Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

The Nikon D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time auto focus.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(693 Reviews) 681
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
544
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation94%649 out of 693reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
544
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Surprisingly good

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years i have been using an Olympus DSLR and have gotten adequate pictures from it. I got the Nikon as a test. Actually i got it from Walmart because of their generous return policy because i did not think there would be much difference.
I could not have been more wrong! The picture quality of the Nikon is orders of magnitude better than my Olympus. Spend the extra bucks and get the Nikon. It is really worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Review 2 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

This thing is AWESOME!

06/12/2013
By ,
Shelby, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE my new camera! I take it everywhere with me! The on time, (from being off to switching on and photo ready), is great, so you won't have to worry about missing those "perfect photo" moments. Lots of customization capabilities and a big perk for me, since I'm a beginner, is that the Auto mode works like a charm! Its great!
I'm going to include a couple photos I took while hiking Mt. Mitchell, NC, taken in landscape mode and with the 18-55mm lens that is normally included with this camera.
The autofocus is my best friend hahaha, but you've got a choice for manual or auto focus, plus, Nikon has tons of lenses to experiment with! Ahh! So exciting!
Overall, I couldn't be happier with my purchase... If you're stuck on the fence between cameras, I highly, highly recommend this camera. Its great for the price and you won't be let down!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

outstanding "prothusiast" D-SLR

05/07/2011
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, it's important to understand where the D5100 fits in Nikon's capabilities. It is considered a "high-end enthusiast" D-SLR which means that it shares the same image sensor as the high-end D7000 without some of the higher-end features. If you're like me, very few of the D7000's features justify its extra cost and weight. The D5100 offers nearly the same image quality as its bigger brother in a less-expensive, smaller package, while adding a few tricks the D7000 doesn't have including an articulating display that helps you frame hard-to-reach spots.
Compared to its lesser-priced but still excellent brother the D3100, the D5100 offers improved image quality, speed, and resolution, along with a higher-resolution articulating display. For me, this is the sweet spot in Nikon's consumer D-SLR offerings.
The 18-55VR (3x) f3.5-f5.6 kit lens provides surprisingly good performance and image quality, although you'll likely outgrow it quickly. I have uploaded a few sample images taken with the D5100 and 18-55VR to show its performance and surprisingly good bokeh (pattern of blurred background) in large-aperture and macro shots.
For lens upgrades that include an AF-S autofocus motor, if you don't mind changing lenses, the Nikon 55-200VR is an outstanding value with excellent image quality, or consider the Nikon 18-105VR (5.8x) lens included with the D7000. If you don't mind some distortion and image softness, the 18-200 VRII (18x) lens may be your perfect "walkabout" lens. For me, I bought the pricey but outstanding Nikon 16-85mm VRII. Don't forget the Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8 (if you can find it).
Low-light performance is outstanding with this camera, and the level of detail captured by the D5100 is excellent, even at higher ISOs. You're best capturing in RAW or RAW+JPEG mode (three different JPEG compression levels are offered) if you need to go back and fine-tune exposure or other settings after the shot. Nikon also offers "Active D-Lighting" which is a highly effective method for improving dynamic range of a photo to equalize the difference between high and low-light areas of a photo.
Interestingly, the improvement in image quality compared to my D5000 isn't dramatic. Given the incredible improvement I saw when upgrading from my Nikon D60 to the D5000 perhaps I had unrealistic expectations for this new sensor. But in most image settings, even low light, the improvement is noticeable but subtle. That speaks more for the outstanding quality and low-light sensitivity of the D5000 sensor (which is shared with the D90) than it speaks against the D5100. With the D5100 you get higher resolution for improved cropping, and the 14-bit RAW images offer greater dynamic range for more flexibility after the shot is taken.
Speaking of RAW format, as with any new camera, there is a bit of a wait until updates are available for your favorite camera software. Both Nikon and Adobe have recently added support for the D5100 RAW files, so you can use Nikon View NX2 (v2.1.1 and later), Nikon Capture NX2 (v2.2.7 and later), Lightroom 3 or Photoshop CS5 (via Adobe Camera RAW 6.4 or later). Apple Aperture and iPhoto will have to wait for the next Apple RAW update.
Compared to my D5000, Nikon has gone back and addressed most of my concerns on ergonomics and performance:
- camera body is roughly 10% smaller and 10% lighter
- 16.2 megapixel CMOS DX-format image sensor (shared with D7000) captures 14-bit RAW images and offers +1fs greater low-light sensitivity
- ISO 100-6400 range with expansion to 25,600 ISO (D5000 minimum is 200 and expansion to 12,300)
- high resolution (920k pixel) display for greater detail in image previews (although I had to bump up the default brightness one notch for accuracy)
- side-mounted articulating display no longer interferes with tripod (the D5000 display is inconveniently hinged at the bottom)
- dramatically improved (now usable!) LiveView mode with continuous autofocus even in HD video mode (more on that later)
- full HD 1080p movie capture without the "jelly effect", in more standard H.264 mode up to 22 min (D5000 is AVI format 720p up to 5min)
- slightly better control position (LiveView is now a rocker switch on the mode dial, Video Record is just behind and to the left of the shutter release)
- significantly quieter shutter release (plus, a "Quiet Mode" is available although hardly necessary)
- faster performance (4 frames per second)
- SDXC compliant supports higher capacity cards
- remote control sensor on rear now in addition to front-mounted sensor
- improved battery life, and an improved battery release
- battery charger now has built-in collapsable plug instead of requiring separate power cord
- MUCH better eyecap design no longer comes off in my small Nikon camera bag; also an improved diopter (eyeglass) control
- additional in-camera editing capabilities, including ability to trim video
- new "gimmick" special effects: in-camera HDR, selective color, night vision, etc
Let's start with the display - moving the hinge to the side not only makes the articulating display usable with a tripod, it makes the camera body shorter, so that it matches the height of most popular Nikon DX-format lenses and no longer leans forward when set down on a table as the D5000 did. It makes a surprising improvement in shooting comfort also. Nikon has improved the rubberized grip of the body and the thumb rest in the rear, although some have said that the grip is a bit shallow for larger hands. For my average-sized hands it is very comfortable.
In summary, I'm quite happy with the D5100. It provides the optimal balance of top image quality (even in low light), lightweight and compact (for a D-SLR) body, articulating display (the only D-SLR from Nikon to have this), and HD video (not perfect) that can leverage the outstanding collection of Nikon lenses (understanding that only AF-S lenses will autofocus).
Notable comparison with the higher-end D7000:
- same 16.2megapixel image sensor with 14-bit RAW image capture for outstanding dynamic range, low-light performance, and detail
- ruggedized plastic body lacks weather seal (it's also smaller and lighter weight)
- no builtin focus motor for older lenses (you'll need to buy an AF-S lens if you want autofocus)
- fewer autofocus zones (11 vs 39) and lower-resolution matrix meter
- pentamirror viewfinder (smaller, not as bright, 95% coverage) vs pentaprism viewfinder (100% coverage)
- no flash commander mode (unless you buy an external flash with TTL triggering)
- slower continuous performance (4 vs 6fps)
- 1 SD card slot instead of 2
- no top-mounted LCD display
- fewer dedicated controls for advanced settings (you must use the menu system more frequently)
Notable comparison with the lower-end D3100:
- higher resolution 16.2megapixel sensor with 14-bit depth
- high resolution (920k pixel vs 230k) display, articulating for hard- to-view shots
- higher low-light sensitivity
- faster performance (4fps vs 3fps)
- better battery performance (660 vs 550 images on the same EN-EL14 battery
- slightly larger and heavier body
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+235points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Excellent review and detailed info.
Posted 02/18/2012
I was viewing this comment on my tablet & mistakenly "touched" report inappropriate comments. This was definitely a mistake! The comments & extremely detailed info is greatly appreciated! I have been struggling with my decision of which Nikon DSLR to get & after reading this review I will be getting the D5100. Thank you for all of the details of your review especially the technical as I needed to know all of that to make my decision. Your review is sincerely appreciated!
0points
Customer Avatar
north carolina
question for you PTNDSLR
Posted 09/12/2011
does this camera allow you to load pics on to your computer in Windows Photo Gallery?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Excellent Camera for Everyone.

07/28/2011
By ,
Houghton MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first dslr camera. I've done many research on other dslr cameras and this is in fact the best unit. Easy to use, great features, and looks cool. The turnable display allows you to take pictures from different angle. if not mistaken, by far this is the only nikon camera that has this feature. camera bottons are easy to access. overall, this unit is highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 5 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Fantastic camera at a great price!

05/29/2012
By ,
Billings, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally decided to take the plunge and get a DSLR camera. I spent months going over specs, talking to friends, and playing with cameras in store demos, and it came down to Canon T3i vs the Nikon D5100. Why the Nikon? Well, sample pictures I took myself showed better optics and a better imaging chip in the Nikon, and it made me nervous that Canon would not give an estimate as to how many pictures their camera would take in a "lifetime". Independent tests show around 40-60,000. Nikon DOES give that estimate - 100,000.
So far, I love it. Nature, portraits, the Moon, all fantastic. I can't wait to take it on trips :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Comparable to much better cameras

06/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The photo quality of Nikon cameras is exceptional...this is the third one I've owned. If you can't, positively can't...and I couldn't...afford to spend more money than this, this is the camera you're looking for. You won't regret the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
04/21/2012
By ,
gvlle, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera takes exceptional pictures- nice , sharp images. I couldn't
ask for better results. I am so pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 8 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Impressive Features in this Camera

07/21/2012
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this camera for @ 1 month and am still learing all the features. However the Photos and test photos demonstrate the versatility of the Nikon D5100. The ability to use multi program modes lets each photograph duplicate your imagination or capture the reality of the moment. The Nikor 18-55 mm AR/AF/VR lens is a very good all around lens. All in All this bundle is well worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Great camera for all

10/09/2012
By ,
Salem, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a beginner who would like to be professional one day. I love all of the features of this camera! My only complaint would be that the zoom isn't that great. You can always buy an additional zoom lens if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
05/29/2012
By ,
yukon ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone who has not had a slr camera this one is great. Easy use and very clean pics makes this camera fun to take pics with. My 14 year old took over this camera and has taken great shots ever since. You feel very proud using this camera. If you buy this one you will use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
11/30/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best digital cameras I own. Although I've been a professional photographer for 50+ years, I can't justify purchasing some of the higher-end cameras. In my estimation, this camera (in the $500-$600 price range) is probably the best bang for the buck.
I purchased it primarily so I could frame photos in the LCD screen instead of having to use the viewfinder. Since the LCD screen swivels it can be used to shoot over crowds or down at ground level without having to kill yourself trying to look through the viewfinder.
Awesome camera and great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Satisfied!

03/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera and easy to use! I really like how the menu options are set up compared to other brands in the same price range. Also this is the USA version which means you have a NIKON warranty in the USA instead of getting a European model supported by an aftermarket warranty company known as an 'gray market' or 'import model'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

over rated

07/05/2012
By ,
Peru, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
over priced...must order extra lenses to photograph close ups
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 14 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

love

07/01/2013
By ,
Litchfield, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love love love this camera. I only shoot in auto mode because I haven't figured out the settings but it takes beautiful pictures of my children who never stand still. I've blown up my photos to frame and they are still crystal clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Great camera

07/06/2013
By ,
Lexington ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Purchased for birth of first child

11/05/2012
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has some excellent features that allow you to easily take professional quality shots. I haven't printed any shots yet, but hoping they give me the same quality as the rest of my experience with the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
11/30/2012
By ,
FOLEY AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA FOR THE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
Based on the average of (676) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5