Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Add some firepower to your hunting pursuits with the Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle. The powerful and handsome break barrel gun can shoot with a pellet velocity of up to 1,200 feet per second. The break barrel air rifle features an all-weather stock with ambidextrous design that allows both right-handed and left-handed people to use it with equal effectiveness. It also has a two-stage, adjustable trigger that can help in precise shooting with a considerably reduced number of accidental shots. The pellets in the 177 caliber air rifle are fired away by the action of a spring power source. The barrel has a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight to help you precisely point at your target. At 6.02 pounds the Crosman pellet gun is of optimal weight, allowing you to carry it around comfortably.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%65 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 207 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great value

11/14/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a ton of time shopping online and reviewing YouYube videos before purchasing this pellet gun. I was concerned about the noise of a spring loaded gun vs. a standard BB gun. Yes it is louder but both my neighbors feel the noise is not excessive and I live in a standard subdivision. I could have purchased the gun off the shelf at several local stores but chose to wait a week and get it from Walmart due to the great price. The main reason for the competitive price is that the gun does not come with a scope. Almost every review I read complained about the scope-supplied version so I figured why pay for something that I might replace anyway. I found the sighting system supplied to be acceptable. Overall a VERY powerful airgun and a terrific value for the buck.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

POWERFUL!!!!!

08/15/2011
By ,
Racine,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a good quality & high powered air rifle then look no farther. This rifle is well worth the price and it has a great feel. This gun has some serious power! This is far from a toy! Great for target practice or varmint hunting! Lots of fun!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Nice pellet rifle

08/27/2011
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own several real guns but this was my first pellet gun and I was very impressed. Good feel and very powerful with a single pump. After sighting in and getting used to the gun I was consistently hitting my little 1 inch duck target at 30 yards. Fun to shoot and a great value at less than $80. Great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Awesome air rifle!

07/24/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the rifle online and it is a must have! The price is great and shipping was fast. I actually did some research and found out that if you order the rifle and center point ar22 4x32 scope seperately you can save a few dollars. ;) I got the scope a few days after the rifle and after sighting it in I have shot about 150 rounds through the rifle and have had no problems with the scope. I hope this review helps some. Thank you for reading and God Bless :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great gun and accurate!

01/14/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gun for the price. It meets the requirements and shoots very accurate compared to other higher end pellet guns. I tried other brands that were more expensive and they did not shoot quite as well. Only had the gun for a month now and put in over 1000 shots in already. Lots of birds and squirrels dropped by this gun already. It's got the power and will get the job done. Anything within 30 yards and back will hit right on using the regular sights without the scope. I shoot mine without the scope and it shoots very well. I highly recommend this gun to anyone!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great Pellet Gun!!! Period!!

01/06/2012
By ,
Boynton Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pellet rifle was bought for my 34 year old Nephew by me for Christmas. When he showed me the fun and accuracy he had with it I decided to purchase one for myself. The only thing that we added was a Crossman scope which made it even more accurate. This rifle is constructed very well and with proper care should last a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Excellent Item

01/06/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pellet rifle for my son to use for target practice and was pleasantly surprised. It has very sturdy construction and FEELS like a high powered rifle rather than a "toy". It isn't for the timid....it takes some strength to arm the gun, and it actually has some kick (recoil).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Not Very Happy!

01/19/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box it took me almost 30 shots to try to get the iron sights on the paper, even then the rear sight had to be moved almost all the way to the left before it would shoot bullseyes.
I installed a Crosman Target Finder 4x15 Airgun Scope and could not get it to sight, I ran out of adjustment and was still 8 inches from center bulls eye.
I have a 3-9/40mm Bushnell Scope and installed it and had the same problem as the Crosman Target Finder 4x15 Airgun Scope.
I used a .177 cal laser bore to try to scope in and still had the same problem.
This Phantom became just that, back to walmart it went and I bought a Benjamin .22-Caliber Break Barrel Carbine model #BW8M22NP
Needless to say I was not very pleased with this inexpensive air rifle.
Good thing my Room Mate has a .177 Cal because I bought 3 different boxes of pellets and cant return them
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Know your eye
Posted 03/07/2012
Have you determined your dominant eye??
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great Air Rifle

06/26/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at the price you can't beat this rifle. would like to see better iron sights but you're gonna want a scope anyway. stock has a good feel and soft butt pad is nice, it has a surprising recoil for an air rifle. adjustable trigger is nice since the 2nd stage was stiff for my liking. great accuracy and precision when broken in, nice stopping power with Crosman Destroyer Ex's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great rifle for a good price

07/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 80.00 you can't get a better break barrel rifle. I saved over 100 dollars buying this rifle than if I were to get one from any other one that can shoot up to 1200 fps.
It's great for small game hunting. If your gonna hunt squirrels, birds , chipmunks, cottontails (in season of course), or small jackrabbits don't waste your money on raptors. On the animals I just said regular pointed pellets and raptors do the exact same thing. If you get a headshot the rabbits will drop right away, If you want them to stop moving or make sure they're dead it might take a few more shots but with cheaps pellets hey you're not gonna break the bank. If you get a center mass vital shot then they could drop or they might run for a couple yards then drop. Again to finish it off it might take another shot or two.
With big jackrabbits you can kill em' at with lead pellets going 1000 fps but, at least from what i've discovered it takes 5 or six center mass shots to take them down. But if you can get headshots i'm sure that you can get away with lead pellets. So if you're going for big jackrabbits, lead free pelllets you can shoot 1200 fps will get the cleanest and quickest kill.
From what I've seen if you're gonna eat the game you shoot, this pellet gun is great it'll get a clean kill with out ruining half as much meat as, if say you shot a rabbit center mass with a .22.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Amazing gun

02/19/2012
By ,
Visalia, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework before buying this rifle and let me tell you its a great gun for air gun shooters looking to step up from pump rifles. Super powerful with right pellets and defiantly can do some damage. Very accurate and best rifle iv seen for the price. Was going to buy off amazon but had a $25 walmart gift card which i used at checkout saving me a good amount of money. Ship to store is also a plus, and my package arrived about 3 days before the estimated store delivery.
If you are still up in the air about which rifle is best for your and you are in the below $100 category this one hits the nail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Rifle works ok but has a cheap unusable rear sight

07/28/2011
By ,
Pawling, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rear sight is cheaply made and does not adjust properly. The rifle seems to work well and has the power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
great gun... PLASTIC sights
Posted 08/10/2011
I owned this rifle for a while a few months back. It's a really nice airgun, definitely capable of gettig food during an emergency. It's built as solidly as my Marlin 22, maybe even more. Except..... the sights on this gun, while awesome, are plastic.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

rear sight is terrible

12/10/2011
By ,
Houma,Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
super great gun but rear sight in terrible.it has large knobs for up and down and is easy to be turned out of sight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Excellent gun for yard pests.

08/03/2012
By ,
Toledo Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting the sights adjusted to my liking, I can drop a groundhog @ 50 yards. Being just a .177 caliber, I am amazed at the stopping power of this reasonably priced gun. The break barrel allows for just one open and close to be ready for your next shot, you get full power without multiple pumping. The normal Crosman lead pellets are enough for my 3 acre yard @ 1000 fps. To get 1200 fps you need the expensive non lead pellets, as with most any other pellet rifle out there. One more thing , Walmart has the best price on the pellets so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great fun to shoot

10/24/2012
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the fact of great power and accuracy with a single pump of breaking barrel rather than hassle and cost of CO2. I’ve been getting grouping of 3” at 50+ ft with factory sights. Front site of fiber optic makes acquisition easy but wish rear was metal instead of plastic. All in all, a great value for plinking and stress relief.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
05/21/2013
By ,
lenoir
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a child's bb gun! I purchased this for my wife who likes to target practice. After the breakin period and getting it sighted in, it is deadly. Nice weapon. a little heavy, but it shoots very well for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Awesome rifle good job crosman

05/02/2012
By ,
Vero Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ordered this rifle and the first one was lost before it got to the store
talked to the customer service rep and she did an outstanding job getting me a new one the next day the crosman phantom has the look and feel of a real rifle .
Thanks walmart and crosman for an awesome rifle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

lots of power!

02/28/2012
By ,
VALDOSTA, GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this pellet gun has met and exceeded all my expectations. if you are looking for power and accuracy and the look and feel of real military type weapon in a pellet gun, then look no futher.(and no they are not paying me to say this) this will be the only pellet you will want
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

WOuld reccommend

10/12/2012
By ,
severn Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little loud but the instructions say it take about 100 firings to break in. Very powerful pellet gun. Not recommended for kids. Adult use advised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
03/08/2012
By ,
VanBuren, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my husband and he is very pleased with it. It shoots very acurately and is real nice for the price. We would highly recommend this air rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 69 total reviews