moved the antennae to the attic and I completely lost all signals due to the extra wire and connectors between the antennae and the TV. Once I put this device in the line, not only was my reception as good as when the antennae was right by the TV, but it was better. Stations that were coming in weak and pixelated improved. So overall, clearly worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 3 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Thrilled!

05/12/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Channel Master 2020, and we were using a -10db, we were not getting as many channels as our old(from the early '60's) antenna....went and found this at my local store, hooked it up from cable/ant outlet at wall, then to tv....it's worth every penny and we are now going to keep our week old Channel Master 2020!! With Walmart's easy return policy we had nothing to lose by trying this.......if you're on the fence about getting this, go ahead and try it, you may end up thrilled like we are!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+20points
Review 4 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Does the job.

12/15/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I lost half my channels during a recent two day rain so I thought I would give this amplifier a try. I waited for a clear day & checked the signal strength for each channel. I then installed the amplifier and rechecked the signals. The amplifier increased my signal strength on every channel and more than doubled the signal on most channels. We had a heavy rain yesterday & I didn't lose any channels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Easy to use - instance difference

09/25/2011
By ,
Ottawa, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros - Best $25 product i have bought so far! took about 5 minutes to hook up (crawled up into attic where our antenna is plugged it in hooked up the in and out (about 4 feet of R-6 cable from antenna - then about 150 to 175 feet to TV) works way better than expected. Did a channel search got 8 more channels on top of the 10 channels i lost with the added R-6 cable.
No Cons at the present moment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 6 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

perfect for weak signal from splitters

01/20/2013
By ,
Jumping Branch, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had (3) 2-way splitters and my tv signal was getting pixelated so i bought a (1) 6-way splitter to try to cut down on signal loss and it made my signal worse.. so i bought this signal amplifier and connected it to my 6-way splitter and now all of my tvs and modem are working perfect.. for $25 bucks you cant beat it.. you can have it installed in a matter of minutes..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

No complaints

11/17/2013
By ,
Salisbury,Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My goal was not to get more channels but to stabilize the 9 channels I have.Since I am a certified cheap skate,I want the "mostest for the leastest".Total cost was about $250.Part of my concern was for the effect metal would have on the signal.I mounted the antenna on a frame building clad with metal on roof and sides with the antenna about 30 feet from the ground.Lightening is a large concern and I put in an 8' ground rod.The coaxial run was 150' to my house so the signal booster was located about 30' from the antenna.Big Wallie's largest antenna was my choice and that is worth every penny.We had no complaints about picture quality before the new antenna hook-up but we were shocked at the improvement.My wife,(also a penny pincher) was pleasantly surprised to discover we picked up 7 more channels.We are located near the center of the Delmarva Peninsula with the Chesapeake on the West and Atlantic on the East side.The 7 new channels are not strong enough to stand wind and poor weather conditions but I didn't expect them either.--------I recommend this GE. signal booster and it is doing more than expected.----Sundowneroutback
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Great Device!

09/08/2012
By ,
Macomb, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked this up to my rabbit ear antenna in the first floor bedroom. Ran a 25 foot coax cable from the booster to my hole house structured wiring box in the basement that has 8 tv coax hookups and is also a booster. This thing works great! Got a strong signal to the basement. I live in the Metro Detroit area and I get 20 stations with rabbit ear antenna and can hook it up to any tv in the house using my structured wiring with clear crisp picture. Thinking on getting cheap attic antenna from Walmart and use that instead of the rabbit ears. Now this device does not boost the signal from the tv stations so you get more channels, it just boost for long cable runs from the antenna. The longer cable run from the antenna, the more the singal gets weaker to the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Increased Picture Quality, Antenna Range

01/21/2014
By ,
Carbondale, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this amplifier to stabilize picture quality of local stations (between 20 and 40 miles away) and to bring in a station about 60 miles away (which my antenna was almost pulling in on its own). The amplifier did both of these things.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Boosts signal

01/21/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a Channel Master that had a boost of about -12db and this seemed to increase my signal by about 20% allowing me to get a weak signal that I was not able to get with the Channel Master.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

very good signal booster at a reasonable price

09/15/2012
By ,
Sainte Genevieve, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We installed this on our existing antenna, now have a clear picture and sound on all channels, [over 50 miles from St Louis TV stations]. Very happy with the amplifier, it also allowed us to run an extremely long coax line [168 feet] to put a TV in the garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Worked for us!

11/24/2012
By ,
Montrose
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we first plugged the amplifier in it did not work. However, after about 5 minutes, it worked great! I am not sure if the unit took a few minutes to warm up? Anyways, I used to get 1 channel and sometimes a few more would come in. Now all available channels in my area (10) come in crystal clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

it does it's job

01/20/2014
By ,
maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i just pick this g.e amp ... and it was ez to set up ,for a antenna i'm using the mushu flat leaf,,it takes time to get the right spot for antenna around the apartment ,, so the best place was next to the window .i picked up 4 more channels over the air ,total of 8 ...the other 4 was pbs-10-10'1 10'2 10'3 10'4...so i do get fox-nbc-abc and the hd channels over the air ,,so i'm thinking for 25 bucks.4 more channels ,, not sure , i will waite till night fall to see if it gets more channels ,, if not its going back ,,, i do have to say the product does work!!!, i was trying to cut cable bill...local channels over the air ... also u can go to the tv web to see were the towers r in your area ,,it does pull in channels i have to say that...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 14 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Did not improve signal at all

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My indoor antennae picked up 2 channels without the GE Video Signal Amplifier, and picked up 2 channels after connecting, thus, total waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 15 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Did The Trick!!

05/10/2012
By ,
Midwest, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using a RCA mini drop in line -10db amp, but when I installed this amplifier I noticed a big difference. The channels I was getting a good signal off my ChannelMaster antenna went to a very strong signal. Also channels that were weak went to normal signal. Keep in mind a signal amplifier only improves signal strenght of channels you are already getting. The misconception is that one of these will give you more OTA channels, BUT usually that is not the case. Hookup was simple and took less than five minutes. BTW strongly advise you plug it into a the surge protector you should have on your tv!
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 16 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Didn't Help at All

11/25/2012
By ,
Englewood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like others have said, this product didn't help at all. I get a signal for 32 channels, most of which are not viewable. This product did not make any of them viewable.
Because it does not have a power light to show it is operating, I took it back and exchanged it for another one, which I will also be taking back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 17 for GE Video Signal Amplifier
12/30/2012
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had 38 channels without this product some of them were very weak. After installing the product I now have 17 channels and those are all weaker in signal than before. This product is going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

With cable tv signal low - did the job

02/01/2013
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have HD cable tv and didnt have enough signal to get to all the TV sets due to signal loss thru all of the splitters I have in the house. The HD channels were not coming in but the local channels were ok. Once I hooked up the amplifier both TV's that were having issues were working fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Used in the CCTV application

12/03/2013
By ,
Suncoast of FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to amplify a CCTV signal over a 100'+ RG59 cable to a monitor/recorder. This amplifier does the job very well, however not w/o a little "snow" on the image.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for GE Video Signal Amplifier

Easy set up

12/03/2013
By ,
Paradise, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watch antenna TV. I was to receive more long distance channels with the amplifier. (100 miles)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next