Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Night Owl Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Night Owl Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

The Night Owl Executive Camera Pen is perfect for busy professionals — offering users the ability to record video (640 x 480), audio (from up to 20 feet away) and take notes simultaneously. This handsomely designed retractable USB camera pen has a black finish with silver plated accents. However, unlike ordinary executive pens, the Night Owl Executive Camera Pen also boasts a built-in compact camera, which can record up to 90 minutes of video with audio. With an impressive 640 x 680 resolution and 4GB of internal memory, files can be transferred by easily unscrewing the USB camera pen and inserting the pen USB directly into your computer. The pen with video recording is compatible with both Windows and Mac computers and includes three additional black ballpoint ink refills.
Average Customer Rating:
3.567 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation70%21 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

AWESOME Night Owl Nopen 4GB Executive Camera Pen

07/14/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pen does and is exactly what it said.....The price was a bit much for me especially since there is only a 2 hr max on video recording....it would be nice to have had a feature that allowed you to video and voice record separately, but oh well you cant have it all....the pen is stylish and sleek and picture quality is very decent....a few watch outs is to make sure the pen is turned outward and secure in its positioning or your video will be all over the place.....also, setting the time was tricky since there were no instruction to do that as well as no instruction on how to set the time with Office products.....their online instructions is great as well....over-all I a lover of this pen and take it everywhere I go....if you are looking for a recording video pen....this is a great buy....o but beware of using the pen portion, the twist motion isnt as secure as I would like but its manageable....the biggest thing of all to note is changing the ink cartridge....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Not very good

04/21/2014
By ,
Lutz, Fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for a few wrrks the it stop working. You have to be at a certain distance to get the full spectrum
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

not happy with purchase

04/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the reset button does not work!!;[ returning it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Okay but not great.

02/10/2013
By ,
Southern Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There needs to be light as if in a dark room as like even a Bar room then the picture will be dark and not worth much. There is no way to adjust the lens so it needs to be used in a lighted area.
Plus it takes too high-up or pointing upward of a picture if in my shirt pocket, and it has a small blue light on the reverse side when it is filming and if anyone looks at the pen from the back side of the lens then the blue light shines out. The sound seems great to me but it is not intended to record a symphony concert.
The batteries last long and I got two and a half hours of filming and had more to go as I turned the camera off before it ran out, and it recharged fast as if the battery used little power. It does not have a battery gauge as is on any cell phone so even when attached to the computer there is no way to judge if the battery is half charged or down low as it simply flashes a yellow light to show charging and a steady (non flashing) yellow light when charged.
I intend to use it like a small camcorder because I hold it in hand and in light then it works fine.
It uploads on my Windows 7 with no problem.
The shipping was fine and came delivered fast enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Great pen camera for the money

01/11/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as advertised. Had purchased a different one from another company in China which arrived DOA. Returned that one and purchased this one. Excellent color video and audio. In order to get a time/date stamp in the video, one must write a time.txt file and save to the camera video directory. Easy to do with the instructions provided. Very pleased with this product. Fast shipping.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
02/04/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The pen functions as what the specification states. It looks elegant and can writes. The video is reasonably clear. But the quality of video cannot compare to DVD. It does not take pictures. It is easy to use to capture video. However, the design of a hidden camera on a pen would make the capture of video a little difficult. The pen has to stand up right and point at the object at the right level. If you are holding a pen, look like writing, the pen will not be easily pointing at the object. When the pen is not stationary, same as the video too. If you are holding a pen stand up right, it looks a little odd and easily draw the attention. It is not the design for. If the camera is put inside something stationary like a clock or flash drive, it is a better design.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
05/28/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device for the price. Has excellent picture quality. I would purchase this camera pen again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

spy pen

03/23/2014
By ,
Bartlett, Tn.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does a good job of recording voice and video. It not very good at taking video from a shirt pocket of a police uniform.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Bought but did not open - here's why..

11/27/2013
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this and the key chain recorder. I used the key chain recorder & it works perfectly! The ONLY reason I have not opened the pen & returned it was because the pen is just waaaay too large to look normal. Maybe if put in a suit pocket but other than that if I left it laying around to record, someone would see it & probably inspect it just because it is much larger than your average pen. It's about the thickness of a sharpie. I'm sure it works great since the key chain blew my mind with how well it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Video does not work

01/26/2013
By ,
Boise, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this pen today. In my first recording it was good. But after that it does not record video, I can only hear audio.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

misguided

03/03/2014
By ,
Corona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yes the price is reasonable, if all you want to do is video record, but the video is not very clear. I wanted audio only option, along with the Video & Audio. I'm very disappointed, now I will need to buy another audio pen and see if I can return this one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
09/04/2012
By ,
Newark, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent for the price and the viewing of the pen is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Point, Ohio 45680
Camera Pen
Posted 04/24/2013
The information section only says video and audio. Does this pen actually take photos/still shots?
Thanks,
M Beckett
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
07/11/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works great and I use every day. Thinking to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
07/28/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pen should be designed for the average human anatomy. Most men aren't flat chested, even the athletic ones, and when the pen is in the pocket, it shows mostly the upper part of the room and the ceiling. The camera should be pointed downward slightly and it should have a wider angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Negaunee, Mi
unhappy
Posted 08/19/2012
camera is a pile of junk as you hope that you got it pointed so that it gets the object or things that you want to capture video of and also the pocket clip is junk as it pulls out of the pen after the second time in and out of pocket as well as i agree with chriszz about what he said about it and then there is the issue with holding down the button on the top to start it some times it starts in 3 sec and then there is times it takes 10 sec there has to be a better way to know where you are pointing it and also the pocket clip needs improvments so as to make for better pointing when clipped in pocket and also needs wider field of capture .
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Good once you learn how to use

01/05/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little hard in the beginning to know at what level the pen should be to record video. I am still trying to understand the distance and level it should be held. You actually don't know until you have recorded then downloaded. Still trying to figure it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
01/03/2013
By ,
kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only problems are can't take picture other than videos
and can't see what you are recording, but other than those two things, I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
02/03/2013
By ,
the south
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You have to be very close to get a clear audio.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Works ten times better than I ever imagined.

10/21/2013
By ,
Famville, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only improvement I see is substituting 8 GB for 4 GB for longer recording. That would be worth a little extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)
05/31/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVR works pretty well for its size and I would say well worth the money, however, do NOT use the sight to store option it took almost 3 weeks to arrive had I known this I would have paid to have it sent to my house in less than one week delivery was very disappointing
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Night Owl Executive Camera Pen (4GB Internal Memory)

Does the job stated

09/15/2013
By ,
UK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality video, not so good audio but still a very useful tool. Just make sure it is positioned carefully in the pocket to get the best out of it. Very easy operation, both using and downloading data to computer. If you are looking for a product of this kind then you won't go far wrong with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next