Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

The Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle is a great addition to any busy kitchen or dorm room. This versatile electric kettle is a powerful appliance with 1500 watts for rapid boiling. The 360-degree cordless base and concealed heating element provide easy portability and protection from the heat. You'll avoid leaving the water kettle on for hours with an auto shut-off feature. Plus, the electric kettle's water level window allows you to visually measure the amount of water needed. Faster than a microwave, safer than a stovetop kettle — the Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.563 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%65 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

great

12/16/2012
By ,
okc ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought as a gift. my sister loved it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Stylish Kettle perks up my kitchen

09/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Cherry red electric cordless kettle is an attractive and useful addition to my kitchen. I use it several times a day for tea or coffee and even to add boiling water to a pot on the stove for pasta. It is so much faster than the stove.
I wanted a kettle large enough to serve tea to friends, and this is perfect for that occasion. It is also useful on a daily basis for my own tea needs. My only issue is that it requires 4 cups for a minimum boil, which is more than I need at a time usually. The cordless feature is delightful, and I've had no trouble with the base. Fill it up, set it down, and click it on---boiling hot water in minutes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Beutiful shape and color

07/25/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kettle is beautiful and functional. My wife ordered this online and was delivered to the store in about 1 week. She was very happy with it as it is exactly as pictured in the web site. She likes the shape and also the color is very nice. So far the finish has been durable and not easily scratched. The only downside might be that compared to the previous plastic kettle we had, this is slightly heavier, not as easy to see how much water is inside, and slightly noisier when boiling compared to a plastic kettle. These are all very minor points and I would still buy and recommend this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Not good for people with weak hands

05/28/2012
By ,
Salisbury, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The design of this kettle did not take into account people with weak hands. The balance of the pot is front heavy and the handle is to thick for a good grip. Since you can't use a second hand to help you (the kettle is hot), it hurts my hand and causes problems fillings & pouring the kettle.
The kettle does what it is supposed to do. It is fast. We do not have any problems with the functionality of the kettle.
People with arthritis or weak hands should look elsewhere because of the balance problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fl
Posted 06/24/2013
1.7 Liter kettle filled with water will weigh about 5lb regardless of design.
If you have weak/small hands buy smaller kettle.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Works Well

08/02/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kettle works well and looks great. No metalic taste. The only problem I have with the kettle is it doesn't lock or fit securely on the heating base. Just be careful when putting it on the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Good product with few cons

09/29/2012
By ,
Whitestone, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like this electric kettle. Took me a while to decide on it, I read a ton of reviews online. I think for the price it is a great value. I love the design, it's very cute! I really wanted to get it in red, but it was available only in silver at the time of my purchase. It does what it says, boils water. However, the features that I don't like are the opening for the water and the time it takes to boil it. The botton on the handle opens up the top to pour water through, but it doesn't open all the way which makes it hard to pout water. I don't drink tap water so I guess it's easier for me to pour from a bottle, but I did try to boil tap water and had trouble filling it from the sink.
The second thing that I'm not too happy about is the time it takes to boil water. If it's full it can take literally 5 minutes. Maybe this is a norm for electric kettles, but my previous one (Krups) would take only a minute to two to get the job done. That one lasted me about 5 years. So in comparisson to my old one this one does take forever to boil water.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle
08/02/2011
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my mother in-law to replace another one from a different company that had broken. She loves this one. She loves the design better than the other brand and the rich color. It works just as designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Very nice kettle

11/03/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the looks of the kettle. It heats water quite fast. The things I don't care for are the fact that you have to heat a minimum of one liter and it is hard to see the water level because the see-through area is behind the handle and the water doesn't show up very well. Otherwise, I think it's great. I can't rate durability since I've only had it a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Does the job.

12/25/2011
By ,
Mankato, Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good kettle, only problem is the lid isn't as tight as it should be and it can pop open if your not careful with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

The perfect ELECTRIC kettle

08/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kettle is v good for america, better than the ones i have seen america make with no shut off system.. who make electric kettle with not shut off system??
Anyway is ideal if you are a tea drinker in america, yes it shut off when water boils.. smashing!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Great Kettle

04/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well & I like the color. Water level indicator easy to read, it automatically shuts itself off after the water boils & beeps to let you know its done. Its faster than a tradditional kettle. The only thing I don't like is that it's very difficult to manually clean the inside & get all the way down to the bottom without a sponge-on-a-stick type thing (the manufacturer recommends you boil a pot of water with a teaspoon of tartar sauce to clean the bottom). You definitely need to boil 3 or 4 pots of water before drinking out of it to eliminate the 'new' smell. All-in-all its a great kettle & I'm glad I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Boils so fast your head spins!

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I drink a lot of tea. We purchased this pot so that we wouldn't waste as much energy and time boiling a pot on our gas stove. This pot boils water very quickly. It's a great color and shape (sort of retro looking).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Quality electric kettle

03/21/2013
By ,
Plant City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kettle because I really enjoy good tea, and grew accustomed to having one when I lived in the Levant (Middle East). I didn't like the cheap plastic ones, because of the risk of BPAs leaching into the water, which also taints the taste. The reservoir is made completely of stainless steel, with the heat coming from the baseplate in the bottom. The only contact with plastic is through the water level window in the handle, and the company asserts that all of the plastics used in its construction are BPA-free.
The fill port hinges up, and is easy enough to fill with water, and there's a removable filter built into the pour spout, to reduce hard water deposits getting into your beverage. (Using a Brita or Pur filter for your source water solves this problem, and improves the taste anyway). It automatically shuts off when it reaches a boil (with the fill port closed), so you can set it and forget it for the most part. It brings up to 1.7L of water to a full boil in a matter of minutes. There's no temperature adjustment, but you don't get what you don't pay for. I simply listen to the "rumble" of the boil to estimate water temperature if I'm drinking more delicate teas (white, mate, etc.)
This is a great value, and an excellent alternative to heating water in the microwave (faster, but removes the oxygen from the water, making it very tasteless), or heating it on the stove (very slow, energy inefficient, and prone to overheating/no shutoff feature)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Love it!

06/21/2012
By ,
Sterling Heights, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked out the reviews before purchasing which strongly influenced my decision to buy. The price is right and it looks sleek and modern. Very tasteful design - mine is the silver stainless color. Works very well. Quick boil time. Has filter in spout which can be cleaned with water and a toothbrush (according to instructions). It's supposed to collect the mineral deposits. That is something I never liked about electric kettles - the deposit build-up - but we'll see how this one holds up. So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Simply Perfect!

11/19/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A perfect kettle in a fantastic color. Works like a charm and looks fantastic. I love the smaller size, this is replacing a much more expensive larger electric kettle and I love this one even more. The size is perfect and it will be a staple for serving warm drinks this winter. Looks great on the counter too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle
03/14/2012
By ,
INDIANA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and fast and a pretty pot. Its a little awkward to fill and the sight glass is hard to see.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Excellent for boiling water immediately!

11/19/2012
By ,
Philadelphia PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this lovely kettle in stainless steel and walmart sent it for me to my mother-in-law for one of her Christmas Gifts-she loves it!! She was busy boiling water on the stove running up her bills-this does it within no time and she is in awe!!!! Thanks Walmart for making her happy!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Perfect for the forgetful person

04/14/2012
By ,
Steamboat
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kettle heats water very quickly and shuts off automatically. Its perfect for my husband who notoriously would leave a pot of water boiling until there was no water left in the pot. It makes a loud noise when the water starts to boil, but it performs beautifully.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle

Very Useful

03/17/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use a lot of hot water for coffee, douse our kitchen sink drains and sponge, and make warm supplement water with our filtered cold water. The pot heats very quickly. We like the design and short cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 1.7-Liter Electric Kettle
12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best things I have gotten. No more heating water in the microwave or on the stove. Water heats very quickly and automatically turns off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next