Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rival Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Enjoy your favorite hot beverage in minutes with the Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle. This kettle heats water quickly and efficiently for tea, hot chocolate, and more. The large capacity makes it easy to heat enough water for drinks for the whole family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%29 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

I was quite impressed

05/07/2011
By ,
Los Angeles (Hades)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this at my local Walmart and was suspicious of quality because nowhere does it say on the exterior box (or the owner's manual) how fast it would take to heat water, let alone if it will bring it up to boiling temperature. It took approx. 2 minutes to boil 32 ounces of water. The base which the AC power cord is attached to separates from the pot, allowing you to set this plastic kettle on the dining table without the AC cord dangling like a tail. The AC cord is only 29 inches (74 cm) long, which is 4-inch too short for my kitchen counter. This is why I've deducted one star; what was the rationale to the 74cm length cord? Why didn't the engineer rounded it up to a nice 1-meter or 1-yard length? To save a few cents in raw materials ?? If Sunbeam Products Inc. is reading this, may I suggest adding a thermostat control to the removable base, similar to model 4071wn, to give consumers the option of keeping ready-2-drink hot water on standby all day long. MOST people do not drink hot beverages at 212-degrees fahrenheit. If anyone is planning to use a voltage inverter as an AC power source, this appliance is rated at 1,200-watts (120volts).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 2 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Works very well, better than what I've paid!

05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this one out of two, the other one was much more expensive but this one really works well and I love it. It boils water real quick and very easy to use too. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 3 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

A simple machine, well-conceived, for a good price

10/27/2011
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never wanted a cordless kettle. But when we remodeled our kitchen, our instant hot water device was disconnected. We are so accustomed to having boiling water on demand that we needed to find a substitute.
I researched all of the different options, keeping in mind that what I was looking for was a temporary solution. Most kettles are far more expensive, and many of them are illogical and possibly dangerous--they don't turn themselves off, or they don't have a detachable base, or you can't see the water you are putting in them, or you have to pour the water in through a little hole and can't easily clean them.
The Rival was ridiculously cheap in this field of competitors -- around $13. But it had a detachable base, auto-shutoff, a clear window you could look through to see the level of the water (and see it boil), and you can flip the top open pretty wide, so theoretically you could clean it.
The very top level kettles, like the Cuisinart for about $80, have stainless steel tanks, their heater coil (unlike the Rival and many others) is "hidden", meaning that you don't look into the middle of the kettle and see a big metal heating coil, and they have more complicated controls, presumably allowing you to hold the water hot for a measured length of time, or have it turn itself on in the morning automatically--things like that. If I were buying a kettle for permanent use, I'd probably spring for the Cuisinart -- it's better looking and I like the stainless steel.
However, there is just no contest when you are looking for an inexpensive, short term solution (or for that matter, for a permanent solution, because it looks like it would last forever). The Rival absolutely performed as promised. You flip the top open, pour the water in, you can see the water level through the side. The base is already plugged in -- you sit the pitcher on the base, flip the on/off switch, and it starts heating immediately.
It's really fast, going from cold water to boil in a very short time. You can hear it when it's boiling. Then you can lift off the pitcher from the base, and set it down on the table if you like, or pour and replace it. If it heats up all the way and you do nothing, it turns itself off. In other words, it simply does, and does well, everything any reasonable person would need in an electric kettle. Plus it's light, small, holds 1.7 liters of water (a good capacity) and not bad looking.
Although it is plastic, there is no plastic taste. The boiled water tastes absolutely neutral. They must have used a good type of plastic that doesn't leach much into the water, and that's a good thing.
If you are in the market for an inexpensive electric kettle that does everything it is supposed to do, and well, you will be very happy with this one. In my view, it blows away the competition in the $30+ range. The only thing I would have preferred would have been stainless steel interior, but frankly there is no taste difference. And also, I'm not entirely sure that many of the kettles that claim to be stainless steel are using the proper grade of stainless, say 304, to make a real difference. I would wager that most of them are using inferior grade stainless that will corrode, like the stuff on a cheap outdoor grill. So it is very possible that there is no advantage moving to the stainless here--the Rival kettle looks indestructible. It is a simple machine that is well-conceived, and offered at a very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I love this product!!
Posted 03/25/2012
I love this product!!! It is inexpensive, durable and really boils water to the right temperature for my Tea! Am just one of those people that have to make my black tea at a certain temperature to enjoy the full flavor. This kettle just boils water right! I also love the auto shut off. It is amazing. I have had mine for 6 months and very happy with it. In fact am so impressed with Rival products that I have bougt a crock pot( i love it) and a blender( I love it too!) . Am now waiting for them to make an all encompassing Food processor so I can buy it. I love how practical their products are. I think they listen to their customers.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

AWESOME WORTH EVERY PENNY !!!!

07/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this electric kettle a week ago and I just love it !! It works so fast it is amazing !!!
I definately recommend this product to everyone :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mt. Pleasant, IA
remove filter to clean,
Posted 03/14/2012
manual says to remove filter to clean but doesn't really specify where filter is located
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure about how I would like having and using an electric kettle. So spending $100+ was out of the question, yes they were stainless steel but way too much money for this household to spend on a iffy purchase. That was until I was shopping at Wal-Mart during the holidays and turned down the small appliance aisle to get to my next destination in the store. The price on this product caught my eye and my past experience with Rival products has been very good. I would recommend this product for anyone thinking they might want an electric kettle and are frugal. My only concern is how it will hold up to our hard water. Since I use it almost every day and even multiple times in one day, I will find out fast. Even if it doesn't I will buy another one for our camp trailer. My usage of this product was for hot beverages until one day I need a quick lunch and used it for the water in a cup of noodles...great use. So I would recommend this for college kids who live in dorms and even for families who eat instant oatmeal on a regular basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Love this kettle!

09/12/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kettle from Walmart for $12.84. and I love it.
It seats firmly on the base, it has a wide mouth and a visible element like kettles used to have.
It boils just as fast as other kettles, however, it is much quieter and sometimes I need to check to see if I actually pressed the button.
The fill viewing window is clear and it reaches a true boil before switching off.
My only question would be the two prong plug instead of the heavy duty three prong, but I assume that is because it is a lower wattage.
I have already bought another for a spare, and intend to buy another two or three when I see them in the store.
At $12.84, this is a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Fantastic item! Sooooo worth it!

09/04/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a short stay at a hotel for tea, hot chocolate, cup of soups etc... This thing heats up fast! Well worth the money. this product is perfect when you don't have a microwave. It also has a little filter at the top for loose tea, so you can boil the tea in it. The automatic shut down is great too, just in case you forget about it.
I was so happy with it, I use it everyday now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
10/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although cheap and somewate attractive,
You get what you pay for.
A leaky kettle that tends to stick to the base.
Kettle tends to leak and dribble a puddle as you pour.
Heating element is a difficult to clean, exposed coil near the bottom of the kettle.
There this no audible indicator so it can be difficult to tell if the water is done heating.
The switch and on indicator light are below the handle. The indicator light is very dim and hard to see. Even in a darkened room.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
Should shut off automatically
Posted 01/04/2012
Kettles of this type tend to boil very rapidly and shut themselves off. The lid must be closed because the air pressure inside is part of the switching mechanism that triggers the switch off. If yours is leaky then it may be damaged and the pressure does not build up enough to allow it to force off the switch. If it is working properly, then if you allowed the kettle to just continue running, you would be able to hear what it sounds like as it finishes and you would know in the future when it is finished.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

great kettle, great price

08/28/2011
By ,
Rocky Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kettle holds a lot of water and a compact size. The top flips open wide so you can get into it if need be. It looks good and works good, too.
I got it to take to hotels that don't have coffee makers during our Vegas trips to make coffee and oatmeal.
I took the time to see how long it takes to boil. Here are the results I got:
filled to the 1.7 capacity took less than 10 min. The auto off clicked off about a minute after that.
1 L took about 3.5 minutes.
fyi: I live in the mountains, about a mile high, and water takes longer to boil here.
I'm very happy with the new kettle and what a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 10 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

A+ Appliance!

09/11/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this little kettle for my room in my college townhouse so I can have easy and FAST access to hot water for instant coffee. I love its size and cordless aspect. Both the kettle and electric base are durable and well-made. The lid on the kettle has an easy-to-open latch to help keep the heat in. The spout has a removable screen that prevents any sediment or unwanted things getting into your mug or bowl. I also like that it automatically turns off when the water boils, but still maintains the content's temperature. So many convenient features for such a great price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Works great!!

01/10/2012
By ,
San Carlos, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this nice and light electric kettle to take to a 2-week trip. It worked really well for that purpose, and now I used it at work.
The lid is sort of tight, but it's manageable. Good price for something that functions so well and looks clean and nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Cheap item

03/10/2012
By ,
indianapolis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy a more expensive kettle than this one, then you will save more money because this one will not last for more than 6 months. I have used it for 8 month. The connection between the base and the kettle became loose, I must keep pressing on the top.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
03/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fast heating and automatic shutoff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Great Electric Kettle! My Favorite New Appliance!

12/16/2011
By ,
DC metro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This electric kettle is fabulous! It works like a charm, and priced at less than $13, it was a steal.
* Water boils very quickly. The minimum amount of water to put in is 0.75 liter (25 oz), which boils in about 3 minutes.
* The kettle is separate from the corded base, so you don't have to to deal w/ a dangling power cord when filling, cleaning and pouring from the kettle. And the base has space on the underside to hold the cord in wrap-around fashion for easy, no-cord-hassle transport.
* It automatically shuts off when water reaches a boil, which is a nice safety feature that some of the more expensive kettles don't have.
* It has a window w/ water level indicators (in liters) that show how much water you're putting in and where you need to stop, so water won't boil over, spill out and scald anyone.
* The hinged lid clicks when it's securely closed, so water pours neatly out of the spout and not off the sides, and it opens wide enough to fill and clean the kettle w/out any problems (unless you have large hands).
* Its 1.7 liter (57.5 oz) capacity is plenty to make several cups of tea, coffee, etc at one time.
* Although it's made of plastic, it does not give water a plastic taste.
Things to note/consider:
* It's a good idea to be gentle when pulling on the release handle to open the lid. The handle and the hinges are plastic and thin, and they might easily break or snap off if pulled on too hard.
* Since the kettle itself has an exposed electric plug at the bottom, do not submerge the kettle in water or use a dishwasher to clean it, to prevent electric shocks/shorts and damage to the kettle.
* The "feet" on the bottom of the kettle are only 1/16" high, so if you don't put the kettle back on the base after pouring, I recommend using a trivet when placing it on the table or counter, as heat is still emanating from the bottom and could ruin the table/counter top.
* The heating coil is exposed inside the kettle, so consider using filtered water to reduce the amount of calcification and the frequency of cleaning to remove mineral build-up. The instruction booklet doesn't say what type of metal the coil is made of, so I've been pouring out any remaining water as soon as I'm done and drying the kettle once it's cool, because there's no guarantee the coil won't rust if water is left sitting in the kettle on a regular basis.
* This is a plastic kettle, not an insulated thermos, so water doesn't stay hot or even warm for very long. But given that it heats up water so quickly, having hot water again in a jiffy isn't an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

DON'T BUY THIS!

02/12/2012
By ,
Western NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only a few months, this kettle began to fail. It would begin to heat and then just lose power. We had to hold the kettle in a certain position to keep the power going. Eventually, after owning it about half a year, one of the tabs in the base that connects with the kettle just broke off and we had to throw the whole thing away. The last kettle we had lasted years with no trouble (until we accidentally broke the glass kettle). I will never buy a kettle from Walmart again and will hesitate to buy any appliance there.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very good. Even though it's cheap, it has necessary functions such as auto off and wireless. Boiling is fast. I like size and design (I wanted not much big electric kettle). I ordered on online at night and pick it up in Walmart near from my house the next morning. I think that it's good merits when I use Walmart online shop. I usually use Walmart for glocery and other stuffs, it's convenient to pick up without delivery fee. There are also some delivery free products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Great for boiling water for baby bottles!

12/16/2011
By ,
Bridgeview, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this after it was recommended that I boil water-instead of using distilled or nursery water for my babys formula. No more watching water on the stove! I fill it, put it back on the base at let it work its magic. Not sure if someone mentioned it..but, it turns off automatically after its reached its boiling point. Great thing for a busy mom to have. Out of everything I have to do watching water boil is not one of them. :-) Get it you wont regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first electric kettle I have purchased so I have no other products to compare it to. It does heat water very fast and has a good size capacity. Very simple to use. Viewing window for water level large and easy to see. I have alway used a stove top kettle before but will definitely continue to use an electric kettle and will recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle
01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A perfect little kettle! It takes a bit to boil fully, but by that time it's usually super hot anyway, so if you turn it off a bit early it works perfectly as well. It's the perfect size and I love the automatic turn-off feature! The lid sticks a bit but it's really not a big deal. Over all, a wonderful decision for any tea/instant-oatmeal lover!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Rival 1.7L Cordless Electric Kettle

Greatest water boiler

01/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the greatest water boiler I have ever used. It's perfect for making hot water for coffee, tea, instant hot cereal, etc. Since all I wanted was to boil water, this is a lot better than an exposed coil, which can be dangerous. I have not had it long enough to testify about durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next