Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Camp Chef Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Camp Chef Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Get the Camp Chef DO-14 Dutch Oven to prepare your favorite food items. The lid of this 12-quart cast iron Dutch oven features a beautiful Grand Canyon scene commemorating 100 years of Americas national parks. The black iron Dutch oven is sturdy, pre-seasoned, has a deep-dish lid that doubles as a skillet or serving trivet, and includes a lift tool for handling when hot. It also has a thermometer channel for checking the temperature without lifting the lid.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%24 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven
11/03/2012
By ,
Freeport IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised when in two days I got my Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven. I was not expecting it that soon.It came perfectly packed, so we tried it out on the same day. The food was so delicious, it reminded me of my childhood when we camped. It made me a wonderful memory, so we decided to repeat it again very soon.
I Definitely recommend this product for everyone to buy who likes to camp or just to have fun outside.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great Customer Service and Shipping To My Door

06/07/2011
By ,
Amarillo, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the Camp Chef Cast Iron Dutch Oven I purchased and even more pleased with the excellent Customer Service I received from Tarvars and Lana. I received my package in 3 days only to find it had been damaged during shipping. I simply called Customer Service and spoke with Tarvars and Lana who made things so simple. I sealed up my package, set it outside my door and the shipper picked it up at noon and delivered my new replacement that same afternoon. This second shipment took only 2-1/2 days to get it to my front door with no extra shipping charge.
I have never received that good of service from any other retailer I shop with. I extend my "Thanks" to Tarvars, Lana, and all the other fine folks at Wal-Mart who did such a great job on my orders. You folks at Walmart.com are top notch! Thanks again for such great service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

8 qt is closer to actual capacity

08/15/2013
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just received the dutch oven and will be returning it. Quality looks great, and price was too, but the size is off! The listing says 12 qt, the box says 11.75 TOTAL capacity. I am guessing that they count the fact that the lid is about an inch deep and you could theoretically hold probably a couple quart in there. But I measured out water pouring it into the oven itself, and only got to 8 qt when I was within about an inch from the top of the oven. Please be aware that if you are wanting to cook something like chili - plan on room for ONLY 8 qt! We were wanting to make 48 one cup servings and this will not be close to working.
If you're wanting a dutch oven for cooking smaller quantities - the quality did look good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Good bang for the buck

12/28/2013
By ,
Ft. Walton Bch, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have not used this dutch oven yet. I am going to re-season it before I use it. Camp Chef cast iron is not as well preseasoned as Lodge products nor is it as smooth and nonstick as a well seasoned piece. However an oven and some lard quickly remedies this issue. It arrived undamaged and appears free of defects. I have not measured the volume but at a glance I think the oven is closer to 10 qts with the lid/griddle possibly being able to hold a quart or 2. I like the fact that the lid can be turned over for use as a griddle. It is definately large enough to hold enough content to feed my family of seven. Considering the price and the ease of seasoning it again. I would say it is a good value. Just don't plan to use it straight out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven
11/29/2011
By ,
clark, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product use this a few tmes a month. i take this with me to use every month with the boy scouts when we camp, they love makeing new recipesin it eachtime we camp. large enough to feed a whole troop.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clovis, New Mexico
Warranty?
Posted 04/30/2013
I was just wondering if this dutch oven came with a warranty and if so for how long? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven
08/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product came really fast. The dutch oven was also a lot cheaper than other websites. It's really big and & holds enough food to feed more than 12 people with leftovers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

bad lid but will reorder

09/27/2012
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the product looks real good, however the one I received had a uneven lid. For this to work well the seal has to be good and tight. Over all pleased and will reorder to get a good one. Things do happen and not too disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

If you need to feed a lot of campers - get this!

05/02/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the item earlier than the estimated delivery date. I knew the item was going to be a large dutch oven but let me tell you. This thing is HUGE! I made NINE baked apples in this oven with no problem. The oven really is pre-seasoned. Baked applies with oatmeal and brown sugar cooked in it for an hour DIDN'T STICK! I'm positive my future grandchildren will inherit this thing. I paid a significantly lower price compared to other sites I viewed. I am very happy with this purchase. If I ever need anything like this again, I'll look to Camp Chef as my preferred brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

great pot

05/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this pot. We camp regularly with the Boy Scouts and it cooks up enough for a big group. I got the carrying bag which makes it really easy to travel with. I also use the parchment dutch oven liners which make clean up a breeze.
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Very pleased, great for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Mason, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted an iron pot to cook over the campfire. Have been looking for some time, could never quite find what I was looking for. Just checked Walmart for the heck of it and was surprised to find this, and at that price. Ordered it on the spot and it arrived at my home within a couple of days. Only had it about a week and have already used it and love it. Love that the lid can also be used as a flat griddle. Very worth the price, very heavy and well built.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great piece!

10/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've used this camping and it works absolutely great! If you want to leave stuff overnight on the fire, the lid is so heavy, there's no creature that can move that lid - except maybe a bear! It comes with an iron stick thing to lift the lid which has been so helpful. The 12 quart size is perfect. I've done a stew for 10 people and it was plenty! I've treated it carefully so not sure what'll happen if it's dropped etc. Best of all is the price. I could never get this even used on Craigslist for this price. Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Nice dutch oven

11/13/2013
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice dutch oven. The design on the lid is pretty, and I especially like the raised lid so food doesnt stick to the lid if the oven is filled to the top.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

HUGE AND GREAT

07/21/2011
By ,
GREEEN RIVER,WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR BIG MEALS
GREAT QUALITY
VERY NICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

LOVE IT!

04/18/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting a dutch oven for a long time. I got one and used it to make a dessert in my oven with it to try it out. Can't wait to use it with my girl scout troop this summer with outdoor cooking & camping skills!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great product for the price!!

07/07/2012
By ,
Orrville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this dutch oven! Bought it mainly for camping and it works very well. Love the fact the lid is also used as a skillet. Recommend getting the traveling case to keep it nice and clean.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great for all campers

07/15/2012
By ,
Syracuse NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great and a perfect size for my boy scout troop but didn't come per seasoned. It is really easy to season and comes with a handle and grabber so all around a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Had a blast

06/28/2012
By ,
st. louis mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't cooked in a dutch oven in 20 years, works great. used it as a ovon and a griddle. If you intend to buy this is the best you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

best dutch for the price.

08/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a 14" dutch oven at the local camping/sporting goods store and they were all 100.00 higher and the ship to store was greatd the oven right on time forhe family cook out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven
06/17/2013
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has lots of features I was looking for. 1 The lid seal is excellent, 2 Very nice that you can use the lid as a fry pan, 3 Has legs that allow stacking of ovens, 4 large size (feeds a crowd) 5 Came with very nice hot lid handling tool, and best of all, 6 Price was about 1/2 of other cast iron dutch ovens!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Great Dutch Oven The Best

08/26/2013
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it within three days by UPS. Heavy but good. Bought two for my two patrols in my Boy Scout Troop. Checked prices in other stores, this is the lowest price per quart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next