Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Orion Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Orion Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Start the semester off right with an organized study space. The Orion Student Desk is a manageable workstation that gives you a large work-surface while providing storage on both ends of the desk. This attractive Espresso Computer Desk's finish complements any room's decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.235 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation53%9 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Good for the price, but WILL NOT recommend.

05/04/2012
By ,
Dallas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The item is worth the price as a laptop/work/study desk. BUT, as with most online-purchased Walmart furniture, you are pretty sure to find some scratches/dents on the Espresso finish. And if you find a really defective part, like a crack on the table top (as with my case), there is no Customer Service from the VENDOR (Mylex is the vendor/manufacturer of this) to replace the defective part. They have a manual inside the package that says "if defective we will replace, call this number" etc. But the number goes to a customer service Voice Mail even if you try 50 times (I tried at least 50 times). I left about 15 voice mails with call back numbers, nobody responded. So - if you are willing to accommodate defects or willing to carry and return to store (the item is really really heavy) go ahead buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Product arrived damaged

03/21/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a pretty desk but it arrived damaged. The top piece of wood came with a crack and the front of the desk has a whole strip pf paint missing. Also, be aware that this desk is intended to face the wall since the back is not painted, it is light colored wood. It is a nice desk but it's not fair to pay for something damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

a gift for my daugther

12/16/2013
By ,
Miami Gardens, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The overall experience ordering this product was very good, from the time I place the order untill it arrived to my daugther's house 4 days later. My daugthers loves it, she is very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Honest Opinion

01/24/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The desk is pretty easy to set up, although you have to be smart because not every piece is labeled. It is a particle board made desk and the backend/side which will face the wall is exposed particle board (not the espresso colored finish). The desk is not as tall as I would have liked it to be, so make sure you have a shorter chair for putting under. Also there is no drawer which would also make it more functional.
The bookshelves can hold a decent amount of weight, and are good for textbooks. I like the desk, it is decently sturdy and is small enough so as to not waste space - biggest issues are the height and the fact that only visible areas have the colored surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Don't buy online

01/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product came with many chips, scratches, and chunks in it ( thankfully none that are noticeable unless you know what you're looking for ). The directions were poorly written and labeled. It looks decent and seems sturdy but I wouldn't buy online again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso
03/18/2012
By ,
Wausau, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great desk for a cheap price. You get a lot for what you pay for. Simple desk, easy to put together, decent looking finish. All-in-all a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Not worth the money.

11/15/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Many of the pieces came without the finish, not just the parts that aren't supposed to be seen. So, if you like the look of rough particle board this is the desk for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Good stylish desk for it's price

05/23/2012
By ,
Hyattsville, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I was looking for a desk & I really liked how this one looked. I didn't need anything fancy but this one looks really nice. It is big enough for my laptop and my lamp, alarm clock, picture frame... and other little things to fit. Although I do wish it came with a slide out part to put a keyboard on so I could type on that instead on my laptop. It's no big deal. It has like little shelves on the side which I think is nice. I put my journals and books on it. One issue I had, although not with the desk but with the packaging was that it didn't come with a manual. My husband had to look at the picture to build it. It took him about 2 hours. Overall, I am satisfied with the desk. For the price, I would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Average

03/02/2012
By ,
upstate NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As with most things at walmart; you get what you pay for. Hardware strips pretty easily. Instructions could be improved upon. Had to take apart and do some guess work at times. Appears pretty sturdy and is ideal for a small child's room given its dimensions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso
09/25/2013
By ,
san Diego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed a simple desk and i didn't want to spend so much so I purchased this desk. It is cute and easy to put together, being that I am a woman. Had it assembled in 20 minutes. I do like the desk, just wish my office chair fit and the shelves were adjustable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

great desk for a home office

07/26/2012
By ,
Fishers, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this desk is very nice, easy to put together, im going to buy another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Not too wide or high

06/10/2012
By ,
AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's valuable for this price actually.
it's more comfortable for teenager, not large surface, I have to add sth. below to make it higher, but can't change the wide.
The problem is it's hard to return when you have assemble it already, really take a long time to finish it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Great desk

08/01/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my son and fedex delivered in 2 days! The guy left it in my fenced in backyard, gave me a knock and closed the gate. How thoughtful!
I put it up myself because my husband is out. No problem. It provides a good size working surface and two book shelves on the side. Looks great too. I think it is a great product. Very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion Student Desk, Espresso

Cheap, Simple

01/20/2013
By ,
Westminster, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from a mislabeled part which made putting it together a little bit of a guessing game for a couple minutes until I figured out which piece had the wrong sticker, it went together easily, it's sturdy but light enough for me to move around the apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orion Student Desk, Espresso
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5