Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Platinum System II

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Train your entire body with the Gold's Gym Platinum System II. With up to 250 lbs. of resistance, high and low pulleys and a four-roll leg developer, this Gold's Gym weight system targets major muscle groups for incredible results. This Gold's Gym weight system is also built with a chest press, row plate, multi-position lat bar and an exercise chart. It's the ultimate at home gym by Gold's Gym.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II
01/03/2012
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product itself in very nice. Its built sturdyand does a wide range of exercises. Now the Directions on the other hand arent exactly stellar by any means. Most of the items are labeled but not all of them. Thank god there is an exploded view of the gym on the last page or i would still be trying to fig out which cable and pulley to use. Took me and my son about 8 hrs over a few days to complete it. We ran into a few "oops used the wrong bolt" scenarios so without those about 7hrs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Wonderful home gym for beginners

01/10/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After looking at many different home gyms, my husband and I decided on this for based on the value, reviews and the multiple workouts that one could get out of this gym. The chest fly was a big plus because a lot of the gyms we saw did not come with this. It took us the majority of a Saturday to put this together (with many breaks in between), this was a workout in it's own. Everything was packaged well and labeled clearly. You need 2 people minimum to put this baby together. Follow the step by step instructions and it's not all too overwhelming as one might think.
The finished product is a lot more compact than expected, it could be a bit more solid, but considering the price I'm not complaining. There are many different exercises you can do with this. I am 5'3" and my husband is 6'3" and we both sit comfortably on the seat, we don't even have to adjust the seat between us, but one can if they want to. I am starting out on a resistance of 1-2 depending on the exercise and my husband is between 1-3. Resistance goes up to a 12, PLUS there is an extra resistance band for and even harder workout. I would recommend getting a thick piece of cardboard or a gym mat to go under this gym to protect your flooring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Good machine, for the money!

02/15/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this machine abt two weeks back after considerable research. This product is an extreme value at this price point. It is structurally sound and strong. Yes, the pulleys (all 27 of them) are made of glass fiber (aka plastic) with sealed steel bearings and they do make hissing sound when turned (no squealing sound, atleast yet). If you expect ultra smooth/silent operation, you should probably get one in a (much) higher price range. If you were looking at the cheaper model, I have to tell you this one is a much better value. This machine is real and lets you do many more excercises and unlike the cheaper model, *does not* multiply the resistance at the lower cable. This actually lets you use the lower cable as advertised. Also, there is a third cable that you can pull behind your neck (when seated) for additional excercises like ab crunch. Your local Gold's Gym would send a technician if you want help with assembly or have a problem later on (of course you have to pay#, I think thats a big plus with something this big and heavy. Also, I have heard about part mismatch issues #cable not long enough etc# about cheaper brands making it impossible to assemble. Not with this one!
The instructions tell you that you would need two adjustable wrenches to put this together. Thats an invitation to a lot of awkward and sometimes slipped grips, worn bolt heads, lot of frustration, mental fatigue and likely injury. You do not need adjustables since the bolts and nuts are all of the same size. When I saw the pack of about a hundred 17mm nuts and bolts, I immediately went out and bought two 17mm ratchet wrenches. It must have cut the assembling time by atleast 2 hrs #it took me abt 6 hrs, doing it alone#, and my bolt heads look fresh as if assembled by a pro! They have life remaining if I want to take the machine apart and put it together again in the future.
Now for the bads. The parts #other than nuts/bolts/washers, which come very well marked on two sheets of thick paper held together with plastic laminate# are not labelled and the document doesn't mention where in the package would I find a particular part. Even though the bigger parts are apparent and do not need labelling, I had a hard time fishing for a 6 inch spacer which I finally found it in a packet of accessories. I had to undo a few bolts to put it in place since I had almost done assembling the machine when I found it.
In my unit, the left arm of the horizontal stability bar is angled away from the floor and does not touch the floor. I had to squeeze a rubber eraser under it to give the machine some stability.
Like another reviewer has noted, the pin that is supposed to permanently hold the weight selector rod to the number 1 weight is too big for the hole. Like him, I had to drill the hole bigger.
The small swivel handles of the chest press do not have a bearing. They swivel because the bolts conneting them to the bigger arm aren't tightened completely #I'm not kidding#. Guess what, the nuts sometimes turn with the swings, leaving the left handle too tight to swivel and the left one too loose and falling out. I have to tighten this after every few workouts. The nut is situated about 4 inches into the pipe, so you'll need a #17mm) socket wrench and a 6 inch extender to do this job!
If these minor annoyances don't bother you, this is a good machine for under 500 bucks. It gives a full body workout just like a professional gym. Accessories include one lat bar, one handle grip, one extension chain, and an attachment you can use for ab crunches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Great product for the money

11/01/2011
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was amazing to watch this machine come together step by step. It took us about 8 total hours to put this together (spread out between 3 different days), and my husband is a very, very handy person. The best advice we can give is to not be in a hurry and complete each step by step instruction. We did have an actual product problem on the last top pulley that required us to drill out a piece of the metal, so if my husband wasnt so handy, the machine would not have been able to operate properly. It would have required a Golds gym technician to verify that their product had a malfunction. With that said, I am 5 foot tall and my husband is 6'4 and we are able to work out together very smoothly with this machine!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II
07/11/2011
By ,
central fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have'nt had this weight set that long its seems to be just what i wanted the only this it had alot of parts i worked on it for three nights a few hours a night , if you dont mind the trouble of putting it together , instruction are clear, bolts are numbered the parts you just match up , other than that this was worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Gym is well made and good value

07/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gym works well and performs well without defect. We put it together in a few hours without incident or problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Good machine for the price

06/11/2013
By ,
South TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The assembly instructions were excellent as these things go and the unit itself is sturdy enough. The only issue I had was that I was shipped two left side brackets instead of a left and right and had to order another one before I could finish assembly. I was able to reach a rep. right away and they shipped the correct part the next day.
All of the exercises work relatively well. Keep in mind that this is an intermediate level of exercise equipment and you will NOT be able to bulk up like Arnold with this. It is, however, perfect for anyone looking to build a modest amount of muscle or just stay toned. The only complaint I have with this machine is the "burn band" setup. Basically, you're attaching a rubber cord to the bottom of the weight stack to add resistance. Using the included chart, I attempted to go up a few pounds. I went from seven weights without the band to one weight with the band (according to the chart, this would increase the weight by about five pounds on that particular pulley set). It probably did.....for the last two inches of the lift. The first two thirds of the lift were NOTICEABLY lighter. I expect this to a degree due to the nature of the thing, but the progression here is too gradual for it to be effective. Overall, I would guess that the max usable weight would be around 150-225 (it says 250+) pounds depending on the pulley position and exercise. That should be plenty for most people, but I would recommend a little more expensive system for someone that wants to lift more than 250 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II
10/06/2011
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great home gym with a great price. With this home gym there is a variety of exercises you can do with just one machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Kind of cheaply made.

01/29/2012
By ,
Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The overall product is definitely of a cheaper quality and it lacks the smooth motion of the more expensive brands. The pulley system is loud and annoying and all of the resistance levels are immeasurable. One problem I ran into while assembling was that it did not come with the lubricant for certain pins and the lock pin for the first plate does not fit into the top hole. This can be fixed by drilling a wider hole, but it should not be necessary. It also seemed that a lot of the parts were outsourced, though this is only my speculation.
Another complaint is that the chest press is definitely designed for people who have short arm lengths and wide shoulders. The range of motion for the chest press is also inadequate as it never goes low enough for a real chest press. In addition to this, the burn cable design (which adds resistance) is greatly flawed as it does not provide enough resistance and it damages the other cable when used.
Overall it is quite a disappointing product as it has failed to meet my expectations. But you get what you pay for. This product is mediocre at best. Also have fun assembling it for 13+ hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Suitable for the purpose

02/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an inexpensive, multi station exercise machine that would have enough weight. I found this one at another competitor and it was sold out at all 4 local stores, then I checked Walmart online and found it for $100 less and free site to store. It came in 4 boxes (3 boxes of weights, 1 for the machine). It's a 2 person lift for sure. I slid it across the floor and downstairs and it took me by myself 8 hours to put together. So far I'm very happy with it.
Only problem, if you could call it a problem, is 1 of the cables seems to have a bump in it and when I work out it goes "thump...thump" up and down, but doesn't add any extra resistance. Also, now that I've used it for a week, the cables have done an initial stretch and they need to be tightened. So, keep the manual, it tells you how to tighten up the cables.
Good machine for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

very nice gym

07/12/2013
By ,
Cleveland, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this together by myself in about 8 hours. Just took my time & carefully followed each step. The only problem I had was when I dropped one of the nuts into the bottom shroud & couldn't find it. Unfortunately they don't give you any extras so I had to buy one. I've been using it for about 8 weeks now & love it. Very easy to move between different exercises & change the weight. Not sure why people complain about noise I think it's very quiet. Overall a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Excellent unit complex assembly

07/01/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit was delivered timely and functions according to design but assembly was difficult given hard to understand drawings regarding component placement and locations (pulleys). Can be accomplished after a bit of fustration and few more gray hairs. Nice, compact unit that meets our expectations for in-home use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II

Trash

07/29/2011
By ,
usa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The chest fly works well. Other than that poor design and quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-23points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Platinum System II
02/14/2012
By ,
pacifica ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a while back and I am very pleased it is well made and well structured. You can't beet the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point