Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Generic Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Keep plenty of water on hand with the Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug. This BPA-free container features a traditional jerry can design. It has an angled handle for easier lifting and pouring.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%25 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great deal through Wal-mart

08/23/2011
By ,
American Fork, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for water containers that I could use to fill the tanks on my tent trailer when we don't have access to hook ups. Found a RELIANCE Desert Patrol 6-Gal jug on Amazon with a 5 star rating for $19.99. It rated well for exactly the use I had in mind, problem was I didn't think it could be delivered in time for our next outing. Later in the day I found this Ozark Trail one that looked the same, but I still was unsure about the quality. Sure it was half the price but with no reviews that made me cautious. I went ahead and ordered on the website for in-store pick up at my local store and to my amazement it is made by Reliance. The exact same jug I almost paid twice the cost for through Amazon. By the way, it works GREAT. Can't believe what a bargain this was. Thanks Wal-Mart!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great product

03/17/2014
By ,
San francisco ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product. Thick sturdy plastic. Could maybe use a flexible spout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Awesome water storage containers

05/13/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these water containers to go camping with my grandson . We were at a primative sight with no water . The water jugs are easy to fill and stand by themselves very well . We adapted a faucet valve on one and it was just great . I would definately recommend these containers to others , thanks Walmart for a great product with a great price .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

12/02/2011
By ,
death valley,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for our pop-up trailer and they were much easier to add water to the tank then the other water bags we were using.I would reommend them to anyone that has a pop-up rv.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Overall, pretty nice product

10/17/2012
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty nice product for the price. We bought two, but managed to only go through one on our 4 day camping trip. It was great to fill dog water bowls and rinse dishes and hands. I was hoping it would be a bit more sturdy (similar to Army water Jugs), but it was thinner and got crushed a bit during transit. However, it was nothing major and popped right back out! Again, the quality was very good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great Jug

06/25/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super sturdy. Tall & thin profile, too - much easier to pack & transport.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

JUST WHAT I HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR!

05/18/2012
By ,
West Mifflin, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for camping! Easy to fill, use and store! I bought a spare one because they are hard to find. Wish our supercenter carried them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

A good old water jug

05/08/2013
By ,
Central Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There isn't much one can say about something this simple other than it does its job, and does it well. It is just a plastic container for holding water. Which it does nicely. And it holds 6 gallons, which is a nice big quantity, so be aware it will weigh 50 pounds when full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

10/14/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to take 6 1gal. jugs with me when camping, now, 1 OZARK TRAIL DESERT PATROL 6 gal. goes with me. Easier to transport, won't puncture so easy, takes up less space. Word to the wise, 6 gal. of water weighs ALOT! So, If you think 5 gal. of gas is heavy, you might want to keep using 1gal. jugs. Why cause injury to yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North East, TX
Heed this wisdom!
Posted 08/01/2013
Yes, this is a heavy jug when filled. 1 gal. of water weighs a little over 8 lbs. Thus, 6x8=48lbs. If this is a mass you can carry to your campsite (as I do from the car w/ a small luggage dolly), then this is the product for you. I love that I don't have to make several trips back & forth to where I parked my car to carry water to a pristine primitive site away from more crowded campsites. -- For me, it's a great product at a great price. I camp with all my water containers filled prior to set up. This was to be my go to refill. I makes a big difference in the amount of time I get to enjoy nature before needing to trek back to civilization to refill supplies. [I'm a 2 week min. camper.]
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

06/09/2012
By ,
Trenton, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air vent could be larger for better flow of water.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Good value for my purpose

11/04/2013
By ,
Arcadia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very good for the price. Made in Canada by Reliance. The plastic material seems a little thin. I use it as my emergency water supply, so it only gets emptied and refilled every 6 months. We'll see how well it holds up after a few refills.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

great water container.

10/25/2012
By ,
shell lake, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use as a water source for camping or survival if needed. Basically the same as what Cabelas offers but at half the price. Store pick up saved me shipping cost. Was at the store in 1 day. Can't ask for more then that.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great Container

11/04/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a couple of these to start keeping water in case of an emergency. They aren't too heavy when filled; they're manageable. So far, they're holding up really well. Waiting on the local store to stock back up so I can get me a few more. Wish Wal-Mart carried the stackable 5gal type, but, for the price, these will do great for my purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Leaky at the breathing hole

10/27/2012
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sprout is useless as the water can is way too heavy to be lifted up to pour when fully filled, especially when there is no good place to hold and tilt it. The gasket on the lid is way flimsy and won't work without the sprout inverted into the can. The air breathing hold is sealed with a simple plug that fits poorly, and when the can is filled to capacity, water leaks from it. I bought 4 of these to prepare for blackouts; they all have the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Cheaply made product

11/19/2013
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of these for camping. After two (2) years, 1/2 dozen camping trips the vent plug retaining strap broke on both jugs and the spout gaskets deteriorated. The cost of the replacement parts and shipping is more than the cost of new jugs at Walmart.... Guess what route I went !! Buy these but be prepared to replace them every few years.. The manufacturer was no help at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great Product.

11/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using this container to fill the tank in our RV. When I applied too much weight to the nozzle it popped off. I thought I ruined it. But to my surprise I was able to reconnect it and finish filling my RV tank without a drop leaking from the nozzle. I'm impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great product for RV's

05/27/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They work perfectly for my RV when i'm camping at a site and i don't have water hook-ups. Fill them... pop off the back air vent and shove the nozzle all the way down into your fresh water inlet... literally empties is seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Perfect water container for multiple uses!!

05/09/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheaper to buy and fill with tap water than buying gallons of water. Perfect for hauling water
to clean rentals instead of having water service turned on. Perfect for home when water is
temporarily turned off. Perfect for Doomsday Preppers!!! Shape of jug is conducive to storing
in smaller area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

good container

11/14/2013
By ,
Millersville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked well for hunting trip to primitive cabin
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug
04/01/2013
By ,
edwards mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are good an sturdy this is my second one the other one lasted 7 years
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next