Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Morton Salt Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Morton Salt Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Morton Salt Pool Salt is made from high purity salt, contains no additives and dissolves quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.805 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%108 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 105 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Great way to order swimming pool salt

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year my in-ground pool chlorine generator needs additional pool salt. I've always purchased this from Wal-Mart. I order on-line then pick it up at the local store where it the 40lb bags are loaded in my trunk. The price and service are great.
The Morton Salt dissolves easily and cleanly into the pool. The handle on the bag is very helpful in lifting and moving the bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Dissolves faster than much more expensive salt

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheaper and much better quality than the salt that I buy at my pool store. Actually dissolves in about half the time of the pool store's most fine salt, and is about half the price. Doesn't have any funky additives either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good product

03/14/2014
By ,
Pearland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put 560 lbs in my swimming pool to convert to a salt system. It dissolved overnight and seemed to leave no residue. The bags are great with carrying handles and very sturdy to carry and pour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

great stuff!

06/10/2014
By ,
sykesville Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I converted to a salt water pool last year and haven't looked back! I use Morton because it was told to me that it desolves easily, reducing pool downtime which is EXTREMELY important in my house! I haven't tried others, but it works beautifully so why change? Love it and so.do.the the kids!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

great price

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was well below others for same weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Dissolved very quickly

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is my first time using salt water. I was surprised how easily it dissolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Salty

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, it's pool salt, people. Salty goodness all around. Walmart folks made it easy to pick up. No complaints. End of story.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Excellent salt for the pool

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a 16 foot by 4 foot above ground pool. The Morton salt works great with our saltwater pool system and keeps our pool water very clear.
The price of a 40 pound bag of this salt is hard to beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good source of cheap salt

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Salt from Wal-Mart (for chlorine), Baking Soda 13lb bags from Costco (for Alkalinity), and Muratic Acid from Home Depot (Ph). Get a good test kit and never visit pool store again, or at least that is my plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great with my intex saltwater pool.
This will not let me put in my nickname. I guess I have used it before.
My nickname is Diamondkral.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

salt is salt

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did not see this in the store. Ordered it on line and picked it up the same day. Price per bag was half what my local pool store sells it for. Works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Has a Handle

07/16/2014
By ,
San Jacinto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bag of salt had a handle to help carry/pour it and is easy to open since it had a perforated corner. There are also amount guidelines printed on the bag to help you add the correct amount.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Mainly, I trust the brand and the purity.

06/25/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just converted my 45 year old pool to a salt chlorinator after refinishing it. I wanted to be certain with the product I used and chose pool salt by Morton.
The newer style bags are easy to move with the built-in handle and once you get the hang of using the ez tear away corner, opening and pouring is a breeze. The first day I brought them home, a rain storm came through. I was worried moisture might get into the bags but not one had any problems.
It did require me to agitate a little to help dissolve it but that was not a problem.
I've purchased a total of thirty-one 40 lb. bags from Wal-Mart. The price is right and it's $4 a bag less than what my local pool store sells.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

PURE SALT. **no chemicals added**

06/11/2014
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart is the only store around that carries pool salt that doesn't contain anti-caking or other chemical additives.
I purchased online for store pickup. Quick and easy transaction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

pool salt

09/20/2011
By ,
Terre Haute, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 15x48 intex pool and I used 3 bags at 40lbs each and it lasted all summer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Good pool salt

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good effective salt for a third of the price charged by pool stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

A Salt that's VERY easy to spread & dissolve!

06/08/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that I am doing a review on 'salt' & just how much can a person say about salt. Right? Well, read on to find out. It just might suprise you! LOL!
We got this to use in our pool since we just bought a chlorine generator. The booklet that came with the C.G. said we'd need about 2 1/2 bags to get our pool's salt level just right. However, we only needed to add one & a half bags until the C.G. was producing our pool's chemicals just right. I'm not sure if that was due to our water's mineral content already, or if the Morton's Pool Salt is just that much better than a generic type brand of pool salt. Either way we have been very happy with the results we received from this brand of salt. It spread throughout the pool VERY easily, and dissolved SO MUCH faster than what the C.G.'s instruction booklet stated it would take for salt to dissolve. It dissolved in the pool in under an hour versus the 24 hours the booklet said it would take for salt to dissolve in the pool. Also, it was very free flowing straight out of the bag. It was not all packed together, or caked up, or in large & hard chunks as you would have expected it to have been in such a large bag of salt. (There were however the occasional marble or golf ball sized chunks here & there, but they broke apart almost as soon as you tried to pick them up. Plus, the second they hit the water they would break apart immediately anyway, so they few that were in the bags did not pose any problems for us at all.
If you are going to be using a chlorine generator for your pool, and you need salt for your water I would REALLY RECOMMEND buying this brand of salt as oppossed to any other brands you may be able to find/get. Even if you might be able to find another brand a few cents cheaper. It'll definately be worth it for you in the long run. Oh, and although you can use water softener pellets with C.G.'s too, I wouldn't recommend it as it will take much longer for those to dissolve than it will for the salt. Which in return then also extends the time out before you will be able to even begin using your C.G., or even begin to start swimming & enjoying your pool. I hope all of this information will help you out a bit!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+387points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Salt is Salt, But This Works in My Pool

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Title about says it all. This is a 40# bag of pool grade salt for those using a salt water chlorine generator. Trusted name. Quality product. Does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

the salt works well in the pool with the system

07/09/2014
By ,
Walnut Cove NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of distribution is great...wt of bags manageable and cost effective.. all round good product for our pool system . will continue to purchase for our pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Morton Salt Pool Salt, 40 Lb Bag

Best salt for a pool!

07/09/2014
By ,
Allen Park
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The granules were small & dissolved quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next