Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Add some firepower to your hunting pursuits with the Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle. The powerful and handsome break barrel gun can shoot with a pellet velocity of up to 1,200 feet per second. The break barrel air rifle features an all-weather stock with ambidextrous design that allows both right-handed and left-handed people to use it with equal effectiveness. It also has a two-stage, adjustable trigger that can help in precise shooting with a considerably reduced number of accidental shots. The pellets in the 177 caliber air rifle are fired away by the action of a spring power source. The barrel has a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight to help you precisely point at your target. At 6.02 pounds the Crosman pellet gun is of optimal weight, allowing you to carry it around comfortably.
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%67 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 210 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Kove it.

01/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun fpr the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

best pellet gun i ever bought

11/04/2012
By ,
phoenixville pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this pellet gun great for squearls an groundhogs best part of the gun is the miro groved rifling in the barrel. i had mine for a year an just recently got a scope for it i small game hunt an it an ausome gun it relibale an cheap fun
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Fantastic price.. works great

01/09/2012
By ,
selden
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two cheaper ones and they both broke...
This site sold those cheaper ones and they were fair and took em back and returned my money.
I bought this one and it feels and weighs like a real rifle. I can shoot at targets from my from yard to my back yard.. 3/4's an acre and the pellet hits the back fence like a donkey kick.
My goal is to scare away Squirrels going in my attic and it works... the thump and bang of that pellet against any tree or roof tile sends them running. I could easily put one of em down with one shot but I am trying not to do that.
The sight is deathly accurate. Its designed well and looks like a 22 rifle.. if you stepped out your front door holding this people might think you have a much more threatening self defense weapon. Actually this weapon would help you defend yourself even though that's not what its intended for.
I like the power, the accuracy and the safety features this rifle has. And it looks good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Excellent gun for yard pests.

08/03/2012
By ,
Toledo Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting the sights adjusted to my liking, I can drop a groundhog @ 50 yards. Being just a .177 caliber, I am amazed at the stopping power of this reasonably priced gun. The break barrel allows for just one open and close to be ready for your next shot, you get full power without multiple pumping. The normal Crosman lead pellets are enough for my 3 acre yard @ 1000 fps. To get 1200 fps you need the expensive non lead pellets, as with most any other pellet rifle out there. One more thing , Walmart has the best price on the pellets so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great fun to shoot

10/24/2012
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the fact of great power and accuracy with a single pump of breaking barrel rather than hassle and cost of CO2. I’ve been getting grouping of 3” at 50+ ft with factory sights. Front site of fiber optic makes acquisition easy but wish rear was metal instead of plastic. All in all, a great value for plinking and stress relief.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Follow break in procedure

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this hoping to take care of some tree rats in my back yard... I set out a 1/2" pine board for my backstop with target on it to sight in the rifle with aftermarket scope. Shot first 10 rounds and checked the board for pure curiosity cuz this thing has recoil. Lol to my dismay the pellets were not going through. So I continued firing as per instruction break in period. Shot sounds became quieter. By shot 50 or so I went and checked the board again. The entire back was splintered out! Thing has some kick! Flipped board fired again same thing. I now get one shot kills with squirrel and chipmunks.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pellet gun is relatively inexpensive. However, it shoots great. It has plenty of speed and is accurate enough out to 40 yards. If you dont want to break the bank and want to have fun taking care of small varmints this will get it done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
01/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality for the value exceed/meet expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great Air Rifle, but....

11/26/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great air rifle. It's very powerful and i love everything about it. The only thing i don't like is how loud it is. I haven't been able to shoot it in my backyard because of how loud it is. Other than that, it's great. Does anyone know where i can purchase a good muzzle brake or suppressor(legal) for it?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price..well worth it!

07/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
POWERFUL gun for the price!! Only bad thing is it needs time to be broken in for the cocking mechanism(break barrel) to be easier..oil it good! Definitely a good buy here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Posted 01/17/2012
Check to be sure the barrel screw isn't to tight. You want it just tight enough so the barrel can't move side to side, but no more. When cocked, break the barrel, if it can drop down under it's own weight then you're good.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Rifle works ok but has a cheap unusable rear sight

07/28/2011
By ,
Pawling, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rear sight is cheaply made and does not adjust properly. The rifle seems to work well and has the power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
great gun... PLASTIC sights
Posted 08/10/2011
I owned this rifle for a while a few months back. It's a really nice airgun, definitely capable of gettig food during an emergency. It's built as solidly as my Marlin 22, maybe even more. Except..... the sights on this gun, while awesome, are plastic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

cheap plastic sights

06/09/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the sights were difficult to sight in. the sights are very delicate,easily broken. pellets will just pierce a 1/2" of pine,nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great for the Price

11/21/2012
By ,
Winter Park, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem has been with the rear sight it seems to be spring loaded and at times can get caught and end up at a side to side diagonal, which once you notice it if you psh down on it a couple of times you'll see when it lines up correctly. Besides that it is very accurate and very powerful for what it is and the price it comes at!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

WOuld reccommend

10/12/2012
By ,
severn Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little loud but the instructions say it take about 100 firings to break in. Very powerful pellet gun. Not recommended for kids. Adult use advised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Nice Rifle for the price.

07/14/2012
By ,
Newark, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I would change is the trigger reach. It seems to be very long and wants pull your hand off the stock grip to reach the trigger. But I have short fingers. Get the one with the scope if you can and save unless you have scope and mounts. Easy to load break barrel, good sights and stock. A little less reach on the trigger and it's Five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price, Awesome rifle

01/04/2012
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this up on sale for $59. I previously bought a Gamo Whisper Deluxe for over $160 but returned it because of some major issues. Decided to try the cheaper Crosman since I wouldn't be using this all day everyday and it was more in my budget.
I couldn't be happier with the purchase. It shoots well and accurate and for $59 or even $89, it is probably the best air rifle for the price out there on the market.
The bad things about it are a somewhat crummy trigger, although I am getting used to it. The rear sight is very dissapointing. It's weak and chinsy and looks like if you flicked it with your finger, it would break off. It's a little loud, but not louder than most spring air guns.
I have about 500 shots through mine and can hit a golfball size targer 75% of the time at 20 yards. Forget buying the one with the scope included, and buy yourself a good 3-9x32 UTG Leapers for $50 (40mm may not fit this rifle).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
05/21/2013
By ,
lenoir
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a child's bb gun! I purchased this for my wife who likes to target practice. After the breakin period and getting it sighted in, it is deadly. Nice weapon. a little heavy, but it shoots very well for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/19/2011
By ,
Bellevue, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this gun thinking lighter is good. I found that heaver gun is better when shooting spring piston. I am shooting this gun mostly at only 15 feet, I shoot it in my garage to a duct seal pellet trap. The gun can hit a tack at 15 feet with open sights. Only thing is I can't get 10 shoots to hit inside of 2 inches. The gun has put 3 shots in a tight group. The issue could be with the shooter or the pellets.
The sights on the gun are plastic. I have better luck with them than the scope. I have not noticed any issues with the sights drifting. Even after over 500 rounds. Though the clicks on the elevation are a bit light as I am shooting extra close.
This gun does shoot over 1,000 feet per second with high speed pellets. A loud crack happens when they are shot. The gun is quite enough that the neighbors have neglected to call the cops so far. I don't shoot the high speed ammo in town.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Awesome rifle good job crosman

05/02/2012
By ,
Vero Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ordered this rifle and the first one was lost before it got to the store
talked to the customer service rep and she did an outstanding job getting me a new one the next day the crosman phantom has the look and feel of a real rifle .
Thanks walmart and crosman for an awesome rifle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Good bang for the buck (but not for hunting buck)

03/04/2012
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this gun a few weeks and have only shot at a target at about 25 yards. Using the existing sight (rear sight is cheap plastic as others have remarked), I could stay pretty consistent inside a 4 inch circle ... just so happens that mine is a bit high and to the right. Within about 50 practice shots, and five or six sight adjustments, was closer to 2 or 3 inches pretty consistently. 1200 fps? I couldn't tell you. Noisy? not too bad. A little crack, but no complaints from neighbors so far. I'm using crossman lead pellets right now and they seem to work fine. Some have recommended a scope and I plan to get one ... there is a silver Barska for about 26 bucks on Wal mart.com that has good ratings. I may get back to y'all when I've installed and used the rifle with the scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 71 total reviews