Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Morton Salt Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Morton Salt Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Morton Salt Pool Salt is made from high purity salt, contains no additives and dissolves quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%117 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good product

03/14/2014
By ,
Pearland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put 560 lbs in my swimming pool to convert to a salt system. It dissolved overnight and seemed to leave no residue. The bags are great with carrying handles and very sturdy to carry and pour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

pool salt

09/20/2011
By ,
Terre Haute, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 15x48 intex pool and I used 3 bags at 40lbs each and it lasted all summer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+164points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

A Salt that's VERY easy to spread & dissolve!

06/08/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that I am doing a review on 'salt' & just how much can a person say about salt. Right? Well, read on to find out. It just might suprise you! LOL!
We got this to use in our pool since we just bought a chlorine generator. The booklet that came with the C.G. said we'd need about 2 1/2 bags to get our pool's salt level just right. However, we only needed to add one & a half bags until the C.G. was producing our pool's chemicals just right. I'm not sure if that was due to our water's mineral content already, or if the Morton's Pool Salt is just that much better than a generic type brand of pool salt. Either way we have been very happy with the results we received from this brand of salt. It spread throughout the pool VERY easily, and dissolved SO MUCH faster than what the C.G.'s instruction booklet stated it would take for salt to dissolve. It dissolved in the pool in under an hour versus the 24 hours the booklet said it would take for salt to dissolve in the pool. Also, it was very free flowing straight out of the bag. It was not all packed together, or caked up, or in large & hard chunks as you would have expected it to have been in such a large bag of salt. (There were however the occasional marble or golf ball sized chunks here & there, but they broke apart almost as soon as you tried to pick them up. Plus, the second they hit the water they would break apart immediately anyway, so they few that were in the bags did not pose any problems for us at all.
If you are going to be using a chlorine generator for your pool, and you need salt for your water I would REALLY RECOMMEND buying this brand of salt as oppossed to any other brands you may be able to find/get. Even if you might be able to find another brand a few cents cheaper. It'll definately be worth it for you in the long run. Oh, and although you can use water softener pellets with C.G.'s too, I wouldn't recommend it as it will take much longer for those to dissolve than it will for the salt. Which in return then also extends the time out before you will be able to even begin using your C.G., or even begin to start swimming & enjoying your pool. I hope all of this information will help you out a bit!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+388points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Dissolves faster than much more expensive salt

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheaper and much better quality than the salt that I buy at my pool store. Actually dissolves in about half the time of the pool store's most fine salt, and is about half the price. Doesn't have any funky additives either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Great way to order swimming pool salt

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year my in-ground pool chlorine generator needs additional pool salt. I've always purchased this from Wal-Mart. I order on-line then pick it up at the local store where it the 40lb bags are loaded in my trunk. The price and service are great.
The Morton Salt dissolves easily and cleanly into the pool. The handle on the bag is very helpful in lifting and moving the bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag
06/20/2011
By ,
roanoke,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value.. cost > $15.00 per bag at local pool store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LAREDO, TX
MORTON POOL SALT
Posted 03/28/2014
THIS SALT IS $7.47 AT LOWES.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good price,ease of use, dissolves quickly

10/14/2014
By ,
Alpharetta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched to a salt system on my pool. Needed 800+ lbs of this salt to take care of business. I had read good things about Morton Pool salt and the price at WalMart was the best, it beat out my pool service and local retail pool outlets. I like the sturdy plastic handle on the bag, it makes it so much easier to carry it. And believe me, when it's 800 lbs. you want those handles! When I put it in the pool I just layed the bags around the perimeter with about a third of the bag over the edge and took a box cutter and out it went. With a little bit of brushing it dissolved in about 10 minutes and is now doing it's job. I'm buying Morton Pool Salt and I'm buying it from WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Salt?

11/05/2014
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I really say? It's salt. It does the job. I only put salt in my pool once the whole summer. The bag is pretty heavy. LOL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag
08/19/2011
By ,
Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pool salt was a good deal to go with the prior purchased chlorine generator. Purchased on line picked up at local store where it was ready to go when I got there. Because I have a back problem, the associate even brought it to the car and load it.
Can't beat Walmart price and service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern Florida
15x48" Needs Three Bags
Posted 07/13/2013
This salt takes a bit of work to dissolve. Make sure you are in the pool working it . The granules are large and you don't want ot let it sit on the liner bottom. Won't be good for it. It is very preferable to chlorine as it does not damage swimsuits; hair ( like turning hair color green) is easy on the skin with no white residue like chlorine. We found that here in Florida at some point we needed to add about ten pounds more salt mid- season due to all the rain. So get an extra bag early in the season as they are hard to find later on. Walmarts price is reasonable for the salt. Chlorine pools are epensive and require so many other chemicals it is worth investing in a Saltwater system like the Krystal Clear Saltwater model. Happy swimming!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

It's Pool Salt!

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's pool salt, so not a lot you can say... would prefer that Walmart stock enough each year so I didn't have to buy it online for in-store pickup at an alternate location than our "home" store because they sell out of it every single year for the past two years before we could get any... but that being said we were glad that option was available to us since it is 1/2 the cost of the pool supply store!
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

It's salt.

06/22/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say. It's salt. Tastes salty, dilutes quickly in the pool. Bags are heavy...that is due to the 40 pounds of salt they stick in it. I will advise that you NOT add the entire amount all at once. Hold back a bag or two and check the salinity 24 hours after adding salt. Pool manufacturers (Intex) grossly overestimates the amount of salt you will need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

great stuff!

06/10/2014
By ,
sykesville Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I converted to a salt water pool last year and haven't looked back! I use Morton because it was told to me that it desolves easily, reducing pool downtime which is EXTREMELY important in my house! I haven't tried others, but it works beautifully so why change? Love it and so.do.the the kids!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

great price

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was well below others for same weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Excellent product

09/03/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use the Morton Pool salt in our pool with the Salt Filtration system and our pool is perfect. The salt dissolved very quickly when we first shocked our pool. Very long lasting. And no need for chlorine. Love this product.
No fading bathing suits and no discolored hair.
Our skin feels soft after coming out of the pool.
We will never use chlorine again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag
06/27/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bag is large (40lbs) , but you'll need several (I used 3) to do the initial treatment for a pool. I recommend using a saltwater system. It is easier than traditional pool chemicals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag
03/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this salt last year in my intex 15x4 pool, i used 4 bags, it lasted all summer without adding or messing with anything with the water. I love having a salt water pool!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Great Price, but Inconsistent Product at Walmart

06/22/2012
By ,
farmington, mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought a total of 30 bags of this pool salt at Walmart over a two week period. The first time I bought 2 bags, and the product was awesome! The salt was finely ground and not clumped. It dissolved easily into my pool. I would give that purchase f5 stars.
My next purchase consisted of buying 25 bags of the salt. For convenience and to avoid having to life the bags too many times, I placed the order online and picked them up in the store a few hours later. The Walmart associates were really helpful and had the salt on a pallet and helped me load the salt into my car. Unfortunately, all of the bags of salt were solid like bricks; the salt was very finely ground, but it was clumped into really big, hard lumps. This made is really time-consuming and difficult to get into my pool. It took hours to break apart the large, solid clumps and get the salt into small particles that would allow it to easily dissolve in my pool. I’m not sure what happened or why it was sold and clumped, but it was.
My third purchase was for 3 bags of pool salt. This time I was carefully to close bags that did not feel solid so I could avoid the large clumps. What I discovered this time was no clumps, but that the salt was coarsely ground. It was not finely ground like the other bags that I had purchased. The salt easily went into the pool. but it was a different consistency than what I was used to.
So, all-in-all, I will still buy my pool salt at Walmart because you cannot beat the price. I will, however, make sure to avoid the hard bags so I don’t need to spend hours breaking down the lumps. I gave this product only 2 stars (fair rating) because of all of the inconsistencies in the product between my different purchases. Buy it, but just note my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Dissolved very quickly

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is my first time using salt water. I was surprised how easily it dissolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

good value

05/28/2012
By ,
arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great price for this products. shipped to store 10 bags, they even loaded it into my car!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Great quality and value

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great on our salt water pool and we saved a few dollars instead of going to a pool supply store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next