Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars

Generic CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars

The CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle is a must-have for individuals that are serious about their workouts. It is made of strong solid steel with diamond knurled grips to hold onto and rotating sleeves. This 20" dumbbell handle gives you exceptional quality and long-lasting performance so you can maximize your fitness levels. You can easily affix your weights to it for a customized, strength training routine. This steel dumbbell handle can hold 2" plates and has collars to keep everything securely in place for stability and safety. It has a weight capacity of 150 lbs, making it ideal for use at home or in the gym. Build more muscle with your training routine with this quality piece of equipment. It is durable and makes a wonderful workout companion. Pair it with another one to do dumbbell bench presses and shoulder curls or use it alone for tricep kickbacks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation85%23 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars

Terrible

02/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Cheap Quality!!!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars

Great Barbells

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very large home gym and I had always wanted a set of these barbells. I held off due to the price at most stores being too high or the quality of the cheaper ones was very poor. These are well mad, very solid, and are well worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

CAP Barbell

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy and durable. Exactly what I was looking for in a Barbell.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Good quality, for very good price

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been working-out in my garage for years and have started a new heavy program that has caused my strength to really increase. When need a new set of heavy dumbbells and another set of heavy dumbbells and another.... It gets expensive. Having the Olympic weights I just make them what I need them to be.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Clamps don't hold so well

01/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bar itself it great but the tightening clamps to hold the weights on don't tighten securely. They slip off every now and again. So I had to buy spring clamps to go with them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Love them

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been wanting something like them for years. Much cheaper than individual dumbells. Now I can go big to build , or small for my wife to tone. Very good product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

CAP Dumbell Bar (Olympic)

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this barbell along with other exercise equipment about a month ago, then realized after I received my shipment that I only ordered one, not two. So, I ordered a second one.
I have read many reviews on these sites about CAP products and quite frankly can't determine why others don't like some of the products. This barbell is exactly as advertised. It weights in at just over 9 lbs (with both collars). It is the Olympic size (2 inch diameter bar for 2 inch diameter plates). It has diamond cut pattern for the grip surface, the outer bar plate holders rotate to keep from having uneven weights shifting while you work out. The bar collars work well and have a nice tight grip on the bar not letting the plates move horizontally at all. My only negative to the CAP products (I have a curling bar as well from CAP) is the collars are too narrow. Once you put plates on, if you don't put the plates with the flat back away from the collars, it's difficult to tighten some times because of the short distance from the center of collar where the tightening handle is to the plate. Even though they slide, they have a large stop which catches on the plates. The hole should either be offset, the collar wider or the stop on the handles made smaller (probably the best choice).
I would however highly recommend this product. It's inexpensive, works well, is solidly built (solid core, not hollow), and has a nice finish. It's not professional in that it has no blemished, but hey, it's just for weight lifting. What difference does beauty make?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

as expected

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted an affordable product to exercise with.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Great bar

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
But, don't care for the collars, bought Weider spring collars to use instead. Bought two, boxes were taped together and the box ends were not secured properly for an item like this to be shipped in, they were ripped open, luckily none of the collar hardware fell out, but could have easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Bottom of Barrel

08/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looked liked it'd been sitting in a warehouse, for months, pitted, dirty, scratched, missing parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Unreliable construction

08/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first dumbbell I ordered came just right. I simultaneously ordered a 2nd to match but the grip on the 2nd was uneven. Half the grip was smooth and the other half was very sharp and uncomfortable. I brought that back to Walmart and ordered another dumbbell to replace it. The 3rd dumbbell had an even grip, an improvement, but the grip was much rougher than the first I ordered. It wasn't enough for me to take back because I don't want any more hassle but It is enough for me to warn everyone not to purchase this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

production quality is inconsistent

08/03/2014
By ,
Mesa, Az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I originally purchased 2. The grip on the first was a little too smooth so it slips easier in my hand. I took the other back because the grip was only half finished. Half the grip was smooth like the first but the 2nd half was too rough, even sharp; as if it needed to be filed before applying the chrome finish. Probably skipped that step in production. So I returned it and ordered another. When the 2nd came in it was filed smoother but still not like the first one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Perfect for my workouts

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price for a pair of Olympic size dumbbells. Has plenty of room to add your plates. I've added a picture to show you the possibilities. I'm showing these dumbbells holding on one side 4 5lb and 4 2.5lb weights plates and still room for maybe 2 more plates. The other dumbbell has "Fat Gripz" on the handle showing it will fit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Dumbbell Handles are good

06/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
They do a great job for the price. You need to buy better collars for these handles. The collars that come with them have a tendency to have the weight plates slip off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Works for me

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed heavier weights but I didn't want to spend $40 or more on a single dumbbell that's a set weight. These handles are perfect for setting up a variety of weight combinations. You could put two gigantic 45lb plates on the handles but I would recommend getting a few 10lb plates. You could fit about 5 average sized 10lb olympic weights on each side of the handle.
The collars tighten with a nut. Therefore, the plates will not fall off in the middle of your exercise as long as you tighten them enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

The cap.

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The collar does not tighten completely.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

A barbell that does the job

05/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first impression of the bars were that they were pretty long but after a few uses I've gotten use to them. They are not as nice as gym quality dumbbells but for a home gym in between workouts when you can't make it to the gym these work fabulously.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Good product, grip is a bit too narrow

04/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a good product for the price. Quality and pretty heavy. The collars that come with it are actually not bad. I only use these handles for exercises in which they stay fairly parallel to the ground (presses, rows), but I would not trust the collars to anything vertical (hammer curls, etc). The worst part is the grip is a bit narrow. If you have very large hands, they would probably not fit within the gripping area of the dumbbell and would uncomfortably press up against the stops. The grip is not nearly as wide as a gym quality dumbbell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Excellent Product

12/07/2013
By ,
Denton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a pair of these to substitute for those real expensive gym quality dumbells with the nice end caps. The bar unloaded is about 9 lbs. I bought a bunch of 5 lb plates (Sports Authority, nice rubber rim casing, 5 bucks a plate) to load them with to keep a low profile. I think they look great and works very well for dumbell chest exercises. I have them loaded with 8 each and can hold up to 12 each for a max of 69 lbs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars
This review is fromCAP Barbell 20" Olympic Dumbbell Handle with Collars.

Excellent dumbell

06/14/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the cheapies a few years ago - the kind where the part that holds the weight is flimsy sheet metal that dents when you tighten down the collar. This dumbbell is not like that at all. The part that holds the weight is very thick and sturdy.
The collars that come with the dumbbell are the 'screw-down' kind, which are not as convenient to use and others I've used.
Mine weighs in at 9 pounds on my digital scale, which is a little annoying - why couldn't they just add an extra pound somewhere?
Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase, and glad that I didn't get the cheaper set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next