Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Mainstays Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Add extra wardrobe storage to your bedroom or guest room with the elegant Sauder Parklane 4-Drawer Chest from The Parklane Collection. This versatile dresser features sleek, modern styling captured in a beautiful cinnamon cherry finish. The 4-drawer chest comes with an interlocking safety mechanism, metal runners and safety slots. You can only open one drawer at a time, and you won't have to worry about catching your fingers. The drawers are spacious and deep, and provide plenty of room for folded pants, shirts, gowns and more. Plus, the dresser's assembly is quick and easy with a T-slot drawer system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.14 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%86 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Very high quality

04/28/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother bought me this two years back and just now I bought another one. This drawer chest is very high quality. The drawer slides are made of metal, which is a huge plus, it makes the drawers easy to slide in and out.The color is darker than the picture, more like espresso. Looks really beautiful with silver metal pulls. It is very easy to assemble, The instructions are easy to follow. I assembled it myself and I am 8 1/2 months pregnant.
My brother bought another drawer chest from a different website. It has 5 drawers is much more expensive, but it's not as high quality as this one. The drawers keep falling on one another and the slides are made of plastic. I am so happy that I bought this chest for my baby's nursery
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice Dresser for the Money

03/07/2014
By ,
Massanutten, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this product, I read the reviews and was somewhat hesitant about the assembly. But, I went ahead and purchased it because I learned it was really made by Sauder and have previously owned other furniture made by them -- please note that although this is titled as a Mainstays, it is produced by Sauder (it says so in the instructions).
I picked up the dresser at a WalMart store. After getting it home (it is very heavy), I inspected all parts and everything was okay. Assembly included the typical Sauder locking system and the total time I spent was about 2.5 hours. The 4 drawers were somewhat tedious, but if you do them all at the same time it makes things easier -- I completed one and then did the other three simultaneously.
The dresser looks great in the bedroom, especially because I got the matching nightstand. However, the color is closer to a coffee color versus a cherry color. Bottomline -- it is a dark color. The drawers have metal slides and work great. And, it is heavy enough that I feel it will stand on carpet without any fear of tipping over.
I would recommend this to a friend -- very nice dresser for $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Excellent Value

06/03/2012
By ,
Hastings, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is made by Sauder out of Archbold, Ohio. Last time I put together a piece of Sauder furniture was 13 years ago, and it took me nearly an entire day. My teenage son and I put this together in about 2.5 hours, mostly due to my showing him how to put together the dresser. The dresser is well made and definitely a great purchase for the money. The previous experience I had came with all of the hardware mixed together which required sorting (13 years ago). This time, each piece of hardware came in its own section and was plainly marked. The directions were very easy to follow as well. Oddly enough, the dresser we put together today was the replacement for the one that I put together 13 years ago from the same manufacturer. This dresser is much better built, and I'd be happy if it only lasted as long as the last one, but it looks like it will be around even longer. Great value for the money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

This chest had many great reviews.

03/05/2013
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just finished my 6th cabinet. I must like them. Be careful to follow the instructions. I've deviated a little: I used their nails for the drawers; but, for the backing I used 5/8 inch long wire nails, a common hardware product. Nail them in "straight," so they don't stick outside of the boards. Same goes for the drawers. With my first chest, I installed the non-tipover hardware. I didn't like the extra "drag" it put on the drawer operation, so I didn't use it on any of the chests; however, the contents of theses drawers are light, and I never pull out more than one drawer at a time. For your particular situation, you might want to use them. Assembly is not quick, but hang in there. Be sure to make your drawer adjustments, so you get smooth operation. I actually enjoy assembling these chests now; but, I've "run out of room." I keep building them, and my wife keeps filling them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Very pleased with this brand

06/22/2014
By ,
tulsa, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reviews gave me hope I would get a good product, and I am very satisfied. I checked out some of the Sauder's (no Sauder Parklane's) in store and could see they were made poorly. The boxes (ordered 2) came in great condition. The box was packaged with a very hard strip to protect all sides and corners. That was a big plus. Instructions were clear. The first one went together slow (didn't time it but around 3 hrs) but the 2nd one was whipped together in no time. These chests are made with a safety catch where only one drawer can open at a time. Awesome! That one feature took me a bit to figure out the 'whys' but the drawers pull out and close very smooth. Besides, the description says it is American made.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry
08/23/2011
By ,
menomonie, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this dresser with no reviews on it. I usually take other peoples suggestions to heart. I had a few strict criteria the dresser we ordered had to have. It needed metal drawer glides and at least 40" high. Our toddler didn't have a dedicated dresser yet, so she needed one that she could use for a few years. I thought at around $100 it was a good choice. Of course there was a problem with site to store and it took 20 days to get it, which I did not like. My husband took around an hour or so to put together, and I really like it. I like the smooth drawer glides, nice dark brown color, and drawer pulls. All in all it is a good dresser for the money. But as always you get what you pay for. While I do like this dresser, I doubt it'll last til she's 18! I am happy with our choice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

A great dresser

07/11/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser exceeded my expectations. It arrived in perfect condition. The color and size is what I hoped for; matching furniture I have. My son assembled it for me. When he found out how inexpensive it was, he decided to order two for his home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Great dresser. Sturdy

07/07/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love the dresser. We also have the night stands and all the pieces are very sturdy and handsome. Wasn't difficult to put together. We actually like doing these projects. Took us about an hour. Packaged very carefully for shipping. Quite impressive. Received earlier than promised.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Perfect.

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice solid piece of furnature. I put it together myself in about 1.5 hours. It has a great safety feature... Only one drawer can open at a time. Fits all of my 10 yr olds clothes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Great Furniture

05/25/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The main reason for this review is to rave about the ease of ordering replacement parts. Right on the front of the instructions it gives you the website, you fill out the info, and bam! In a week you have the parts you were missing. Of course it would have been better to have all the parts to begin with, but purchasing from Walmart.com, the cheaper end furniture has this issue a lot (missing items or hardware.) I got this dresser along with the platform bed, bookshelf, and writing desk. Set up is always a bit of of a pain, but not too difficult. The end result is a great looking bedroom. The furniture is sturdy and looks amazing. For the price I could not have gotten a better bedroom set. And the ease of use of a website and customer service if I run into a problem goes really far in my level of satisfaction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Good for the price

02/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS
-Nice deep/dark cherry color
-Stable, no wobbling
-Drawers lock on closing
-Took me about 2 hours to put everything together; Clear instructions and parts
-Free delivery came quick; Ordered Sunday, came Tuesday
CONS
-Base of each drawer is made by thin piece of wood; attached to drawer via plastic clips; I don't think it will hold under a lot of weight
-Contrary to some other reviews, this is not real solid wood. It's basically a bunch of compressed chips
-Wheels are plastic
-Locking mechanism preventing multiple drawers from being pulled out is plastic
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BEWARE New rating: 1/5!!!
Posted 06/28/2014
After 4 months of using this, I've gotten frustrated with it. The safety mechanism allowing only one drawer to open is very flimsy. Sometimes it will get stuck when you can't even pull out any of the drawers. Also, the cheap piece of board under each drawer has become very loose and now CANNOT SUPPORT MUCH WEIGHT AT ALL!! They will collapse with just a stack of clothes. Anyways if you are looking for longevity this is probably not a good fit. It failed for me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Great bang for your buck

12/28/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for the dresser, I am in the market for several and didn't want to be paying a lot for just one piece. Metal glides, great heigh, graciously sized drawers, was able to condense into one drawer, clothing I had spread out into several and still have space. Very satisfied with this Sauder made Mainstays dresser and would be more than happy to recommend to friends and family. My husband even ended up quite pleased with it once we finished putting it together and is happy to buy more. even for himself. Came packaged well, we picked up a box that was not damaged, all pieces inside were sorted and packed with lots of styrofoam. Will be promptly purchasing 4 more of these for our home. For our own bedroom we did not bother to put the final locking pieces on for the safety feature. So I cannot comment on how well that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice USA-made dresser

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two of these. The dresser looks very nice when finished and has an added safety mechanism where only one drawer opens at a time. It is sturdy and the drawers slide smoothly on the metal guides. Also the bottoms of the drawers are supported by clips which keeps the thin boards from moving around or slipping out of the slots. These are some of the little extras that make this dresser worth the money and time/effort to put together. The first one took me about 2 to 3 hours. The second one significantly less, maybe 1 to 2 hours. The pieces are marked fairly well and all the hardware is separated and marked. This was a perfect fit for us! I would definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

nice dresser

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality for the price!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice piece of furniture

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for medium height chest to put TV on the top of it. This one suites for that very well. It took about 4 hours to put chest together, and some steps where tricky.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Great looking dresser

02/23/2014
By ,
Tracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Mainstays Parklane 4-Drawer Dresser is inexpensive, but when put together it looks like a dresser that costs two to three times more. Although the color says Cinnamon Cherry, it is really much darker in color. I would say the color is closer to Espresso. It took me approximately 2 hours to put it together and I've put together a number of these types of furniture. It may take longer for others. The instructions are clear, but you really need to pay close attention to the illustrations, and line up the correct pieces for each step exactly as shown. If you do, it will turn out looking great. The dresser has medal sliders and pulls for each drawer. This is a big plus because some of the other products I looked at had plastic slider and pulls. Once the unit is put together, it is easy to line up the drawers by adjusting the front plate screws for each drawer. The drawers pulls out smooth and have a safety stop, another plus.
The laminate coating is thin, but that's what you get with these types of low cost products. I recommend that you put a good coat of furniture polish on the dresser after you put it together. The polish will help in preventing scratches. Although the laminate is thin, it looks great and with a little bit of care the thin coating shouldn't be a problem. If a scratch does occur it is easily covered by using a thin black sharpie pen. The dark color of the laminate helps hide any touch-ups. The bottom line is that this is a great dresser, especially for the price, and should last years with normal wear.
Note: If you have difficultly following instructions, or are impatient and want to rush through things, or you find it difficult to hammer a small nail straight (only required for the back panel), then constructing this type of furniture is not for you.
Pros: Great looking and well constructed. Medal sliders and pulls. Good quality hardware (cams and screws, etc.), and all the holes line up. Clear instructions and illustrations. Good quality particle board and MDF. Sauder Mainstays has great customer service. On a prior purchase I damaged a part so I went on-line and emailed them the item, model and lot numbers. I received the replacement part in 7 days.
Cons: The laminate coating is thin and is easily damaged if the back panel nails are hammered in at the wrong angle (It only requires nailing on the back mat board panel). The back panel is made of mat board not wood (not a real problem, but I thought it should be mentioned). A little wood glue and a black sharpie can hide some small mistakes, but not all. It takes a lot of time to put this product together, and the unit is very heavy once completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

What a nightmare!

06/22/2014
By ,
Danbury, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Such a pain to put together!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

loved it

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved it so much I bought a second one...great storage and easy to follow instructions
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Rich looking color

09/14/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not a fan of dark colors and cherry in any description causes me to shudder but being the only reasonably priced dresser in stock at the time I desperately needed a dresser I grabbed the Choc. Cherry and the color is so rich looking in the newly painted remodeled bedroom. My son assembled it and said that I had gotten a good deal. It was sturdy and made of good material. Because it is a self-assemble there is some tightness as the drawers are pulled out which I suppose is the human aspect of manual labor, machines can be set for exact torque on tightening. As long as the dresser is not moved from pillar to post or treated roughly my son says it should last quite a while. If you have looked at this and hesitated on purchase I say try it, even assembled furniture of a high price can end up being disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Parklane Collection 4-Drawer Chest, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great color easy setup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next