Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acme Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Acme Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

The Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed features a pull-out trundle. It reflects solid hardwoods in an Espresso finish with stair step storage drawers leading to the top bunk. This bunk has a traditional style that's easily suited for any bedroom environment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.59 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
25
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation74%74 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
25
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

bed

05/23/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the wood surface is really soft and scratches and dents easily. construction is sloppy
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Great quality, nice finish. Very good value

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most of this bunk bed is solid hardwoods. The finish is excellent and the assembly took about four hours. There was a piece broken in shipping but it was fixed by a piece of spare particle board I had available since taking it back to exchange would have been a nightmare, as I ordered it online. A great value for $599 and the drawers/stairs make it multi-functional. Other beds were $1,000 and up and probably near the same quality so this was a great bargain for my kindergartner.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Horrible

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is complete garbage. Half of the pieces were cracked in half and the one that were not cracked were dry rotted. Had to contact manufacture numberous times and finally straightened it out. Would never recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Happy with the bed despite a few issues.

05/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are happy with this bunk bed, we would purchase it again and would recommend it to others, but there are some issues.
Shipping: I was concerned about having the frame shipped to our house because of some of the reviews I read, I had the frame shipped to my local Walmart and picked it up at the store, there were no issues with damage from shipping. The frame was packed very well and was happy about how it arrived.
Solid wood: The major parts of the frame are solid wood. The bunkbed feels very sturdy and strong. The dark Espresso finish looks fantastic. Panels in the back of the frame, drawer bottoms and other the parts that don't need to be in solid wood are not.
Negatives: Some of the slats for the slat racks were not as wide as they should have been, which compromised the support of the frame some. The insides of the drawers are made from a very cheap plywood that very easily splits when attempting to screw in the sides. Some of the panels were banged up and obviously flawed (this was not from shipping) and yet still included in the frame. Some of the drawer pulls looked scratched up or just not in good condition. The drawers came with stops that didn't really work with the design of the frame. These drawer stops look like they were an afterthought, they were not included in the diagrams and instructions and didn't work well. The trundle seems like it is better suited as a drawer, it doesn't really offer much support for a mattress and the cheap plastic wheels don't seem like they will hold much weight with a child on top of a mattress in the trundle. Some of the predrilled holes did not place well, for example one of the drawers is very tight to pull out and sticks because of alignment issues.
With the complaints out of the way, the positives of this frame far surpass the negatives. The frame works very well and is very attractive. I love having steps for a child to walk up instead of the ladder. The frame is very strong, it seems very structurally sound. While there was an issue with the length of some of the slats, they still worked and the racks offer lots of support when all the slats a screwed into the frames edge support. I read some of the other customers concerns about the slat racks and adding plywood, but I found no need for this.
Other thoughts: I read where some customers did not like the instructions, but I found the simple diagrams to be helpful and ran into very few problems. This is a large piece of furniture with many parts and will take several hours to assemble. You will need the help of at least one other person and a cordless power screwdriver/drill will save you a lot of time. You will need a lot of room for unboxing and putting it together. Once it is together, it will be a ton of work to take it a part when moving.
The best thing I loved about this frame is the price, I think $599 with free shipping from Walmart was a great price. Just as an example, this same frame was priced on sale at Sears website for $900 with a retail list price of $1,620. You may be able to find an ebay or amazon seller at a little less, but I like the safe guard of easily retuning it to my local walmart if I run into any issues. I also think the frame is much nicer than many of the frames we saw at other stores when we were shopping.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Warning. . . . . How safe is it?

05/02/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this bed for my 3 & 5 yr olds. Was the color and had the steps and drawers on the side that I had been looking for. Bonus it came with trundle. (their younger brother may use later:) ) I will say after reading some reviews I was expecting damaged product from shipping, but with 3 little boys I know it won't stay nice forever. When I picked it up it was packaged well! No damaged boxes! Very happy:) However when my Dad, Mom & I were putting it together the instructions are just pictures with lables. Not many of the items were labled. None of the hardware was labled, and then all the holes did not line up. Very frustrating! One hole was not deep enough for the dow and when I was screwing it together the dow pushed through the other side. I may also replace the slats as they did not feel sturdy as the slats that came with toddler beds. I actually had to glue one back together. The finish is not the same on the trundle when it is pulled out. It would be nice if there was a board to cover the opposit end of steps because you can see right into trundle. The drawer stops seem to be a waste because I was not fighting to get them back on after the drawers were in place. I was disgusted though when I was on the floor reaching through to attempt this that there is a warning that states "California Proposition 65 Warning product contains a chemical known to the state of Californiato cause cancer or other cancer related illness. Please use with caution."
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

broken pieces and painful shipping process

05/01/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bed comes in 4 boxes which is fine except that the one with the headboard and footboards ships via a freight service and took an extra week to arrive. They couldn't find my box at first, then found it after walmart shipped a replacement (through the same company). Then I had to wait several days for it to make it a 3 hour distance. Just to wait at least 2 more days for them to bring it to my house. Only one person came to deliver and couldn't fit the dolly on our sidewalk and had to ask my husband to help carry it in because he was alone.
I unload all of the pieces and everything seems fine until I opened to box with the drawers in it. Several pieces were broken and badly splintered. We had to glue one of the rails for the bottom of the drawer together with wood glue and hope it works well enough because there's no way to send back all of this. Then putting the drawers together we found that many of the side pieces were splitting with the large screws they provided. The trundle has broken pieces as well...Lets just hope the bed looks nice once we finally get it all pieced and glued together....
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

Awesome product.

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together you will need help I love the wood finish.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Amazing after it's done...

04/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bunk bed because my kids are sharing a room until we finish renovation on our basement for a master bedroom. It is enormous! We have normal sized rooms and the bunk bed is almost the entire width of the room. We spent last night building the actual bunk beds and stairs, then stopped after 3 hours and put the kids to bed. Tonight we have to put all the drawers together and the trundle. The trundle came with the metal handles on backwards.. I saw it and thought I was going crazy, but they are on backwards so we will have to unscrew them and hope that the holes are not stripped after we fix them! Then, there are some concerns with the slats, they are about an inch wide and really long. There are no support beams under the top bunk, so as you're putting it together, the mattress on top is essentially floating above the bottom bunk which as a mom, concerns me if my son jumps in bed wrong! My boyfriend is going to make his own slats and just srcrew each one in individually to fix this worry for me. Overall, the bunk bed looks like it costs three times as much as it did, BUT you are questioning how long it will stay sturdy, due to the cheap materials used. The stairs were a must for bunk beds for us and theyre exactly what I thought they would be. And hopefully the drawers work. We have one broken piece, but havent gone far enough in directions to know what its for. It does come with extra slats in case one breaks, and the directions are pretty easy to follow, but it takes a lot longer to put together than it says. Some reviews even said it took them 2 hours to do the whole thing? It took us an hour just to get everything out of the boxes.. So you can plan to spend two days on this, if youre a normal person with a job and kids running around. I have styrofoam all over my house ready to be cleaned up when I get home tonight ;) But overall, I am happy to say it was money well spent. I did think the beds came apart if needed in the future, but they don't. So hopefully we don't move anytime soon because this thing will have to be completely broken back down to get it out of their room!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

Good but could be better for the price

02/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We received this bed in 4 separate boxes, which was fine... It is a massive bed. The only issue I had with that was 2 boxes were shipped through fed ex, 1 was shipped through ups and the remaining box was shipped through pilot freight. The boxes all arrived on different days. The other thing that bothered me, was that pilot freight requires you to make an appointment for home delivery, which I did not know that until I attempted to track the 4th box since the other three had arrived already and it had been almost a week and there was no sign of the fourth box. So once I tracked it and found out who they sent box #4 through, I made a home delivery appointment on their website for that following Monday. Well, Monday came and went so I called to see what had happened with my delivery. They said I had to call kings express since THEY do the deliveries for pilot freight. OK. So I had made an appointment through pilot for no reason and had to call kings express to set up a home delivery appointment with them. I received the box the next day, thankfully. I feel that they should send all 4 boxes through the same carrier, it would make everyone's life a little less stressful. As for the furniture itself: it is massive. I love the color, the style and everything down to the fact that it holds standard twin size mattresses, so no bunker boards for my boys... Yay :)
My issue with the craftsmanship: the parts came very well packaged but I also understand things happen during shipping that is out of the control of the business who sells the furniture. Unfortunately it came with many cracked pieces of wood that we, thankfully, were able to fix with carpenters wood fillers and wood glues. I could not imagine having to repackage everything and ship it back out myself, to not be guaranteed a good replacement. The wood pieces also came with many dents in them, but it was just appearance that was affected so it didn't bother me much.
All in all it was a good purchase but for what we paid for it, I would expect nothing to come broken or cracked! We didn't mind buying the extras to fix what came broken, but other buyers may not be as easy going about it, especially for the price and hassle just to get it sent to your home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

bad packing

02/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the bed I wanted. Exactly what I ordered....BUT the boxes were damaged...causing damage to some of the wood. Also the wrong instructions were sent so we had to spend all day trying to figure it out hoping all the parts were there..luckily they were. But my husband was not happy at the end of the day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

A few things but overall good

02/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The entire bed came in four separate boxes and one of the boxes came in two days after. The bottom of the trundle is literally a thin piece of cardboard, not gonna last very long and I have to tell my boys not to step on the bed when getting onto the bottom bunk. The storage drawers under the stairs were a little difficult to figure out. The bed after it was finally finished is sturdy and my 3 boys love it. For the price the little things aren't that bad.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4

love the bed :)

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed as well as my kids!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Beautiful bunk bed!

03/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for our small sons, and it is even better looking in person! All the drawer storage is awesome, and the stairs make it easy for our three-year-old to get up and down (although we will put grips on the stairs to keep him from slipping). The only problem we had was that a piece was snapped and we had to wood glue it back together. BUT, the problem was easily fixed. No other dings or damage was found on the bed. It took my husband and brother almost 4 hours to build it, so it is quite time-consuming. However, we are very pleased with our purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

bunk bed jungle

03/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this item is really nice and is for the most part very functional. However it is heavy and it is very hard to move to make the beds. The construction is very well done and very strong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

A lovely bed for a decent price

03/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first, I was a little reluctant to attempt to put this bed together after I saw how many boxes that it came in and the vague instructions that were given, but after a little help from a second person, it wasn't bad at all. I am more than delighted with the finished product and my boys love their new bed. It was definitely woth the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

The worst purchase ever

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bed is so cheaply made and the smell of the chemicals is toxic. The pieces were broken or did not fit correctly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 3 of 4.

The best

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the my new bed for my kids...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 2 of 4.

Love it!

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my twin boys. It looks even better in person. They love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAcme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 4 of 4.

sleepying in style

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice beds it's very sturdy and very well made not cheap looking very much worth what we paid would and am recommending these beds to anyone who needs strong well made beds for there kids or grandkids my grandchildren love them and they are perfect if you are short on space but need 3beds these would be perfect for you and when you don't need the 3rd bed you can close the trundle and it looks just like bunk beds until the 3rd one is needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Acme Furniture Allentown Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso, Box 1 of 4
This review is fromAllentown Twin over Twin Bunk Bed, Espresso.

Have realistic expectations

02/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never write reviews... Ever. I feel the need to for this bed for a couple of reasons. 1) The amount you get for the price can't be beaten unless you're handy enough to make your own from scratch. 2) You can't expect perfection when purchasing acme furniture... You're buying cheap furniture. The instructions are a bit vague. Wording is limited so you're forced to rely off pictures for the most part. There were some holes on the stairs that were a bit off so without a drill it would've been impossible to secure the piece. The drawers aren't great... They look nice but I had issues with the wood splitting in a couple areas. Now, I've read reviews where people stated that they required 3 or 4 people at times to assemble the bed. I'm a 30 year old female and I managed to securely assemble the bunk beds by myself in 3 hours. That time does not include the trundle or drawers. I suggest having 2 people but having more isn't necessary. Study instructions beforehand and set out all pieces before starting. You don't need to be a carpenter or an engineer to assemble this bed. If you're looking for high quality furniture then you need to pay a high quality price. This product serves its function and is really a great deal for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next