Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

The Hamilton Beach The Scoop Coffeemaker goes where no coffeemaker has gone before, brewing hotter, faster and better-tasting coffee than most gourmet machines out there. Its benefits don't stop there. This single-cup coffee maker utilizes the simplicity of ground coffee and brews a customizable cup quickly: an eight-ounce cup in less than 90 seconds or a 14-ounce travel mug in under two-and-a-half minutes. Aside from its versatility in using inexpensive coffee grounds to brew a great-tasting cup, this Hamilton Beach coffeemaker is designed for ultra-simple preparation in three straight forward steps: scoop, place and brew! It features a steel mesh scoop for filtering freshly ground coffee and comes with a built-in, adjustable stand that flips to accommodate a standard-size cup or a taller travel mug. All in all, this coffeemaker offers affordability and no fuss with lots of options. There's no need for extra equipment or high-tech buttons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.127 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(552 Reviews) 506
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
336
4 stars
96
3 stars
38
2 stars
18
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation83%458 out of 551reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 480 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
336
4 stars
96
3 stars
38
2 stars
18
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Loving It So Far......

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this one cup Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel for several days now and I can't rave enough about it. No paper filters to use and the time it takes to make a cup of coffee out beats the Bunn I have been using. I was so amazed at how fast it made coffee and the coffee taste better then any other coffee maker I have used and I have used the top of the line. I use the Bold option on it. I have gotten about 13 0z from it anymore then that it will run over, but hey it makes it so fast that you can just turn around and make another cup. The clean up is fast and easy, it takes maybe a few minutes and not only does it make the best coffee and I use Walmart's decaf brand to boot, its style and color is so stylish also. The mark down price is just icing on the deal. I wanted to get it last year, but the price I thought was to pricy, but if I knew how well it made coffee I would have paid it gladly. Would I recommend it to others " you bet."
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great little coffeemaker!

11/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups.
The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee.
NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker!
1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY.
2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees.
Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+236points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
The brewing temp is 185 degrees
Posted 08/23/2014
If you remove the scoop, filters and filter holder, then run it an measure the temp of the hot water without the scoop present, the temp is 185. That is how hot the water is before it is cooled by going through the coffee, filters, and filter holder.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.

12/28/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee.
The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there.
We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups.
This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea.
I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

I'm glad I did not listen to bad reviews of this.

01/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I waited after Christmas before I decided to buy this from Walmart (online store); after I read quite a few reviews posted at other popular online seller. Two or three buyers wrote their coffee tasted like plastic, but I solved the problem buy running vinegar through it two times, and using the same vinegar in boiling at medium heat the rest of the removable scoop and filter. At this discounted price of coffee brewer, I could save a bundle compared to buying that other stainless steel coffee maker that costs too much for a single cup coffee. The water temperature is what the experts on coffee making recommended. For best tasting coffee, water temperature should be between 195 to 205 degree-F, and as I measured the water temp, this coffee maker gave me that water temperature measured by our oven thermometer. After two weeks, the coffee started to overflow from the scoop before I discovered that I forgot to clean the lower plastic funnel below the scoop/filter as the enclosed literature recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

THIS IS IDEAL FOR MAKING SINGLE CUPS OF COFFEE.

11/27/2013
By ,
Clearwater, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS AFTER MY OLD COFFEEMAKER QUIT ON ME. GREAT PRICE AND VERY QUICK SHIPMENT TO MY FRONT DOOR. THIS SOMEHOW MAKES A MUCH BETTER TASTING COFFEE THAN MY OLD MACHINE AND I USE THE SAME COFFEE IN THIS AS I DID IN THE OLD MACHINE.
CLEANUP TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES AND ALL THAT CHROME MAKES IT LOOK MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT IS. I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT COME WITH A LARGE MATCHING COFFEE CUP SO I AM USING MY OLD CUP THAT DOES NOT QUITE MATCH THE DECOR. IT DOES COME WITH TWO SCOOPS AND HAS A HANDY NOTCH ON THE SIDE TO HANG YOUR SCOOP AND KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER. VERY QUICK IN PRODUCING A HOT, GREAT TASTING CUP OF COFFEE. HAS NO ALARM TO TELL YOU ITS READY. VERY EASY TO SWITCH FROM LARGE TO SMALL COFFEE CUPS. ONLY USES LOOSE COFFEE, BUT I SUPPOSE YOU COULD CUT OPEN PREPACKED CUPS AND POUR INTO THE SCOOP. IT DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO VERY WELL. GETS MY RECOMMENDATION.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
penn yan
question
Posted 12/05/2013
this looks like what i want but wondering if you can use the little cup things of coffee that are already messured out/ just drop them in lie the more expensive systems//
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Absolutely the best single serve on the market!!

10/12/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+428points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wentzville, MO
I would not buy this without investigating further
Posted 08/06/2013
First the cost is outrageous for what you are getting.
1. over $60.00 for single serve that uses the exact amount of coffee I used in by 12 cup coffee maker.
2. no timer, no clock just very plain
3. the coffee does not taste as good as it did with the regular coffeemaker but cost twice as much.
4. No warmer, if you happen to be interrupted as the coffee finishes you have to warm the coffee in the microwave.
5. I just found the receipt and if I kept the box I will return this and find something a bit more flexible for less cost.
Definitely not a keeper for me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Not happy
Posted 04/21/2013
Although it was fairly good, it makes coffee so fast you need to use more coffee grounds even by using the stronger setting. I am returning mine.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great little product

12/31/2011
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage.
I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops.
The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect single-cup coffeemaker

12/29/2013
By ,
Morehead, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research, I purchased this coffeemaker to use when my brother visits. I drink decaf and he does not. If one of us was using the 12-cup coffeemaker, the other would have to wait or pour their coffee into a thermal carafe so the other of us could use the coffeemaker. Problem solved with "The Scoop".
I love this coffeemaker. It is simple to use and performs exactly as stated in the user manual. The coffee is hot and tastes good. Clean up is a breeze. My only suggestion is to use a paper filter if you don't like a bit of "sludge" in your coffee. I cut little circles out of a larger filter and use it in the secondary filter underneath the filter basket and it works great. I have noticed that small filters are sold for making your own K-cups but my solution works just as well. I couldn't be happier with this coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great Single Cup Brewer

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffeemaker is great for single cup use. Since I am the only one who drinks coffee in my house it is ideal for me. I had the more popular (and expensive) single cup brewer, and used my own coffee with that one anyway. I like this one because it gives you a guide on the scoop as to how much coffee to add for each cup. The base is adjustable to fit the mug you like and it has settings for regular or bold which allows you to adjudt for your own taste. The only thing I didn't like is that the water reservoir only holds water for one cup, so you must add water each use. The other brand has a water reservior that allows for multiple cups, but this is a minor inconvenience since I only make one cup a day. Using filtered water I haven't seen the taste of the coffee decline from using the other brand. I would definitely recommend as a single cup brewer that is relatively inexpensive.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Excellent Coffee Maker

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have own this coffee maker in the past & decided to get one for our travel trailer. My husband & I drink two different kinds of coffee & we make it a cup at a time. It is so much better than making a pot of coffee as it saves us money making exactly what we drink with no waste of throwing away left over coffee. We both live it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect for my needs

10/09/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a single-serve coffee brewer for my piano studio. This meets my needs perfectly; it is small, simple, easy to clean, uses regular coffee grounds, has its own filter, and fits any mug I might choose to use. It shuts off as soon as the coffee is made, so I don't have to worry about it accidentally leaving it on. It dispenses right into my thermal mug that I like to use, which I then place the lid on it and I don't have to worry about spills. It cost more than I would have liked to spend, but there really was no other coffeemaker that I could find that had the exact features I needed. I expect that over time I will save enough money not buying special pods or filters so that the savings will offset the initial cost of the coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Love this coffee maker!

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+220points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee

12/31/2011
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Absolutely Perfect

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is perfect as a one cup option. Makes the coffee very quick, is very quiet and can be used with any size cup. I don't use the scoop regularly, fearful it will taste like the strainer, but it is made of metal mesh, not plastic and when I did use it, it left no after taste in the coffee. You can use a paper filter in it if folded, and the coffee still tastes great. I love the drip pan at the bottom, clean up is a breeze. Cheaper online than in the stores, a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Why all the fanfare?!

01/31/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am really confused over all of the 5-star ratings over this coffeemaker. I was so excited to try it and (based on the reviews) felt so confident that this was the one for me (researched quite a bit) that I threw the original packaging away! It is terrible. I drink Peet's coffee brand, the bold type. I used less water and a full scoop and still it came out like water. I won't waste my Peet's but I'm sure if I were to use a full scoop, with only 3 tablespoons of water my coffee would still come out tasting like water. I'm not too upset because the cost did not break the bank, but come on guys - 5 or even 4 stars for a very weak coffee experience? Real coffee drinkers need to taste their money's worth. Sorry, Hamilton Beach but this product is incapable of doing that.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

good coffee maker

02/22/2012
By ,
Soap Lake Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker because I like fresh hot coffee, and I had been using one of those plastic cups you put a filter in and pouring hot water through that was heated on the stove. With that said I like the basic idea of the coffee maker, its good but not great.problems are #1 its messy,splashes, #2 it uses too much coffe tomake agood cup,and often all the grounds are not wet,the water doesnt stay in the coffee basket long enough. Two solutions, 1 put a small round filter in coffee basket, or 2 I sometimes used the above mentioned plastic cup with filter to run hot water from coffee machine through. This takes care of the third problem of gritty coffee in your cup by using a better filter. To overcome the coffee not being hot enough, run your cup under hot water to preheat it. Ido this with most coffee makers. Overall its a good machine though not great,and it is fairly fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Coffee as you like it!

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, fast, efficiently, can choose the strength and whatever coffee you like. Makes perfect sense. Easy clean up too. Ours was a gift and we recommended this one to a friend. Got to try it! And the price is right. No waste, makes one cup at a time in just a matter of seconds. Enjoy, we have.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great tasting coffee and SO convenient!!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is the one I have been looking for!! I have tried and sent back 3 expensive coffee machines before finding this gem. I am the only one drinking coffee on a daily basis, so I was wasting alot of coffee. This machine isn't wasteful and is quick! When I have company over and they want coffee, no worries! It is very convenient to make a fresh cup every time!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Easy to use

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super easy to use. Easy to clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

single cup acheiver

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this coffee maker a couple of weeks. So far.....I.....LOVE IT! I got tired of making pots of coffee that after the first cup, started deteriorating into burnt coffee h3// and throwing it away. Forget about finding a great tasting instant coffee. This coffee maker is great. It can make a steaming hot travel mug size cup in just a few minutes. The ground holding cup is easy to use (no K cups = less $) So far this is a great purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 507 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next