Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acme Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Acme Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

The Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed features a pull-out trundle. It reflects solid hardwoods in an Espresso finish with stair step storage drawers leading to the top bunk. This bunk has a traditional style that's easily suited for any bedroom environment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.634 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation76%71 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Amazing after it's done...

04/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bunk bed because my kids are sharing a room until we finish renovation on our basement for a master bedroom. It is enormous! We have normal sized rooms and the bunk bed is almost the entire width of the room. We spent last night building the actual bunk beds and stairs, then stopped after 3 hours and put the kids to bed. Tonight we have to put all the drawers together and the trundle. The trundle came with the metal handles on backwards.. I saw it and thought I was going crazy, but they are on backwards so we will have to unscrew them and hope that the holes are not stripped after we fix them! Then, there are some concerns with the slats, they are about an inch wide and really long. There are no support beams under the top bunk, so as you're putting it together, the mattress on top is essentially floating above the bottom bunk which as a mom, concerns me if my son jumps in bed wrong! My boyfriend is going to make his own slats and just srcrew each one in individually to fix this worry for me. Overall, the bunk bed looks like it costs three times as much as it did, BUT you are questioning how long it will stay sturdy, due to the cheap materials used. The stairs were a must for bunk beds for us and theyre exactly what I thought they would be. And hopefully the drawers work. We have one broken piece, but havent gone far enough in directions to know what its for. It does come with extra slats in case one breaks, and the directions are pretty easy to follow, but it takes a lot longer to put together than it says. Some reviews even said it took them 2 hours to do the whole thing? It took us an hour just to get everything out of the boxes.. So you can plan to spend two days on this, if youre a normal person with a job and kids running around. I have styrofoam all over my house ready to be cleaned up when I get home tonight ;) But overall, I am happy to say it was money well spent. I did think the beds came apart if needed in the future, but they don't. So hopefully we don't move anytime soon because this thing will have to be completely broken back down to get it out of their room!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Good but could be better for the price

02/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We received this bed in 4 separate boxes, which was fine... It is a massive bed. The only issue I had with that was 2 boxes were shipped through fed ex, 1 was shipped through ups and the remaining box was shipped through pilot freight. The boxes all arrived on different days. The other thing that bothered me, was that pilot freight requires you to make an appointment for home delivery, which I did not know that until I attempted to track the 4th box since the other three had arrived already and it had been almost a week and there was no sign of the fourth box. So once I tracked it and found out who they sent box #4 through, I made a home delivery appointment on their website for that following Monday. Well, Monday came and went so I called to see what had happened with my delivery. They said I had to call kings express since THEY do the deliveries for pilot freight. OK. So I had made an appointment through pilot for no reason and had to call kings express to set up a home delivery appointment with them. I received the box the next day, thankfully. I feel that they should send all 4 boxes through the same carrier, it would make everyone's life a little less stressful. As for the furniture itself: it is massive. I love the color, the style and everything down to the fact that it holds standard twin size mattresses, so no bunker boards for my boys... Yay :)
My issue with the craftsmanship: the parts came very well packaged but I also understand things happen during shipping that is out of the control of the business who sells the furniture. Unfortunately it came with many cracked pieces of wood that we, thankfully, were able to fix with carpenters wood fillers and wood glues. I could not imagine having to repackage everything and ship it back out myself, to not be guaranteed a good replacement. The wood pieces also came with many dents in them, but it was just appearance that was affected so it didn't bother me much.
All in all it was a good purchase but for what we paid for it, I would expect nothing to come broken or cracked! We didn't mind buying the extras to fix what came broken, but other buyers may not be as easy going about it, especially for the price and hassle just to get it sent to your home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

bad packing

02/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the bed I wanted. Exactly what I ordered....BUT the boxes were damaged...causing damage to some of the wood. Also the wrong instructions were sent so we had to spend all day trying to figure it out hoping all the parts were there..luckily they were. But my husband was not happy at the end of the day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

A few things but overall good

02/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The entire bed came in four separate boxes and one of the boxes came in two days after. The bottom of the trundle is literally a thin piece of cardboard, not gonna last very long and I have to tell my boys not to step on the bed when getting onto the bottom bunk. The storage drawers under the stairs were a little difficult to figure out. The bed after it was finally finished is sturdy and my 3 boys love it. For the price the little things aren't that bad.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

love the bed :)

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed as well as my kids!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Beautiful bunk bed!

03/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for our small sons, and it is even better looking in person! All the drawer storage is awesome, and the stairs make it easy for our three-year-old to get up and down (although we will put grips on the stairs to keep him from slipping). The only problem we had was that a piece was snapped and we had to wood glue it back together. BUT, the problem was easily fixed. No other dings or damage was found on the bed. It took my husband and brother almost 4 hours to build it, so it is quite time-consuming. However, we are very pleased with our purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

bunk bed jungle

03/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this item is really nice and is for the most part very functional. However it is heavy and it is very hard to move to make the beds. The construction is very well done and very strong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

A lovely bed for a decent price

03/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first, I was a little reluctant to attempt to put this bed together after I saw how many boxes that it came in and the vague instructions that were given, but after a little help from a second person, it wasn't bad at all. I am more than delighted with the finished product and my boys love their new bed. It was definitely woth the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

The worst purchase ever

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bed is so cheaply made and the smell of the chemicals is toxic. The pieces were broken or did not fit correctly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 3 of 4.

The best

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the my new bed for my kids...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

Love it!

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my twin boys. It looks even better in person. They love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 4 of 4.

sleepying in style

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice beds it's very sturdy and very well made not cheap looking very much worth what we paid would and am recommending these beds to anyone who needs strong well made beds for there kids or grandkids my grandchildren love them and they are perfect if you are short on space but need 3beds these would be perfect for you and when you don't need the 3rd bed you can close the trundle and it looks just like bunk beds until the 3rd one is needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Have realistic expectations

02/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never write reviews... Ever. I feel the need to for this bed for a couple of reasons. 1) The amount you get for the price can't be beaten unless you're handy enough to make your own from scratch. 2) You can't expect perfection when purchasing acme furniture... You're buying cheap furniture. The instructions are a bit vague. Wording is limited so you're forced to rely off pictures for the most part. There were some holes on the stairs that were a bit off so without a drill it would've been impossible to secure the piece. The drawers aren't great... They look nice but I had issues with the wood splitting in a couple areas. Now, I've read reviews where people stated that they required 3 or 4 people at times to assemble the bed. I'm a 30 year old female and I managed to securely assemble the bunk beds by myself in 3 hours. That time does not include the trundle or drawers. I suggest having 2 people but having more isn't necessary. Study instructions beforehand and set out all pieces before starting. You don't need to be a carpenter or an engineer to assemble this bed. If you're looking for high quality furniture then you need to pay a high quality price. This product serves its function and is really a great deal for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Boys bunk beds!

12/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not too difficult to put together!! Only bad thing was the first box arrived last 2 days after the other 3 and had to start with the first one. Boys love em and so do I. Good quality!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Wow! Better Than Expected.

01/16/2015
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was totally impressed with how good this was. I've purchased furniture from Haverty's and had to send it back because of poor quality.
======================
Sturdy! - not plywood or particle board framework.
Beautiful! - the finish (espresso) was way better than I was expecting.
Valueable ! - Great Price, High Quality workmanship, easy to put together.
Packaging - could use better quality control with the packaging
Overall - Happy Customer (wife says Totally Satiated)
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

love it!

05/28/2014
By ,
ocala, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was easy to put together. I love that it has a trundle. The price was what I was willing to pay. Very satisfied with the quality and sophisticated appearance this bed has.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 4 of 4.

Great bed for multiple children in one room

07/07/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The beds are simple yet nice. Came in 4 boxes and we thought it would take forever to build. Took my husband and I about 4hrs. Everything was securely packaged nothing broken nothing missing and the instructions were pretty easy to follow. The parts are labeled except for maybe one or two but process of elimination works just fine. My boys (2&4yrs of age) absolutely loved their beds! And the trundle is great for when they have a friend sleep over. The only thing I wasn't in love with were the drawers on the stairs. I was very excited for them because extra storage means less mess but they are kind of wobbly and not as great as I expected. Aside from that everything else was great! I guess because of the price this is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

was happy deliver now not happy damaged

05/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we loved the bunk bed that is why we ordered it but when we went to pick it up from deliver it was so damaged that we didnt even take it home nor did we take it out of the store .
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 4 of 4.

Not so easy to build

05/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No instructions not easy to build
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

Good bed for 4 and 5 yr old

05/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical buying this bed because it was from Walmart but for the price I figured I'd give it a shot! All in all the bed looks very nice once put together, and is pretty sturdy. My only issues were that some of the pieces were slightly damaged (not really noticeable) and when trying to set up the staircase the pre drilled holes weren't lined up correctly. I feel that for the price of the bunk bed that was a little unacceptable but we were able to work around it. Even with those minor issues I am still satisfied, and my girls love it!
MY BROTHER IN-LAW ACTUALLY JUST CALLED ME AS I'M WRITING THIS REVIEW TO TELL ME HOW MUCH HE LOVES IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next