Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sportline Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Sportline Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

The Sportline S12 Heart Rate Monitor provides you the information you need when exercising. It features a patented one-touch interface that measures calories burned and provides a percentage of maximum heart rate. The monitor can also track distance covered and the speed in which you are traveling. It includes 12-function design that is easy to utilize. Stay in touch with your workout progress with this Any Touch heart rate monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
2.381 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation33%7 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

don't waste your time or money...

08/14/2011
By ,
Portland, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this watch for about 2 weeks; its starting acting up the same way the FIRST ONE did!
With the 1st one, I thought it was a low battery; got a new battery and it still would only take the pulse about 1/3 of the time, and it would sometimes try to take a pulse reading when I was NOT EVEN wearing the watch!! Really? Yes, really! In the trouble shooting section, it says that dry skin or excess body grease may prevent the watch from detecting a heart rate....when you workout and sweat....there WILL BE BODY GREASE AS WELL!! Wiping the wrist and back of watch did NOT help at all....as the instructions suggested...will not waste money on a new battery this time!
So now the exact same watch (I returned the 1st one for the 2nd one) is starting to do the SAME THINGS.....ie, only take a pulse about 1/3 of the timel! And when you get a heart rate watch, you'd LIKE to have it measure a heartrate-DUH! The steps and all the other features work, but not the heartrate, on a consistent basis.
I just ordered a Mio watch from Amazon-I had that watch before the s12 sportline, and it went strong for over 6 years! Would still be using that watch, but I lost it-thats when I bought this S12 sportline watch-which I will return for a refund when the Mio heart rate watch arrives!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Improving the S12 pedometer accuracy

08/21/2014
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read several reviews complaining about the inaccuracy of the distance and rate in MPH.
There is no entry for step length. The step length is estimated based on the height in inches entered in the user profile. See page 13 of the user manual. For the greatest accuracy, you must measure your step length in inches. There are several ways to do that.
http://walking.about.com/cs/pedometers/a/pedometerset.htm
After you have calculated your step length in inches, divide the result by .413 for women or .415 for men, to determine the "virtual height" in inches you need to enter into the user profile.
My recommendation is, if you are walking or running on level ground most of the time, find a 440 yd track (1/4) mile at a school in your neighborhood and measure the steps you take for a lap using the pedometer.( 440 yds= 1320 ft ) Remember, the inside lane is 1/4 mile. EXAMPLE: Lap steps= 515 1320/515= step length of 2.563 ftX12 (in)=30.76 inches. Round up to 31 inches. 31 inches divided by .415 (for a male,use .413 for a female)= 74.7 (round up to 75) Enter 75 in your user profile. Note: 75 inches= 6'3" My actual height is 5'7"
If you are walking or running on a hilly trail as I do, the best way to calculate step length is to check your steps on an uphill segment, downhill segment, and level segment, then average the result and calculate the height you need to enter in the profile. EXAMPLE: Take 12 steps uphill, measure the inner 10 and calculate an average. Do the same for downhill and level sections of the trail. Average the three results to arrive at your average step length for the course. Divide by .415 #men# or .413 #women# as in the previous example to calculate your "virtual height" and enter into the user profile.
If you are using the pedometer in multiple environments, just make a record of your "virtual height" for each environment and enter accordingly before you begin your activity in that environment.
I hope that helps. Feedback is welcome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Perfect for walkers!

07/24/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 of these - bought a new one when the battery went dead in the first one. It seemed to be cheaper just to buy new. The first one lasted 3 years, the second one is still going strong after about 20 months! I plan to buy a third when the battery dies in this one. I walk 5-10 miles everyday, sometimes fast, sometimes slow, and this keeps me in touch with my heart rate, speed, mileage and calories burned. It does everything I need it to do and it is VERY accurate with the things I can gauge - miles, HR, etc. (Not so sure about the accuracy of the calorie counter, though.)
Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

do NOT buy! a waste of money.

02/20/2012
By ,
Yuma, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them: one for my wife and one for me. My wife's unit stopped working after about 4 months - dead battery! I had the battery replaced but the heart rate monitor function would no longer turn on at all. I sent the watch to the supplier for warranty replacement. I am still waiting.
The heart rate monitor on mine stopped working properly. Many times it will not give me a reading while I am exercising on a stationery bike even after I have followed all instructions such as moistening the wrist etc. At other times it suddenly switches into heart rate monitor mode without me having touched it. At times it gives me totally different readings within a few seconds such as 98 b/m then 135 b/m. Many times it beeps for no reason at all.
This is a piece of junk. Do not waste your money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

This monitor performs as advertised

03/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor works great if you do things correctly. Your skin must be slightly moist where the back of the monitor rests on your wrist. When taking a pulse reading, the finger you use to touch the monitor needs to be slightly moist also. If you use electrolyte gel you do not need the moisture. Also, you must wear the monitor snugged up firmly so that good contact is made between the back of the S12 and your arm.
I checked the pulse readings against a wrist-style blood pressure monitor several different times and the readings were within 2 points of each other each time. I walked a measured mile while counting my steps and the S12 counted the same number. Using 30 inches per step, the distance measured was very close to the actual distance.
The pedometer apparently does not update the screen with every step but if you keep walking, it will eventually update and show the exact number of steps you have taken. It took me a while before I realized it was counting steps even though the monitor screen did not update on every step. This was not what I expected. I also was able to take pulse rate readings manually while walking but these were instantaneous readings, not an average. There is a way to get average readings but I did not try that function.
I think this is an excellent value at $39. The monitor has many more features that I did not cover here. The manual states that it is warranted for 5 years but I see no reason for any problems with this device unless you damage it in some way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

I love my S12

06/28/2011
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything I need it to. Pulse, steps, calories, and so much more. Works like a charm. Have had it for several months and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Not so good

05/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This watch easily scratches and breaks. Pulse sometimes slow or none working. Hard to use. The old saying is you get what you pay for and I do not think I got what I payed for. Overall I say do not get this watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Nashville
I love my S12
Posted 06/28/2011
It tells my heart rate at any given time, counts my steps, calories and so much more. Have had it for several months and it works great!
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Posted 06/14/2011
I purchased this monitor to use simply for heart rate checking. It won't even work properly for checking resting heart rate. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. It's very frustrating and I'll be returning it. The date on the watch resets itself as well. What a waste of money.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Disappointed in Performance.

06/28/2012
By ,
Oswego, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This watch had all the features I was looking for to assist in my fitness plan. It seemed to work well for a short time. Then the touch for heart rate feature began to malfunction. Part way into my 3 mile walk it would stop responding. Then later it would attempt to check my heart rate when I wasn't even touching it. Then it began repeatedly checking for the heart rate when I wasn't even wearing it. I cleaned it with a damp cloth cloth each day and I purchased a new battery. Nothing helped, so I phoned customer service. To their credit, they agreed to send me a replacement watch once they received the defective one back. I did receive the replacement watch in a timely manner. However, to my disappointment this watch began malfunctioning much the way the former one did. I put petroleum jelly on my wrist, which seemed to help for the first half of my walk, then back to no response. Drying my wrist with a napkin helped a couple of times, then back to no response at all. I called customer service again today and they would have sent me a replacement watch again; however, the representative said he could almost guarantee the type of problem I was having would recur again. Since it costs me $5 to send in the old watch (not to mention the $5 I spent for a new battery for the previous watch) I decided I shouldn't invest further and I asked about a refund. I was told I would have to get that from the place of purchase. So guess that's what I will do. Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

HR only works part of the time

08/05/2012
By ,
Gaylesville, Al
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recieved this watch/HR monitor as a mothers day gift and at first it worked perfectly. As soon as I started to work out and sweat, which is says it needs to track your heart rate, it stopped taking the HR half the time. I wanted a monitor that would track my HR during a work out not thirty min after when it decided to start working again. Everything else works great but I wanted a HR monitor not a pedometer. I will be taking it back and exchanging it for a different one or ordering one off line.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Unreliable and innacurate

07/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found it a bit difficult to adjust the time/info, but the manual helps (of course).
The only thing this item was accurate on was the time. I noticed that after a few minutes of going into my workout it would glitch and begin checking my heart rate without me even touching it. It wouldn't check my heart rate when I did touch it. I would have to wipe my finger down and then at times it would calculate it. The calorie count was completely off. I tried working out with it on the 3 different levels of sensitivity, but it was still off.
On the step machine at the gym I burn about 200-300 in 20-30 minutes. I started the Insanity workout, which is one of the toughest workouts and in 30-40 minutes of INTENSE training, the sportline only calculates about 60-80 kcal burned. A friend of mine is also doing the Insanity workout. While this product only calculated about 60-80 kcal in my workouts, my friend's heart rate monitor calculates between 400-600 kcal. That's too big of a gap. It's way off.
I'm returning this tomorrow and have already ordered a different heart rate monitor that's a lot more popular/accurate/reliable and only paying a couple dollars more than the Sportline.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

This product works exactly as advertised!

04/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has a large number of functions that can be used to monitor your exercise in addition to which it can function as a watch. It required some practice with the controls and reviewing the manual to be able to set up all features of the Heart Rate Monitor but I have been very pleased with its performance and would recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

You get what you pay for - CHEAP!

06/12/2012
By ,
Norfolk, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Twice in 2 days I started the clock to start monitoring my calories, speed, distance, etc. Twice it stopped after a few seconds on its own so I didn't get squat for a reading. My MPH that it showed was WAY off, showing I was going about half what I know I am going by a treadmill, the calories are less than HALF of what my friend's monitor said when we walked together. The distance was WAY off. We walked 4 miles around a track so we knew exactly how far we went. My watch said we went 2.92 miles. Not even close. I assume the heart rate is correct, but since the calories, speed, and distance are so off, who knows. With it stopping seconds after it starts for no reason, I'm through with it. It's cheap and it shows. I've tried it 7 times in the last 3 days. I gave it a shot. No more.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Does not accurately count calories

01/14/2012
By ,
Lexington Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this watch today for basically the first time after setting up the basic info. I entered my height, weight, etc. Well, I did zumba for 30 mins as a test. It said I only burned 131 calories which is totally inaccurate. a 150lb person burns on average 500 calories an hour doing zumba. I am heavier than 150 lbs (while I won't tell you how much more - it's more.) I am taking it back today to get one with a chest strap to help continuously monitor my heart rate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Very disappointed

05/19/2012
By ,
Tennesswee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a plain heart rate monitor last year that was $10 cheaper than this one. It started acting up so I brought it back. Then a few weeks ago I bought this one and it did great for about a week. Now it will take my heart rate a few times during a workout, then just stops working. Then it will sometimes start trying to take my heart rate when I haven't touched it. The last few nights it has been just beeping at random. This morning it started beeping. I looked at it and it was trying to take my heart rate. I've been going through the manual to see if maybe there is something I can do to correct the issues, but there isn't.
Very aggravating. Will be returning to walmart asap!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

My Second Sportline.....

01/30/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my last sportline heart rate watch from WALMART 3 years ago....loved it!! But, I exercised it to death!! lol Got this new version of the Sportline and it did not disappoint....just as I expected it has done everything it suppose to do....fast, reliable, and economical. Thanks WALMART, great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Guess what's going back to walmart tomorrow...

03/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took it to the gym, to compare with the treadmill. I may not run 10 miles but when you tell me I only run half of what the treadmill says... I'm going with the treadmill. Also, the user interface isn't very easy to use, in my opinion. It wouldn't take my heart rate unless I was still. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Save your money

01/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't recommend unless you want a resting heart rate or walk and don't sweat. The 1st one I had wouldn't read when I was on a stationary bike, on a treadmill, on an elliptical or standing between sets in a cardio class. Exchanged for a new one...same problem. Save your bucks up for a better namebrand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Great watch... for telling time.

07/18/2012
By ,
Washington DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I just purchased this watch today and have worked out in it. I burned zero calories my entire workout. Come on now. I do the P90X and was sweating like crazy. The 'X' stands for extreme and I didn't burn any calories? Returning ASAP!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

Not Good!

05/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. It was good at keeping the time and MAYBE the steps. As for MPH and distance run.....AWFUL! Ran a 5K and it said I had run about 2.5 miles. (Should be 3.1!) Returned it for a store credit. Not worth the $. Beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sportline S12 Any Touch Heart Rate Monitor

inaccurate pedometer

06/20/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a heart rate monitor and thought I'd spend the extra money to get one that features a pedometer, even though I already have two. I found that the pedometer is so inaccurate as to be unusable. I regret this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next