Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

NETGEAR Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

You can enjoy the freedom of wireless internet usage. The NETGEAR N600 Wireless Dual Band Router provides high-speed wireless internet connectivity for simultaneous downloads, music, and online gaming. The router with DSL modem provides better internet access and increases the wireless coverage. The ReadySHARE feature allows for quick shared access with an external USB device. It provides hassle-free and reliable internet access with minimum interference. Its live parental controls block inappropriate internet applications by minors. It includes a Smart Wizard CD with a graphical installation guide, which walks you through the set-up process. The Push 'N' Connect button provides immediate Internet connection. The built-in DSL modem, of this high speed Wi-Fi router is compatible with all major DSL Internet service providers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.885 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation75%39 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Worked great but instructions were lacking.

02/03/2014
By ,
chicago, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As an IT support person I thought I could do a manual installation to ATT. I entered all the correct data - PPPoE, username, password. I got a solid DSL connection but never an Internet connection. We had an inside wire trouble call so an ATT wire tech came, could not get the modem working and gave us a Motorola modem. After that I took it as challange to get it working. Voila - by moving the moving the ethernet cable from port 4 to port 1 on the modem the Internet started working. I scanned the brief setup instructions and could find anything that mentioned this. I assumed port 1 was reserved for a WAN connection since that is what it was labeled. The next call woould have been to netgear and I think my problem would have been resolved quickly. Since I got a free modem from the tech I returned the netgear but I will still recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

ISP COMPATABILITY

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT COMPATABLE WITH CENTURY LINK. CHECK WITH YOUR INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER FOR COMPATABILTY OF MODEM PORTION BEFORE PURCHASE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Not Able To Deliver

03/22/2014
By ,
Killeen, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a former cable internet user, I had to switch to DSL because of lack of affordable cable internet service my specific geographical area. Bought this product since it was a combo modem/router. Worked reasonably well with a LAN ethernet connection but was a total loser when being used via my wireless. Only had an effective wifi range of around 10 ft. Anything more than that and the speed dropped from 10 mbps to less than 1 mbps. Not worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Unable to get it to ework with chrome scan

01/11/2014
By ,
ND
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does not work with chrome scan
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Netgear Router with DSL Modem

03/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to replace my 2wire AT&T DSL Router/Modem. My AT&T Router/Modem had been replaced every 2 years since I had it (I was on my 2nd one and did not want to get another one from AT&T).
The Netgear product works perfectly! I recommend buying it if you are looking for something similar. The setup was pretty easy and I did need a little assistance from the Netgear technical support; however, they were very helpful. If you are using this product in place of one provided by your Internet provider, you must call them in order to get the password and username to set up the router. As an FYI, this is not the same as your username and password to access your wireless Internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

If you live in a Box or Sardine can this is 4U

01/04/2014
By ,
NE GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save money and aggravation and get yourself the Netgear N450 instead. The N450 does not have built in DSL but the range and stability are far superior to this POJ. This thing is only good if you live in a very VERY small home or Apartment. HORRIBLE RANGE AND SUB-PAR CONNECTION STABILITY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Fabulous! eliminates the need for a separate modem

12/10/2011
By ,
Dierks AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to call Netgear to complete my complicated setup allowing the use of Windows7 Remote Desktop so that my laptop can access my desktop when I am away from home, but Ankit at Netgear helped me to determine the proper settings and my modem/router combination is working perfectly for a very reasonable price. I like using the combo modem/router, because my ISP has always required that I disconnect the router and change out my adapter settings to troubleshoot any problems. That will no longer be an issue with the combo unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dierks AR
Update 3/30/2012 Router fried
Posted 04/03/2012
I reviewed too soon. Although it worked well while it worked, I bought in 11/18/2011 and it was fried 102 days later just past the 90 day warranty. Netgear offered telephone support for a mere $79 for this $99 modem/router, but I declined.
Now using a Sagem1704 Fast Modem/Router sold and supported for 1 year from my provider, Windstream.
No more Netgear for me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Requires less space

03/06/2014
By ,
Semmes, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the combination of router and modem. It requires less space, is wireless, and also this is a great product to have if you have more than 1 computer in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Simply works!!!!!

01/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an old Westell modem that just was showing its age. This new router/modem not only boosted signal strength but I was able to connect (2) bridges to my devices that worked with ethernet connections only. I never liked the router only setups (always seemed to have communication issues). This router/modem does the job great and it works with all major ISPs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

great modem & router combo

03/10/2014
By ,
Gilbertsville,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great modem & router combo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem
09/09/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product while I had it. I returned this NG N300 router 2 days later due to the service from CenturyLink was VDSL, and this being ADSL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

A great DSL modem and router

02/06/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used Cisco products but since the antenna has disappeared from their new routers, there have been problems getting a good signal. This model does the job. Wireless N is good but if you still have wireless G devices in the house, you should upgrade to the next model because it has dual band capability. This router has a 2.4 ghz signal. You will get lower bandwidth when using Tivo Premier for streaming TV. I run a Windows Server in the house and I use a Netgear Wireless N adapter for that computer. It seems to get a great signal. Remote desktop communication hasn't been a problem. The media sharing works well with the PS3 and smartphones. You can set it up to access it as on a browser if you know your IP address settings. A great replacement from the model I received from Century Link.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Exceed expectations

12/05/2011
By ,
Griswold, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always liked Netgear, along with another favorite brand Linksys (subcompany of Cisco).
Setup was almost embarrassing.
Connect to phone line (adsl filter included as well as telephone cord and CAT5 ethernet cable) then power on, find the router in the list of available networks (I have win7 but is the same thing with any O.S.) and open 192.168.0.1 or use the "fake" web-address http://www.routerlogin.net/ (easier if you're not familiar with numbers)
Then start "playing" with the settings.
Lock up your network with the usual WEP (don't recommend it, passwords can be hacked) or leave the network open but only for registered devices (using MAC address)
Not that this method is "hack-free" but it's safer.
There is a CD, I didn't even look what was in it, honestly.
I found a couple of [censored] Apple Mac users complaining about how this modem was useless for they couldn't find an installation disk.
1st, as I just stated, the CD is in the box if you'd REALLY need one.
2nd, if you need a CD to setup a wireless router, thing that you do via your browser, perhaps Internet is not for you.
Let's go back to the review.
Lots of options available, almost impossible to list them all.
Router configure your provider automatically (there's a wizard upon first login)
My ISP is AT&T (unfortunately :p ) router found it in less than 20 seconds, all I needed to do is provide my username and password.
As I said, almost embarrassing, considering I'm in the IT business (hardware and software) and I would like something more complicated. Just for the fun of it.
there's a USB port on the router, plug in your jump drive with songs/videos/whatever and with the function readyshare embedded you'll be able to play your music etc from anywhere in the house/backyard (good for parties, trust me)
connectivity selectable and goes up to 300mbit (modem part is certified B/G/N)
There's a lot more, but I don't want to write a book.
Buy it and have fun in using it.
Devices currently paired : 3 cell-phones, PS3, another Blu-ray dvd (used for Netflix, Vudu and hulu plus services), Lexmark printer wifi, 2 laptops 1 desktop......plus more to come, I'm pretty sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

DOES NOT WORK WITH ATT U-VERSE DSL

01/04/2012
By ,
Ceres, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DOES NOT work with att u-verse it only works with regular att dsl. att dsl and att u-verse dsl is two different things and u-verse requires a special set up available only from att.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Worked well for about a week

11/14/2013
By ,
Marlborough CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This modem/router worked very well for about the first week. Then it almost on a daily basis required a reboot that would usually get it back online. I returned it and bought another one from another retailer, and that one doesnt connect to the internet. Cheap electronics !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Replaced/Upgrade of DSL Modem

02/05/2014
By ,
Peculiar, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After dealing with intermittent service for the last 30 days, this modem is rock solid, easy to setup and does exactly as needed. Since I only use the 10/100 Mbit ports to interconnect to my GigE switch for the hardwired connections, I am not bothered by the limitation.
It has an easy to use Web interface and with a simple search on the internet and the MAC address of the lan port, you can use the CLI (Command Line Interface) to fully customize the settings for us diehard geeks.
Make sure you check the firmware version and upgrade as needed.
☆☆☆☆☆
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Good buy

02/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up - modem and wifi in one.
Streaming videos is fast.
Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Great Wireless Router Modem

01/16/2012
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with Consolidated Communications DSL. No problems so far. Faster Speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Easy setup and works great.

04/17/2013
By ,
Platteville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have CenutryLink DSL. Setup was minutes. Works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem

Very dependable - Not as much range as hoped for

12/29/2011
By ,
Western MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace an Actiontec router so I could also use a repeater (not supported by the Actiontec). This router is easy to set up and has been completely trouble-free. I had hoped that it would have more range than the Actiontec, alleviating the need for the repeater, but signal strength was really no better. For almost $100 (now $110), I expected to be able to reach the other end of the house (maybe 60-70 feet), but signal strength there was consistently low, and sometimes dropped out completely. It does work with the repeater and it seems faster than the Actiontec, especially when transferring between computers on the home network.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next