Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This Acer laptop PC delivers powerful quad-core performance, effective communication features and rich multimedia for the ultimate desktop replacement. Just open the lid of this Acer laptop PC to reveal the spacious, productivity-boosting 17.3" HD widescreen LED-backlit display bringing the Internet, movies and video games to life. The AMD Phenom II quad-core processor and impressive ATI Radeon HD graphics enable high-end performance and stunning visuals on the most demanding applications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%67 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Worth Getting

08/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an acer for years that I took with me while I was working on the road and never had a single problem with it. It lasted for 4 years and again not a single problem; it still works but I needed a quicker computer to run some different programs that it was not equipped to handle. I saw this in my local Walmart and decided to look into it. I'm glad i did. I am working with a computer software for special effect and needed something that would handle it. Even with a "quick" computer, After Effects takes up so much memory that it takes a while to process everything. After my initial setup of the computer, I installed that program immediately. This laptop is handling it like a champ. Even when I give it multiple operations inside the program, it never slows up. When rendering a video in real time that has thousand of frames per second, it does so flawlessly. This is a great computer and i recommend it to anyone looking for a quality computer for a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 2 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/04/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sales associate recommended this computer. For the money, I don't think you can go wrong. The speakers are not the greatest for volume, buy I purchased a Logitech Laptop external speaker that attaches to the top of the computer. Works great. This computer has a fast processor and booting up time is fantastic. I'm not a gamer, so I can't comment on that although I did load some games for my grandchildren and they had fun. They weren't games that needed a lot of power though. Setting up this computer was a breeze. No problems. It hasn't frozen for me which I'm glad for. I have an acer already that is about 3 or 4 years old. I neaded more memory and space so went for this one. I think Acer has a good product. Also, I'm glad that I am able to talk to techs who speak English and are from the U.S. Don't think you will go wrong with this one! This computer isn't real heavy, and the cover is real nice in that it doesn't show fingerprints, but is still stylish. The keyboard took some getting used to, but I like it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value for the price

08/29/2011
By ,
Dallas Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop was bought as a desktop replacement, This being said I have fond myself using as a, desktop, laptop, and Travel laptop. I have numerous laptops smaller lighter,and easier to carry around the country. The Screen is crisp, The keyboard is well thought out. This is the first scrolling pad that actually worked as it should. Generous ports Easy WiFi connections for the price a roomy hard drive. Windows 7 is a great OS for this machine. The Dual layer DVD is a surprising addition on a laptop under $500.00 the HDMI port works well on my Samsung 42 inch TV. I watched laptop deals for about a year and feel my due diligence was well worth the time as I now have a machine that will meet my needs for the next 3 years if not longer and at that time I will donate to a school that does not have the resources to buy equipment if at that time it is better tech than they have.
do your self a huge favor really compare performance for price. ACER Has done a great job for a bargain piece of equipment. I am going to by a second for my Girlfriend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been hesitant on Acer for a past few years. But they have really pulled their products together. I bought this computer because it was a great deal and a huge setup from a netbook.
The 17.3" LED display is crystal clear.
The AMD quad core processor is fast and there is little to no wait when switching between programs.
Much thinner than expected which is awesome!
Haven't test out the graphics yet.
The other reviews about the mouse pad not being centered are not to be taken with high consideration. The mouse pad is centered over the keyboard portion of the laptop, like with most laptops, but since this laptop has a number pad, the mouse pad is not centered across all the keys, hence not seeming centered.
The only con I have is the battery life:
I would say that the battery life is approximately 3 hours or so but I'm always by my charger so it doesn't even matter!
A note:
Acer laptops make a system beep noise when the charger is plugged in and unplugged.
This was annoying to me and to disable this do the following:
Open up the Control Panel.
Click Hardware and Sound.
Click Sound.
In the popup window, under the playback tab, right click on speakers and select properties.
Click the levels tab in the new popup window.
Press the Speaker Icon on the right on PC Beep, to mute the "battery beep".
Press okay and okay and your good to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+190points
Review 5 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Exceptional Value for a "Power User"

07/30/2011
By ,
Greater Las Vegas, NV Metro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me preface my review by stating that I am a retired computer programmer, so I know a thing or two about computers.
I live full time in an RV, so my space is limited and owning a desktop computer is out of the question. I am a "power user", often working on the computer with several programs running simultaneously, upwards of 12 hours a day, so I was looking for a notebook computer that I would be using like most people use a desktop computer. After much research, I narrowed my choices down to this Acer model and a Dell model priced exactly the same -- $498. I went over all of the specs for both computers with a technician I know at a local computer repair shop. He and I matched up all the specs with my intended heavy use of a computer. At the end of our half hour-long discussion, the technician unequivocally recommended that I buy the Acer. So I did.
I am *thrilled* with this machine. It is fast, sturdy, and the keyboard is not mushy like the keyboard on my old Toshiba Satellite that I replaced. I love the extra 1.7 inches of big, bright, beautiful display that this Acer offers over the Dell. There is nothing about this machine that I don't like. For $498, you get a quad core processor, 4 GB of RAM, a nice, big 500-GB hard disk, and a larger display. My budget for a new computer was $500 or less, so this machine fit the bill perfectly.
For the computer technician I spoke with, the important advantages that this Acer offered over the Dell were:
* AMD quad core processor vs. Intel i3. For a heavy user such as I, the AMD runs a lot cooler than the Intel.
* The separate numeric keypad to the right of the standard keyboard.
* The 17.3-inch display vs. a 15.6-inch display.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+259points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sault MI
I agree
Posted 09/04/2011
I work in a computer repair shop, as a repair tech and the owner and I went over the plus and minuses of this laptop. I was also interested in the Dell i3 for the same price and chose this one over it. No complaints so far. Not to mention my local Walmart allowed me to pay online and pick it up that same day. Tough to beat.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Bang 4 Buck$!!

08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is a great deal for under $500!
Unfortunately at Walmart, with regard to their instore setup/display you cant see detailed specs of a laptop, so i will list here a few that may be of intrest before you buy. A side note before buying a laptop is that a desktop PC will most always outperform any laptop in the same pricerange. With that said, for the price, this quad core laptop is a steal.
This Acer Laptop has an ATI mobility radeon hd 4250 with 256MB dedicated video memory.
The Laptops Overall Windows Experience Index is listed at 4.1 out of 7.9
(Windows Experience Index will always use the lowest score as its base score, as seen below)
Calculations per second is 6.9
(RAM)Memory Operations per second is 5.9
Desktop Performance for Windows Aero 4.1
3D Business and Gaming Graphics Performance is 5.3
Disk Data Transfer rate 5.8
This Acer Aspire will not run high end games like Brink/Crisis2 well, or run games with all settings on high. However, it should push WoW and many other midlevel games just fine. It runs Mount & Blade Warband well, with most settings on high (with reduced maxed framerate to 80).
If you like to keep a lean running PC then you'll have to remove some bloatware. Although there is a free trial of McAfee preloaded onto the laptop i would suggest using kaspersky for your PC's VD's. Kaspersky is much less draw on any Pc's resources.
Hope this helps, and grats to anyone smart enough to get this steal of a deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 7 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Quad-Core and 17.3" Display

07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a quad-core processor, 17.3" LED LCD display, 500 GB hard drive, and 4 GB of DDR3 RAM, this laptop really is great for college students like me who are majoring in Information Technology (IT). Keyboard feels great (I am typing on it now!) and the touch pad feels good. Video card is good. I was also surprised at the thinness of this laptop. HDMI port is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 8 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very Impressed

07/27/2011
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this laptop delivered today and love it. It is huge! Wonderful bright screen. Easy to type on keyboard and touchpad is very responsive. I don't find myself hitting keys I didn't mean to hit, which is not something I find in newer laptops.
For under $500 it seems like a steal! It performs very fast and starts up quickly. I haven't done any crazy, extensive computing with it yet, but I have no complaints for the typical computer activities I have done tonight. I would buy another one again if I needed one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 9 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
07/05/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for a quad core laptop. Very impressed with the performance and overall design. Not bothered at all regarding most of the cons that have been expressed in the above comments. I have not experienced the situation regarding left clicking on the mouse pad. I do agree that centering of the mouse pad would have been better, but find that to be a very minor issue. In my opinion, very nice and great value for $500.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 10 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A great find!

08/31/2011
By ,
Oak Creek, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a laptop!
As a 76 year old senior citizen who owns/has owned 9 computers starting with a Timex and then a Commodore 64, I find this Acer to be a beauty. It has more power and capability than all of my previous computers except my Mac Pro which cost over four times as much. The Acer was purchased to replace an eight year old Toshiba that is far out of date and to give me a modern Windows 7 computer. After considering many others, this Acer's capabilities and value exceeded that of all the others I'd reviewed costing under $1,000.
If you want a great computer at a bargain price, this is the one.
The only negative is the touchpad located off center. However, most other 17.3" laptops are being designed the same way so I'll have to accommodate this one "flaw" in an otherwise fantastic machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Amazing

08/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is a great deal. $500 for a quad core processor and 4 gigs of ddr3 memory, awesome. The whole mouse issue, not really a problem, yeah its a little off centered from the laptop itself, but if it's that big of an issue, they have a wireless mouse in store for $15, get one, problem solved. The keypad is amazing, contrary to what some prior reviews have stated. I love it. The keys are easy to press and the laptop is comfortable to rest your hands on for typing. I bought this laptop for school, and it meets all of my expectations, and more. Couldn't have asked for a better buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
09/23/2011
By ,
Prairieville, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this computer for about a month now. Over all I love it, I really like the large screen, the colors are bright and clear, I like the numeric keypad. Set up was simple, even removing the unwanted trial programs. I find the touch pad very sensitive and I have not been able to find a way to change the settings. In xp you could change the sensitivity in the control panel. I solved that problem by attaching a mouse. One big problem is the operating system (windows 7 64-bit). 64-bit is ahead of its time meaning some programs and hardware are not compatable with 64-bit they are windows 7 32-bit. Just because it says it is compatable with windows 7 does not mean it will work with this laptop. I can not use my printer because it is not compatable. Looked at a new kodak printer went to the support page it says it is not compatable with 64-bit. Things are going 64 bit slowly but they are getting there. I am still able to do most anything I want to do so I do recommend this laptop. It is a great value, has a very good processor, HDMI hook-up. If you are looking for a good laptop I would not hesitate to pick this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/16/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is not bad at all. Granted, it has a fair bit of bloatware - expected. Spent 30 min getting rid of unwanted software and 2.5 hours performing Windows updates. The BIOS on the laptop was 1.15. There is a BIOS update to 1.18 on the Acer website. I couldn't find any notes with the new BIOS on what it fixed. I downloaded and installed 1.18 BIOS and there were no issues. Also had to update the ATI Catalyst for new graphics driver. Overall, the updates were pretty painless.
The overall Windows Experience Index score is 4.1; the graphics on Aero being the lowest score. The processor got a 6.9!! Everything else scored is in the mid 5's. So, the bottleneck in speed is definitely in the graphics but, so far, not a deal breaker. This is not a gaming rig...unless you play Wizard 101 or something. Any game with high polygon count is probably going to hit a wall. You may be able to play WoW with pretty decent fps (25-30) at medium settings.
The display is big and bright - lot's of pixel real estate. Keyboard is a little different from what I am used to but, it's not terrible. Hooked this up to my 42" inch Visio using the HDMI port at 1080p. This laptop didn't even break a sweat. In fact, it ran cool and quiet. Good range for wifi networking. I ordered 8GB of 1066 PC8500 laptop memory from the egg for $45. This should help a little since the graphics are 256K-dedicated [w/1919K Hypermemory (uses physical memory for graphics - when needed)]. The BIOS default setting for video graphics is 256K. That's the highest it goes. Sound is pretty decent. The 1.3 megapix integrated webcam looks okay in Skype. Overall, I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Posted 08/25/2011
I wanted to come back and let everyone know that the upgrade in ram to 8GB was a fair call. I purchased the Mushkin Enhanced Essentials 8GB [4GBx2] PC3-8500 (Model # 996644). No issues at all with this RAM. Video is silky smooth for movies and games. Heck, my desktop PC with a dedicated graphics card isn't as smooth as this laptop. Granted, the desktop is 5 years older but, it also scores a 4.2 on the Windows Experience Index. This laptop PC scored a 4.1 so, one would think the desktop might be just a tad better but, the difference couldn't be more night and day. My crumby old desktop ran WoW at 40-55 fps during 25-40 man raids. I'm going to step out on a limb here and say this laptop should run WoW as good, if not better than that. This laptop really impresses me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Does what I asked it to so far.

09/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had no major issues with this computer. I don't have a problem typing on the keyboard and I don't have a problem with the touchpad. (Some of the reviewers had issues with these items.) So far my biggest complaint does have to do with the touchpad (but it might just be a setting that I haven't found yet). I sometimes run out of room on the touchpad to drag an item to where I want it. On another notebook that I have when I reach the end of the touchpad I just hold my finger there and the mouse cursor continues to move until I reach the place I want. On this computer it just stops and I have to start all over again. The sound from the speakers is not great, but it is fine for a notebook. I does have a headset jack (which I haven't tried yet).
So far I am pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

works well with linux out of the box

08/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop because of the quadcore and as a linux user i was pleasantly surprised that when i installed Fedora 15 that everything but the wireless was supported out of the box. jumping on a wired internet connection and a quick update solved all issues with this box. The open source ATI drivers support the video card for 3D out of the box and gnome-shell works .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 16 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

08/07/2011
By ,
Elizabeth City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Acer 7551-7422 for a month. It has met all my expectations. The AMD Phenom processor is fast. There is no hesitition when I change programs or surfing the web. The new Windows Internet Explorer has taken some time to get used to and I miss Outlook Express but that is Microsoft and not Acer. This computer is a great value. I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I am a senior, but this laptop is just what I need

08/13/2011
By ,
Foster, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a senior, I am thrilled with this laptop!!! Has all that I need at the tender age of 81 years young.!!! It is not loaded with a lot of "stuff" that I would never use.. Price was great, and only 1/2 the price of a previous laptop...Hooray for Acer...Keep up the good work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
09/22/2011
By ,
Elkins, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on line to replace a 9inch mini netbook - I knew I wanted something with a lot of memory and speed, and a large screen. After reading the reviews for this product I felt that this would be the computer for me. I purchased at the end of August and experienced a lot of freezing and I could not stream TV episodes without problems with the buffering. I contacted Acer via live chat, explained the problems I was experiencing and was told that the buffering issue was an internet provider issue (not a problem with the computer) and that the freezing was because my computer "must have a virus". I could not believe either explanation since I could stream TV episodes to my 9 inch mini (with 8 gb of memory) without problem and I activated the mcAfee trial software the first time I turned the computer on. Feeling that I should not have any problems with a brand new computer (and realizing that a certain percentage of any product will have glitches and problems) and since it was within 15 days of purchase, I returned the computer and exchanged it for the exact same model. The new computer works great, no problems, streaming Tv episodes is effortless and the picture is gorgeous, fast web browsing, and enjoy having a 17.3 inch screen. This is the computer for me! Could not be happier with my purchase, and am extremely grateful Wal-mart has such a great return policy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Loaded with features; excellent value!

09/06/2011
By ,
Randleman, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would appear that Acer is a very underrated and overlooked brand in the world of computers? I bought this item with faith in the brand; my wife owns another model of Acer laptop and I bought my son an Acer Aspire One netbook last February. I bought this model to replace a 6-year old Dell Dimension 3000 desktop that was running WinXP SP3-- after looking at several Acer models seeking "bang for the buck", I chose this one and am very happy thus far!
Setup time is minimal. I had intended on hard-wiring this laptop to my modem/router via ethernet cable, but it picked up my household wi-fi before I had a chance to get that far. I did remove some minor bloatware that I have no intention of using, but with all PCs you can expect that. The 17" LED screen display is abound with brilliant color and definition; so good that it can make pics/video of lesser quality seem almost impaired. The built-in card reader accepts both SD and xD cards, so that was a great feature when I started to transfer picture/video files. The Quad-Core processor delivers amazing speed with programs my old PC used to choke and stall on.
The only nitpick I have is that there are only 3 USB ports, but I suppose I could easily add an inexpensive multi-port--- by no means is this a deal-breaker! I also use an external 320GB HD so I feel I'm loaded with plenty of memory space when you consider this laptop has it's own 500GB.
After a full weekend I'm already completely happy with this purchase. The features included with this laptop are an excellent value for the money. The one feature I haven't taken advantage of yet is the portability that comes with owning the laptop itself! Highly recommended product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 20 for Acer Black 17.3" AS7551-7422 Laptop PC with AMD Phenom II X4 Quad-Core N970 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

REALLY good deal

08/16/2011
By ,
Satellite Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me FOREVER to find the perfect computer for me. I finally found this was the one I kept coming back to because of the GREAT price, big screen, how light it was and the 500 GB hard drive. When I got it, I was surprised to find that it also did games like GTA pretty well (I haven't tried COD or anything yet though). So all in all, I really like this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next