Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Benjamin Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

The Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle is powered by a Nitro Piston Technology that provides a quieter shot, reduced recoil and greater velocity/energy consistency. This Benjamin Trail air rifle is developed to deliver increased power with exceptional energy levels: They generate 28fpe with pellet velocity up to 1100fps (lead free pellet). The Benjamin Trail NP XL is equipped with a 3-9x40mm CenterPoint precision scope featuring an adjustable objective and Mil-Dot reticle. This nitro piston air rifle has ventilated rubber recoil pads and checkered hardwood stock. The Benjamin Trail air rifle is not adversely affected by temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%37 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Nice rifle but for adults only! Glad I purchased!

01/04/2012
By ,
Kansas, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right from the box, after installing the scope this gun shot groups which could be covered by a quarter at 10 yds. using the Crosman Premier HP 14.3 gr. which is cheaper pellets than others that can be purchased. I moved back to 20 yds. and it shot about 2" high but still held a group which could be covered by a half dollar. I'm anxious to move to 30 yds. and shoot because with the MIL dot scope which comes with the gun a person shoud be able to hit at any yardage, once he shoots the gun enough to know it. From all reviews I read before purchasing, they say the gun actually gets more accurate and quieter after around 200 shots. There is some really good information on youtube about the velocities with the different grain pellets and supposedly which pellets seem to be shooting best from this rifle. I'm anxious to try some 16 grain pellets which some say shoot even better. If you're looking for a good rifle I recommend! Good shooting and be safe!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

This is One Big Heavy Gun

04/07/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned and shot Benjamin Guns for Over 40 yrs. They have Always had a Quality Product.
I purchased this rifle for target shooting in the back yard. I was amazed at how easy the scope went on. It is a Very Fine Scope. I am Old and I found this Gun to be Very Heavy and a little Stressful to pump. However, it shoots Very Well. I'm waiting for my JBS 15.9 grain pellets to arrive to do Final Tweaking of Scope. I spent 8 hrs, designing a target for My Sons 350lb. Crossbow. It caught His Bolt about mid shaft, but still penetrated the back of target. I opened the target to add a few more layers and found out that my pellets were being caught Midway. The target is 2 1/2 ft. X 3 ft. Out of box, with Scope just installed I shot 3 rounds in the distance of a paper plate @100 ft. My Son then took it and fired 3 shots, all inside mine, about 5 inches. I,m waiting for the Heavier Pellets to arrive before I start getting serious. I Know I will be Pleased to Own this and I know one of My Boys will be enjoying it for Many yrs. to come. ITS A BENJAMIN!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Great Air Rifle

04/13/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gun is very accurate and powerful. The Benjamin c0cks smoothly but does require a bit of effort. It's not for kids!! I like the rail mount for the scope. The rail allows the scope to be installed in perfect position. I recommend taking the gun to a gunsmith to have the scope bore sighted. Bore sighting will save you a lot of time The gunsmith will inspect your instillation of the scope and tell you if you have a defective scope. My gunsmith charged me $10 and he re installed my scope so it fit me perfectly.
The trigger does leave something to be desired. I have adjusted the trigger numerous times. I have even had my gunsmith try to adjust the trigger. Neither of us could get the creep out of the trigger.
WalMart does not carry pellet rifle lubricants. Items to care for your pellet gun should be on the shelf. Do not put gun oil or WD-40 in the barrel or cylinder of any pellet gun. The cylinder requires silicone lubricant. Gun oil will ruin the seals in the air cylinder. You can use gun oil on moving parts just not on the cylinder. You can order the proper lubricants from Crosman/Benjamin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

accurate/powerful

05/10/2012
By ,
Antioch, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First one i got has barrel droop, with 2mm shim on rear ring gave the scope about 100 clicks to adjust for elevation. Shoot very accurate with CP Doom 14.3 and pointed Pellet. Returned it with afraid of two much shim may damage the scope. 2nd gun was in normal condition. Shoots very accurate after break-in of about 300 pellet and some cleaning/lubricating of the internal parts and tighten all screws including the pivot screw for the barrel . One hole smaller than dime size at 10 yards on pillow on bench. scope works as expected to dial in and shoot well at 75 yards as well. Rear sling locker screw came off easily, put a washer between the base and the screw to get a quick fix. It is heavy and a little hard to break the barrel but it is very fun with it is previous price at 229 plus tax from walmart. Hope this will help. One hope from Walmart is to carry more choice of pellets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Big and powerful

09/21/2014
By ,
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heavy at almost 9 pounds, takes effort to load. Trigger very heavy with too much travel but trigger mod will easily fix. My barrel bore was very dirty, be sure to clean before using with bore brush. Wood stock is rather short for taller adults but usable. If used for hunting, get a sling. Scope zeroed quickly, no real problems except for heavy trigger and dirty bore, both can easily be corrected. Powerful for it's size and a decent weapon for small-game or targets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Read my review!! The Benjamin NP XL1100 explained.

05/03/2012
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XL1100. Please do not take 250 shots seriously. Just practice with them but do not evaluate your gun until you are up around 250 to 300 shots. If you try to decide if you like the gun in the first 250 shots, you may make a mistake.
First when you mount the scope, you will notice a little bit of play right before it tightens up. Tighten the back of the scope first then the front. When or if you feel the play before you tighten the scope, put pressure downward on the scope. This will make it easier to zero the scope.
As you pass the 250 - 350 shot margin, the cocking will be a A lOT EASIER then it was when it was brand new . It will be a lot more quieter after that margin. There are a couple of rifles that go for around $150 and claim up to 950 fps. You will get 300 fps more and you will thank yourself for spending the extra money for the XL1100.
You may notice that the pull on this trigger is very long and it is really difficult to feel when exactly the gun will fire. This is what the trigger con is. What I do is hold the rifle with a very loose grip. Pull on the trigger and let the rifle do what it wants as it recoils. If you do this, then you will be amazed at the accuracy of this gun!!
I recommend Cosman Premier pellets because if you go in store to Walmart you can get 500 pellets for about $8. They are very good quality at about half the cost of some of the other ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

great air rifle

11/19/2013
By ,
Fremont oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just bolted the scope on and with no adjustment to the scope could hit a small square sign at 120 ' . it was very loud at first but after a 100 or so rounds quieted down nicely. ill site in the scope after a few more rounds.
i read a lot of reviews on a lot of guns and ammo before i bought this gun. so i made sure to give the guns screws a lil tightening. same with the scope. no problems yet after 200+ rounds.
gamo pba .22 penatrated through 3/4 pine where crossman penatrator got stuck.
the crossman penatrator went clean through my lawn mower yard wagon where gamo pba only went through 1 out of 10. crossman ultra mag are the most accurate and hit almost as hard as pba but cant penatrate. pba and penatrators retain shape mostly and magnums shroom to .38 next ill try gamo whisper 10 gr and a 20+ grain diablo.i love this gun so far ..wow lots of power .hard to cocck for the average and heavy but a fair trade for performance. p.s. i like cocking the gun..good exercise. :)
also a little watco rejuvinating oil or linnseed oil makes the stock look great . a lil wax after if u want more shine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle
11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Accurracy! Velocity/Power! Style!
Cons: Weight and trigger pull. But the gun is well balanced and you can attach a sling to the gun so the weight is not too bad. Most air rifles have poor triggers but you will learn to adjust.
This gun is for serious air rifle shooters. This can easily take down a groundhog or rabbit within 60 yards. I love this gun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Nice

11/19/2011
By ,
Central FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this rifle and I'm very impressed. This is definitely not a toy. I dialed in the scope enough to shoot pretty well, but I'll worry about fine adjustments after some break-in time. Still, it was shooting pretty consistent. It's smooth, powerful, and overall works great. The only downside I noticed is that it's a bit of a porker, and fairly heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Great buy!

12/21/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received it a little slow but it was delivered during the holiday season so really no qualms. The rifle is Very powerful and although I have not finished "breaking in" the gun it is spec on target. The scope is nice with a clear view and plenty of adjustment for anybody's eyes. Cocking the gun takes a little getting used to and I feel as I use it the force needed should lessen. This is NOT a child's toy this is a very powerful pellet rifle that will reach a long way out there and do some serous damage. The gun is very well balanced although a little heavy but like I stated this is not a child's toy but a real sport rifle. Should be able to pick off a rabbit at over 75 yards without a problem. Great buy for those looking for a quiet gun for plinking or for a rabbit supper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Excellent service on exchanges and returns

06/07/2013
By ,
princeton, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the all-weather version of this gun, its deadly accurate after its break-in period 500+ rounds (average for break barrels). I've had mine a few weeks now and I love it, awesome power, rigid construction, and the 3-9-40 scope is pretty nice. Trigger needs work but no gun I've ever shot out the box is perfect....(The reason for this review is to commend walmart on its service on exchanges.) My crosshairs in my scope just snapped for no reason yesterday, so I took just the scope back and asked for a replacement... only problem was they no longer carry this model at my local store anymore, but the staff went out of their way and searched the whole department until they found me an Identical replacement. (But I should note they did give me the option of upgrading to a better one if one could not be found at no additional charge to me.) I tip my hat to the staff at my local princeton walmart.....THANKS GUYS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

GREAT RIFLE FOR THE $

05/18/2012
By ,
Erlanger Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this rifle is overall a great value,,its a hard hitter,,plenty of power,,not a toy,,the scope that is supplied with the rifle is very good also,,the only downfall for this rifle is the trigger pull,,which seems to be the case with many air rifles,,its way too long,,doesnt matter how much adjusting you do,,its still long,,bought many types of .22 pellets,, but the best ones ive found to shoot are the crossman pellets,,many will disagree with me on that,,but this rile is a good value,,definetly worth the $
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Patience is key with this rifle

10/21/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rifle. The break in period ( approx 200 pellets) was very frustrating and at times I wanted to give up on it, but man am I glad I didn't. It has settled down nicely and I am now able to get 1/2 groups at 40 yards. I've heard many complaints in regards to the trigger, but I rather like it. It is smooth and predictable. This rifle has serious power. If you get one, treat her right and she will return the favor. Happy hunting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Great rifle for an adult

02/03/2014
By ,
Cloverdale, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The air rifle is very nice and a little heavy but only because it is well constructed. Although not broke in yet, it has already started grouping 2 inches at 20 yards after 20 shots. Like the previous review, watch the vids on how to use, prep and shoot this rifle. Definitely clean the barrel using clean patches only. It has shipping grease in the barrel that needs to be cleaned out. This is a very serious air rifle that should stand the test of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

I'm liking it!

05/03/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have roughly four hundred shots through her and at twenty five yards it is spot on. At fifty yards not bad
for a rookie shooter like me. Hit in a seven inch inch circle with some scattered about.
I had to shim the back of the scope as I ran out of up adjustment.(Barrel droop)
I really liking this gun! So far all is good. Did the Charley Da Tuna trigger mod. I like it but I was getting used to the factory trigger also. Trigger pull is long and firm but there is a adjustment screw that helped with the firmness . Pistol grip cool too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Impressive Air Rifle!

05/22/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my very first pellet rifle and I purchased it solely for the purpose of quitely and efficently ridding my garden of rabbits. At the time of this review I have fired this rifle a total of three times. I unpacked the rifle, bolted on the scope and fired two test shots at a water bottle from about 20 yards. Both shots within 2 inches of the aim point. The third shot dropped a rabbit while he was munching on my sweet potatoe plants.
It's a little louder than I would like but it still is not even broken in and with the correct pellets I can keep it subsonic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Great Gun

12/27/2012
By ,
Louisville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid considerably more for the same gun at Bass Pro Shop. This is the best pellet rifle I have ever owned and I've owned many. I've killed at least 100 tree rats several at over 130 feet. Shoots dead on at 100 feet. Pay a little extra and buy this rifle you won't be disappointed. Before buying this rifle I purchased a Ruger (thought with the Ruger name I couldn't go wrong. I was wrong. The Ruger was piece of junk that I returned and then purchased the Benjamin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Very powerful, quite heavy for a air rifle.

10/22/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressive looks, very heavy until you get use to the weight.
I had problems bore sighting rifle, but I found it better to sight the scope from firing from gun rest at target. I used RWS .22, Benjamin Discovery Hollow Head pellets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

After break-in period becomes a nice air rifle.

05/23/2012
By ,
B-town, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still getting this rifle broke in but starting to become more accurate. This is a fairly heavy gun but while breaking it in you get somewhat use to the weight. The scope takes a bit of adjusting but that is to be expected. Probably my biggest complaint would be the trigger which has a long pull. Definitely not a gun for a child. Hard hitting and fun to shoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston XL 1100 .22-Caliber Air Rifle

Very nice gun!

01/18/2013
By ,
Parkersburg, WV 26101
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun has a lot of power! Will not be very accurate until you shot 100s of rounds threw it, just keeps getting better and better! Will also keep getting quieter the more rounds you shoot threw it! Also your gun will like a certain pellet! Spend the extra money and buy this gun! Take your time and don't worry about the first couple 100 shots and group it's producing, you'll be happy when you can hit a thumb tack at 50 foot! Then a dime at 60 yards. And a bottle cap at 80 yards!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next