Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Keep plenty of water on hand with the Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug. This BPA-free container features a traditional jerry can design. It has an angled handle for easier lifting and pouring.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation84%27 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Plastic junk

10/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought three of this item last Winter for an emergency water supply at home. I know that's not nearly enough water, but I figured it was a gooe start. I filled them up at New Year's. I expected to change the water after six months, but time got away from me. So now in the 10th month I went to change the water. They didn't leak up to now, but when I started to empty them and change the water I noticed one of them was leaking at a stress point around a fake plastic X on the side of the jug. This X is not a reinforcing mechanism. It doesn't do anything except create stress points for hairline cracks. Water is very heavy and this is a poorly designed product. When I refilled another jug, it started to leak at a similar point. So two out of three of my jugs leak from the side of the jug after only 10 months of storage in my garage. Thus, if I could rate this product a zero or no stars, I would. I guess you get what you pay for and at $10, this was the cheapest product in its class.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great deal through Wal-mart

08/23/2011
By ,
American Fork, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for water containers that I could use to fill the tanks on my tent trailer when we don't have access to hook ups. Found a RELIANCE Desert Patrol 6-Gal jug on Amazon with a 5 star rating for $19.99. It rated well for exactly the use I had in mind, problem was I didn't think it could be delivered in time for our next outing. Later in the day I found this Ozark Trail one that looked the same, but I still was unsure about the quality. Sure it was half the price but with no reviews that made me cautious. I went ahead and ordered on the website for in-store pick up at my local store and to my amazement it is made by Reliance. The exact same jug I almost paid twice the cost for through Amazon. By the way, it works GREAT. Can't believe what a bargain this was. Thanks Wal-Mart!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+25points
Review 3 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Little Green Jug

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Water jug is large enough to store H2O and small enough to move it when it is full. Gr8 bargain.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Awesome water storage containers

05/13/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these water containers to go camping with my grandson . We were at a primative sight with no water . The water jugs are easy to fill and stand by themselves very well . We adapted a faucet valve on one and it was just great . I would definately recommend these containers to others , thanks Walmart for a great product with a great price .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+16points
Review 5 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

12/02/2011
By ,
death valley,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for our pop-up trailer and they were much easier to add water to the tank then the other water bags we were using.I would reommend them to anyone that has a pop-up rv.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Overall, pretty nice product

10/17/2012
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty nice product for the price. We bought two, but managed to only go through one on our 4 day camping trip. It was great to fill dog water bowls and rinse dishes and hands. I was hoping it would be a bit more sturdy (similar to Army water Jugs), but it was thinner and got crushed a bit during transit. However, it was nothing major and popped right back out! Again, the quality was very good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Review 7 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great Jug

06/25/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super sturdy. Tall & thin profile, too - much easier to pack & transport.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Review 8 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

JUST WHAT I HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR!

05/18/2012
By ,
West Mifflin, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for camping! Easy to fill, use and store! I bought a spare one because they are hard to find. Wish our supercenter carried them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

A good old water jug

05/08/2013
By ,
Central Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There isn't much one can say about something this simple other than it does its job, and does it well. It is just a plastic container for holding water. Which it does nicely. And it holds 6 gallons, which is a nice big quantity, so be aware it will weigh 50 pounds when full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 10 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

10/14/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to take 6 1gal. jugs with me when camping, now, 1 OZARK TRAIL DESERT PATROL 6 gal. goes with me. Easier to transport, won't puncture so easy, takes up less space. Word to the wise, 6 gal. of water weighs ALOT! So, If you think 5 gal. of gas is heavy, you might want to keep using 1gal. jugs. Why cause injury to yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North East, TX
Heed this wisdom!
Posted 08/01/2013
Yes, this is a heavy jug when filled. 1 gal. of water weighs a little over 8 lbs. Thus, 6x8=48lbs. If this is a mass you can carry to your campsite (as I do from the car w/ a small luggage dolly), then this is the product for you. I love that I don't have to make several trips back & forth to where I parked my car to carry water to a pristine primitive site away from more crowded campsites. -- For me, it's a great product at a great price. I camp with all my water containers filled prior to set up. This was to be my go to refill. I makes a big difference in the amount of time I get to enjoy nature before needing to trek back to civilization to refill supplies. [I'm a 2 week min. camper.]
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great for camping

06/09/2012
By ,
Trenton, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Air vent could be larger for better flow of water.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 12 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

great water container.

10/25/2012
By ,
shell lake, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use as a water source for camping or survival if needed. Basically the same as what Cabelas offers but at half the price. Store pick up saved me shipping cost. Was at the store in 1 day. Can't ask for more then that.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 13 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Good large water container

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to be a good quality item. I like the Fact there is no BPA and the size is large enough to have enough water on hand but small enough to transport by hand. Fits my jerry can holder on my trailer too. Not sure how durable, time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great Container

11/04/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a couple of these to start keeping water in case of an emergency. They aren't too heavy when filled; they're manageable. So far, they're holding up really well. Waiting on the local store to stock back up so I can get me a few more. Wish Wal-Mart carried the stackable 5gal type, but, for the price, these will do great for my purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Don't plan to use this product with your RV

04/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I suffered filling our RV tank with this stupid jug for years. The cap doesn't seal so it leaks, and the spout attachment is very flimsy, so the spout invariably pops out and falls in the dirt whenever you use the jug to fill a tank even if you are careful.
Did I mention that the air relief plug pops loose and falls out? (In the dirt, of course). If you loosen it to relieve the vacuum in the jug prior to filling your RV tank, the air rushing in through the hole sucks the cap back in. This is about the only time when the stupid cap seals tightly - when you want it open. If you're alone and yield to temptation and reach out with one hand to try and pull the stupid air relief plug out while dumping the jug you will certainly either drop the plug in the dirt, or the spout will pop free, and go..in...the....dirt.
The last time I used ours the the spout popped free of the jug and I dropped the whole works spout first. This impact sheared the flimsy plastic all around the spout threads. At first I swore, but then I realized that I was going to have to finally replace this awful jug and for SURE I would not be buying this model AGAIN. This time I'm going to pay extra for the Scepter 5-Gallon Water Can, even though it costs more, it can't be worse.
Buy this jug because you like dirt with your potable water.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 16 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Leaky at the breathing hole

10/27/2012
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sprout is useless as the water can is way too heavy to be lifted up to pour when fully filled, especially when there is no good place to hold and tilt it. The gasket on the lid is way flimsy and won't work without the sprout inverted into the can. The air breathing hold is sealed with a simple plug that fits poorly, and when the can is filled to capacity, water leaks from it. I bought 4 of these to prepare for blackouts; they all have the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 17 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Good value for my purpose

11/04/2013
By ,
Arcadia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very good for the price. Made in Canada by Reliance. The plastic material seems a little thin. I use it as my emergency water supply, so it only gets emptied and refilled every 6 months. We'll see how well it holds up after a few refills.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 18 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Inexpensive product that leaks

06/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leaks at spout and air valve is poor design.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Perfect water container for multiple uses!!

05/09/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheaper to buy and fill with tap water than buying gallons of water. Perfect for hauling water
to clean rentals instead of having water service turned on. Perfect for home when water is
temporarily turned off. Perfect for Doomsday Preppers!!! Shape of jug is conducive to storing
in smaller area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 20 for Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug

Great product for RV's

05/27/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They work perfectly for my RV when i'm camping at a site and i don't have water hook-ups. Fill them... pop off the back air vent and shove the nozzle all the way down into your fresh water inlet... literally empties is seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next