Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Asia Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Dorel Asia Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

The Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set allows you to enhance your kitchen space without remodeling your home. It provides a spacious countertop that's perfect for prepping food, mixing drinks, setting out snacks and more. The two utility drawers underneath have plenty of room for flatware, napkins and candles. Best of all, this kitchen island comes with two stools for seating yourself or seating your guests. The stools stow away neatly under the counter to save room. This kitchen cart is also very durable, featuring solid wood and wood composite construction in a natural walnut finish. The Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set includes hardware and easy to use instructions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation69%11 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

looks great but parts missing...

07/25/2011
By ,
Knoxville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I used store pickup option and picked this up on a Saturday. It was not extremely difficult to build, (it took me 2 hours) but I would say it is at least medium difficulty because the number of pieces.
Everything was labeled with a letter that matched the instructions but I was missing a drawer side. The directions stated that if parts were missing to call customer service and they would be replaced free. I tried to call but they were closed and I decided that it was no big deal to go back and put the drawer in later so I finished the island. Today (Monday) I called "customer service" and after asking me for the model number the lady said that the part was back ordered and I can return it to the store. I explained to her that I spent 2 hours assembling the product and I only need a drawer side so I am not interested in returning the item. I also found it interesting that she told me that it was back ordered before she knew what I needed. I gave her my contact info and mailing address but she said she has no idea when I will get my part.. coming from Taiwan. I suggest you skip this one and learn from my mistake. I am planning on trying to have a drawer side made because I don't think that I will ever get that part.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Unusual features for space saver set!

10/13/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit is set apart from many others with unique styling and durability. The directions are fairly easy to follow, better than many that I've assembled, and the pieces are clearly marked and packaged including screws/bolts, etc. The finished product is attractive and sturdy, no inexpensive or sub-standard appearance at all. I'm totally happy with the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Great product for the money

10/11/2011
By ,
Raynham, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a reasonably priced island type table with a couple stools for my kitchen. I wanted something that wouldn't take up alot of space, but would make better use of the space that I had. This is perfect. It has transformed my kitchen. I used to have this open space right in the middle of the room, but it wasn't enough space for a full size table. We all know how we live in our kitchen's.
I would always have to move to the dining room if I had company. Now I don't have to. I think it is a great value for the money. It's nothing fancy, pretty basic, but having the 2 different color woods(base is darker wood, top is butcher block) make it seem more expensive. There are 2 drawers, we can always use more drawer space. Using it in the middle of the room makes it more like an island, which gives more counter space also. I have read other reviews on this item before I bought it where people said it was difficult to put together and took forever. My friend & I(both females)put this together no problem. Everything is labeled with numbers & letters. You just need to follow directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Great

08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a small work table that had the chairs out of the way for out-of-town guests in our home office. This worked out great for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

time consuming to put together, but well worth it.

08/06/2011
By ,
MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took me most of one day to put together, but it was will worth it. Looks great! Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Poorly contructed parts

12/30/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew something was wrong when I opened the box and saw a form for ordering defective parts. You cannot return this item; only order replacement parts. There were 3 parts damaged, 2 of which were major parts. This was to be a Christmas gift for my daughter. I assembled what I could. The replacement parts have to be shipped to her and she will have to finish assembling the table. As far as quality and durability, who knows. I would not purchase in this manner again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Poor construction and average materials

12/05/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I opened the box and discovered that the right and left panels were damaged. I had to use glue and clamps to repair the damage. And also discovered that two of the manufacturers pre-drilled holes and inserts did not line up. I managed to assemble the unit, It took two hours for assembly.
The quality control for this product was poor, and if I did not have glue and clamps I would have had to send it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut
11/22/2011
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wood color of this island and the butcher block counter blend perfectly with my kitchen cabinets. There was one crack in the back piece of a drawer but some wood glue held it together and was reinforced by the screws. I don't believe it will be a problem. I like the fact that all the hardware was packaged in a see-thru sheet and labeled. The island and benches seem durable; my daughter put it together for me in a couple of hours and I now have the extra counter space I need in my small kitchen. Being able to store the stools underneath the island until you need to use them is a plus as they don't take up extra floor space. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Good Deal

11/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too difficult to assemble but, tedious and time consuming. Also, some pieces are not sturdy so you must be very careful to avoid cracking. Good product for the price. Glad I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut
03/12/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly impressed with the product design! Everything was packed well for shipping and went together like a simple puzzle. The finishes were all consistent (no drips, lumps, fuzzies etc). The pieces were clearly marked and the directions simple enough to follow with clear pictures. The set went together in just under 2 hours. Be careful not to force the screws. One item was not threading smoothly so I used an electric drill - not a good idea. The barrel nut twisted and broke out the side of piece "G". Thank goodness it was up underneath the top & doesn't show. Other than that (which was my own fault) I am very pleased with the set and overall, it looks much nicer than I was expecting for the money. I use the set for all meals so I hope it holds up well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Don't Buy

12/27/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Dad and I attempted to assemble this table and chairs. It was nothing short of a nightmare. Everything has to be bolted or screwed together. A piece on the drawer fell off and when we attempted to reattach, the screw was stripped. The side of the table has a split rail so the entire set was returned. It looked cheap and flimsy. I bought this set for my daughter's playroom and didn't think it would hold up under their use let alone adult usage! Skip this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Very well made

03/07/2012
By ,
Plainwell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent piece of furniture! I had one part that was not made correctly, but it's not necessary and you can't tell it's missing, so I just left it. The instructions may as well be in Chinese though. They're very difficult to understand at first, but it's well worth the work! It's very sturdy and very well made, I was shocked when I put it together. It looks like I spent a lot more than I really did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Never got to see it out of the box..

06/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this kitchen island sent to me through site to store. The box was damaged but I took it home anyway, only to open it and find that a piece had been cracked so bad it couldnt be put together. I was really looking forward to having this in my kitchen, so it was dissappointing to not even be able to put it together. Needless to say it was sent back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut
03/27/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is a nice set. Looks nice,good size. Was disapointed in one of the stools there was a large crack on the seat. Looks like it was set back in to make it not so noticeable. But you can still see it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut
05/23/2012
By ,
Cortland, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Nice darker wood color which matches my cabinets well. Very quick shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kitchen Island Spacesaver Set with Stools, Natural and Walnut

Good value for the price

10/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble, but be careful the wooden pieces are easily cracked until assembled. Once together, looks nice and is sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.