Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

The all-new Nitro Piston Technology is the force behind the Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope. With a pellet velocity of about 1200 fps, this air rifle delivers accurate shots. The Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle features a hardwood stock with checkering, fluted muzzle break, sculpted rubber coil pads and a quick-lock optic mounting system. The Crosman Nitro Air Rifle uses nitrogen as the power source rather than the steel spring. This provides a quieter shot, greater velocity and energy consistency with reduced recoil. This rifle features an ambidextrous stock, thereby making it ideal for use by both left handed and right handed shooters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%22 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

To WalMart: please ship this with padding.

08/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a first-time air rifle owner, shot lots of air and BB, airsoft, paintball before. This gun came with brown oil all over the gun, I don't know if it leaked out during shipping due to damage, or it was manufactured that way from the factory. The performance is pretty good, but cocking effort tires you out quick! I was sore all over after about a hundred shots.
The manual says 100 shots to break in, it's actually more like 200, and my gun was still dieseling, smoking from the barrel. The scope is great but slips in the rings! I don't know what to do about that.
The largest issue was that WalMart just FedEx's the retail display box--which has ZERO protection for the scope, the most sensitive optical component! Mine came with dents on it, and I returned it after lots of frustrating shooting.
So yes I agree, it can be good if you get a good one, but with the way they are currently packaging it (NOT packaging it), that is unlikely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Crossman intro Venom .177 air rifle W/scope

02/12/2012
By ,
Wayne County, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice looking rifle with a wood stock, metal finish is also very nice looking.
It took me about 400-500 shots before I finally got it on target. Hint: you need to use a good grade pellet. My range is 27 yards and with a good grade pellet and a good rifle rest I can hold about a 2 1/2" pattern. If I could shoot better, it may be even a tighter pattern. The rifle is a bit heavy and for me that's a good thing. The .177 pellets are small and hard to work with in the very cold but I am only using it for target shooting and Starling control.
The 3-9X32 Center-Point Scope has a yellow tinted lens cover that you can leave on to shoot. The range adjustment (3-9) is smooth and clear. The scope is also very nice looking. I like it better then any of the scopes I have on my firearms.
The price including the Center-Point 3-9X32 scope, makes this air rifle a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great Buy

01/13/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gun! It is quite, quick and has serious knock-down power! I had been searching for the right buy for a few weeks and could not find a better deal anywhere @ $129 it's hard to beat! [Hint: If you have problems sighting in the scope put a mark on it to align it with the mounts, so you can see if it moves (this is a common problem with almost every air rifle). If it moves wrap the scope with electrical tape twice, (just under the mounts, not the entire scope) and remount it. That worked very well for me, scope sights in perfectly!!!]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman Venom .177

01/16/2012
By ,
Concord, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't know what some of the other reviewers were thinking. I bought this for my son and I to shoot around with. Awesome pellet rifle. The Centerpoint scope is right on the money. Very easy to sight in. Only thing is if you switch brands of pellets you will have to resight the gun to that pellet. We are currently shooting the Gamo Steel round tip lead pellets. On bench in basement at 19 yds I can consistently put 5 shots into a dime sized dot. That is pretty accurate if you ask me !!! Trigger is a little squirrelly at first but you get used to it. After a couple shots you figure out how it will fire. Wood stock is sweet. Pretty heavy rifle but makes a steadier shot. Smooth easy cocking. Sweet rifle for plinking and small game hunting. Very 1st shot out of box sounded like a .22 going off. After that, it is no louder that a BB gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
06/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly suprised. Nice heavy feel, almost no recoil (thanks to NP) and silent vhen you compare to GAMO Silent cat. Had GAMO for 2 days then returned, to loud and it was clumsy especially stock.
Venom has nice wood stock, and finish, metal triger and........... very accurate. Rifle has really good punch, depend what ammo you use.
Scope is just fine, no need for an upgrade and easy to install, and after just about 500 rounds still holds the mark.
Really very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Best bang for the buck!!!

02/17/2013
By ,
Westerly, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not being a novice to airguns (owning four prior to this purchase), I did my research and wanted the best .22 airgun for the dollar. I settled on the Nitro Venom with the wood stock for stability. The centerpoint scope is more than adequate and very easy to zero, but the recoil of this gun does tend to loosen mount screws after 30 to 50 shots. Carry the allen wrench with you to do some preventive maintenance. Tighten all screws periodically while shooting.
This gun is very accurate (1 1/2 inch grouping at 35 yards from artillery hold standing position).
It is not a gun for a child!!! It packs a powerful punch that will bring down small game & varmints.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the very heavy & long tripper pull.
It is quiet, accurate, packs a punch & a great gun for the $$$!!! Congrats Crosman!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Pretty good if you get a good 1

08/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gun with high hopes. It seemed all over the place when I was trying to sight it in. I shot over 100 rounds to "break it in", but was having a hard time getting any shots on a 2 x 2 inch square at 22 yds. I returned it, not happy. I bought the gun again a week later. Within 25 shots, I was able to hit 5/5 in a 1x1 inch square area, at 22 yds. The trigger is terrible, as all the crosman made rifles are, Benjamin, Remington, etc. It does take getting used too. I will be looking for some rabbits tonight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great rifle

03/28/2012
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice rifle, I’ve got it for target shooting and for pest control: rats and squirrels.
It feels heavy, nice wood and great finishing.
The first 100 shots were really bad but after that the rifle seemed to finally break in and it started to provide good accuracy. These are some tips from my experience that I hope are useful:
- Don’t expect accuracy before 100 shots.
- Use a good wood board as target to tune up the scope and be patient. I found that the rifle can be tuned up to a deadly accuracy. I used a board at 30-40 feet of distance and probably shot 200 pellets before the rifle hit the same spot in the target again and again.
- Insert very firmly each pellet before shooting, use your finger to push it as far as you can. In my experience this is the one thing that truly makes a difference achieving accuracy.
- Try an aerodynamic pellet for maximum precision. I tried several ones but I feel the best is the Crosman Field Hunting .177 Cal, 7.4 Grains, Pointed, 1250ct. The pointed shape seems to break thru the air more efficiently providing a more linear trajectory and therefore delivering higher accuracy. I didn’t like the flat heads.
- Be careful while shooting!! I have seen the pointed pellets going thru a ½ inch wood board. I will easily go thru rat or squirrel and hit anything behind. I have had other rifles (mostly .22) but this one clearly delivers a lot more power.
- Firing the rifle produces a noise similar to the one produced by an air nailer gun, very acceptable.
- The scope is good enough, I don’t feel I need to replace it, but make sure it is firmly secured. I can see up in the trees clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

I returned it

07/03/2011
By ,
Lake Worth FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am former military and have shot a rifle more than a little bit. The trigger pull ranks with the worst I have ever seen. My old Daisy BB gun had a better trigger. The rile scope that came with it would not hold. I could get it zeroed and then after a few shots the pelletes would start hitting paper about 5 to 7 inches from the center. The rifle itself was great, far more powerful than I expected.
I would buy another if they fix the trigger pull and get a decent scope on it. Take the scope off it and charge a little less so I can use that money to buy a decent scope and I might buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Trigger
Posted 07/06/2011
Hey you can replace the trigger from cdt.He makes great triggers and this will be a whole different gun!Very smooth shooter after changing trigger out.Good gun will go to excellant gun!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
09/30/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gun. It exceeded all of my expectations. The gun is very quiet and the scope is accurate, center area of target at 30 yards. Make sure to zero in the scope for your personal use. The gun is great for plinking, target shooting and taking out pests.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great gun

01/15/2012
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gun. Was loud at first but quieter after first few shots. Once scope was sighted in works with accuracy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
01/20/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air rifle is quite accurate in the back yard at 30 yards. Works well with Crosman pellets. Replaced included scope with a Leepers 4 x 32 made a big difference in consistant accuracy. Gun is great looking and appears well built. Five stars to Crosman and Wal Mart on this one ! Too bad it is not made in the USA as I always try to buy American.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Excellent gun

11/04/2013
By ,
lakeland,Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is built solid a little heavy but worth it the scope is adequate but starts to blur at long distance above 6x power but can focus above that at short distances, we were shooting eggs off fence post at 30yrds on 2nd day easy to sight in. Do not oil this gun!!! I know it says to in the manual but that is not correct,just keep it wiped down occasionally and it should last many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Nice air rifle to plink with

02/28/2013
By ,
Clarksville, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first break barrel rifle and I had decided on the Nitro Piston vs spring. Cost was important but not THE major factor. Wood stock for the "feel" of a true rifle. Suprised me on the amount of effort to compress the piston, takes 2 hands for my wife. Have not zeroed in the scope, yet, but seems to be "accurate" by eyeball~10 yards. There is some recoil, a little less than a 22 rifle. The scope is nice, much better than the entry level 880. Fun to shoot in the backyard using old hard drives as targets. The Nitro Venom was protected in shipping (ordered online and shipped to local store) by an outer box that also hid its contents. Walmart was good at confirming the order and having tracking number to build my anticipation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great Airgun

01/15/2014
By ,
Kennewick WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off you have to clean shipping oil off give this gun a good cleaning. Buy a good 177 cleaning kit. Realize the factory says you need to fire 100 rounds to start getting good groupings. I went to 300 cleaning after each 100 rounds. Groups are quarter sized at 10 yards with some in same hole. once in a while I get a flier out of group but I think it could be cheep crossman pellets. Not match grade. Gun is quiet, maybe like a nail gun. Scope is ok for now, remember you can adjust to remove blurr. Remember these things are not toys they will put a pellet through a 1/2 inch piece of plywood.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great Product

04/23/2013
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pellet gun exceded my expectations in every way. Accurate and powerful. If you are reading this review you must be in the market of buying an air rifle. Buy this one, you won't regret it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

OK....but needed the Scope replaced......

10/02/2012
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gun seems good but after about 25 shots I knew I needed to adjust the scope, and when I moved it 4 clicks the crosshairs in the reticle rotated. Contacted Crosman and sent the scope back. Customer Service was excellent on return.......still waiting on the replacement, only been 4 days , but got an e-mail saying I would be kept informed......So....the jury is still out........Nice heavy gun....we'll see.........The rabbits are still running rampant! (winks) Hope the replacement scope gets this gun dialed in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

very good value for the cost

08/06/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accurate, not too noisy, potent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
05/02/2012
By ,
Jacksonville FL..
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very well made airgun.. Powerful, bout 1100ish fps.. Quite. and accurate. (one rugged hole at 22 yrds..Weaver rail pretty solid..Need to replaced the scope and trigger. Should be awesome backyard plinker, paper puncher...Good job Crosman...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

urban friendly rifle!

04/30/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rifles volume is similar to my kids Red Rider. Great for pigeon control in an urban environment. Started to get accurate after a few dozen pellets. Scope and trigger are adequate. The focus on the cheap scope does work. Good value. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next