Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

The Crosman CD1K77NP Air Rifle is powered by Nitro Piston Technology that provides a quieter shot, reduced recoil and greater velocity and energy consistency. The nitro venom dusk air rifle features a hardwood stock with checkering, fluted muzzle break, sculpted rubber coil pads and a quick-lock optic mounting system. It is a .177 caliber air rifle that is equipped with a 3-9x32mm CenterPoint precision scope with an adjustable objective and Mil-Dot reticle. The Crosman Air Gun has an ambidextrous stock, allowing easy practice shooting for anyone. It features a pellet velocity of 1,200 feet per second.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation73%11 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Graet Product

10/03/2012
By ,
Shreveport, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun was more powerful than I thought it would be. Shots holes in 3/8 plywood no problem.
I bought 2. One for me one for my 16 year old son and we love them for plinking cans and such. The scope on these was also better than expected. I have bought 22 scopes from name brand makers that are not as clear as these are. Great gun.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

very nice gun

12/22/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to be a very nice well built gun. It is surprisingly heavy, probably around 8 pounds with the stock scope, but that should help with gun shake. The Nitro gas piston and the silencer on the end of the barrel make it very quiet to shoot. I sighted my scope in at 40' and with a gun rest; not a vice; can shoot 1/2 in. groups. Because of the different flight trajectories of the different types and weights of different pellets, you WILL have to re-sight your scope when you change pellet types. You will also have to shoot from different distances to see how the trajectory affects your shot placement. I have tried several different lead and PBA pellets for general hunting (squirrels etc.) and target practice and have found the GAMO 7.1gr. PBA "Bullet", which is copper colored, to be a very good all around pellet. At 40' the pellet will go completely through a 3/8" sheet of plywood. I would also reccommend purchasing a 'pellet pen' that will hold 20 pellets and make re-loading your gun much easier. This is a serious pellet gun for adults and NOT A TOY for the kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HUDSON VALLEY OF NY
MR
Posted 06/20/2013
DOES CROSMAN VENOM DUSK NP HAVE A SYNTHETIC,OR HARDWOOD STOCK?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
02/02/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After mounting the scope (which is no problem) and checking the alignment, I was able to take one shot into my trap. It struck 1" high center. With the temp., at -2, and 20mph., wind, i look forward to warm weather to take this gun to the range.
Trigger pull is adjustable, but usable as it came. Scope was secured well in the rings, without cant. Bas is well secured, and scope needed no adjustment once mounted. I've mounted hundreds of scopes, working in gun shops and this was a first for me. Optics adjust quick and are clear to the edges. Mil dot explaination was very clear. Cocking was not a problem for me (77yrs) ans feel this would be a great gun for plinking. At the short distance to my trap, the pellet became dust, so be sure to have proper backstop!!!!
If scope creap shows, use a small amount of double faced carpet tape in each ring. This has worked for recoil creap in hard recoiling rifles for me for years. Don't budge at all..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
09/27/2011
By ,
Colubia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - remember the trigger is adjustable (little heavy from the factory). The scope provided is really exceptional - had some problems with scope slippage even though the gun doesn't seem to recoil much. The scope mounting system on the rifle is great it is scope slippage only. My particular product shoots super groups with a variety of commonly available pellets - poor groups with the high velocity stuff. I've ordered heavyweight pellets as my math indicates best groups should be there based on bearing surface and measured against rate of twist on the barrel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Everything I expected and better

12/25/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected a quiet rifle, fair accuracy, and decent power. What I got was a quiet rifle, excellent accuracy, and decent power. I highly recommend this in .22 caliber. Use hollow points for squirrels and hunter round nose pellets for larger varmints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Excellent

12/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only shot about 50 pellets so far, so I can't speak of longevity, but the power, accuracy and feel are all better than expected. This is a heavy, sturdy feeling gun. The scope is nothing special, but it gets the job done. From 10 yards, a pointed pellet penetrates regular building lumber, pine/poplar/fir about 3/8" to the back end of the pellet, so close to 3/4" total penetration. I'm very please with this gun with no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Great buy!

06/26/2012
By ,
Bentonville,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good rifle - may not be for a first pellet rifle - has a little bit of a kick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Good value, and mechanically sound.

03/28/2013
By ,
Cardiff, NJ 08234
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be prepared to shoot at least a 100 rounds through this rifle before it takes a "set", and gives you a Quarter sized shooting pattern. Just start plinking away, and do a "rough" scope set-up 'cause you won't be able to "zero-in" the scope until the rifle is "broke in." After that, it's fun time, and it's great to knock off those pesky critters that make your gardening, and/or other parts of your life a bit uncomfortable. By the way, don't waste your time or money on any pellets except for the "hollow points" or the pointed "Destroyers" (by Crosman), if you're going after mice, rats or any larger type rodents. Enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Crosman .177 nitro piston rifle

04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this rifle. It has the look AND the feel of a full blown rifle with a rifled barrel, piston power, and super accurate scope. The break barrel is a bit difficult to break at first but overall a cool, powerful pellet rifle at an unbeatable price. If you are in the market for a .177 pellet rifle, I highly recommend this model for the price, and power, it is the best value on the market for a piston break barrel rifle.
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

One air rifle for every situation

12/30/2013
By ,
Western NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Previous reviews and product specifications convinced me to buy this rifle and yet did not expect a lot. Suprise, after mounting the scope i have shot about 200 rounds thru this rifle and I am more that pleased with its performance. Pellet quality does enhance the accuracy potential of this rifle and one could certainly spend more and get more, but considering initial cost one would be hard pressed to find a better overall value for plinking and varmit eradication. Considering a higher cost may only get you a little better trigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Inconsistent / inaccurate

05/27/2012
By ,
Kanab, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I spent way more than I thought I should have to, to get what I hoped would be a good "varmint" gun. I've gone through nearly an entire container of pellets trying to zero the thing, and I can't get it to hold better than about 4" at 50 ft. That is ridiculous.
The scope is a 6-9x zoom. At 6x it's pretty crisp, at 9x it's unacceptably soft.
I shoot target with my .308 and hold 1/4" at 100yds. I'm a pretty good shot if the gun is consistent and accurate. This is neither and will be going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Good air rifle for the price

11/04/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend to a friend or anyone looking for a good air rifle and a reasonable price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope

Pellet Gun

03/13/2012
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gun worked for about 100 shots. With each shot it became weaker and then stop shooting. I have been waiting for a week for a RMA from Crosman. I'm giving them one more day then I return for credit. I can only guess how long it will take for them to repair my gun. Thanks Steve
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Abbottstown, PA
Havin problems..
Posted 05/09/2013
At first since you brought the Nitro Venon Rifle and notice problems as you already set complain.. you should just turn back into your local Walmart store.. and then makes New Order and forget any problems or wait for the repair.
Walmart Customer Service works prettyr fast, no waiting and money back right on site!
They have a very friendly Customer Service and a lot of understanding with help untill good solution.
If you have brought Walmart Product and something do not works or just change your minds.. the return back and no any questions will hear or ask..
I do that several times and never ever havin any problems more often the Customers Service coming ahead with nice Curtesy Credit for the next Re-Do Order and you nothing lost at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
08/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
returned product. After 25 shot,s the part where the hing pins are bent on the 25th shot.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5