Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

The Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Rifle is a .177-caliber variable pump air shotgun. The Pumpmaster is a youth classic air rifle that has been around since 1966 making it a highly recommended first time air rifle to shoot. The .177 caliber air rifle is known for its short-stroke and high compression pump action that gives shooters of all sizes and ability levels, fast, easy firing fun. Featuring a smooth barrel, the fiber optic sight air rifle is great for practicing your shooting arm.
Average Customer Rating:
3.759 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation74%43 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 162 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Good Value for the Money

12/24/2012
By ,
Spring Lake, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value for the money, My 7 year old and my 9 year old love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Good Design But stock broke off while pumping

12/18/2011
By ,
central florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like the design, easy to pump, pretty accurate, HOWEVER, ON ABOUT THE 10TH USE, WHILE PUMPING UP THE RIFLE, THE STOCK BUTT BROKE COMPLETELY OFF IN MY HAND. I liked the pellet clip feed design and so I bought a Crosman M417. It has a lot more power, will not break off and has a better barrel. It cost 3 times as much but it will last a lot longer. PS, we still have a Crosman pistol that is now 30 years old and still works great. But the 760 is a low grade plastic and if the person pumping it has strong arms, they will break it in half as I did.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
hmm..
Posted 12/31/2011
sorry for you but the image you added is not a crosman 760 pumpmaster .177, and if it is, its an earlier model and the newer ones have been fixed
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

A Good inexpensive air rifle.

03/14/2012
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rifle for my son after making the mistake of buying a modern Daisy and returning it. I am glad I did. This Crossman rifle is accurate and easy to use. Kills birds using just BBs with no problem. I recommend it for the price it is a good value. We have mounted a rimfire scope on ours and it stays sighted well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crosman
Posted 11/12/2013
Great to hear!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Good for the price

04/07/2013
By ,
Lynn Haven, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading some of the negative reviews, I'm not sure what people are expecting out of a thirty dollar bb gun from walmart. Mine was in good shape when purchased, no issues with the gun not being assembled properly or anything like that. Iron sights are good and accuracy is fine. It comes with a 5-round pellet clip that slides horizontally through the action, but I mainly stick with bb's. I have been through about 500 shots and the gun is still working perfectly. Now, regarding the comments that the gun is difficult to pump....it is a bit difficult FOR CHILDREN to pump this gun. My 9-year-old daughter struggles to pump it more than twice, and my 4-year-old son can't pump it at all. But since they're not allowed to use the gun unsupervised I don't have much of a problem with that. If you want one your kids can pump by themselves, you'll probably want to get a Red Ryder. Overall, a good starter gun for target shooting and plinking cans.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

excellent, very accurate, easy to pump...

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fun plinker, I never owned one before and bought this a few months ago and love it. Shooting soda, beer cans/bottles, paper targets, etc from 35-45 yards away. It's incredibly accurate, I can shoot a water cap from 30 yards away. The plinker is as accurate as the person shooting it, so if you're a bad aim, don't blame it on something else other than you. Sorry, that's the truth. recommend it and for the price, you can't beat it. It's made of plastic mostly, pump it gently and don't man handle it and it'll last you a while. I've had mine for a few months now, it's like new. My roommate has the pistol version for a few months as well, and because he sometimes likes to pull the trigger without any pellets in it, which you're not suppose to do because it causes pressure to the mechanism and ruins it, well now when he pumps his crosman pistol, the metal screw thing slips out. I told him not to do that, but he insisted that wasn't the reason. Well, mine is like new, and his isn't. Handle all things with care and it'll last. I paid about $30 for this plinker and paired with the crosman destroyer, it makes for a fun afternoon every weekend. Even if I some day have to rebuy it, who cares, it's only $30, and a great buy. It's not a toy, so never aim at anyone, it goes right through strong metal beer bottle, cans, glass, etc. Handle with care and don't be a moron and cause havoc or be a menace to society, otherwise, the city/state can ban the sale of it like they already do in several states.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Crosman Pumpmaster

07/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alright, well i just got this gun today, and when i first opened the box, i started to laugh. The pumping handle is plastic, but the barrel is full metal. So i went to go shoot this gun in my backyard. First i tested it with BBs (Crosman zinc-plated 4.5mm[.177]CAL). I pumped it to the most it could pump. It shot so hard that i knocked a 20 lbs. peice of wood over. I was surprised of the power this gun had. I shot about 20 BBs, and moved to pellets. This gun comes with a pellet clip, that holds 5 pellets. I loaded it up with crosman .117 CAL pellets, and pumped to the most it can go, and it went through the peice of wood (4 inch deep). Plus i was shooting at wood that houses are built from. This gun is good for SMALL pest control. So don't think you can kill a rabbit in one hit. This is more ideal for small pests.
Pros:
Lightweight
Very Accurate
Can control SMALL pests, like pigeons. Possibaly a squirl.
Good for backyard hunting
Good for the price
Acctualy Shoots 650 FPS.
Cons:
Need a little muscle to pump 10 times, for maximum velocity.
Half of it is cheap plastic, but it still stays in tact
Can't kill rabbits and larger things.
___________________________
Overall this is a good gun for someone who wants to shoot cans and pigeons/squirles in their backyard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+298points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Never worked once!

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First pellet jammed. Then it would not build up pressure anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

great for keeping pests at bay.

11/30/2011
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this same gun a few years ago and it has worked perfect.
Bought another for my son and for the price you cant go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Awesome rifle for all ages

10/05/2011
By ,
Waukesha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first i thought this thing was going to be a cheap hunk of junk but i loaded up some copperhead BB's and i was hitting the tops off of bottles from 150 ft out every shot. This thing is dead on accurate and surprisingly powerful. my first kill was a sparrow from 200 ft out, one shot no suffering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle
09/27/2011
By ,
Bristol, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this item earlier this morning and it works great. I am teaching my 6 year old granddaughter gun safety and to shoot and this is perfect for her. While it is somewhat hard for someone her age to pump it is great for learning her the basics. I am sure we will have many hours of enjoyment shooting this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle
03/28/2012
By ,
Haile,louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great beginner gun for son or daughter very accurate very light weight you can put a scope on it if you want to my son{10} shoots open sights now and is pretty consistent we are shooting the lead free pellets in it little pricey but less wear on the barrel and the lead free are much lighter than the lead ones. every household needs a 760 pump been around for years and still holds up to the crossman name
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Very good for the price.

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a very good gun, very accurate. It tore though a pop can at 50 feet! hard to pump but you get use to it. easy to load, the pumper gets a little wobble after couple hundred shots but you can buy so oil for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SAN DIEGO, CA
I'M NOT SURE ABOUT THE DIFFERENCE IN 760s YET!!!
Posted 12/08/2011
DEAR UNKNOWN,
I USED TO HAVE A 760 POWERMASTER IN THE EARLY 1970s, THIS NEWER 760 PUMPMASTER SEEMS TO HAVE A HIGHER QUALITY PISTON TO PUMP CYLINDER PRECISION FIT; ALTHOUGH THE STOCK SEEMS LESS SOLID AND LIGHTER WEIGHT!!!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Modern version of the old time 760.

01/01/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This current model of the 760 is just a modern version that has been created at a lower cost. Regardless, it is still as accurate as the style and model that I grew up with but purchased for my sons. Yes I went thru the Christmas Story routines in my mind of the old movie where everyone said the kid was going to "put his eye out". But truthfully with the right training and supervision things like that can be avoided. This is a good solid item that can foster maturity and companionship.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

good rifle

12/26/2012
By ,
silvis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(INFORMER)for the price u cant beat it
shoots .177 pellets and bb's
when pumping DO NOT hold the butt stock,,firmly grasp over the reciver and pump
decently accurate out to 50 yards any more will require a sighted in scope(youll hit your mark) but it wont be very effective damage wise
comes with a pellet clip that holds 5 so don't lose it or its pretty hard to load em in by hand
iron sights stay true and it has an adjustable notch for elevation and windage though i doubt anyone besides a military sniper would know how to use that precisely
optional weekly-bi weekly oiling to keep it in pristine condition and a coat of rust block is suggested for all metal pieces
easy trigger with a cross trigger safety
do not expose to high heat or the loading mechanisms magnet will not collect the projectile and load it
do not leave pumped longer than an hour or two or it will lose effectiveness
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

A great deal for a begginer!!

12/27/2011
By ,
waterville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So last night I bough this gun (need to be 18 or older to buy) and today I was shooting cans and I pumped it ten times and as usual the gun put the can onto the ground and then I pumped it 20 times and it was really, really hard to do and I shot a piece of log and it did alot of damage to it. And this gun is also good for pest control like shooting rabbits, squirles, and rats. Even birds!! But be careful becasue this gun is very dangerous and can hurt your or friends. Dont be stupid and point it at people and please wear safty glasses. Dont keep the gunn pumped over then one day. Thanks for reading, bye!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

great gun

07/05/2012
By ,
nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its am amazing gun used this model since i was a kid. i just got this gun and was amazed at the accuracy and power of this this gun. Though i dont like the plastic parts of this gun. I would like to have this gun in wood and plastic. I am a big air rifle collecter. I only have crossman rifles. Some of them are really expensive and i have to say this gun is better than alot of my $200 rifles
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

A great value!

08/17/2013
By ,
Sandy Springs GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this pellet gun for 6 months and it has been excellent so far. I bought it specifically to get rid of chipmunks on my property and it is just right for this purpose. The sights are very accurate, and it has enough power (10 pumps) to make a clean kill. Bought the Crosman Destroyer pellets to go with it, cheap and effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Shoots very nicely, a bit hard to pump

09/12/2011
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've never used one of these before, and I found it very easy to use and it shoots very accurately -- and with good power! Closing the pump is a little hard for me, but I'm hoping that it just needs to be broken in. That or I'm just weak, ha ha.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Little Rock, Ar
IT WILL BREAK IN
Posted 03/24/2012
The pumping will get easier as it breaks in. Good accurate little rifle. And 30 bucks!!! Unbeatable for the money.
0points
Customer Avatar
Little Rock, Ar
Crosman 760 replaced my Daisy.
Posted 02/24/2012
I purchased my son a Daisy 35 Mossy Oak camo version rifle and it was "inaccurate" and shot all over the place so I returned it. I got him the Crossman 760 and it shot a little left nothing tweaking the rear site could not fix and then I put a rimfire scope on it. Shoots nice tite groups consistently; I am very pleased with the rifle. Not to mention it was assembled in the USA!
0points
Customer Avatar
Owasso,OK
It Doesnt get better
Posted 10/10/2011
the difficulty never gets easier to pump, you can only get better at it. It should get easier as you go, but that's your body developing muscle memories so that it will know what to do. As for rabbits, i don't know if you can buy them at walmart or if you have to go somewhere else, but there are pellets that are lead with a small steel cone in the front. Using those, I've been able to take down rabbits in one shot time and time again. Otherwise, this is a friggin great gun.
0points
Customer Avatar
Tucson Az
Good for kids
Posted 09/16/2011
Got this as my first BB gun when I turned 7. Iam 26 now and it still works great. Very light. Feels cheap. but has never let me down. also is dead on when shooting. Great for a kid or someone who wants to get rid of rats or annoying birds. Takes 5 or so body shots to take a rabbit down with it. so wouldnt buy it if your going to shot rabbits
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 19 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Bought this for my Granddaughter

01/01/2012
By ,
Piqua, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this air rifle for my 10 year old granddaughter as a gift, and she really loves it. I believe crossman is the best to buy if you are in the market for air rifles. I own sveral crossmanair rifles and pistols myself, wouldn't buy anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster .177 Caliber Air Rifle

Crossman 760

12/06/2012
By ,
Rio Rnacho, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little airgun has been a steady for over 30+ years; I had one when I was 12 and I am 43 yrs old. This one I bought for my 11 year old. The new version is all black instead of the wood colored pump handle and it has more ergonomic shape than the orginal. It also has a new fiber optic site that is extremely easy to see. I would have to rank it even higher than orginal design by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next