Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

GE GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

If you want it all, you'll want one of these GE Pro bridge cameras. The new X500 is as powerful as it is easy to use. All the latest digital camera technology & 15V optical zoom, a wide angle lens, and a huge LCD screen plus viewfinder — is seamlessly built-in to reflect your own powerful sense of style and capture those priceless memories that define our lives. Get closer to the action and take photos like a pro with the new X500 from GE digital cameras. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.142 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(337 Reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
88
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation87%289 out of 334reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 371 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
88
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Decent Entry Level Camera

09/21/2011
By ,
Orlando, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It might sound like a cliche' review statement, but it is true that this camera is worth the $120ish that you pay for it. I myself am interested in pressuring photography so I have been starting from the bottom up. I am planning on buying the Nikon D90 next ($1,000)
This camera was, for me, baby steps into my dream of professional picture quality. It takes pretty astounding detailed pictures for it's price. Landscape pictures are good but not great. This camera has quite a bit of settings witch is pretty neat. It is a great learning tool, it is a camera that will grow with you as you learn more and more about photography until you eventually out grow it and need something a little more advanced. I really liked how it looks so much like a SLR camera, I have owned it for a little over a year now and have had no serious problems so far. It's perfect for day trips and documenting family outings. The 15x zoom is nice (if you know what you are doing) it can be a little tricky and make your pictures blurry, but if you take the time and learn how to use it, it will treat you right.
I don't agree with a lot of the bad reviews on here, I think if you take the time to really learn this camera and take advantage of the many features then you will get some pretty decent pictures. Take my pictures as a true example of what this camera can do for you if you learn how to use it properly.
To sum it all up: If your interested in some day taking pictures of a professional quality and are new to it all. This camera is a great baby step to get your feet wet. Learn what you can from it a move on to something more advanced when your ready.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+219points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
videography
Posted 08/31/2013
im starting to film action sport videos in outdoor parks making skateboard videos and bike videos would this camera be good for them?
0points
Thank you!
Posted 03/06/2013
I have to say "that1girl18", it was your review that made me decide to purchase this camera. Your review really helped me and I took your advice into account when using the camera. I will be posting my own review shortly but wanted to tell others to read and use the advice you gave. This camera really is worth it if you take the time to learn how to use it.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Ft.Smith, Ar
Need a few pointers :)
Posted 10/07/2012
I've had this one for over a year and was about to give it away when came accross your review and pics. How did you get that effect on the butterflies pic? I've always wanted that.....
0points
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Question on GE X500 Camera on click speed..
Posted 07/05/2012
Hello,
I am in search of a new camera, and this one sounds great for family picture taking once I learn how to use it. My only question is I have an 8 month old and my current camera takes forever between clicking the button to take the picture, and when it actually takes it. By that time she has changed expressions, and I can't get good pics anymore. Any advice on this feature? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 2 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Excellent Value & Awesome Pictures. Need patience

11/20/2011
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this camera for over a year and use it a minimum of 20 times a week. Even with this much experience with the camera, I have yet to discover all of the features. I mainly use the auto and scene modes. I can get some great shots in macro mode, but, you have to be patient when playing with your different modes, as you will have blurry pictures. I mainly photograph scenery, birds and nature and often get frustrated when trying to go between a simple shot and a zoom shot.
The major con I do have is that it really does not do a good continious shot. But then again, it could be the user.
This is a really good camera for its price and features. Go for it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

excellent stepping stone

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got the ge-x500 w/ bag, 8gb sd, and tripod around $140(good bang for the buck at the time) june of 2013 to upgrade from a very frustrating Olympus fe46 drove me mad to get a great shot then have so many bad ones.....hoped this would change that....for the most part yes...still get bad shots but much less frequently and as I have learned to use the functions better( but just because i set the automatic scene on sport doesn't mean an action shot won't be blurry or scene set on low light won't be either# but for the most part get good shots. especially fishing with my son or the muesums we have visited#200+ pics a day and no battery issues using duracel rechargeables# the past month or so I have dabbled with the manual aspect of this camera and implemented the use of a tripod at times achieving results that were beyond expectations and motivates me to improve more that I attempt weekly#bi-weekly# specific projects to gain experience in manual mode setting the f/stop, shutter time#up to 30 sec# and iso#up to 3200 @ only a 4MP) for certain situations. this has me on track to eventually move to a dslr with great confidence that I will be able to use one effectively and feel comfortable spending that kind of money......this camera is an inexpensive learning tool and capable of taking very good pictures. I have also used the video function as well and very pleased with it although I use my camcorder if I know i'm going to take video but works great on the spot! the panorama feature is cool. there is at times a long wait in the processing of some pictures i'm very happy with the purchase of this camera even with its limitations it has been invaluable to me as an introduction to photography and pursuing it with much interest and enthusiasm
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Great step up from basic point and shoot.

03/23/2013
By ,
Towson, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera was more than worth the price of $109. I could not find a comparable camera for that price anywhere on discount websites or otherwise. After previously having a basic point and shoot many of my pictures are still blurry but once I learn the settings I believe that my photos will far surpass anything I was able to take with my previous camera. If you do not have PC you can do all the Editing on the camera another step up and also do not need a PC to be able print because of Picture Bridge software. While it takes some time getting use to and I would not use it for crucial photographing until I was more acquainted with it, it is a wonderful value that I would not pass up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Wonderful Camera!

03/06/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read through all reviews but one stood out more and helped me decide to get this camera. I am glad I did! As soon as I got it, I put in the batteries and took pictures. At first they were blurry but after reading how to focus the camera, I tried again and the quality and color of the pics were excellent! The camera is easy to use and simple enough to figure out after reading the user manual (included on a cd). I was pleased to see that it also came with a lens cover and shoulder strap. It's small enough to comfortably hold in one hand and the features include red eye eliminator, a function for shaky hands, flash function and loads more. It also comes with 3 preloaded frames for cute snap shots and a sketch setting. This camera is great for the novice and advanced user. I will include a nice pic my daughter took with my camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder
01/25/2013
By ,
Berryville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this camera for over a year. I use it for artistic photography mostly macro photography.
The reason I wanted this camera was its incredible amount of effects and abilities not generally found in cameras at this price. I have taken some jaw dropping photos with it. Yes I have had to shoot the shot over and over to get the shot I wanted but it was able to produce shots where you can see incredible details. If you buy this bridge camera you won't be sorry.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Great for Starters

12/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this camera just when I started getting into photography...If you love taking pictures of scenery this is a perfect camera for that but is also great for doing portraits as well I have done pictures of my kids at home that look very professional and I was quite proud of my work with this camera...its easy to learn, I got a huge scratch on my lens but just zooming a little bit took that scratch away BUT then my zoom broke and I could see that scratch in every photo so without the zoom working the camera is basically worthless unless your taking up close pictures so its a great camera as long as its taken care of and make sure you get a warranty, I didn't and I'm very bummed that its broken, I may even buy another one! =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Easy to use..

12/25/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera to use at my daughters wedding. Our photographer back out and I need to have wedding pics. So I bought this and I was very happy with my results. I am still learing about some of the options on it, but it takes great pics. Took some the other night when it was snowing..Great deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Great Camera/LowCost that makes u feel like a pro!

01/29/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was browsing for a camera that had more Megapixs, my current fuji camera had 12mpx, it took pretty good photos, but i wanted something that felt more professional, so I browsed, I came across this one while it was on sale for 119.00 which was great! but I had my doubts of buying it after reading reviews, the good and the bad, I at first started to not get it, but then I figured I would go ahead and get it while it was on sale, and Iove it! you just got to know how to use it! and it may take awhile, but once you get it down, you will be taking great photos! I have not had any issues with this camera, it makes me feel like I am a professional. One thing you may want to do is buy a class 10 professional sdcard if you want to take photos a little faster and much better photo quality, I had a reg sd card and it still did great with them, its just I wanted a lil more lol. It has alot of features as well!! Great buy for the price and makes you feel like you have a Point to shoot to DSLR camera......I love mine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Great camera, but does have some limitations.

08/23/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is pretty good. As compared to a cheaper point and shoot it is great. It is very easy to use, but also comes with a manual mode for great artistic photos. Automatic mode is okay, not as precise and great as I would like, but what Auto mode is LOL. My only issues have come from these things.
1. Sometimes the focus doesn't work too well. It focuses rather well, but not always at your subject. But I have only faced this issue with very close shots.
2. This camera is very slow on the draw. It takes a good second to take a photo. If you want faster pictures, change it to the wide screen mode, which brings it down to about 12MP.
3. Reading the manual is MANDATORY for the life of this product. It may be a bit fragile (Not in build, but in working conditions). Don't use this thing in freezing temperatures, Or in +90% humidity.
By the way, the camera bag I have listed is perfect for this, and is even padded as the manual suggests.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Vanguard Peking Series Weather Resistant Digital Camera & Camcorder Bag - Peking 10B
4.6 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Nice Camera at Good Price

07/24/2011
By ,
Youngstown, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this bridge camera. Its easy to use and takes good pictures if you follow the instructions. Ive sold a few of my shots already. This is my 5th digital camera and my first GE, but it really has all the features I need. I think the lens cap is loosely fitting because the lens protrudes out of the camera when its turned on and if you forget to take the lens cap off it will push it off for you. If it was tightly fitting it may damage the camera and my cap doesnt come off unless I take it off so it isnt loose as it is stated in other reviews. You also have to manually pop up the flash if you want to use it which isnt a big deal except my other digital pops up automatically when needed and I got used to that. The camera body isnt as large as an DSLR and the cameras not too heavy to lug for a day of picture taking. All in all at this price I think you wont find a better deal. Happy Photographing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+309points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Love It!

09/29/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this camera for over a month and have taken a lot of pictures. I have taken pics of spiders, flowers, trees, kids, animals, while moving in a vehicle, in the house, outside when bright and at sunset. EVERY picture has turned out great! The auto scenes makes taking pics even easier, since I just set what I need and it adjusts for me. The pics are crisp and clear, they even upload wonderful onto Facebook. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants a great camera and a wonderful price. I am not a professional, just a Mom taking pics of her kids and everything else but I am so pleased with it, that I have recommended it to others.
The only down side is the batteries, it goes through them quick, but you can either get Lithium or rechargeable to solve that problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Close ups
Posted 07/11/2012
I have problems with this camera in taking close ups. I have had it for a year now and can not get a good close up photo which is bad because I enjoy photos of flowers and animals etc. I do not know what I am doing wrong but they either do not turn out well or end up coming out all white. I am honestly about to ditch this camera because of this. :o(
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Met my needs and expectations.

10/11/2011
By ,
Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camera because the one I was using had a short flash range. I needed to be able to take pictures inside from a distance of at least 20 to 30 feet away. I also needed to snap pictures continuously with no lag time between snaps. This camera has all those capabilities and more. I took it to the Hot Air Balloon Festival in Albuquerque and it performed beautifully! It's zoom capabilities are phenominal. I came home with picture perfect shots from as close as two feet to as far away as miles.
It is very easy to use and the the options and settings are easy to see and to understand. This camera gives results you would expect from more expensive cameras.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Amazing camera!

08/04/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From what I have seen, all its features that it offers can help taking awesome pictures. You will not be disappointed in buying this camera. Even if other places (websites) criticizes the GE company, which is really from General Imaging from what I've heard, they have made a great progress and have offered a valuable item at a low price. This camera is like your point-and-shoot camera with steroids haha. But its a very well made camera it is close to a DSLR camera with an amazing zoom. I was able to take a picture of an airplane flying so high in pretty darn clear view. Well, I am very satisfied with my purchase. I am sure you'll find the camera incredible also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
SanDisk 4GB UltraII SDHC Card
4.6 out of 5(56)
 
 
 
 
 
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

great product for the price

10/28/2011
By ,
usa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great camera for travelling,sharp pictures, great range 15X,high ISO and 16 MP,all for $128,it bet some SLR Digital camera that sell for hundreds dollars more,and have so many feature like high end camera have, I use it to walk around for Vacation, instead my heavy Nikon D700,or D7000, for easy carrying,and just take fun picture, and it surprise me how good the color and sharpness this camera produce,and not to mention it use AA battery, it is the best feature, I run out of my rechargeable battery twice and I can buy the battery any where and start shooting again,I put a 16 Gb card in it,and it took over 3 thousands picture,wow overall this is a great camera for the price, it is hard to bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

The GE X500 is a keeper.

05/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well the jury is in---this is a great camera. After owning and fighting with this camera and printing out a return slip, the fault on the blurry pictures was all mine.
There is a focus box in the view finder that must turn green and the camera will beep then the pictures will be great. If the focus box is any other color (red-orange) and the camera does not give the "ok" beep then the pics will be probably be blurry.
What I found was when the auto focus was giving a "red" box and having trouble focusing I set the Expo Metering to "Center or Spot" metering and then the camera view box was green again and the pictures were all good to excellent. The factory default seems to be AiAE so if the box seems to be redish then check the setting and reset again.
Also one needs to keep their fingers out of the way of the Auto Focus Assist lens that also helps.
So---If the view box is not green and is red or orange then recompose until the box is green and then you will be taking great pictures.
Battery life is great also if done right. My Canon A540 owners manual states--if using the LCD screen on the back of camera it will take around 90 photos--if one turns that off and uses the view finder the camera will take around 600 photos before needing to change the batteries, big difference. On the X500 I simply use the "EVF" button leaving the big LCD screen off as much as possible.
I also like the Double A batteries, as when going on a 6 day float trip in the wilderness a battery and charger do not work well. Just get some rechargeable batteries if that is a problem. Although i still am going to update to (bigger--better-more expensive) camera sometime, this one is a keeper. Steve
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Great Camera

06/05/2011
By ,
Willow Spring, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome camera, does what I want it to and much much more. Very easily comaparabe to much more expensive camera. The only problem I have had is sometimes my photos may come out a little blurry, but that was mostly me getting used to the new camera and all it's settings. This camera takes excellent crystal clear images once you get used to how the camera functions.
You won't go wrong with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+433points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
I LOVE This Camera
Posted 07/18/2011
I'm 15 And I'm Very Into Photography. I Needed A Good Camera Because My Nikon Broke And I Could Not Afford Another One. But, This One Does The Job. Very Good Quality !
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Most Excellent Purchase-

10/26/2012
By ,
N.E. PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced an older and pricier DSL after 8 years. This GE has more than I need!! I'm an old wet film guy . -SLR's - Nikon F-1, Olympus OM-10's. Then to Digital .with a DSL . But since I made the transition, I love digital, and so far, I love this GE. Big screen for review, and through the lens for framing. Nice it takes 4 AA batterys, not 2. So, it's slightly bulkier but comfy to hold. Some reviews said, 'blurry pics, '- remember, auto focus occurs when the shutter buton is initially touched, so you have to give it a heartbeat before pressing all the way, unless you set it for sports (action). There is a few to many options (software) built in that can be confusing. This is not a 'viewfinder' compact that fits in your shirt pocket. For my purposes, it's better than my 'way old ' F-1. 16MP and 15X - most excelent resolution. - and a most excellent price. Only 2 negative coments; the lens cap, and way TOO many options in the software.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

Just not dependable

06/05/2012
By ,
Beautiful Weiss Lake Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this camera to replace my ole Fuji that had lived a long productive life, but had finally succumbed to the ravages of time and died... This camera takes great pictures for the price and has excellent specifications and features, but it just can't be depended on to always take a picture when you press the shutter. It would periodically give me an SD card write error, and sometimes even report the 16 gig card as full even though it had less than 100 pictures on it. Well I tried several other cards that worked fine in my other devices with the same result... Periodic SD card errors...
If you don't mind missing the occasional shot, this might just make you a good purchase, but if missing out on that "once in a lifetime" shot would get under your skin you may want to spend a little more money...
I recommend doing a little research here on the interweb and search for "GE X500 problem". I should have done more of this and paid more attention to the results...
I returned this camera and ordered another Fuji...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera, 15X Optical Zoom, 4.9-73.5mm f3.0 Wide Angle Lens, 2.7" LCD w/ Viewfinder

great camera for price

07/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agree with other reviewer, my first pictures were blurry. really great pictures once i got the hang of it. exceptional zoom, just used it on trip to the beach and was really pleased with results. my lens cap does not stay on and i do not like this because the lens does not cover up when camera is off. its the only thing i would change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next