Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

The Hamilton Beach The Scoop Coffeemaker goes where no coffeemaker has gone before, brewing hotter, faster and better-tasting coffee than most gourmet machines out there. Its benefits don't stop there. This single-cup coffee maker utilizes the simplicity of ground coffee and brews a customizable cup quickly: an eight-ounce cup in less than 90 seconds or a 14-ounce travel mug in under two-and-a-half minutes. Aside from its versatility in using inexpensive coffee grounds to brew a great-tasting cup, this Hamilton Beach coffeemaker is designed for ultra-simple preparation in three straight forward steps: scoop, place and brew! It features a steel mesh scoop for filtering freshly ground coffee and comes with a built-in, adjustable stand that flips to accommodate a standard-size cup or a taller travel mug. All in all, this coffeemaker offers affordability and no fuss with lots of options. There's no need for extra equipment or high-tech buttons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(471 Reviews) 425
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
286
4 stars
82
3 stars
32
2 stars
17
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation83%389 out of 470reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 472 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
286
4 stars
82
3 stars
32
2 stars
17
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Loving It So Far......

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this one cup Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel for several days now and I can't rave enough about it. No paper filters to use and the time it takes to make a cup of coffee out beats the Bunn I have been using. I was so amazed at how fast it made coffee and the coffee taste better then any other coffee maker I have used and I have used the top of the line. I use the Bold option on it. I have gotten about 13 0z from it anymore then that it will run over, but hey it makes it so fast that you can just turn around and make another cup. The clean up is fast and easy, it takes maybe a few minutes and not only does it make the best coffee and I use Walmart's decaf brand to boot, its style and color is so stylish also. The mark down price is just icing on the deal. I wanted to get it last year, but the price I thought was to pricy, but if I knew how well it made coffee I would have paid it gladly. Would I recommend it to others " you bet."
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.

12/28/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee.
The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there.
We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups.
This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea.
I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great little coffeemaker!

11/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups.
The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee.
NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker!
1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY.
2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees.
Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+236points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
The brewing temp is 185 degrees
Posted 08/23/2014
If you remove the scoop, filters and filter holder, then run it an measure the temp of the hot water without the scoop present, the temp is 185. That is how hot the water is before it is cooled by going through the coffee, filters, and filter holder.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

single cup acheiver

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this coffee maker a couple of weeks. So far.....I.....LOVE IT! I got tired of making pots of coffee that after the first cup, started deteriorating into burnt coffee h3// and throwing it away. Forget about finding a great tasting instant coffee. This coffee maker is great. It can make a steaming hot travel mug size cup in just a few minutes. The ground holding cup is easy to use (no K cups = less $) So far this is a great purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

THIS IS IDEAL FOR MAKING SINGLE CUPS OF COFFEE.

11/27/2013
By ,
Clearwater, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS AFTER MY OLD COFFEEMAKER QUIT ON ME. GREAT PRICE AND VERY QUICK SHIPMENT TO MY FRONT DOOR. THIS SOMEHOW MAKES A MUCH BETTER TASTING COFFEE THAN MY OLD MACHINE AND I USE THE SAME COFFEE IN THIS AS I DID IN THE OLD MACHINE.
CLEANUP TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES AND ALL THAT CHROME MAKES IT LOOK MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT IS. I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT COME WITH A LARGE MATCHING COFFEE CUP SO I AM USING MY OLD CUP THAT DOES NOT QUITE MATCH THE DECOR. IT DOES COME WITH TWO SCOOPS AND HAS A HANDY NOTCH ON THE SIDE TO HANG YOUR SCOOP AND KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER. VERY QUICK IN PRODUCING A HOT, GREAT TASTING CUP OF COFFEE. HAS NO ALARM TO TELL YOU ITS READY. VERY EASY TO SWITCH FROM LARGE TO SMALL COFFEE CUPS. ONLY USES LOOSE COFFEE, BUT I SUPPOSE YOU COULD CUT OPEN PREPACKED CUPS AND POUR INTO THE SCOOP. IT DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO VERY WELL. GETS MY RECOMMENDATION.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
penn yan
question
Posted 12/05/2013
this looks like what i want but wondering if you can use the little cup things of coffee that are already messured out/ just drop them in lie the more expensive systems//
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Absolutely the best single serve on the market!!

10/12/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+389points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wentzville, MO
I would not buy this without investigating further
Posted 08/06/2013
First the cost is outrageous for what you are getting.
1. over $60.00 for single serve that uses the exact amount of coffee I used in by 12 cup coffee maker.
2. no timer, no clock just very plain
3. the coffee does not taste as good as it did with the regular coffeemaker but cost twice as much.
4. No warmer, if you happen to be interrupted as the coffee finishes you have to warm the coffee in the microwave.
5. I just found the receipt and if I kept the box I will return this and find something a bit more flexible for less cost.
Definitely not a keeper for me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Not happy
Posted 04/21/2013
Although it was fairly good, it makes coffee so fast you need to use more coffee grounds even by using the stronger setting. I am returning mine.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

one scoop coffee pot

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having a fresh cup of hot coffee in the morning, or two or three. I love this coffee pot. I used to get lukewarm coffee from my other coffee pot and used to make it hotter in the microwave so I can drink it hot. Not with my new one scoop. It makes my coffee perfect tasting and nice and hot
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Best single serve coffee maker ever!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son and he loves it! Easy to use and clean!
I have a Kerig K cup for myself but after trying his Hamilton Beach single cup using coffee grounds instead of K cups, I wish I would of got that for myself!
Way cheaper to use coffee grounds instead of K cups!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great little product

12/31/2011
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage.
I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops.
The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect single-cup coffeemaker

12/29/2013
By ,
Morehead, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research, I purchased this coffeemaker to use when my brother visits. I drink decaf and he does not. If one of us was using the 12-cup coffeemaker, the other would have to wait or pour their coffee into a thermal carafe so the other of us could use the coffeemaker. Problem solved with "The Scoop".
I love this coffeemaker. It is simple to use and performs exactly as stated in the user manual. The coffee is hot and tastes good. Clean up is a breeze. My only suggestion is to use a paper filter if you don't like a bit of "sludge" in your coffee. I cut little circles out of a larger filter and use it in the secondary filter underneath the filter basket and it works great. I have noticed that small filters are sold for making your own K-cups but my solution works just as well. I couldn't be happier with this coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee

12/31/2011
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Perfect for my needs

10/09/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a single-serve coffee brewer for my piano studio. This meets my needs perfectly; it is small, simple, easy to clean, uses regular coffee grounds, has its own filter, and fits any mug I might choose to use. It shuts off as soon as the coffee is made, so I don't have to worry about it accidentally leaving it on. It dispenses right into my thermal mug that I like to use, which I then place the lid on it and I don't have to worry about spills. It cost more than I would have liked to spend, but there really was no other coffeemaker that I could find that had the exact features I needed. I expect that over time I will save enough money not buying special pods or filters so that the savings will offset the initial cost of the coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Love this coffee maker!

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+196points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Versitle machine

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is actually the second one I have purchased. The 1st one I took to work to use there, and the second one is home. It allows you to set the amount of coffee and water you use. The basket where you put the grounds is metal, and looks like a 1/3 size measuring cup. There is a handle on the cup that stays cool to touch, so no more burnt fingers trying to lift a k-cup out. You can use the k-cups if you open and pour into the basket. The drain tray is removable to change the height for a standard coffee mug, or a tall travel mug. The machine is easy to clean, I have given away the other 3 coffee makers I had as I no longer want to use them. This one is also compact, so it doesn't take up much space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great coffee maker !

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a single cup coffee maker after , my K cup unit went up . I read some very good reviews about scoop by Hamilton Beach Make a much hotter cup of coffee then other units .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

looks good, but

11/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It really looks good on the counter top but, you put a cup of water in and only get half a cup of coffee out. Then you have to drain the remaining water by turning it upside down.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

HEATING ELEMENT AFTER TASTE STILL AFTER 15 BREWS

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MY SON HAS ONE OF THESE & I THOUGHT I'D GET ONE TOO BUT I NEVER GOT ONE GOOD CUP OF COFFEE OR TEA AFTER RUNNING WATER THRU 10 TIMES. COFFEE HAD AN AFTER TASTE OF THE HEATING ELEMENT. RAN JUST WATER FOR A HOT TEA SAME THING. I RETURNED IT. COULD HAVE BEEN A ONE TIME THING BUT I HAD TO OREDER IT & RETURN IT SO YOU MIGHT GET A GOOD ONE BUT FOR ME IT LEFT A BAD TASTE IN MY MOUTH TO TRY AGAIN.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Great way to wake up

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super fast coffee maker. You can use tall travel mugs or regular cups. Looks nice too
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Nice machine for a single cup of coffee or tea

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased The Scoop when my Keurig began to make weird noises and produce random size cups of coffee. I seldom used the pods with my Keurig and opted for the "use your own coffee" adapters, therefore The Scoop was an obvious choice for me.
So far, after 2 weeks of use, I love it. It is very simple to use and easy to clean up. My wife rarely used the Keurig to make tea, but she has already used The Scoop several times and commented how she liked the larger size of the scoop and its ability to hold more loose tea leaves than the Keurig adapters.
For those who dislike the sludge in the bottom of their mug, there is an easy solution - just take a few 10 cup coffee filters, flatten them out, and cut them in quarters. Place a quarter filter in between the scoop and the secondary screen and you get clean coffee! Simple and cheap.
I read a lot of reviews before I purchased The Scoop - I have not had any issues with water temperature or water levels with my machine. The water comes out plenty hot and I always get the amount that I put in. I did notice a hint of plastic taste at first, but it disappeared after cleaning the coffee maker with vinegar and water. I would recommend cleaning it with vinegar/water as soon as you pull it out of the box.
I like the machine so much that I'm getting a second one for my office at work.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel

Fantastic

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful wonderful coffee pot ! I have bought three thru the years, to use in different houses. I recommend it over any. There are 3 of us that drink coffee and it fixes each cup so fast. We don't use a regular coffee pot any more, no waste of coffee being poured out.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 426 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next