Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Begin your surround sound experience with the Sony STR-DH510 5.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver. Enjoy increased connectivity with five HD inputs and hear sound closer to the way it was captured. Create an entertainment hub when you connect multiple devices to your system using one convenient HDMI cable per device. Plus, this Sony 5.1 Channel AV receiver lets you minimize clutter by sharing audio from your connected TV to the receiver using the same cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%47 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Solid performance but an obviously budget item

07/04/2011
By ,
Elverta, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always trusted Sony, and they didn't disappoint me this time either. I like the receiver and all its functions, from the built-in FM radio to the compressor to fine-tuning the surround options (you get to put in distances from all the speakers to the listening point for accurate positioning). It also has plenty of connectors so you can hook all of your media equipment to it and avoid the cable clutter. The remote is a bit confusing at first, but it only takes a few hours of use to learn the buttons.
Sound quality-wise, it sound pretty darn good for a hundred and fifty dollar receiver. The electrical hiss when nothing's playing is next to none, and THD is barely present at normal levels and only jumps up high when the volume is turned up 80-90%. But who watches movies this loud??
I only have two complaints about the receiver. One, navigating the menu is not as easy as it would be on, say, a Denon. But oh well, after the initial setup I hardly ever go in it, so it's not a biggie. Second, I wish they'd put a parametric equalizer in it, just to be able to deal with room feedback and make it sound more balanced, but oh well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 2 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great Receiver

07/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase, the sound quality is great, the HDMI Hub is awesome, you can choose to run the sound to your TV with the power off on the receiver and when you turn on the receiver it turns off the sound to your TV and runs the sound through the receiver. Simple setup and operation and I couldn't be more thrilled with this receiver!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 3 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sounding. Brings out the best in our speakers and has enough inputs for all of our devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great value, features for a 5.1 amp

08/05/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Online ordering and delivery to a local Walmart could not have been easier/convenient. For the price this unit cannot be beat. I bought it to replace a different brand A/V receiver with a design flaw that caused it to malfunction after only two years of use. Since the speakers, etc. were fine and the manufacturer wouldn't stand behind the product, I decided to replace it with the Sony. The Sony powers the 5 (only) speakers and powered sub-woofer perfectly. The sound quality is even better than the unit it replaced and it even has AM radio of all things! Setup is relatively easy although the L&R front speaker terminal posts could have been a little more convenient to use -- like the center and rear speaker posts already are. My only complaint seems to be an inconvenience with all A/V receivers I've owned or tested. After easily selecting a device input with the press of a single button (game, satellite, DVD, etc.), you can only select what Sony calls a "sound field" and others call sound decoding, by scrolling through a list with repeated button presses until you get the one you want that matches the source coding. This prevents you from setting a universal remote to go straight to the one you want for a given use. As a practical matter though, I stick with one general surround sound setting. So this isn't a particularly annoying problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Works Great!!

01/08/2012
By ,
Newburgh, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item along with 1 Sony SS-B1000, 5.25" Two-way Bookshelf Speakers, Pair for my boyfriend for Christmas and he absolutely loves them both. He uses them so much when he's home. This is item definitely a great deal. We figured out how to use it pretty quickly, and the sound quality with the speakers is great. I highly recommend this item. It is not too expensive and is well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
4.5 out of 5(43)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 6 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Not Sure Yet ?

03/16/2012
By ,
Cape Lookout, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price was good, but discontinued unit. Running all HDMI connectons for components. First big issue was the "mutting problem" which can be cured with setting "default" (HDMI Control) from on to off. No on screen display so you do alot of squinting at the unit. The receiver cuts on and off alot without pushing any buttons. Generates alot of heat which is to be expected. I gave it a average rating because the receiver goes from providing great audio & video to seeming of having a mind of its on.
Maybe I need more time to "learn" the ways of the receiver or maybe I got what I paid for. Only time will tell but at this point I can't honestly recommend this receiver to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

good a/v receiver

07/01/2011
By ,
port hueneme ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very good a/v receiver for the money this sony product is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cape Lookout, NC
how to fix Mutting issue
Posted 03/11/2012
I found this post after being frustrated with the "mutting isssue" but I agree with this post, this is a good receiver and considering the price it is a real good deal. I use all hdmi connections with great results. The issue is the HDMI control default setting is "ON" and should be set to "OFF". Enjoy your receiver, I know I am! (Same Problem.
I'm posting this online merely to save people the time and frustration I went through. This "muting itself" problem - is actually a "feature". A feature no one wants. Press the "AMP MENU" button on your remote. Use the Up & Down Arrows. Choose "SET HDMI" - then "CTRL HDMI" - set it to "OFF". You're done. Not just this forum - but every other forum - people suggest that it's no good because it's Sony...I just hope my 20 second solution saves people from returning the item - because it's actually quite nice when it's all set up.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
07/03/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a good deal of researching various brands and models before I settled on this SONY. It was purchased for our family room system (not our main) and it replaced an old non-HDMI Technics that wouldn't work with a universal remote. Now we bought an extra Harmony remote and life is good again thanks to the new receiver. I am very pleased with the power, the various Dolby/DTS capabilities, and of course now having HDMI. The SONY was easy to set up and its display is easy to read and understand. The price and features are a great value for a 5.1 system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
09/27/2011
By ,
MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very nice product for the money. Just what I needed. Unfortunately, out of the box the muting function had a mind of it's own. Turned on and off by itself, would turn on 50% of the time when you changed volume, and then couldn't be turned off ........ very frustrating. I finally took it back today after giving up on it healing itself. Ordered another one. We'll see if it was a fluke.
Should be noted that other than that I would rate it with 4 stars. Why not 5? It's not the easiest one I've ever had to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Nice receiver for the money.

11/04/2013
By ,
Sunny San Leon, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great sounding receiver. It works great for my CD player and as sound system for the TV/DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
01/09/2012
By ,
Morganville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Procedure for changing sound; bass, treble - too much searching to get to it, for the older models had it right there on unit and remote...also, was there a REAL need to put build unit to be programmed to setup and display, what unit should be set for speakers to use. When you change stations, your sound quality changes, doesn't stay to where you set previous station ie, jumps from stadium to hall, then portable...like why? Other than that, the sound is what's important..that's it! Hope I get 18 years out of this one, for I did on the AV770 model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

great value

03/16/2012
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked around for awhile trying to find a low priced but quality av/receiver, and was surprised to see this Sony model for a great price. Walmart beat all others price by $50.00. Had it shipped to store locally (no cost) and picked up in about a week after ordering online.
This receiver is loaded with nice features for the price, easy to use and set up. I could not be happier with this purchase. Also I have had this receiver for over 2 months with no problems.
The bottom line Good Price, Good Value, Good Seller, Great Deal.........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

good deal at the price paid

12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The #1 reason I chose this receiver is the Sony Bravia integration. I already have a Sony HDTV and a Sony blu-ray and I wanted to check it out and buy a better version if I liked it. It works as advertised, one remote for three components without programming. The Sony HDTV was purchased for its reputation for a having a decent tuner since I still get my TV of the antenna. The blu-ray came along as part of a package deal.
This is by today's standards a few frills 5.1 surround sound receiver. No second set of front speakers, no USB, no jacks on the front, etc. It is currently connected to a few frills 5.0 (no sub) home theater system in my basement. The front speakers are old school 4-way Pioneer towers that don't need a sub. It sounds just as good as the 10 year old monster JVC receiver it replaced did.
Finding your way through the menus can be a bit tedious. They aren't terribly complicated but the organization of the owner's manual can make them seem that way. I found it easiest to jump to the back where all the options are enumerated (which speakers are connected, speaker sizes and proximity to the listener, what the digital coax input is connected to, etc.), find what I needed to change, and then flip back to the indicated page number where the operation is described.
I'm not sure I'd recommend it as a good value for anybody who isn't looking at the Bravia integration as a whole though. I myself will probably opt for a dh820 receiver for the multimedia and gaming system that's upstairs. It also features a Sony HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great receiver for the price.

03/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm no audiophile so I can't tell you if this receiver is good as far as sound quality and THD and all that kind of stuff. I don't even have surround speakers (just two big Cerwin Vegas). I got it because it's cheap and it has digital ins and outs which means that my TV/satellite/DVD player/receiver setup is now all digital (it has analog RCA jacks, too, if you need those). Highly recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Sony stereo receiver

02/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new big screen tv for my xbox360 but found I needed to update my stereo to make it work right. HDMI jacks work great, couldn't get a quality picture with the rca jacks anymore. For the price it can't be beat, was $160.00 at the time, couldn't come close with anything else. Will look at another one when I upgrade my home theater system too. Has enough jacks for several components.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black
12/27/2011
By ,
Paramus, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The receiver looked good on paper but I had to return it to the store because it wasn't working properly. I could tune in only a few FM stations even though I was using a much more powerful antenna than was supplied with the unit. The amplified sound was distorted and relatively weak. This receiver was obviously flawed. I would have gladly exchanged it in the store if the store had one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great receiver...sounds & works excellent...

03/01/2012
By ,
Plano, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this receiver for a little less than a month and it's been Great...and for the price, it's perfect. I have a television, Playstation 3 and a cable box connected, all in HDMI and once you read the manual, and learn the remote, you'll be off and running and believe me, I'm not an electronics expert, so the ease of connection is a big plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Bang for your buck!!!

03/09/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great deal & crystal clear
Running 2 center, 2 front, 2 rear & a 10" sub & sounds great. Only suppose to be 1 center but I added on to it.
HDMI cables make life so much easier. Have a Sony TV & Sony Blue Ray & everything works together. Shut the TV off & it all shuts down & same thing with ON
Get extremely loud & great quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great basic A/V receiver

11/26/2011
By ,
Deetroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great basic A/V receiver. It is being used in a location that could only have 3 speakers in the front, 2 in the back for surround sound, and the sub woofer. The hookup was straight forward. Once the receiver was initialized, see the manual, it worked great. For a basic home theater it has enough inputs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony 5.1-Channel A/V Receiver with 100W, Black

Great buy

12/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I use the receiver every day for12 to 16 hours I have not owned the receiver for very long. So far I am very pleased with the receiver. It is easy to operate and provides many more sound options than I expected. It is the heart of my suround system and I really enjoy the quality of the audio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next