Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Get your outfits wrinkle free with the 1500-watt Hamilton Beach 19800 Iron. This electronic iron features an extra-large and Durathon nonstick soleplate that moves smoothly over various types of fabrics. The Hamilton Beach full-size Durathon iron delivers a powerful jet of steam that aids eliminate tough wrinkles. This Durathon nonstick iron also offers adjustable steam options to suit the kind of fabric being ironed. With the 3-way auto shut-off feature, the Hamilton Beach steam iron ensures maximum safety for the users. Other highlights of this spray steam iron include an extra-long 10' cord, auto cleaning, anti-drip technology, and easy soft-touch grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation75%43 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Did not get enough hot

10/05/2012
By ,
Miami
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy by use, not heavy but not get enough hot for jeans and other textile.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Nice looking, good weight, performs well.

10/12/2013
By ,
Coppell, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the look, feel and operation of this iron, especially at this price point. Feels solid, and the buttons have a nice tactile feel. Seems as nice as some of the irons costing twice as much or more. It is even better than some of the other irons in the Hamilton Beach line.
I like that the place to put the water has a door on it to prevent leaking. Has many useful features. Nice weight which aids in getting out wrinkles. Has variable steam lever, which some folks might think is nice. I usually just set to the extremes of on or off.
I have had problems with Hamilton Beach irons not lasting very long in the past, usually failing because of defective auto shutoff mechanism. I am keeping my fingers crossed that this one lasts a decent amount of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

LEAKS!!

03/22/2014
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one this iron leaks large amounts of water. Trust the other reviews about water leakage. Wish I read the reviews about this problem before I purchased in store.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 04/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach Full-size Durathon Iron. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Working fine

11/16/2013
By ,
Moultrie, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our old one was literally falling apart and leaving marks on our clothes. This one is working fine after owning it for about three weeks. I use the iron about 6 days a week. It was surprisingly heavy but that's not a problem for me. Although I would imagine someone with certain physical conditions might be concerned about the weight. The only thing I'm not sure about is the self cleaning option. The instructions say to hold the button down until the water reservoir is empty. It does spit and steam at first but it cools off and stops before the reservoir is empty. Its too early to tell if that self-cleaning feature will help prevent the hard water build up that happened with our old one. Its a huge improvement - almost any iron would have been.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

great

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l love the iron and the price for great,.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Excellent

03/26/2012
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an iron that was from the 1980's that still worked, but it wouldn't take the wrinkles out - not even with starch. So I looked for a new iron and saw that this one had good reviews and decided to buy it. This iron is excellent as it takes wrinkles out so well - you only have to iron one side of your clothes and you don't need starch. Best of all the price is VERY decent for the value. My only complaint is that the iron runs out of water quickly since it steams up so much and also the instruction manual says that you have to self clean the iron every time it gets used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Just in case, are you sure??
Posted 08/11/2012
If you read the description above it says "Auto Cleaning". Are you sure it doesn't mean "Self Clean" as in it cleans itself?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Best bang for your buck.

09/16/2012
By ,
Dallas Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my iron of two years went out, I got on Walmart.com and came accross this iron. This perticular iron caught my attention due high consumer rating and the fact that it was underneath my $30 budget for a iron. I had this iron for 3 months now and between my room mates and i, it gets used at least three times a day. The following is the good and bad.
Good
Heats up super fast within a minute. (1500w)
the ready to use notificaton loud enough where i can hear it downstairs.
does not drip on my clothes.
when refilling the tank with water it does spit water back out like my previous iron did.
Very solid feel to it and does not tip over very easy.
Good price
Bad
Only one still hot strip indacator on one side, needs two one for each side.
All in all this iron looks and feels like reliable iron that im going to keep for long time. I would recomend this iron to any one of my family members.
Fyi stay away from sharks went thru two of them within one return periond, which was a surprise because they certiantly not least expensive ones on the shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

For the price you can't beat it!

12/01/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great iron! It has many of the features found on a more expensive iron. My husband was amazed when I told him how much it costs. It works really well with little effort, and gets all the wrinkles out. He's suggesting that I buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

great little iron

01/09/2012
By ,
Marion, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron is everything and more. Great steam and control. All round good iron for price. Couldnt go wrong with this iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron
04/17/2012
By ,
Athens, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this iron because it had great reviews, but it did not work for me. It was too bulky and the handle was uncomfortable for my arthritic hands. It also being mostly plastic did not get hot enough for ironing jeans and other heavy fabric. I took it back and ordered the same type I had used for years from Black and Decker , a model made from stainless metal. .As they no longer have that iron in our local store I had to order site to store.I would not reccomend this iron unless you are doing only minimal ironing and have strong hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

I really enjoy this wonderful iron!

01/15/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron is so easy to use and the directions are wonderful. I like Hamilton Beach appliances so I knew that I would like this one as well. I would recommend it for anyone able to use one. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Good product for price

12/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought more expensive irons and they only last for a few months. I purchased this and it is an excellent product. I always turn the steam on and use spring water in it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Great Purchase

03/31/2012
By ,
Springfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this iron three weeks ago. I'm very happy with how it handles, steams and heats up fast. My last iron dripped when using the steam so I was very concerned the next one I purchased did not drip. This iron steams very nicely and noooo drips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

returning to the store

01/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The iron has many good features:it is light weight; the water spout was larger than most which made it easy to fill the reservoir; it had a good short burst steam amount; the longer cord is a plus. But the cons outweighed the pros: it leaked water (not just a couple of drops, but LARGE spots) onto my clothes at various times during ironing and almost every time using the short burst steam button; it continually made noise--a popping noise that had a metal sound to it, like it was re-amping the heat; the handle was a little large and bulky. So, for me I will be returning this iron and looking for something that does not drip water.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Great Iron

11/06/2013
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As long as you don't mind the power cord, this is a great iron. Heats quickly. Steams very well. Has 3 way auto shut off. Vertical steam. Can't beat it with a stick. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Did not last 6 months

04/07/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will no longer fully heat and leaks water so that the steam option is not functional any longer. Have had for about 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron
04/21/2012
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this iron because of the brand name. It does have some good design to it - I like that the opening for the water is covered so that dust particles will not filter in. But the angle to pour the water in is a bit awkward. It doesn't seem to get as hot as my previous iron and the steam doesn't work right away. And when it does work, it spits and sputter. The weight is acceptable. Of course, the fairly low cost was an added plus. I am very disappointed with the overall function of the product and can not fully recommend this particular iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Terrible iron ever

07/23/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This iron leaks constantly, it also turns itself off at anytime. The worst iron I have ever spent money on, I am returning this weekend. You get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Worthless Iron!

10/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this iron for about 7 months and now sometime it beeps and leaks and stops getting hot. I called the company for a replacement and since it has been over 90 days, I would have to pay shipping cost of about $12.50 which it doesn't state in the warranty. I will probably use the shipping cost for an iron that is made in America or Germany or maybe just go wrinkle!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Full-Size Durathon Iron

Said no drip technology included ... fail

08/08/2012
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The iron looks nice. That's about it. I bought the iron tonight and was looking forward to ironing with it. I use steam to help me with my ironing and as soon as the iron began to steam, it began leaking like crazy. Also, the "hot" indicator sticker was about to peel off. I saw all of the high ratings on this iron, and had hoped for a good replacement for my current iron since I press my clothes for the next day almost every night. I'm back to searching for a new iron since this one will be returned very soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next