Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

The Crosman Nitro Venom NP . 22 Air Rifle with Scope will be a valuable weapon for hunters. Powered by Nitro Piston technology, the . 22 Caliber Air Rifle provides you with a quieter shot with greater velocity and energy consistency. It features a hardwood stock with fluted muzzle break, and sculpted rubber coil pads. The rifle can achieve a maximum velocity of 950 fps with high velocity pellets. The operation of the Crosman air rifle produces less noise and with reduced recoil. The Crosman nitro piston air rifle is equipped with a 3-9x32mm CenterPoint precision scope with an adjustable objective and Mil-Dot reticle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%23 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Several Great Features, But NO Accuracy

07/11/2013
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've tried 2 of these guns, and both had very poor accuracy.
The VERY POOR accuracy of this gun is likely a design flaw with the way the barrel has to PERFECTLY lock back into alignment with the scope after each break.
100 Round Break-In Period == “it will get better’.
You will read a lot about a “100 round break-in period”.
I did NOT gain improved accuracy after getting past that “100 round break-in period”. And not after 250 rounds either. If your movement is nil, then it should hit where it is sited. The number of rounds needed to set the scope should be all the “break-in” needed to see some usable accuracy.
Long Trigger Pull == “I wish I could shoot like the pros”.
You will read a lot about a “long trigger pull”.
The “pros” suggest this gun’s trigger is a big problem. If you are used to shooting several other guns, all with short trigger pulls, then a long trigger pull may be an issue for you; Otherwise you will easily get used to this gun’s trigger.
Several Great Features do not make up for NO Accuracy.
Wal-Mart has a great return policy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Break-in
Posted 09/17/2014
ALL break-barrel air rifles require a 'break-in' period. Use of the artillery hold is crucial for accuracy with break-barrel air rifles.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washington
Posted 09/15/2013
did you try a different scope? the one that it comes with is very low quality. if the scope reticle is wandering, the gun may be shooting straight, but you are in fact, aiming in different places...
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Great Pelet Rifle for the money

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a very experienced shooter have shot meany types of weapons military and civilian that said I needed something to clean the vermin out of my yard and boy does it do the job. You need to clean well before shooting then shoot into ground a 100 times then mount scope bore site and site in, I have shot mine over two thousand times and it still shoots quarter size groups at 30 yards. Be sure to add one drop of chamber oil after every 250 to 300 shots make sure to get the right oil got mine on amazon Walmart does not carry it. Hope this was helpful ,it's just a bit of a process to get the gun to shoot dead on every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Inaccurate out of the box but it gets better!

09/19/2013
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I could not buy consistent shot patterns from this rifle. After 300 pellets through the gun it seems to have settled and I have to admit: This rifle is accurate and consistent. I live in North Texas and have 4 pecan trees on my property and for years squirrels have had their run of our trees. With this rifle in 22 caliber the power is tremendous. Because it is an air rifle we can shoot it in our yard and that alone makes for hours of family fun. Con: The rifle is heavy, a smaller shooter may have a hard time negotiating high tree shots with no support at the rifle barrel. I have had to tighten the scope mount screws every fourth time I use the rifle (and I use it almost everyday). My daughter is 14 and she can load the rifle with a little effort. The rifle is quiet and looks great, if you are looking for an effective rodent or squirreling rifle, this rifle will not disappoint. I would highly recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy.

05/29/2013
By ,
29745
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first purchased the natural wood version of this gun, then the Dusk version.
This gun is very quiet & powerful with several features I loved.
I really (REALLY) wanted to get it working right and NOT go through the return process; BUT this gun has SERIOUS design flaws.
Flimsy retail box is the shipping box.
On first gun, box had been opened and was still open when picked up at store.
On second gun, box had been popped opened on one end and stock was scuffed up during the shipping process.
End was taped shut when I picked up from store.
Same Problems With BOTH Guns:
Very inconsistent grouping at 42 FEET.
Would get 1 or 2 shots at same hit point, then next shot off by 3 to 6 inches – YES at 42 FEET..
This is with sandbagging and very consistent cocking motion, eye ‘ head position, and trigger pull.
Over 200 rounds of Crosman pellets as required in instructions.
Largest hit point differences were with temperature change, but that wasn’t the only issue
First followed all instructions carefully and scope was fastened down tight from the start.
Scope sometimes needs several clicks -- 3, then 3 more, then 3 more -- to get the hit point to move at all.
Was very gentle with gun and careful not to bump scope.
Would get hit point close one day, and then a couple days later would be way off.
Gun is junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
29745
Great Features, But NO ACCURACY
Posted 06/23/2013
Great Features, But NO ACCURACY
This gun could have a hundred awesome features; but without reliable accuracy it is just a piece of junk.
This gun was a long exercise in following all the “helpful” suggestions and getting nothing but an exercise in frustration.
Crosman does not have a reliable design or manufacturing process for their Break Barrels.
Don’t waste your time on these Crosman Break Barrels.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Great gun for safe backyard shooting

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this model to enjoy some afternoon target shooting in the backyard. Requires safe area in the backyard based on power of the rifle but safe enough for fun target shooting any time with sufficient target backing. Have not reached the 400 to 500 rounds for improved accuracy based on gun manual but was aware it was not very accurate prior to purchase. I really enjoy the weight and feel of the gun and look forward to using it for years to come. If you're looking for something to just give you the feel of a nice rifle this is your gun but not immediately (at least not out of the box) for those seeking accuracy for small rodent problems. Based on gun performance I feel the accuracy will improve with additional rounds fired and finding the right pellet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Excellent Value

09/17/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Crosman Nitro Venom in .22cal is a great pellet rifle. Easy to operate and maintain. Highly accurate out to 50yds+. The trigger adjusted very well. Replaced the optics with a Leapers True Hunter AO MD IR scope. This rifle produces over 15 fpe at the muzzle, with 14.3 grain Crosman Premiere Hollow Point ammunition, which is more than enough to dispatch rabbits, squirrels, crows and groundhogs (woodchucks).
Whether you want a rifle for target shooting, plinking or small game hunting, the Nitro Venom will stand up admirably to the task.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Great buy for the price range

01/19/2012
By ,
Orlando, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first air rifle in many years. I really didn't know what to expect regarding the quality but am pleased with this air rifle in all regards. The stock is well designed and has the feel of a much more expensive firearm. Although the accuracy is good I believe Crosman should have spent more time designing the trigger. The trigger pull is very long which has a negative effect on the accuracy. At thirty yards groups averaging one inch is very doable. A better trigger should reduce this by one-half.
I have found all pellets are not created equal. Try several different brands/weights to find what your rifle shoots best.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MI
Trigger Solution
Posted 05/11/2012
Go on the internet and get a GRT-III trigger for $32 and you'll be shooting dime sized groups at the same yardage. At 20 yards with no wind I can put 2 or 3 in the same hole about 50% of the time, it makes any of the Crossman Nitro's tack drivers and takes less than 30 minutes!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

accurate gun

02/05/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weaver rail attached to top of receiver was soldered on a little crooked, couldn't get on target with scope windage adjustment turret.. Simple matter to shim scope bases using several layers of aluminum foil, then everything was good. First try at grouping put 3 shots through same hole at 15' , I was impressed ! Read several posts about bad trigger but found mine to be smooth as silk, long pull yes, but as with any double action pistol with trigger the same, it just takes some getting used to... Artillery hold is a must. Scope parallax came adjusted nicely for the ranges typically encountered . 22 caliber packs a punch, i would not hesitate to use it for squirrels rabbits etc... Lot of gun for the money !!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Nice gun!

01/04/2014
By ,
Rockwall, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be honest, my first impression of the finish on the wood was not good. I feel it looks like plastic. I asked a friend their opinion of the finish and they said the same thing. It would be easy to re-finish the wood stock, but I will see if the finish wears a bit with normal handling of the gun.
The gun itself it great, shoots straight and it is pretty quiet (as far as air rifles go). I had no problems zeroing in the scope either.
The Centerpoint scope is nice, but it is only 32mm. If just plinking and shooting during daylight, it will be great. I plan on doing some low-light hunting so I am adding a better scope (56mm).
Overall - great gun at a great price. Can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

01/16/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've put about 600 pellets through this rifle over the last 3 months and have gotten the scope sighted in good enough that I can hit a 15 oz. fruit can (4 3/8" x 3" ) at 75 yards. today I hit 18 out of 24 shots ( 75% ), through and through. I'm an inexperienced shooter so many of you may do much better.
I can not say exactly what the Foot Pounds of Energy is but at 35 yards it will put a hole clean through 1/2 " plywood. This is not a toy.
My first Crosman Nitro Venom was .177 Cal and I left it loaded for 10 days and it ruined a seal or something. Don't do as I did. What I do now is crack the barrel just enough to get a pellet in but not pulling the barrel all the way down. Close the barrel and it is ready to go if I need it quickly.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

NOT Accurate at all.

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put 3 different scopes (top quality for pellet rifles) and had to re-zero the sights after several rounds. The scope it came with won't adjust high enough to hit dead center. And why too hard to pump gun to fire. Heavy & very loud too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Great rifle!

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rifle is accurate and powerful enough to hunt with. Also it is fairly quiet, so it won't alert neighbors if you do some backyard target shooting. I practice without the scope. It is a good fit for a large man's body, but I find it a bit heavy to carry around for more than a few minutes. I am really enjoying my Crosman Nitro Venom rifle. Jack Rabbits...Beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

very accurate bb rifle

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with the accuracy of this rifle. The scope is very easy to get used to and all you have to do is put the crosshairs on the target and you've got it. I have been using it to get rid of some pesky and destructive "critters" on my property and I've hit three out of three so far.
The only surprising thing about the rifle is the weight. It takes a little bit of getting used to. But once that obstacle has been overcome, the rifle performed wonderfully. My wife wanted to try it, but it was much too heavy for her. Definitely not a rifle for small women or young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Great bang for the buck

10/25/2012
By ,
Wellington, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air rifle in worth every penny. The quality seems to be good and the nitro-piston is effective and quiet. The scope is not too shabby either. For less than 200 bucks this was exactly what I was looking for. I will say it is not as accurate as I had hoped, but for my needs it works well. If you are looking to hunt small game at close range or plink in the backyard this rifle will suit you well, but if you are looking for one inch groups beyond 25 yards maybe spend a little more and look for something else. Just a note, I received this item in 3 days with standard shipping. Cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Exceeds expectations. Not for kids.

02/06/2013
By ,
SE WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great varmint gun. Quiet, reliable, accurate and powerful. Just barely a step below a firearm, and takes some effort to arm it. Not for children. Much quieter than my spring-powered .177, which sometimes goes supersonic and cracks loudly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Excellent air rifle for the money

09/24/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for pest control and also some safe backyard target practice. So far, I've only been using it for target shooting. The directions for mounting the scope (especially where to position it on the rail) weren't that clear, but it wasn't too difficult to figure out. Did feel foolish that it took me as long as it did to figure out the scope vertical/horizontal adjustments...that the knurled caps are just that, caps, and you have to remove them to make the actual adjustments. I'm new to shooting, but after shooting somewhere around 100 pellets, I've got my aiming down where it's hitting pretty consistently on the target card (about 5 inches square) from roughly 20 yards away. I really want to get down to the half-dollar center circle. I'm confident the gun can do it, I just need better breath and aim control. They aren't kidding that this isn't a 'toy'; my first shots from around 10 yards were missing the target (before I got the scope figured out) and several of the pellets were punching right through the 1/4 inch plywood backstop I had the target mounted on. The only disappointment about this gun is the very long trigger pull others have complained about. Seems you pull and pull and pull, while holding your breath, then end up having to breath again before holding and finishing the pull. Would like to look into an after market replacement for the trigger, but for now it does the job fine. Gun is very quiet...as long as you have a pellet loaded...I "dry" fired it once and it was loud...sounded like a regular .22 firearm going off. I'm definitely glad I bought this gun, and I'm looking forward to using it a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Do not dry-fire it!
Posted 05/07/2013
Dry-firing a spring powered airgun will damage it. Use a pump-up gun and dry-fire without pumping it at all. I have a Crossman 2100 (bought at Walmart) that I use for dry-fire practice, and when done with dry-firing, leave the gun with just one pump of air in it for storage. I read all this at Pyramyd Air website. P.S., I love my Crosman 2100 in .177, but will get this gun, too. I guess I'm just a 69 year old kid at heart.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Hard hitting gun

05/14/2012
By ,
Cape Coral Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a hard hitting gun. What I like the wever scope mount is good, so is the scope. The trigger is horrible, the gun is very heavy. If you can get around the trigger. and the weight, this would be a fun gun.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
aftermarket trigger
Posted 05/24/2012
There is a great aftermarket trigger available from CharlieDATuna for about $30. Well worth the investment IMO. I put one in my Crosman Titan and it makes all the difference in the world. http://charliedatuna.com/GRT-III%20Trigger%20New.htm
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope

Good rifle, bad scope

08/26/2013
By ,
Rockford, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was attempting to sight this in and was getting patterns that didn't even match up with how I adjusted the supplied scope. I just didn't believe this quality rifle could shoot so poorly.
I removed the supplied scope and threw it away. I put on a basic Tasco rifle scope and had the rifle sighted in and shooting great within the hour.
Very pleased now. This is a powerful air gun. It is not an easy rifle to pump but I did not figure it would be.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockford, IL
Update
Posted 09/04/2013
This gun hates Crosman pellets. Accuracy is terrible with them. Works great with Gamo and other premium pellets.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope
04/11/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just started to sight this rifle in. About 100 rounds through it. Seems to be steadying out at this point. I think realistic range will be 50 yds, considering necessity to make head shots. I am hopeful that progress continues. So far the rifle seems to fit the bill and I have been pleasantly surprised by the furniture and feel.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope
03/27/2013
By ,
Odessa, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to operate, scope was easy to install. Was on target with first shot. After 10 shots of sighting it in. I had a 3 shot group of 3/4 inch. It is quieter than my winchester 1000 177 cal.
Very satisfied with value and quality of the rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next