Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Add some firepower to your hunting pursuits with the Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle. The powerful and handsome break barrel gun can shoot with a pellet velocity of up to 1,200 feet per second. The break barrel air rifle features an all-weather stock with ambidextrous design that allows both right-handed and left-handed people to use it with equal effectiveness. It also has a two-stage, adjustable trigger that can help in precise shooting with a considerably reduced number of accidental shots. The pellets in the 177 caliber air rifle are fired away by the action of a spring power source. The barrel has a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight to help you precisely point at your target. At 6.02 pounds the Crosman pellet gun is of optimal weight, allowing you to carry it around comfortably.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%66 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 206 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

The best Break Barrel .177 Rifle for so Low

07/02/2011
By ,
Abbottstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just today July 2, 2011 I brought from my Loco Walmart Center in Hanover, PA 17331 I watch from almost a two months on Pyramind Air and Crosman Sites.
The technical description for this Rifle in the so low $78 - $82.00 going over my head.. and design to go for today.
Well.. since unpack and mount Center Point my Scope begin setups with the (Zeros).
It took me 5 shoots to get the 100% pure Center in the 55 Foot distance..
The first shoot to test for power overhelming.. shoot the House Downspout and the Crosman Destroyer going thru.. Unbelievable!
This .177 cal break Barrel beat all the even more expensive other brands with the high quality and solid workmanship and used materials..
I'ts my best of all 7 other CO2 & Pump Master Rifles I own for years.. and are very accurate in shooting even without Scope mounted.
The Front Fiber optic and the Rear Site with adjust the wind & level do the job just fine!
In 35 foot distanse a Nickel Coin hit right in the center going thru.. believe?
Pretty nice Rifle for small Hunting as well on my backyard!
So go for and never will feels sorry in particule for such low price before it gone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Fantastic price.. works great

01/09/2012
By ,
selden
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two cheaper ones and they both broke...
This site sold those cheaper ones and they were fair and took em back and returned my money.
I bought this one and it feels and weighs like a real rifle. I can shoot at targets from my from yard to my back yard.. 3/4's an acre and the pellet hits the back fence like a donkey kick.
My goal is to scare away Squirrels going in my attic and it works... the thump and bang of that pellet against any tree or roof tile sends them running. I could easily put one of em down with one shot but I am trying not to do that.
The sight is deathly accurate. Its designed well and looks like a 22 rifle.. if you stepped out your front door holding this people might think you have a much more threatening self defense weapon. Actually this weapon would help you defend yourself even though that's not what its intended for.
I like the power, the accuracy and the safety features this rifle has. And it looks good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Over 25,000 pellets and stil kickin

10/06/2011
By ,
N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive got too many air guns this one was the least expensive but its my favorite .177 springer after well over 25000 pellets I mean thats only 50 tins of 500 and I shoot daily the spring broke. Having these problems with other frequently seasoned ,used guns I pandered buying another but wanted to keep thiis one so I contacted crosman customer support at crosman .com and got a new mainspring delivered for around $15.00 yup $15.00 and now shes ready for many more shots, This is a smooth well made chinese rifle the more ya shoot it the beter it gets if I didnt know better Id think she was made in the usa but she is made by u.s specifications and a real good gun .still shoots over 800 fps with 8 gr pellets accurate and kills whatever varmit she sees. I doubt anyone else will shoot that many rounds so shes a keeper
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Phantom 177 Break Barrel Air, Good buy.

01/23/2014
By ,
Ocala, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pellet gun because I was being over run by squirrels.
Makes a very loud bang and made me jump 3 feet. Sounds like a 22 cal long rifle or louder.
I know about real weapons and what they can do, but this is my first air rifle.
I sighted the rifle in and could get a grouping of 5 shots in a 3 inch circle. About 50 feet away. Not to bad for a 75 years old and a little shaky.
The rifle is heavier than I thought it would be but still a good buy.
At first it took me two hands and my body to brake the barrel to load the pellet.
I used my body to hold it still. But after a few times I could finally break the barrel with just my two hands. I'm very satisfied with the performance of the weapon.
Note, This is not a toy. Don't buy this gun for a young person. To hard to operate.
I bought the pellets that the rifle manufacture recomended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Competition quality / low cost with this set up.

05/05/2012
By ,
Lilburn Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this gun and installed a Bushnell 4 x 32 Multi-X Rimfire Scope, Black Matte #762243 for $29.27 also from Walmart this scope came with rings and fit perfect on the gun weighing only 10oz with easy installation, I torqued the base knobs to 20 inch lbs and the ring screws to 20 inch lbs. Also purchased the Gamo PBA Raptor Power Pellets 100 pack for $11.97 these pellets are gold plated and give you an increase FPS of around 25% more which should put you at 1600 FPS, not sure because I haven't put it on a chronograph it yet. It will consistently pop a dime at 60 ft with plenty of power. (Trigger is adjustable I set to 2.5 lbs)
Total of $129.37 including tax all purchased from Walmart free shipping to your store
Gun $84.80
Scope $31.88
Pellets $12.69
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/23/2011
By ,
tampabay
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
powerful at 1200fps, cheap sites, need to add a small scope for better accuracy. takes 100 rounds to break in, till then accuracy isn't good. keep the barrel oiled or it will rust
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
how do you oil the barrel
Posted 12/18/2011
im new to this and where can you get oil and how do you oil the barrel
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
05/21/2013
By ,
lenoir
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a child's bb gun! I purchased this for my wife who likes to target practice. After the breakin period and getting it sighted in, it is deadly. Nice weapon. a little heavy, but it shoots very well for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pellet gun is relatively inexpensive. However, it shoots great. It has plenty of speed and is accurate enough out to 40 yards. If you dont want to break the bank and want to have fun taking care of small varmints this will get it done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

cheap plastic sights

06/09/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the sights were difficult to sight in. the sights are very delicate,easily broken. pellets will just pierce a 1/2" of pine,nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Awesome rifle good job crosman

05/02/2012
By ,
Vero Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ordered this rifle and the first one was lost before it got to the store
talked to the customer service rep and she did an outstanding job getting me a new one the next day the crosman phantom has the look and feel of a real rifle .
Thanks walmart and crosman for an awesome rifle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price, Awesome rifle

01/04/2012
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this up on sale for $59. I previously bought a Gamo Whisper Deluxe for over $160 but returned it because of some major issues. Decided to try the cheaper Crosman since I wouldn't be using this all day everyday and it was more in my budget.
I couldn't be happier with the purchase. It shoots well and accurate and for $59 or even $89, it is probably the best air rifle for the price out there on the market.
The bad things about it are a somewhat crummy trigger, although I am getting used to it. The rear sight is very dissapointing. It's weak and chinsy and looks like if you flicked it with your finger, it would break off. It's a little loud, but not louder than most spring air guns.
I have about 500 shots through mine and can hit a golfball size targer 75% of the time at 20 yards. Forget buying the one with the scope included, and buy yourself a good 3-9x32 UTG Leapers for $50 (40mm may not fit this rifle).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Good bang for the buck (but not for hunting buck)

03/04/2012
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this gun a few weeks and have only shot at a target at about 25 yards. Using the existing sight (rear sight is cheap plastic as others have remarked), I could stay pretty consistent inside a 4 inch circle ... just so happens that mine is a bit high and to the right. Within about 50 practice shots, and five or six sight adjustments, was closer to 2 or 3 inches pretty consistently. 1200 fps? I couldn't tell you. Noisy? not too bad. A little crack, but no complaints from neighbors so far. I'm using crossman lead pellets right now and they seem to work fine. Some have recommended a scope and I plan to get one ... there is a silver Barska for about 26 bucks on Wal mart.com that has good ratings. I may get back to y'all when I've installed and used the rifle with the scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Rifle works ok but has a cheap unusable rear sight

07/28/2011
By ,
Pawling, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rear sight is cheaply made and does not adjust properly. The rifle seems to work well and has the power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
great gun... PLASTIC sights
Posted 08/10/2011
I owned this rifle for a while a few months back. It's a really nice airgun, definitely capable of gettig food during an emergency. It's built as solidly as my Marlin 22, maybe even more. Except..... the sights on this gun, while awesome, are plastic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great for the Price

11/21/2012
By ,
Winter Park, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem has been with the rear sight it seems to be spring loaded and at times can get caught and end up at a side to side diagonal, which once you notice it if you psh down on it a couple of times you'll see when it lines up correctly. Besides that it is very accurate and very powerful for what it is and the price it comes at!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great Air Rifle, but....

11/26/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great air rifle. It's very powerful and i love everything about it. The only thing i don't like is how loud it is. I haven't been able to shoot it in my backyard because of how loud it is. Other than that, it's great. Does anyone know where i can purchase a good muzzle brake or suppressor(legal) for it?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
01/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality for the value exceed/meet expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
05/12/2013
By ,
gainesville fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall solid air rifle. good value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Nice Rifle for the price.

07/14/2012
By ,
Newark, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I would change is the trigger reach. It seems to be very long and wants pull your hand off the stock grip to reach the trigger. But I have short fingers. Get the one with the scope if you can and save unless you have scope and mounts. Easy to load break barrel, good sights and stock. A little less reach on the trigger and it's Five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

WOuld reccommend

10/12/2012
By ,
severn Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little loud but the instructions say it take about 100 firings to break in. Very powerful pellet gun. Not recommended for kids. Adult use advised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price..well worth it!

07/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
POWERFUL gun for the price!! Only bad thing is it needs time to be broken in for the cocking mechanism(break barrel) to be easier..oil it good! Definitely a good buy here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Posted 01/17/2012
Check to be sure the barrel screw isn't to tight. You want it just tight enough so the barrel can't move side to side, but no more. When cocked, break the barrel, if it can drop down under it's own weight then you're good.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
41-60 of 70 total reviews