Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Sony Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

These Sony ZX Series Headphones feature a 30mm multi-layer dome diaphragm and high-energy Neodymium drivers that deliver a clear and powerful sound. The Sony Studio Headphones also feature pressure-relieving urethane-cushioned earpads to provide long-term wearing comfort. In addition, the Sony Black Headphones come complete with a 1.2m cord, so you can use them with your portable music player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.982 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%46 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

pretty AWSOME

11/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
must admit i'm not one of those studio guys, but i still think that these are some of the best headphones i have had. These are amazing in voice clarity, the bass is good, and they are pretty comfortable, and unless you need to be really freaking far from the object your listening to than the cord is perfectly long enough for you to use, it comes just lower than my knee's when i stand up. all in all this is a great buy for $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Classic Sony headphones newly engineered

03/10/2013
By ,
Marysville, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been buying these headphones for years, everytime one would break, go pick up another one for 20 bucks. Awesome price, awesome heaphones. "Back in my day" I believe the rubbery padding on the ears peices seemed a little thicker and sturdier. These seem like they'll rip pretty easy, maybe on earings or something.
Cord got A LOT shorter. Pretty sure it used to be like 6 feet, now it's about 2-2 1/2. Liked it better with the longer cord. As well as the actual plastic headband peice seemed to get cheaper, either thinner plastic or cheaper plastic, I remember them being harder, seems like these could bow and break easier.
"Back in my day" you'd just snap off a little peice of the headphones to make the ear peices flip around, they now engineered it so you could do the same thing, it just turns a different way then before. Not a terrible thing.
Overall they're still a great headphone for blocking out outside noises, even though they seemed to get a tiny bit cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Great sound for the price

04/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfortable fit. Good deep bass. Only complaint would be the jack is bent sideways instead of coming straight out the top. Make pulling my iPhone in and out of my pocket difficult. Also, slow shipping. Took a week and a half to show up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Love these..

01/27/2013
By ,
Selden NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these 3 years ago when I went to Barbados for the flight and they were perfect. I use them with and Ipod and now my Samsung Galaxy S3.....The sound on these very inexpensive headphones is amazing. I started using them while going for runs and walks working out, instead of the annoying ear buds that slip out. I find the best music to listen to is indie/dance/electronic (which I love) on these...the electronic sounds come out so clear. Of course they are no Beats by DR Dre (I won't spend that much on heavy clunky headphones) but the sound is perfect for me. They are also very light and the foam around the ear pieces is very very soft. 3 years old and they still look/sound/work perfect (I have them on now)
I bought the same pair for my 12 year old nephew for Christmas and he can wait to start walking with me outside with them!! Great buy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Great headphones for the money.

02/26/2014
By ,
Clay, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these headphones for use on airplanes. The "earbud" style that they sold me on the plane kept falling out of my ears. I also like that they fold flat so I can carry them in my laptop case when I board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Great Inexpensive headphones

02/27/2014
By ,
Blytheville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would happily purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good quality construction

12/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well built set of budget headphones. The quality of materials used is good for the price paid. My 9 yo son goes through headphones pretty fast and these are holding up well. They have good sound as well. Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black
01/03/2012
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to have a pair of skullcandy lowriders valued at about $40 and they were small, flimsy and died on me in a month. these headphones are more sturdy, are comfortable and stay on my head, even when I look down. they sound good, I can hear everything in the music and it's all very clear. Not as much bass as I expected, but you can still hear it. not a bad pair of headphones for only $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good headphones!

02/23/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these headphones to plug into my smart phone so that i can listen to internet radio during my run workouts and they work great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good sound, short on comfort, with a short cord.

07/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Sony MDR-ZX100 headphones to replace an older model, Sony MDR-CD60, hoping they would be equivalent in performance and comfort. The new MDR-ZX100 sounds good, but they are not as comfortable to wear - they feel small, and the cord length is ridiculously short: 47-1/4'' (1.2M) is not barley long enough! The cord length on the older Sony headphones is over 80 inches in length.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Worse than my breaking $10 headphones :(

01/03/2012
By ,
WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping that these would be good headphones after owning about 4 or 5 Sony brand headphones in a row, but alas these did not meet expectations.
First the headphones feel extremely cheap, hollow like.
Second they fit awkward, the band is to large for any head and puts more pressure than usual on top of your head, especially for their weight, and the foam is pretty stiff.
Third and most important the audio quality is lacking, there is no bass to speak of and the mids are weak too, the treble is ok but nothing special. They also don't get loud at all and starts crackling at a lower volume than would be expected for 30mm drives. These do not block noise either you can hear yourself clap softly at full volume and can understand them while they are being worn from across a large room.
I might still get earbuds from Sony but never again will I get their studio style, I have tried the MDR-NC7 headphones too and was not happy with those either, returning both.
One thing that is good about these headphones is the cord, one of the beefiest I have ever seen on headphones, even so it is way to short and hardly reaches your pocket while standing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Uncomfortable

01/04/2014
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I find the sound just okay and it would've worked out for me if not for the fact that it sits uncomfortably on my head. While there are padding on the ears, there is no padding on the bar that sits on top of your head. The hard plastic presses down and because the headphone is not very light, and it's rather tight, that pressure on top of the head is immediately noticeable.
I don't mind not having top notch sound quality with deep bass, but if you notice you're wearing a headphone after 1 minute. that means it's not a good fit and it's uncomfortable. Good fitted headphones should make you forget you're wearing one so that you can just enjoy the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good Value

09/23/2012
By ,
St. Cloud MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones are an excellent value for their price. They are extremely comfortable, I leave then on for hours at a time while I do homework or other things. The sound quality is excellent compared to other headphones in a cheaper price range. The bass is deep and has a rich sound. Even with your music turned up loud they do a good job of trapping the sound and not leaking the sound too much. I bought mine in white and think the color looks great. They look and perform like more expensive headphones would. I would recommend these to anyone who wants good sound quality and style, but does not want to break the bank! I use these almost everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

good headphones

12/16/2013
By ,
berlin, md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black
07/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are not too comfortable. They just sit on top of your ears, do not form to them at all. Sound is ok. Pretty short cord too.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Amazing Headphones. Love Sony.

12/27/2012
By ,
Palm Harbor, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased these today. The base is awesome. The Sound is brilliant. I've had difficulty searching for a really good pair of headphones for awhile. These fit comfortably. I've tried ear buds, but they always kept falling out. Every other regular pair of head phones would either be not comfortable, or to low below the ears. They wouldn't fit directly on the ears. These are fantastic, and I would certainly recommend these to anyone. And its in a decent price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good sound for the price

02/15/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These headphones put out a great deal of sound for the price. They have an excellent range with rich bass and crisp highs. They are very comfortable to wear. The wire is thick and they feel well made. I would definitely recommend these to anyone wanting a good set of phones without breaking the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Works for me!

01/14/2013
By ,
central city, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these so to not wake my wife when I listen to my short wave, stereo or what ever.... Hey, they do what I want and sound ok. The length of cord is good for me, If you need a longer cord you can get extensions.. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Not Good, get anything else

09/19/2013
By ,
Some_dude
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I know audio and didn't expect these to be high quality. The are better than low quality but not quite medium quality. The speakers have problems on the lows. The lows are audible but highly distorted even at low levels. The mids are good and the highs are semi okay. For the $17 I paid, I could have found much better. Again, the problem is the lows and you will notice it within the first few seconds of listening. I can't get past it. The cable is pretty short too.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony ZX Series Studio Headphones, Black

Typical Sony quality for the price range.

09/09/2013
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a pair for viewing my portable dvd player. I didn't expect to much for the price but was very surprised. The sound quality is great, and very lightweight. I wouldn't purchase them if they were to get a lot of use as the headband part is lightweight. The ear pads are comfortable and the length of the cord great. Hard to find better than these in the price range. Try a pair and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next