Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Jackson Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Jackson Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

The Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel is a quality landscaping tool with a forward-turned step to help ensure secure foot placement when you use it. This Steel/Ash Jackson Shovel features a 46" Handle and a #2 Blade. With a sturdy handle that can support the blade's load, this long-handle shovel can stand up to a variety of materials, including clay, concrete, gravel, soil and more. Use this Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel for a variety of applications, including cement/concrete working, farming, forestry, gardening, landscaping, pipe fitting and more.
Average Customer Rating:
2.727 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation55%6 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Found shovel at Home Depot 1/2 the price!

12/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not arrive on time-needed by a certain date.
Had to go to Home Depot prepared to pay more, found them
1/2 the price, in stock
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
colorado
Unhelpful review
Posted 04/04/2013
While I sympathize with your frustration, I don't click on reviews for more information than the QUALITY of the product. I'm looking for things like "the handle broke" or "the steel wasn't really steel and bent the first time I used it". These review forums are generally unhelpful because customers are reviewing the company, not the product itself. Sorry to be critical, but thanks for nothing.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

One Use

06/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So this isnt a $94 shovel. Hence the reason on the first outing it ssssnapped. Didnt even get thru digging holes for veggies before it kerSnapped right at handle and shovel. So now what? UnImpressed. Shovel did okay, handle just not up to the challenge. Didnt even get a chance to remove the plastic from shipping...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Many Years Shoveling Different Terrain

07/18/2014
By ,
North Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've dug manually for construction jobs in Arizona's hard packed and rocky ground with many different shovels for years. I've also owned and operated my own landscaping and yard care maintenance business in Arizona for 13 years, using many shovels for many different projects during that time. I have plenty of experience with shovels and know them very well.
I would never ever ever buy this shovel again.
I live in Florida now after moving here 1 1/2 years ago, and decided to start a vegetable garden. The ground here is much softer than Arizona ground, as it is soft packed sand mostly. Immediately, on the first dig into the ground to break up the soil and remove the weeds, I noticed the handle twist from the blade. It stayed together, but it was very obvious it would require very gentle care to keep from breaking the handle at the point which it makes contact with the metal. Almost every time I dug after that, even trying to be gentle, the handle would twist again. The blade itself seems to be fine, but the wooden handle is not what I would expect in any wooden handled shovel. This handle will definitely break soon.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Snapped right away

10/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
. The first time I used it to dig a trench it broke in about fifteen minutes where the handle meets the head.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Splinters in Handle

05/01/2014
By ,
Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the handle did have a few splinters in it, but after a little sanding, it was ok
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

great

02/26/2014
By ,
nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what its made for digging...good quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

needed to sand handle but good value for medium wo

01/22/2014
By ,
green valley az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a shovel not self propelled and I had to sand the handle to avoid slivers but it is fine for medium work and price was excelent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel

06/27/2013
By ,
Sparta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Order the Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash
Order June 10, 2013 .. Received June 11, 2013.
I had no idea what a #2 Blade was vs a 14 or 16 gauge steel blade. I was replacing a Round Pointed Shovel I bought from Walmart's about 3-years ago, paid under $5. This one was $10.50 + $0.84 tax = $11.34, thus, if I can get 4-years of uses out of it I will be happy. By the way, it cost me about $7 for gas to and from the local Walmart's, thus this Shove was a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Great for the price

07/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live on a fixed income so, when I needed a shovel for yard work, I checked the usual box stores and was surprised at how much one can cost. When I saw this one on Walmart's site, I figured it would be cheaply made but, when I received it I was wrong. It is a pretty decent shovel and I was glad I saved some money too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

This shovel broke the first time used.

05/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 14 yr old son was handed this shovel and instructed to dig up a plant in our front yard. Within 5 minutes he brought it back ... in two pieces. The wooden handle broke almost immediately.
And to make matters worse, we bought this shovel on sale, on-line, and picked it up in store. As we were walking out we noticed that the same shovel was being offered for a cheaper price than we had paid. Frustrating!
WalMart needs to change their website so that you can see the actual cost of an item at both the online price and the in-store price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Jackson Eagle Long-Handle Round Point Shovel, #2 Blade, 46" Handle, Steel/Ash

Good Product

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for what I needed. Good product, good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.