Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Sony Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

These Sony ZX Series Headphones feature a 30mm multi-layer dome diaphragm and high-energy Neodymium drivers that deliver a clear and powerful sound. The Sony Studio Headphones also feature pressure-relieving urethane-cushioned earpads to provide long-term wearing comfort. In addition, the Sony Black Headphones come complete with a 1.2m cord, so you can use them with your portable music player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.068 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%63 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

pretty AWSOME

11/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
must admit i'm not one of those studio guys, but i still think that these are some of the best headphones i have had. These are amazing in voice clarity, the bass is good, and they are pretty comfortable, and unless you need to be really freaking far from the object your listening to than the cord is perfectly long enough for you to use, it comes just lower than my knee's when i stand up. all in all this is a great buy for $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Classic Sony headphones newly engineered

03/10/2013
By ,
Marysville, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been buying these headphones for years, everytime one would break, go pick up another one for 20 bucks. Awesome price, awesome heaphones. "Back in my day" I believe the rubbery padding on the ears peices seemed a little thicker and sturdier. These seem like they'll rip pretty easy, maybe on earings or something.
Cord got A LOT shorter. Pretty sure it used to be like 6 feet, now it's about 2-2 1/2. Liked it better with the longer cord. As well as the actual plastic headband peice seemed to get cheaper, either thinner plastic or cheaper plastic, I remember them being harder, seems like these could bow and break easier.
"Back in my day" you'd just snap off a little peice of the headphones to make the ear peices flip around, they now engineered it so you could do the same thing, it just turns a different way then before. Not a terrible thing.
Overall they're still a great headphone for blocking out outside noises, even though they seemed to get a tiny bit cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Awesome!

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these particular headphones a few years ago and no matter how many times I dropped them, accidentally stepped on them, or tripped on the cord (yea, I know, lol), they still worked. so when I had to get a new pair I was glad Walmart still sold this brand.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Love these..

01/27/2013
By ,
Selden NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these 3 years ago when I went to Barbados for the flight and they were perfect. I use them with and Ipod and now my Samsung Galaxy S3.....The sound on these very inexpensive headphones is amazing. I started using them while going for runs and walks working out, instead of the annoying ear buds that slip out. I find the best music to listen to is indie/dance/electronic (which I love) on these...the electronic sounds come out so clear. Of course they are no Beats by DR Dre (I won't spend that much on heavy clunky headphones) but the sound is perfect for me. They are also very light and the foam around the ear pieces is very very soft. 3 years old and they still look/sound/work perfect (I have them on now)
I bought the same pair for my 12 year old nephew for Christmas and he can wait to start walking with me outside with them!! Great buy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Sony Headphones

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Great Headphones

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm vary happy with my new headphones!!!I use them every day with my Sony portableDVD player!!1AS good as thay get!!I would buy them again if I had to!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/05/2015
Hi BigDave, Good to know this, we're glad that you are happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Jen Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black
01/03/2012
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to have a pair of skullcandy lowriders valued at about $40 and they were small, flimsy and died on me in a month. these headphones are more sturdy, are comfortable and stay on my head, even when I look down. they sound good, I can hear everything in the music and it's all very clear. Not as much bass as I expected, but you can still hear it. not a bad pair of headphones for only $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good sound, short on comfort, with a short cord.

07/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Sony MDR-ZX100 headphones to replace an older model, Sony MDR-CD60, hoping they would be equivalent in performance and comfort. The new MDR-ZX100 sounds good, but they are not as comfortable to wear - they feel small, and the cord length is ridiculously short: 47-1/4'' (1.2M) is not barley long enough! The cord length on the older Sony headphones is over 80 inches in length.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good Value

09/23/2012
By ,
St. Cloud MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These headphones are an excellent value for their price. They are extremely comfortable, I leave then on for hours at a time while I do homework or other things. The sound quality is excellent compared to other headphones in a cheaper price range. The bass is deep and has a rich sound. Even with your music turned up loud they do a good job of trapping the sound and not leaking the sound too much. I bought mine in white and think the color looks great. They look and perform like more expensive headphones would. I would recommend these to anyone who wants good sound quality and style, but does not want to break the bank! I use these almost everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Worse than my breaking $10 headphones :(

01/03/2012
By ,
WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping that these would be good headphones after owning about 4 or 5 Sony brand headphones in a row, but alas these did not meet expectations.
First the headphones feel extremely cheap, hollow like.
Second they fit awkward, the band is to large for any head and puts more pressure than usual on top of your head, especially for their weight, and the foam is pretty stiff.
Third and most important the audio quality is lacking, there is no bass to speak of and the mids are weak too, the treble is ok but nothing special. They also don't get loud at all and starts crackling at a lower volume than would be expected for 30mm drives. These do not block noise either you can hear yourself clap softly at full volume and can understand them while they are being worn from across a large room.
I might still get earbuds from Sony but never again will I get their studio style, I have tried the MDR-NC7 headphones too and was not happy with those either, returning both.
One thing that is good about these headphones is the cord, one of the beefiest I have ever seen on headphones, even so it is way to short and hardly reaches your pocket while standing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good quality construction

12/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well built set of budget headphones. The quality of materials used is good for the price paid. My 9 yo son goes through headphones pretty fast and these are holding up well. They have good sound as well. Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good sound for the price

02/15/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These headphones put out a great deal of sound for the price. They have an excellent range with rich bass and crisp highs. They are very comfortable to wear. The wire is thick and they feel well made. I would definitely recommend these to anyone wanting a good set of phones without breaking the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Amazing Headphones. Love Sony.

12/27/2012
By ,
Palm Harbor, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased these today. The base is awesome. The Sound is brilliant. I've had difficulty searching for a really good pair of headphones for awhile. These fit comfortably. I've tried ear buds, but they always kept falling out. Every other regular pair of head phones would either be not comfortable, or to low below the ears. They wouldn't fit directly on the ears. These are fantastic, and I would certainly recommend these to anyone. And its in a decent price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

good headphones

12/16/2013
By ,
berlin, md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

My old Sony headphones were far more comfortable

06/15/2014
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound quality isn't bad, a little unseparated but for this price not terrible. The ear pads are comfortable, they probably won't last very long even though I wipe the pads off after each use. However, the headband is TERRIBLE. these are the most uncomfortable headphones I have ever worn (except the ear pads as noted.
I would not recommend these as the actually feel like something is poking me in the top of the head constantly while using them.
Just go up a few dollars and get a padded or at least a wide headband.
I guess I'll go back to my Creative Labs in ear style. I can wear them for hours
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention and would be more than happy to take a look at this further. Kindly email us at SonySupportUSA@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. Please include information such as your name, the model number, details of the issue etc. Thank you!Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Good sound and nice for travel

02/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I travel, don't need noise cancellation and tend to crunch headphones accidently every so often so for the price these meet my needs. Good sound/bass and speakers turn flat so they slip into my computer bag nicely. I carry earbuds too and switch between the two for ear comfort.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Buy this!!!

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty darn good headphones for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

Great set of middle of the line head phones

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They're pretty good about blocking out most noise without the volumen needing to be too high. Not for audiophiles, but good enough for casual listening.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black

awesome

07/26/2014
By ,
oakland,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price they work just fine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony MDRZX100 Series Studio Headphones, Black
07/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are not too comfortable. They just sit on top of your ears, do not form to them at all. Sound is ok. Pretty short cord too.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next