Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Experience the freedom to play games, watch HD movies, social network and more on your Iconia 7" tablet — now in pocket size. The small handheld design of this Acer tablet PC with stunning 7" display makes this Iconia 7" tablet the perfect size to take on the go, and conveniently fits in your jacket pocket or purse to help maintain your busy life. This multi-functional Acer tablet PC is the perfect immersive gaming device, mini movie theater, portable photo album, endless book collection, personal planner, social network connection and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%67 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Acer A100 not good

12/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son for Christmas. We have a wireless router (Dlink) that has worked for years until we connected the Acer. It would work for a few minutes then it would bring the router down. After debating whether it was the router or the Acer, I researched on the net and found others had the same problem. End of story, returned it and bought an I Pad 2 works great, expensive but doesn't bring down my router.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPad 2 with Wi-Fi (Black, 32GB)
4.8 out of 5(92)
 
 
 
 
 
-24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Near Pittsburgh, PA
Ancient router is your problem
Posted 02/10/2012
If your router has worked "for years", it's time to get a new router. Old routers can't handle newer technology.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Unable to access WIFI

09/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay, so I jumped on the bandwagon and purchased the A100 as I read the reviews and most appeared to be pleased and the price was reasonable. Sad to say that i was unable to access WiFi. So I returned the tab thinking perhaps it may have been defective and was even more disappointed as the second one failed to connect as well. I contacted the ACER customer service number and after several tries on both occassionsI still was unable to access WiFI....so the ACER A100 is going back to the store. Nope, its not my router cause I am on my laptop as I post this Comment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
router
Posted 11/21/2011
The only thing that might cause the tablet not to connect is that it needs an N router if you have on then maybe it is the tablet but if you don't that maybe why it won't connect. Might look into that since most wifi tech is going to N cards. Hope it helps.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

alright tablet

09/15/2011
By ,
ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
like everything about the a100 just wouldn't hold a wifi connection lost connection everytime i switch pages but liked everything else the android market isnt as useful as the android market on my phone couldn't get the same apps but would of kept it if i didn't have so much trouble with the wifi on it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cornwall, ON
Wi-fi
Posted 11/29/2011
I had the same issue - wi-fi would cut out and then sometimes re-connect automatically, sometimes not. It was easy enough to re-connect but it was a pain. After reading several of the tablet forums, several people suggested changing the wi-fi setting from DHCP to static. This worked very well for me as I haven't had one dropped connection in a few days. It used to be every 10 minutes or so. You do this by going to settings (Apps menu)/wireless-networks/wi-fi settings. Then hard press and hold on your connection (router name) and another mini-menu will come up. Press on Modify network and under IP settings, change it to Static. Then you could be good to go with no more dropped connections. Some people have said this fix might be OK but might not work on networks other than your own. If it doesn't work elsewhere, I'll simply switch it back to DHCP. Hope this helps.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
11/18/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Machine, but the battery didn't last 1 full day...Maybe that is the advantage of a larger tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 5 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
02/12/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tablet because I wanted something to carry with me in place of my 17inch laptop.I bought it on January 25th and the touch screen already does not always respond. The return time is only 15 days and that was up before the problem began. Walmart should have A longer return time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Anroind Tablet featuring Acer iconia Tab 7"

01/06/2012
By ,
San Diego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't purchase this item from Walmart but from their competitors had it on sale for for $248.99. The store was gratuitous to do a full refund and Acer tech was no help what so ever! The problem I had with Acer was the WiFi! Do as may I could not connect to my wireless network even at full signal! Acer stop supporting this tablet and I read numerous reviews about the bug with 3.2 OS and drivers. Their are no drivers update and this product is no longer being made! Acer teach support was not help what so ever! After numerous calls and them telling to reset or do a hard reset. WoW! Really, I don't have thought of that myself! I told them I need updated drivers, they said there are no update for the 3.2 OS! I swear them up and down and told them I would never by Acer again!. I thought to share my store and beware of purchasing Acer products. Their products are hit or miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Total bust

01/09/2012
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife and I both have the 10.1" Iconia A500, and we love it. We bought this A100 as a gift for our daughter in Michigan; a smaller version because she wanted to be able to keep it in her purse. Unfortunately, it turned out badly. The tablet was missing some critical software and would not function properly. Acer tech support was no real help. They basically shrugged and said "Return it." Walmart has no more of these units, in Michigan, here in North Carolina, nor online.
We are very disappointed with our experience with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 8 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Fast and slick tablet.

03/11/2012
By ,
Elk Grove, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading all the good reviews about this tablet I finally bought it for my wife as a gift. She loved it, mission accomplished! It performs as advertised. It doesn't feel cheap at all and it looks really nice. Battery holds a pretty good charge and the touch screen is so responsive. But after using it to watch streaming videos online it seems to drop the wifi signal after every 2 minutes. No matter what we try to watch, it does the same thing. So I end up returning it to walmart and got my wife an Acer Aspire One netbook instead for less the price and better performance. She absolutely loved it so much. I guess I will just wait a little bit more time before buying another tablet so they can fix all the glitches and problems first. I will just charge everything to my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Not Bad but...

01/25/2012
By ,
North Providence, RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the staff at Walmart was fantastic. Customer Service above and beyond! I purchaced the tablet to use as an ereader, but also to be able to connect to the internet via wifi. I have not had any luck w/connectins since I purchased it on 12/26/11. I am sitting right next to my router/modem at home and it still can't connect. I didn't want to purchase an ACER product, since I've had bad luck w/2 laptops..... but I did..... and here I go again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Almost Perfect!

12/06/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this tablet on Black Friday for $198 thus my rating for the value is based on this price.
This tablet has met most of my expectations.
Pros: Almost pure Honeycomb, Very easy to set up, has HDMI Output, supports external SD card, nice speakers, screen is good (not the best)
Wish: each speaker on each side instead of having both on one side, USB charger, battery life lasts longer than 5 hours (5 hours is pretty standard for android tablet I guess)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great tablet that is easy for on the go.

12/25/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the 8GB version for the my two boys for Christmas. The size is perfect for them (and myself) especially when you consider they are lugging them all over the house and in the car, etc... Anything bigger would be would make this less portable. According to Acer this tablet is due for the "Ice Cream Sandwich" Android update sometime in January or February which should increase the speed and functionality. Having better specs than the Kindle Fire including front and rear cameras and a micro SD card slot is well worth to extra $50. If you are in the market for a good tablet, don't hesitate pulling the trigger on this one. I am probably going to get one for myself soon. I would have given it 5 stars, but the battery life is a bit less than expected. I guess 5 hours of continuous play before needing charged is pretty good compared to the Nintendo DS and PSP (and there is no need to keep track of games.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Update - Something to add that's not so great.
Posted 01/03/2012
After having this tablet for a few weeks now, I want to change this to 3 stars. Everything is great as I had stated in my review, but the Honeycomb operating system does not allow for moving apps to the SD card (without "rooting" and voiding the warranty) as in previous versions of the operating system. 8GB is simply not enough room once you start to download games and other apps. I will be returning these and opting for something with more room, especially with the quad-core tablets starting to be released.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Does everything Kindle Fire does plus more...

01/10/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tab is similar size to the Kindle Fire and does everything the Fire does plus allows access to more apps, can expand memory with a micro SD card, and allows access to more book providers. Only negative is a shorter battery life than I would like but for only $50 more than Fire i am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
01/11/2012
By ,
Central Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No fault of the product, but after a week my tablet was dropped and the screen cracked. Might want to consider the warranty. Having to pay $99 to get replaced by Acer. Very good company to work with. Have an acer computer and have always been able to get service when needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Good Small Tablet Option

01/12/2012
By ,
Danbury,CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the ASUS Transformer but felt it was too big for my needs so I sent it back and tried the Amazon Fire. I loved the size but didn't like the fact that everything had to be tied into Amazon, and it is bulky for a 7" tablet. When I saw the Acer tablet I thought it would be the best of both worlds, also Wal-Mart had a great price.
Overall I am happy with the Iconia. The size is perfect for reading and watching videos while in landscape mode. I also like that you can add additional memory.
My issue is the same as most people, the battery life stinks. I have had to switch to watching movies with it plugged in to keep enough juice in it to then be able to use the Kindle App. later on.
One other comment is the touch screen is verrrrry sensitive no matter what setting I have it on. It is very easy to launch an app. that you were just trying to scroll over.
For the price it is a great tablet, if the Samsung Galaxy was a little cheaper I would probably have gone with it instead.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great Tablet for the Price

03/19/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful picture, easy to use, holds lots of (free) games and programs.
Only drawbacks - Not compatible with HBO GO and short battery life.
This tablet is lightning fast - it has the current Android 3.2 Honeycomb program (a newer version is coming out - 4.0) but this one is really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Really good 7" tablet for the price point

01/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this tablet for our 12 year old son for Christmas, so he's had it for about 3 weeks or so. So far it's been great...it pretty much does everything he wanted it for. It's like a big Ipod in a way...music, movies, apps. We discovered last night that it can stream its content wirelessly to our TV via our PS3 which was totally cool! It seems to be pretty sturdy, and the touch screen is fairly responsive. Screen resolution is good, although it suffers when viewed from an angle - my Kindle Fire is better in that respect. Sure a bigger screen would be nice, but we just didn't want to spend the extra $100+ on an early generation tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great price great value

03/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, android market is great, perfect size to take with you anywhere. I love it! I only wish the battery lasted a little longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Lots of good stuff, a few minor negatives...

11/09/2011
By ,
Lodi, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet is close to perfect, the right size, super fast, easy to use, and pure fun when playing games since the interface is absolutely seamless. The dual cameras and video recorder work well, good enough that I can leave my little pocket digital at home. The GPS function works great and is a real GPS, satellite system, not wifi driven. Great for bike riding when touring or looking up where you are when lost. The tablet readily recognizes my voice and takes voice commands for numerous apps. I really like this tablet. For the pessimist, there are three concerns;
1. Battery life. I get about 5 1/2 hours use running an app called Juice Defender and turning the GPS receiver off. However, once I get over the fun of playing with the tablet, the five and a half hours would be more than enough during a normal day and would certainly last long enough for me to read a book on a long flight.
2. Viewing on the screen. When viewed head on, the screen is bright and crisp. When viewed from bottom, and both sides, it stays that way for quite a few degrees. However, when viewed at an angle from the top, the screen changes to a shadow image, hard to see. As an example, two people playing backgammon across a dining table would have to slide the tablet back and forth rather than just leave it in the center of the table. One person could see the screen fairly well, the other would see what would appear to an unfinished hologram, unable to discern the board and tiles.
3. The operating system does not allow the apps to store their data on the external SD card. While the 2.3 Gingerbread operating system on older tablets allows for the data files to be routed to the external card, the Acer Iconia does not. However, in truth, this does not seem to be that much of a problem. I have the 8 gig tablet and have 119 apps installed. They take up a total of 850 megs of the 5.36 gigs of internal memory available. I also installed a 32 gig external card and have over 3,000 songs in mp3 format as well as almost 5,000 photos on the card as well as a few documents, my contact list and a few family videos. Even so, I still have 15 gigs, half the external card storage free.
Although the tablet and its operating system are new to the market (11/2011) a good number of accessories are already available including custom fitting folio cases and car chargers (the same charger works for the A500). While some Android apps have not yet been configured to operate on 3.2, most of the major ones now work including YouTube and Netflix.
The tablet has a decent volume for its size and allows a bluetooth linkup to headphones. Acer has promised further bluetooth links in the automatic software upgrading application.
Would I buy this tablet again, given what is available currently on the market? Definitely! Would I recommend one to my techie friends, you betcha!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lima, Ohio
Posted 02/25/2012
The APP store has an app called App 2 SD Free which allows you to save apps to SD card. So just download that
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ky
TY
Posted 11/12/2011
Thanks for the input on app storage and memory info... Big help in decision making process.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Acer Seven inch Android Honeycomb Tablet

11/09/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't want a 10.1 inch tablet because of the size. I went with the 7 inch and wasn't disappointed at all. The 3.2 OS is just great and I have already received a update from Acer. It came automatically and installed on it's own. The battery life could be a bit longer and if it were I would give it five stars across the board. The touch screen is the best I've run into in an Android System. I haven't found a shortage of Apps for the Honeycomb OS like folks reported a few months ago and the ones written for Honeycomb are a big improvement compared to the Android 2.2 OS I had in my first cheepo tablet.
All in all I'd buy this little puppy again, don't miss the larger screen at all especially when it comes time to pack it up and take it on the road.
The price was right in line for a new technology 7” tablet and Acer made it with quality.
I bought it through tyhe Discover Card Portal and received five percent cashback bonus to boot. With site to store I didn't pay for shipping either and it was ready the next day for pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 20 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

So far so good...

08/13/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just picked mine up at the local Walmart store. Probably as one of the first in the country. Yay!! I paid $328 for the 8gb version. I didn't wanna wait couple of weeks till the 16gb version becomes available. I'll just get a 16 or 32gb micro sd card to expand the device's memory.
So far I cannot say a lot about it. I unboxed it and had it up running within a few minutes. Asked for the WiFi connection and then prompted me to sign in to my Google account which you will need for the Android market place among others.
Despite the product description on this website, the ACER A100 has Android 3.2 already pre-installed. No need to upgrade from an older version. The touch screen is very responsive. You can type easily with one hand holding it in portrait mode. Can't say anything about battery life but it's supposed to be 4 to 5 hours. Not much compared to the 10 inch tablets, however, compared to other 7 inchers it's about the same from what I read in reviews online. You can get the HTC for 200 more and would only have an hour more of battery power. Gotta make compromises somewhere.
Android 3.2 is great so far. i haven't run into any forces application closes but this will probably come once i really get into it. But hey, it's easier to get a fix for minor bugs like these than waiting for an update from Gingerbread to Honeycomb.
My biggest problem right now is that Acer hasn't put the user guide for the A100 on their website yet. I only have a small start guide with basic information on the product. For now I just try to use the one for the A500, which is the 10 inch brother of the A100. As a first time Android user, I expect to experience a steep learning cure as the software seems to be very intuitively to operate.
Love the product so far. But if you don't need to buy one right now, you should wait a couple of months and see what the other Honeycomb 7 inch tablets have to offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cornwall, ON
Yes it has FB and YouTube
Posted 11/29/2011
Both these programs work well
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/15/2011
Do you know if it has a Facebook and Youtube app?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next