Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Experience the freedom to play games, watch HD movies, social network and more on your Iconia 7" tablet — now in pocket size. The small handheld design of this Acer tablet PC with stunning 7" display makes this Iconia 7" tablet the perfect size to take on the go, and conveniently fits in your jacket pocket or purse to help maintain your busy life. This multi-functional Acer tablet PC is the perfect immersive gaming device, mini movie theater, portable photo album, endless book collection, personal planner, social network connection and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%67 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Acer A100 not good

12/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son for Christmas. We have a wireless router (Dlink) that has worked for years until we connected the Acer. It would work for a few minutes then it would bring the router down. After debating whether it was the router or the Acer, I researched on the net and found others had the same problem. End of story, returned it and bought an I Pad 2 works great, expensive but doesn't bring down my router.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPad 2 with Wi-Fi (Black, 32GB)
4.8 out of 5(92)
 
 
 
 
 
-24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Near Pittsburgh, PA
Ancient router is your problem
Posted 02/10/2012
If your router has worked "for years", it's time to get a new router. Old routers can't handle newer technology.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Unable to access WIFI

09/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay, so I jumped on the bandwagon and purchased the A100 as I read the reviews and most appeared to be pleased and the price was reasonable. Sad to say that i was unable to access WiFi. So I returned the tab thinking perhaps it may have been defective and was even more disappointed as the second one failed to connect as well. I contacted the ACER customer service number and after several tries on both occassionsI still was unable to access WiFI....so the ACER A100 is going back to the store. Nope, its not my router cause I am on my laptop as I post this Comment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
router
Posted 11/21/2011
The only thing that might cause the tablet not to connect is that it needs an N router if you have on then maybe it is the tablet but if you don't that maybe why it won't connect. Might look into that since most wifi tech is going to N cards. Hope it helps.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
11/18/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Machine, but the battery didn't last 1 full day...Maybe that is the advantage of a larger tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 4 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Fast and slick tablet.

03/11/2012
By ,
Elk Grove, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading all the good reviews about this tablet I finally bought it for my wife as a gift. She loved it, mission accomplished! It performs as advertised. It doesn't feel cheap at all and it looks really nice. Battery holds a pretty good charge and the touch screen is so responsive. But after using it to watch streaming videos online it seems to drop the wifi signal after every 2 minutes. No matter what we try to watch, it does the same thing. So I end up returning it to walmart and got my wife an Acer Aspire One netbook instead for less the price and better performance. She absolutely loved it so much. I guess I will just wait a little bit more time before buying another tablet so they can fix all the glitches and problems first. I will just charge everything to my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Total bust

01/09/2012
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife and I both have the 10.1" Iconia A500, and we love it. We bought this A100 as a gift for our daughter in Michigan; a smaller version because she wanted to be able to keep it in her purse. Unfortunately, it turned out badly. The tablet was missing some critical software and would not function properly. Acer tech support was no real help. They basically shrugged and said "Return it." Walmart has no more of these units, in Michigan, here in North Carolina, nor online.
We are very disappointed with our experience with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 6 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

alright tablet

09/15/2011
By ,
ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
like everything about the a100 just wouldn't hold a wifi connection lost connection everytime i switch pages but liked everything else the android market isnt as useful as the android market on my phone couldn't get the same apps but would of kept it if i didn't have so much trouble with the wifi on it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cornwall, ON
Wi-fi
Posted 11/29/2011
I had the same issue - wi-fi would cut out and then sometimes re-connect automatically, sometimes not. It was easy enough to re-connect but it was a pain. After reading several of the tablet forums, several people suggested changing the wi-fi setting from DHCP to static. This worked very well for me as I haven't had one dropped connection in a few days. It used to be every 10 minutes or so. You do this by going to settings (Apps menu)/wireless-networks/wi-fi settings. Then hard press and hold on your connection (router name) and another mini-menu will come up. Press on Modify network and under IP settings, change it to Static. Then you could be good to go with no more dropped connections. Some people have said this fix might be OK but might not work on networks other than your own. If it doesn't work elsewhere, I'll simply switch it back to DHCP. Hope this helps.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
02/12/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tablet because I wanted something to carry with me in place of my 17inch laptop.I bought it on January 25th and the touch screen already does not always respond. The return time is only 15 days and that was up before the problem began. Walmart should have A longer return time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Anroind Tablet featuring Acer iconia Tab 7"

01/06/2012
By ,
San Diego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't purchase this item from Walmart but from their competitors had it on sale for for $248.99. The store was gratuitous to do a full refund and Acer tech was no help what so ever! The problem I had with Acer was the WiFi! Do as may I could not connect to my wireless network even at full signal! Acer stop supporting this tablet and I read numerous reviews about the bug with 3.2 OS and drivers. Their are no drivers update and this product is no longer being made! Acer teach support was not help what so ever! After numerous calls and them telling to reset or do a hard reset. WoW! Really, I don't have thought of that myself! I told them I need updated drivers, they said there are no update for the 3.2 OS! I swear them up and down and told them I would never by Acer again!. I thought to share my store and beware of purchasing Acer products. Their products are hit or miss.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 9 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Not Bad but...

01/25/2012
By ,
North Providence, RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the staff at Walmart was fantastic. Customer Service above and beyond! I purchaced the tablet to use as an ereader, but also to be able to connect to the internet via wifi. I have not had any luck w/connectins since I purchased it on 12/26/11. I am sitting right next to my router/modem at home and it still can't connect. I didn't want to purchase an ACER product, since I've had bad luck w/2 laptops..... but I did..... and here I go again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Does everything Kindle Fire does plus more...

01/10/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tab is similar size to the Kindle Fire and does everything the Fire does plus allows access to more apps, can expand memory with a micro SD card, and allows access to more book providers. Only negative is a shorter battery life than I would like but for only $50 more than Fire i am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Almost Perfect!

12/06/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this tablet on Black Friday for $198 thus my rating for the value is based on this price.
This tablet has met most of my expectations.
Pros: Almost pure Honeycomb, Very easy to set up, has HDMI Output, supports external SD card, nice speakers, screen is good (not the best)
Wish: each speaker on each side instead of having both on one side, USB charger, battery life lasts longer than 5 hours (5 hours is pretty standard for android tablet I guess)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great price great value

03/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, android market is great, perfect size to take with you anywhere. I love it! I only wish the battery lasted a little longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
01/11/2012
By ,
Central Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No fault of the product, but after a week my tablet was dropped and the screen cracked. Might want to consider the warranty. Having to pay $99 to get replaced by Acer. Very good company to work with. Have an acer computer and have always been able to get service when needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great tablet that is easy for on the go.

12/25/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the 8GB version for the my two boys for Christmas. The size is perfect for them (and myself) especially when you consider they are lugging them all over the house and in the car, etc... Anything bigger would be would make this less portable. According to Acer this tablet is due for the "Ice Cream Sandwich" Android update sometime in January or February which should increase the speed and functionality. Having better specs than the Kindle Fire including front and rear cameras and a micro SD card slot is well worth to extra $50. If you are in the market for a good tablet, don't hesitate pulling the trigger on this one. I am probably going to get one for myself soon. I would have given it 5 stars, but the battery life is a bit less than expected. I guess 5 hours of continuous play before needing charged is pretty good compared to the Nintendo DS and PSP (and there is no need to keep track of games.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Update - Something to add that's not so great.
Posted 01/03/2012
After having this tablet for a few weeks now, I want to change this to 3 stars. Everything is great as I had stated in my review, but the Honeycomb operating system does not allow for moving apps to the SD card (without "rooting" and voiding the warranty) as in previous versions of the operating system. 8GB is simply not enough room once you start to download games and other apps. I will be returning these and opting for something with more room, especially with the quad-core tablets starting to be released.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

A little pricey but worth it!

09/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking into the $200-$250 price range. Everything in that price range today seems to have issues with sluggish responses and glitching or freezing. So I went to the next level. My son-in-law, (super geek) recommended somthing with dual processers and the latest operating system (OS). So I popped on the Acer 100A. So far i'm very impressed...my daughter burned in the CPUs playing Tetris that I downloaded from the Android market place for free. We (the wife and I) don't have smart hones so this will make a very nice addition to our road trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 16 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Really good 7" tablet for the price point

01/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this tablet for our 12 year old son for Christmas, so he's had it for about 3 weeks or so. So far it's been great...it pretty much does everything he wanted it for. It's like a big Ipod in a way...music, movies, apps. We discovered last night that it can stream its content wirelessly to our TV via our PS3 which was totally cool! It seems to be pretty sturdy, and the touch screen is fairly responsive. Screen resolution is good, although it suffers when viewed from an angle - my Kindle Fire is better in that respect. Sure a bigger screen would be nice, but we just didn't want to spend the extra $100+ on an early generation tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

So far so good...

08/13/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just picked mine up at the local Walmart store. Probably as one of the first in the country. Yay!! I paid $328 for the 8gb version. I didn't wanna wait couple of weeks till the 16gb version becomes available. I'll just get a 16 or 32gb micro sd card to expand the device's memory.
So far I cannot say a lot about it. I unboxed it and had it up running within a few minutes. Asked for the WiFi connection and then prompted me to sign in to my Google account which you will need for the Android market place among others.
Despite the product description on this website, the ACER A100 has Android 3.2 already pre-installed. No need to upgrade from an older version. The touch screen is very responsive. You can type easily with one hand holding it in portrait mode. Can't say anything about battery life but it's supposed to be 4 to 5 hours. Not much compared to the 10 inch tablets, however, compared to other 7 inchers it's about the same from what I read in reviews online. You can get the HTC for 200 more and would only have an hour more of battery power. Gotta make compromises somewhere.
Android 3.2 is great so far. i haven't run into any forces application closes but this will probably come once i really get into it. But hey, it's easier to get a fix for minor bugs like these than waiting for an update from Gingerbread to Honeycomb.
My biggest problem right now is that Acer hasn't put the user guide for the A100 on their website yet. I only have a small start guide with basic information on the product. For now I just try to use the one for the A500, which is the 10 inch brother of the A100. As a first time Android user, I expect to experience a steep learning cure as the software seems to be very intuitively to operate.
Love the product so far. But if you don't need to buy one right now, you should wait a couple of months and see what the other Honeycomb 7 inch tablets have to offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cornwall, ON
Yes it has FB and YouTube
Posted 11/29/2011
Both these programs work well
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/15/2011
Do you know if it has a Facebook and Youtube app?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
08/18/2011
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tablet along with the 10" version. I have found the smaller size much more convenient to carry around than its larger brother. I love the big one for around the house but found it was much to large to carry around comfortably.
As the first 3.2 tablet on the market it has its hiccups such as some tablet apps not working correctly but this is merely software and surely will be sorted soon.
Overall though its a great tablet and meets my expectations. Its identical to the larger version minus the full size USB port and I love the small size for on the go. It actually feels a bit snappier than the bigger version and is perfect for playing games on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 19 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System

Great product

03/11/2012
By ,
Nashville,TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I don't give this tablet 5 stars is because it has a button on the bottom of the bezel that when pushed it takes you out of the application you are working on. Since it is very easy to hit this button by mistake it just gets annoying when it happens.
Other than that this is a great product. Great battery life and pretty fast. I've had it for a few months now and I've had no problems with it at all.
The size is wonderful, I first bought the 10" size and returned it, I really wanted a tablet I could hold in one hand.
I would say that you would be happy with this tablet!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Acer Iconia Tab with Wi-Fi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System
01/08/2012
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is as advertised, I was hoping for more apps like the ones on the iPad I use at work. Overall, it's a good tool. Seems to require more "buffering" time than I expected for simple videos and youtube clips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next