Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Rethink the way you listen to music. Hear it in style. Now with the Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player, you can enjoy your favorite music and other multimedia wherever you want with the luxury of touchscreen. The sensitive touchscreen along with the intuitive menu controls presents to you a user-friendly interface. The 4.3" touchscreen displays images in striking clarity apart from making for easier navigation. With 4GB built-in memory, you can carry thousands of songs, photos, videos, and more. This portable MP3 video player supports all popular music and video formats, including MP3, WMA, WAV, MP4, AVI, WMV, and 3GP. You can even read your favorite e-books on this video player, which doubles as an e-reader. Connect the Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player to your TV through the HDMI output, and you can enjoy hours of HD videos and movies with friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
3.234 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation58%45 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Do not buy

12/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work. I bought It for my dad and he was so happy when he opened it and after trying several times we just could not get it to work. The touch screen!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Didn't work

10/18/2012
By ,
Leland, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunately, after this mp3 player arrived at my house via the usps post office, a day late and in a plastic bag, the touch screen wouldn't work. I am pretty sure the reason it didn't work is the fact that someone put the mp3 player in bag and sent it through the mail system like it was a greeting card instead of a protective box shipped by fedex or ups like every other electronic I have ever received. Don't be deterred from your purchase of this mp3 player because of my bad shipping experience. I have bought a few different Ematic products before and have always been pleased with the quality of them. The mp3 player itself felt sturdy and well made, and I mean really solid. A trip across the United States, in a thin plastic bag, through a mail delivery is enough to damage any electronic device. I always wanted this device and will purchase it again, but next time I will have it safely shipped to walmart and pick it up. If you buy one, you should probably consider doing the same cause it seems to be a really good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Ematic 4GB Video MP3 Player with 2.4" LCD, built in 5MP Digital Camera, (Assorted Colors)
3.6 out of 5(647)
 
 
 
Ematic 7" eBook Reader with Video Playback, Music Playback, FM Radio & Kobo eReading Software; EB104B
3.4 out of 5(50)
 
 
 
Ematic EGL25BL 7" Touchscreen Android 4.0 Tablet with 4GB Memory
2 out of 5(129)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
Review 3 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Tickled

02/11/2012
By ,
Maysville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my Ematic for a Christmas present and this is exactly what I had been wanting. Not looking to spend the money they wanted for the Ipod, but still wanting the ease of the scroll from the touch screen, my wife found this for me and I am tickled! I play it in the truck on the way to work, all day at work and then again on the way home (11 hours) and it dont run out of charge. The added feature of the 4Gb sd card makes it so I can have the music on "kid friendly" shuffle when they are with me or can go to MY playlist and listen to some "R" rated. Dont really use the eReader but have quite a few pics and music on it. Now Im back getting 2 more, one for the wife (so she quits stealing mine) and one for my daughter. Glad to have found this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Great for the price!

05/30/2011
By ,
chicago,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this mp3 players.I have had many.. many mp3 players but this one tops it off.It has a big enough screen to view pics and movies.Also has the option of adding books to the mp3 player.The music is easy to add and so are the pics.I wish i knew how to add movies not to sure how to yet but im sure i will get it soon.The shipping was fast i recieved mine in less then 3days,which is awesome! I wish that they could have sent out a better remote for the mp3 player its just look kind of too simple and cheap but i guess it'll do.Overall the mp3 players works great! i def would recommend this to a friend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+132points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
No stars Read this before you buy !
Posted 06/05/2011
If you are not familiar with portable media players you will need to enlist the aid of someone who is because the user manual is almost useless. No mention is made of how to even turn it on or how to recharge the battery. Download the user manual before you buy it to get my drift. After several hours I was able to figure most of it out through trial and error. The BIG DRAWBACK to this player though is that not only are many drop down menus next to impossible to exit out of, once you have configured the thing, when you recharge it most of all your settings are lost. Example; the radio, scan in the channels and set your presets, all gone when you recharge, ditto for playlist, and so on.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

This Gadget is slick

05/01/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can download videos from Youtube and upload it to the device, I can also load a full movie and watch it later. It plays MP3's, you can rip off a cd and listen on the device. It has an FM radio, I have pictures of my family on it and can show them to others. It has an Ebook feature, so far I have been able to read PDF's.
I know there are things like Iphone out there that can do the same things, but this one does not require a service. If you give one to your kids you can control what they can see and hear, can't do that with an Iphone. It does not take a battery, you plug it into any USB port and charge it. I take it with me to work and it goes all day on the charge, I just plug it in when I get home. Oh .. by the way the Iphone cost hundreds of dollars, this device was around fifty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 6 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Awesome player

01/10/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been so confused by reviews the past couple weeks as I tried to decide on a new mp3 player. It seems some people loved it, some got a defective one and hated it, while others compared it to an ipod and called it cheap. (Though, in my world sixty dollars is a descent amount of money.) I gambled and bought one anyway, and guess what? I LOVE it. It is NOT an iPod, which I'm glad, because I didn't WANT one of those. I got what I was looking for, an awesome mp3 player with a generous screen size for watching videos.
The video player feature is very nice, and supports several file types. It's a lot easier to add videos to this player than previous players I've owned.
The music player feature include preset EQ options, shuffle, and repeat. It also has the option to choose music according to album, artist, and genre. There is also a playlist option which I haven't played with much yet.
The e-book feature supports only txt files, but looks very nice. E-book options include bookmarks, auto scroll, page jump, and customizing color & font size (from presets). You can also listen to music as you read, a big plus in my book.
The touchscreen is great and not overly sensitive. I can carry the player in my pocket without the screen coming on or the song changing, another plus for me.
There are no games, even though it is mentioned in the manual, but I didn't want games. I have a psp for that.
All in all, this player is awesome. It works great, and has a good sound (using alternate earbuds in my case.) If you're looking for something to simply listen to your music or watch videos/movies on and don't want to spend a small fortune, I highly recommend this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 7 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

great for the price

09/19/2011
By ,
Chacago Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had my player for a week the music sounds fantastic, and the video are excellent, for the price player is wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 8 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

8 yr. old son likes it

06/21/2011
By ,
vernal, ut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son wanted a touch screen mp3 player, but I wasn't going to buy him an itouch (he's only 8 yrs. old). This was a lot cheaper and he's just happy he can touch the screen. Downloading songs is really easy. I didn't have to download any special software. Just download the songs and drop them to his player. The screen size is a lot bigger than most. We are looking forward to downloading some movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Review 9 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

WIDE!!!

05/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the screen is great! t is wide enough to enjoy HD-like movies from my computer. i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+129points
Review 10 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD
02/02/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had some issues with this MP3 player. I really like this player. The screen was nice size, touchscreen worked well, easy to navigate much like a garmin. However I had problems right from the begining. My computer would not recognize this player. I did work with it and was able to download songs. The second time I tried to add more music, my computer would not recognize it at all. When I went to return the player at Walmart, I was sent back to the electronics department. They also pluged it into their computer and found the same thing that I did.
They felt like it was a defective cord or the plug-in connection on the MP3 player was faulty.
I did not ask for an exchange because I had spent a good deal of time trying to get this player to work with my computer. Which turned out not to be my computer but the player itself. I did return this unit, and purchased a Philips GoGear Ariaz. Although my new unit doesn't have the same features as the Ematic with touchscreen, It is a very nice MP3 and I have been very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Philips 16GB GoGear Ariaz MP3 Player, Black
4 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 11 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Awesome product!

02/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this, and so far I am highly impressed! I love it! I've been able to download my music, I've gotten several ebooks on it already, and even have a movie playing on it right now! It is so awesome. I have found it very easy to use, just drag and drop and it sorts everything automatically! I would definitely recommend this to anybody that doesn't want to pay the price for an ipod touch or any other pricey gadget. This does exactly what I want for a great price! Plus it looks really cool, very sleek looking!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 12 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Please read this before buying

03/19/2012
By ,
Marshfield, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hi, my name is Matthew, and I work in our electronics dept.
When I got this the first time, I was pretty excited. I've messed around with a good deal of mp3 players trying to find one that's affordable but still of a decent quality. I must say, I was relatively happy when I opened my package at work and after tediously trying to figure out the obnoxiously touchy tactile screen, I managed to navigate to the music on my microsd and play some, at a higher volume than my last mp3 player, using the custom headphones I had instead of the ones that came in the package. I was happy to deal with the cumbersome touch screen interface, until I got home and found that video I put on the machine would play the audio at normal speed and the video at 1/2 speed. This didn't seem right.
At first I thought maybe my videos had a refresh rate that was too high, but after toying around with my video converter, I found this was not the case. SO, I called the customer care line and was still encouraged to talk to someone who spoke English natively, which really helped me figure this thing out. Anyhow, even the default video on the player actually wouldn't play correctly, only this time the sound was behind the video instead of the other way around. He told me he had never heard of the problem before and that no one had called in with the same issue, which is no surprise, I've never seen it on any forum. With that, I sent it back and used the refund to order another one. Both times it came in less than a week, which is truly impressive, and I was really happy to hear my replacement had arrived and rushed over to the store to pick it up.
When I got there, I signed off on it, headed up to the front desk, cut it open and turned it on to test it right away so that one of our service desk people could verify that I hadn't done anything wrong. I pulled it out of the packaging, didn't put any card inside, turned it on, and went straight to the default included video. Much to my surprise, the same thing happened. The audio and sound wouldn't sync for no reason, and I didn't mess with any of the settings at all. She was as stunned as I was. To make matters worse, I found that this model with the included earphones had the quietest, most unclean sound I've heard in a player. I'm very forgiving when it comes to faulty products, but this is too much. I've never experienced multiple products having an issue that supposedly no one else is having at all. That makes no sense.
Long story short, don't buy this thing. The people giving it good reviews are likely the only ones having any luck with it, and it shouldn't be a surprise that this already has a clearance price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+24points
Review 13 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Meh..

07/11/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's all good, the videos come in good, music does, and you can even change your background. There's only 1 huge problem with this, every time the screen comes on you will hear a very high pitch noise, and it will drive you crazy!! I don't recommend you to use this in somewhere like a library or someplace quiet, you will drive everybody nuts. But if ride the bus or go somewhere that's more noisy then it's ok.
*please note* The sound is okay, the high pitch noise comes from the screen when its on. As long as the screen is off sound is perfect, but watching a video is a different story...
The screen isn't laggy, but I use my nails instead of my fingers to move around. It does comes with a stylus, but its easy to lose.
The battery life is great. I watch an hour and 25 min video and 9 -10 songs and the battery was only around 15 - 25% gone.
The mic is really really bad. When I used it, it kept making a buzzy, rigidly noise on the background.
I don't recommend this unless you have a high tolerance for high pitch noises. I would give it a 2/5, but since the price is good ill give it a 3/5. Once you buy this, I think you not going to be satisfied, but it's good enough to the point where its a bother to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Key Volume
Posted 11/17/2012
Simply go into settings, select key volume and turn it off.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/17/2012
it seems that you have a defective model, because mine doesnt do that.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Great Value!

08/26/2012
By ,
Tucson Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my overly active 8 year old son. Keeps him busy on the school bus. He loves his player! The Ematic is worth the price I paid (about $50). It is easy to transfer videos & music to it. Just plug into the computer and drag & drop. Surprisly this player played more video types than I thought. MKV (Blueray) & FLV (Flashvideo) files played with no problems. The isn't as sensitive as my EVO, but acceptable and you do get a responsive click as a feedback. The options available are many, but my son mainly uses it for his video and music. Sound through the speaker is OK, but listening through the ear phones is the way to go. The battery holds its charge well and I only have to charge 1 to 2 times a week. My son only uses it during the ride to and from school on the bus. This player is well worth the cost for a present to a young son or daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

completely useless

04/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this exclusively for use in my car so I didnt want to invest a lot of money. When I opened the package I was very pleased with the product appearance and thought I had made a great purchase for the price. The battery life however has been an issue since I bought it. On a full charge it would only play approximately half an hour and now after only attempting use 3 times it dies as soon as you turn it on. I am now looking for a replacement.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Douglasville Georgia
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY
Posted 11/21/2012
I too tried 3 computers to download music, and it started a song & STOPPED and never would download again! Looks like a great product when you get it out of the box, but after that TAKE IT BACK.It does NOT work properly.... Sad I REALLY wanted this Mp3 player ,,still searching !
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Never Worked !! Poor Customer Support !!

05/06/2012
By ,
Milwaukee WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the EM714VIDHD hoping for a great item. I never have gotten the chance to find out. It arrived and it didn't work out of the box. Attempted to contact Ematic Customer Service. I got one quick email with directions on how to reformat. That didn't work. I have gotten NO MORE information. DON"T DEAL WITH EMATIC !!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 17 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD
06/15/2012
By ,
Oakdale, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this item for my granddaughter's birthday. "Wow" is an understatement! I was sooo impressed with this purchase - awesome picture quality, sound. I was able to import all of my photos (507#, her songs #287) with absolutely no problems. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Worst Buy Ever Online

02/15/2012
By ,
Hampton Roads, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched products for 2 months looking for something easy to use for my boyfriend. Thought I had found the perfect product. Paid for over night delivery. It took 4 days to get to me. I plugged it in, turned it on....NOTHING...it beeps and that is about it. Emailed Ematic Customer Service.....still haven't heard back from them. This item will be returned. It is exactly what I wanted, if it worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 19 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

does not work!

10/28/2012
By ,
Cleveland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried to set up and add songs using 3 different computers and all 3 said "do not recognize" so I returned product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 20 for Ematic Surge 4GB HD Video MP3 Player with 4.3" Touchscreen, EM714VIDHD

Excellent Product good value-outpreforms Nano

02/19/2012
By ,
Suncoast of FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Mp3/Mp4 player/E-reader was a pleasant surprise! My primary purpose in purchasing this player was to give me background music while on road trips. It out preforms my multi CD player, and I can change music far more economically and readily. It also holds my family fotos albums, and can record my "thoughts" on the fly. Customer support is also timely and accurate.
I like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next