Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hyper Bicycles 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Hyper Bicycles 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

The Havoc Full Suspension 26" Mens' Mountain Bike provides a fun, stable and smooth ride. With 21 speeds and a 3-piece high performance crank, this Havoc full suspension mountain bike is ideal for men looking to explore their adventurous side. The Havoc bike has a full suspension with fork design that helps you ride with ease. The Havoc full suspension mountain bike also includes authentic hyper graphics, a padded seat for extra comfort and a sturdy aluminum frame. With comfortable padded seats and Shimano brakes, you'll enjoy the time you spend biking. In addition to its safety and comfort, the bike also scores high when it comes to durability. The aluminum frame, handlebars and pedals enable this Havoc Full Suspension 26" Mens' Mountain Bike to withstand rough use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
94
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation80%235 out of 294reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 302 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
94
3 stars
27
2 stars
18
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Great bike for such a low price!

12/06/2013
By ,
Long Island, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is phenomenal for it's price. I had been riding my old bike for about 8 years but had to start looking for a new one cause of damages. I looked online and found nothing that I liked until I saw this one. I bought this bike for $120 but I think it should have been around $250 considering how great it is. First of all it looks better than any mountain bike under $500 that I've seen before. The matte black color is big reason I bought the bike. The bike rides so unexpectedly smooth due to the dual suspension. The shifters are great and the gear doesn't skip or change when going up hill and under pressure. I have had this bike for a couple months and I have absolutely no problems with it even after riding more than 500 miles.
Pros:
-Exceptional price
-Great look
-Smooth ride
-Durable
Cons:
-Tires and tubes may need replacing
-Cheap pedals may cause future problems(Hasn't for me)
-Seat post may be too short for TALL riders
-Grips start to slip a little sometimes
-(ALL easy fixes)
Tips:
If you purchase the bike there are a few optional but very beneficial things you can do. You should first replace the tires and tube as other buyers have done the same and by appearance they do not seem very reliable. (I recommend some Kevlar lined or thorn proof tires, thorn proof tubes-not the self-sealant kind!, and huffy tire liners - this way you will be flat-free). Second, replace the pedals with metal ones to avoid any future problems. Make sure to make simple adjustments to the brakes and shifters if you know how as that can make the ride much more comfortable. If you do all this it will be a very cheap, fun, and reliable bike!
The pros definitely outweigh the cons as all parts are easily replaceable and interchangeable. For those looking for a mountain bike on a budget, this is definitely the place to look!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Downingtown PA
Bad Experience
Posted 07/26/2014
I bought this bike for my 14 year old son. The price was right however the quality is extremely poor. It makes a strange clicking sound and the bike chain continuously detaches from the gears. I will be returning this bike.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black
05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike about a month ago so I could hit a few of the local trails though state parks and such. Seems decently built and no problems so far... well that is once i got the bike home from the store and aired up the tires, and readjusted the shifters and brakes.
I wasnt expecting much from a $100 bike but seems well worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CapeCod, MA
Posted 05/26/2012
This is alot of bike for the short price. I to replaced my rear inner tube and have fiddled with the adjustments. I'm not to keen with the shifter's, but this is more preference. I ordered nicer brake/shift combos with Shimano's EZ-Fire set up (somehow plastic brake lever bases don't strike me as very smart!). I also had a set of Araya rims kicking around and straight bars, so I'm gonna swap those over to (More preference stuff). JUST SO PEOPLE UNDERSTAND: Big box store bikes are assembled in house with low wage employees and basic tools. Take the bike to your local shop and "True out" the rims. its usually 10 dollars a rim! I also swapped the pedals out to nicer platforms made of aluminum. Bike still cost less than 200 dollars and rides like a 500 dollar bike.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/21/2011
A few weeks ago I also had a the tube problem everybody else has been having. The tubes are junk.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Great Bike, some drawbacks

04/21/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m not a biker. I haven’t owned a bike for many years. But I live very close to my job and thought a bike would be a better choice to get there with gas prices as they are.
I bought this bike (online) mainly because of it’s reviews, low price and awesome looks. I am not disappointed. It is a very nice, aggressive looking bike. I am 49 years old, 6’1”, around 200lbs. This bike adjusts out to provide a comfortable ride. My last mountain bike was “crunched” up. My knees would hit the handle bars when turning, my foot would hit the tire, and the height when sitting had my knees in a forward position instead of up and down to the pedals. I was scared to order this online fearing another lousy ride, but I figured for the price, looks and options, I could upgrade it to fit me properly. But this was not needed at all.
Assembly was easy. It comes 90% put together. Put on the front tire, seat and pedals, adjust the gear selectors and brake levers and your rolling. But I have to agree with some of the other reviews. The tires seem cheap. They are a no brand low quality rubber. I don’t see them lasting long. The seat looks awesome, but it is extremely uncomfortable. But I haven’t rode for years, and my cheeks may need to toughen up a little. Many have said the pedals are cheap and have broken on them. They are plastic, and at 200lbs, I am replacing them on other reviews complaints. I don’t want to be a few miles from home and have to try to make it back using one pedal, or push my new bike home. My last gripe is the paint job. It is a semi-flat, no shine finish. It looks awesome, but it scratches to the metal with the littlest impact. If your wrench slips during assembly, you will have a bare metal scar looking at you. Even out of the box, it had a few nicks exposing bare metal. But being a semi-flat paint it is an easy touch up with regular paint being a no gloss finish. Krylon makes a semi-flat black paint that is a perfect match.
Well that being said, I am very happy with my purchase. It is a great rider with aggressive looks. I don’t see myself heading down the side of a mountain any time soon so I can’t give any detail on it’s off road durability. But if I do take to the wilderness, I will update this review.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Good for mountains.

07/20/2013
By ,
Arizona City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely for the mountains. Bought it for mountain trails and it worked better than my legs did. Low geared for torque not speed. Not for racing on flat streets. Worked great on very rugged trails. I am over 6' tall and it worked great for me. Because of the number of sprockets the shifter is variable to move off derailers by +/- one click. If the chain rubs, a couple clicks up or down and no more problem. I Like the handle bar shifter, allows me to keep my hands on the bars where they belong.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Value for your money

07/19/2012
By ,
Palo Alto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
$120 for an aluminum framed mountain bike with shimano transmission is a good deal. I had the packageshipped for pickup at a nearby Walmart. Assembly difficulty is average. Only thing I needed to do is mount and align the handle bar to the frame and also install the front wheels and the plastic pedals. Based on other reviews, the factory tire-tube reliability is questionable. So I bought and replaced it with a Slime (self-healing) tube, $8/each before using the bike and just trashed the factory tube. On first time use, the rear-brake is squealing, but eventually quiet out after several miles (may be part of its break-in period). Ride quality is good, quiet, shifting is smooth but be careful not to brake too hard with the front wheel as the bike will want to dive because its soft front suspension. One thing I don't like is the paint is a flat black (not the shiny clearcoat sort of paint) which is dull and prone to even gentliest scratches. I plan to use the bike on flat bike trails only and I don't know how this bike will stand the test of time when used in hard-core mountain-biking applications. Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase and I recommend it to budget concious shoppers like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Loving It!!!!

12/11/2013
By ,
Elmont, Ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the bike. And my friends love it too. Looks good and rides good too. As far as the seats they really aren't the best so I would suggest saving up to get a gel cushion but apart from that the bike is pretty reliable. Had it for 3 weeks now deff worth the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 07/11/2014
hi i wanna buy a bike and was wondering if its still in good shape after a year and if its worth the money
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Nice bike for the price

01/13/2014
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it on a rough 10 mile mountain dirt trail. Had no issues.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

great bike

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's a nice bike I had to wait two weeks for it but was a great choice.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Nice bike

03/24/2012
By ,
phoenix, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ibought this for a daily commuter on sale due to it looking previously used. Grips torn looks like it was riding a bit but I bought since the price was good. Aired up the tires a bit and rode good for a few days. Here where you get what you pay for issues. Pedal broke as expected but I realized they were plastic. Bought metal ones to replace no issues with that then the front shock went out. Unlike most who said the bike wasn't good I realized it may havebeen in store for a while. I called the number on the bike and they have been taking care of the issues. Well they shipped me what I needed and a manual and the bike runs like a champ.If anyone buys any hyper bike and has questions or issues I suggest you call the number on the bike and work with them although you may have to wait a few days on part shipping. they have been very friendly with me and kept me from returning a bike which I was able to fix and enjoy versus spending a lot more money on a more expensive version mountain bike that I was thinking about buying
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Excellent Value

05/12/2012
By ,
Temecula, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Based on lessons learned from previous comments, I have inspected this mountain bike for any obvious manufacturer's defects (bent fork, wheels, frame, etc) as well as any loose/missing hardware and misalignment during the assembly process at the store of purchase. I spent a good 5-10 minutes riding down the short aisle, performing functional test of shifting and braking. Any defects noted, I would simply try another one. I upgraded the pedals with medal ones (9/16") bought at the store, as most of you strongly suggested. Regarding seat comfort and weak inner tubes and tires -- so far, so good during my first week of riding. I don't plan on getting any air or blazing down a mountain trail, although jumping curbs and hitting speed bumps at full speed reveal that the dual suspension was adequate and nothing fell apart. Shifting under load (going up hill) proved to be smooth and effortless. I plan on going back to the store and personally thank the bike assembler (Brandon) for a job well done. By the way, this bike weighs less than the V2100, by at least 10 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

great value for moderate riding

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little bit hesitant to buy this bike, but I'm definitely glad that I did. The only issues I have with it are the uber uncomfortable seat and the tires arent the best. Honestly though most bikes I looked at didn't have exceptionally comfortable seats and would have needed replaced anyways.
An additional thought is that a lot of reviews include poor remarks because the wheels sometimes arive slightly bentbentor bend after riding the bike for a while. Most people dont understand that this is true for almost all bikes unless you're spending upwards of $500 for professional level bikes. This problem however is very fixable by simply searching the internet for instructions on how to "true" a wheel. After sitting at my computer for about 3 minutes I walked to my bike and had the wheel almost perfect after about 12 minutes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Love this bike!!!

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a KTM Dirtbike and was not expecting much out of this suspension but wow...it works really well.....I had a 500.00 Giant and like this bike much better....and the brakes work better than my buddies 2000.00 bike....probably have close to a hundred miles on it..no problems feels and is very light...had several compliments on the looks ...looks like a lot more than a 130.00 bike....ordered the female version for my daughter...I would have the bike shipped to a Walmart and have them put it together...that seems to be the biggest complaint I see....mine seems to be spot on.....again super fun bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Good Quality Bike. Flimsey Tires,

06/13/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike from one of my local Wal-Mart Stores and I ride it daily. The in-store bike tech was really good and adjusted everythng that I requested before purchasing the bike that day. All while I waited. My primary focus before buying a new bike, was to find one that cost less than $150 and had a Complete Shimano Set-Up; Handle Bar Shifters, Front Derailer & Rear Derailer. My 18 years of experience with the complete Shimano Set Up on my bikes was the reliability, low maintenance, durability and longevity of the components. In recent, it is almost impossible to find the complete Shimano set up on any bike for less than $400. This bike has it all. Mechanically and structurally this bike is solid. The Tubes and Tires are flimsey. Plan on spending approx. $50 for a new pair of good quality Tires w/Tubes if you can do the swap yourself. All said, I feel that this bike is worth the money and I do recommend it. I also suggest buying that new pair of good quality Tires w/Tubes at the same time you buy the bike. Wal-Mart has the Bell Tires with Kevlar and Bell Inner Tubes on the same isle. Good quality at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+432points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Worth more than what I paid

07/06/2011
By ,
Sheridan Wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was a time when I was young I was an avid moutian biker and owned a rather expensive bike. Now that I'm older and a little larger around the middle I thought it would be a healthy choice to get back into it. I went to the local bike shop and had a hard time swallowing the price of mountain bikes ($500-$3000), especially since I wanted the newest bells and whistles like, dual suspension, aluminum frame and atleast an 18 speed, I also wanted the option of interchangeable parts so if I ever wanted to up grade I could. This Havoc Hyper has it all plus it's only $100. This bike has some nicer parts on it to like, Trex brakes and the brackets for rotor style brakes if you want to add them later. This bike is also equipped with Shimano gear selector and it's the much nicer newer twist style. This might not meen much if your buying this bike for your teen. But if it is for your self or someone want to get into mountain biking you can really take this bike from being a novice bike to a pretty advanced one over time by upgrading the wheels, tires, suspension shocks, brakes and gears, but it also comes ready to rip up the trails right fram the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+258points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
California
rotors?
Posted 09/20/2013
Hi, I really like this bike and I went to Wal*Mart to have a look this morning. I have to go down a very steep and long hill, so I wanted to have the option to mount rotor brakes. Unfortunately I did not see the brakets that other bikes have... are you sure your bike has them?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Bakersfield CA
Good Value but be weary
Posted 12/06/2011
This Bike is ok... once you take it on a trail youll find out it needs alot of adjustment. my handlebars would not tighten enough and i finally got it tight after rounding out and allen bolt. i took it on a trail and my back tire went flat.. had to walk it about a 1/4 mile. what do u expect for 100$ i think its worth it. what i like the most is the suspension it really does work. i would buy it again.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Nice enough bike to buy two

08/30/2013
By ,
Pueblo, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I are getting into biking for the first time and I didn’t want to go out and buy a $600+ bike only to have it sit in the garage. Originally we bought our son this bike and I purchased a hybrid style bike (from Wal-Mart). The Hyper Havoc my son rode is a tight bike and my hybrid was always needing some extra tweak or two or three. I finally took it back to Wal-Mart and traded it for the Hyper Havoc. My son weighs 90 pounds and I weigh 230 and this bike handles like a dream for both of us. We do some light mountain biking and a lot of trail riding. Word of advice… all of these mass assembled bikes need to be tuned up! It only took me 30 minutes to dial in the shifters so you get all 21 speeds and it is not rocket science so read the manual and take a little time to tune your bike up. Happy riding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

great bang for the buck!! nice bike

06/09/2012
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first off i am 35 years old 6'1" and weigh about 208lbs,and my 2 daughters like riding there bikes at the park,but were always out running me and getting out of my site,or i had to make them stay close,and that was no fun for any of us,so i decided to go looking for a bike.i have not rode a bike in 20 years!!.i picked this bike up at a local walmart,because i loved everything about it in the store.the flat black color is just cool to me,and was better than the bike i researched,and went there to purchase.i have been riding this bike quite a bit,and the only thing i had to do to it was adjust the rear brakes,and i have had it for over 3 months.i am 100% happy with this purchase.i took it down a massive LONG hill,and i was in the last gear probably almost maxed out in speed,and this thing will fly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
california
sick bike i mean really nice for the price
Posted 07/29/2012
man i love this bike light weight and well made i had the mongoose genesis wasn't as go as this one is better price too thank you Walmart for selling this bike at this price.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Decent for Price

06/15/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bike unassembled, because my husband was impatient. Assembly was not difficult at all, and required a socket set or adjustible wrenches, and allen wrenches.
One tire tube blew as soon as we inflated it. It tore the tire a little bit. We replaced the tube, and then the tire developed a large bulge. My husband rode the bike around the block, and the tire deflated. We took the wheel to our local Walmart, and a bike assembler there replaced the tire and tube. We have not had any problems with the tire since then.
The bike looks good...the paint is a matte black, and the bike looks mean, which appealed to my husband when he was choosing it. It doesn't seem that comfortable for him to ride, and in fact we had to add a gel cushion to the seat after the first time he rode it, but he's only planning to ride a couple of times a week, and for short distances.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

More than a year later, for pavement riders

05/08/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Havoc in 4/2012, and posted under "UrbanCommuter". With all original equipment, and all travel in the urban jungle, it was perfect until 6/2012. Got a slow leak in the front after running over a nail, no blow out.
I wanted "faster" tires anyway, and knew the tubes were starters. So I got a pair of Hutchinson Acrobat tires to replace the knobby ones. Over the past year, I have noticed that every other non-bike store mountain bike has tires identical to my old ones. Junk. Identical tread patterns! After breaking them in and feeling them out, the Hutchison tires definitely have a lower rolling resistance. I thought that they would be dangerous in rain, but they aren't. Maybe the side nub things help. They definitely help in cornering in dry weather.
The tubes were replaced with a solid-core by Bell in the front #can't remember# and extra-thick tubes in the back. I don't use Slime. ever. I might want new wheels. Oh, and when I had the wheels and tires off, I used electrical tape over whatever it was that was used for the spoke holes #on the inside of the wheels of course, and a continuos loop not patchwork#. Old trick.
Problem free since June 2012. Enjoy your rides!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Cheap Quality

05/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this online, but I ultimately returned it because the build quality just seemed too cheap. Additionally, the front wheels of both of the bikes we ordered were bent out of shape. Only slightly, but that is all it takes to throw off the bike. They are very cheap bikes which is great, and if you want to use them on the street they would probably hold up just fine, but it doesn't seem like they would hold up very well on trails.
Summary: Just to Chintzy
Qualification: None. I have no experience with bikes.
Time of Ownership: 2 days. I road it around the street, and made my determination to return it.
Conclusion: Going to save and go buy a $350 bike at the local bike shop. Already went to see a couple and you can observe the higher quality just by looking at them.
Pros
Affordable
Looks pretty chill
Cons
Bent wheels (buy in-store and check the wheels very CAREFULLY)
Suspension cheap
Gear mechanism seemed of poor quality and likely to have problems down the road
The 26" wheel size seemed small for a mountain bike.
Handlebars are smaller than normal
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Hyper Havoc Full Suspension Men's Mountain Bike, Black

Good looks & Bad luck...

07/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ended up returning this item. The first thing that was missing was a washer for the handle bar stem that I was able to get from my local store so assembly continued. Then we come to find the seat adjustment piece was missing also. Instead of leaving the house to go back to our local store, we decided to just finish the assembly and get the missing piece in the morning on the following day. We go to put the front tire on and notice one of the spokes is broken and flopping around. The tire also has a noticeable wobble to it. I have never before had ANY problems with a single item ordered online with Walmart. I loved the look of the bike but there were too many issues with this specific shipment. I am going to chalk it up to bad luck since everything prior has always been exactly what I wanted and no damage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 256 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next