Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

The Nostalgia Electrics RMO400RED Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven in Black has a unique and sleek retro design, but brings the fast-cooking appeal of a modern appliance. Its oval window and chrome accents have a classic look, but its 12 pre-programmed features, handy dial control, turntable and 800 watts of cooking power offer every modern convenience. With a 0.9 cubic foot interior cavity, this unit is sized for everyday use. It's a fun and stylish addition to any kitchen and great for a rec room or theater room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(258 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
59
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation88%228 out of 258reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
59
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Cute microwave, easy to set up, works so far...

12/17/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good customer response and service. Inside plastic carousel part arrived broken; called Nostalgia customer service and they sent a replacement; new part arrived in one week and it was broken too; so another one (3rd's time the charm) is on it's way!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED
09/11/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adorable microwave. Small only fits a plate but thats all I need. Like the handle to open and close. Just a cool little appliance. The beeping I read others complain about is not that loud. Beautiful finish. Makes me smile. Love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

No keypad, but that's OK.

01/09/2014
By ,
North Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little strange not having a keypad to enter time length, but once you get used to the "dial" and other buttons it quickly becomes familiar and not a problem. The 50s look is really attractive and still coordinates with newer existing appliances in the kitchen. It beeps three times when cooking is done and if you open the door immediately the beeping continues until all three have sounded. Not a big problem, but a little annoying at first. All things considered it's done a great job so far and we love the new look!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

WORKS GOOD AND IT'S VERY PRETTY

02/01/2014
By ,
Modesto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DOES THE JOB PERFECT AND IT'S VERY PRETTY. THE LIGHT STAYS ON DURING THE COOKING AND YOU CAN SEE INSIDE.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

LOVE THIS MICROWAVE

07/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother and she loves it..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Outstanding appliance for a phenomenal price!

03/07/2014
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When our microwave shorted out several months ago I went on a quest to find the perfect replacement. I had narrowed it down to this Nostalgia Electrics model after comparing numerous user reviews and consumer reports reviews. I had been waiting trying to find a price under $100, since most places list it's selling price around $139.
I've always had a huge microwave thinking that the bigger version was better. Truth is - I never use the microwave for anything but reheating a plate, bowl, single serving portion or a cup of hot beverage. I'm tired of common looking microwaves and bulky boxes taking up counter space.
I wanted something in a different color, that had some character to its design, yet had terrific performance and longevity. I believe I found it in this Nostalgia Electrics model.
I couldn't be happier with the purchase and after extensive searching, Walmart, hands-down had the best price on this unit. That includes Amazon, eBay and a host of other bargain type sites. It's quiet, efficient, the perfect size, doesn't take up counter space, matches the look and color scheme of the rest of the kitchen and I absolutely LOVE the dial setting which allows me to adjust the cooking time WHILE something is heating, increasing or reducing the time without having to shut the heating process off and re-keying in a cook time.
I was concerned from the simplicity of the controls that it wouldn't have many functions, however Nostalgia Electrics saw fit to include a host of functions and options, that are easy to navigate and understand quickly.
I have read other reviews stating the end-cycle beep is quite loud - I didn't personally find this to be the case, but it could be the size of the kitchen or where I have it placed so it's not echoing off another wall. The area I have it in is open on the sides and my kitchen is approximately 11' x 15', so mid-size. Also - the red color is a darker red, not a candy apple red. In the photo I have provided my KitchenAid stand mixer is the Cinnamon version and it's only slightly darker than the microwave, which is what I was hoping for.
For us - a perfect choice!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

"Meaningful" purchase

10/25/2013
By ,
La Salle, Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was first attracted to the "retro" design. It did not disappoint. It is darling. The size was also important, as my current oven was too large and used up too much counter space. Although the inside of this oven is smaller than my other one, I find it more than adequate for my needs. It heats beautifully...almost as well as my other one that had a higher wattage. It is easily operated, as this was another consideration.
I am more than pleased with this purchase, and would highly recommend it to anyone in need of an oven, and it is perfect for the person who cherishes a "blast from the past.". When I look at it, I smile and think to myself that they sure knew how to design things "back when."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Hip looking microwave

06/18/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The key feature of this microwave is its hip look. And, it delivers on that in person.
I have wanted a digital-dial microwave for years but didn't want to pay the extraordinary price that microwaves with that feature usually cost. Just turning a nob to increase or decrease the cook time is super intuitive and, imo, much preferable to a key pad 99% of the time.
This is an 800W oven, which I was worried about coming from a larger 1000W microwave. But, I don't really notice a difference. Maybe this is b/c the space is smaller too?
One feature I miss is a digital timer. I'm used to using my microwave as a digital countdown timer for cooking things on the stove. But this doesn't have this feature.
Also, two minor notes that weren't apparent before I bought it but aren't really deal breakers. 1) the microwave light only shines when it's cooking not when you open the door. That is a little inconvenient when making tea at night. My last microwave lit up when I opened the door. 2) the "done cooking" signal beeps three times no matter what. In my opinion, if I open the door after the first beep, the last two beeps are not necessary. This wouldn't bother me if the beep weren't so loud when I'm standing right in front of the microwave (with the door open).
Still a recommended buy. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Best (digital) design; sharp retro '50s styling

08/12/2012
By ,
northern california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
- digital l.e.d. display you can easily see in low light/darkness
- mins/secs and power levels are dialed in; no key pad to punch 37 times while hunched-over in low
light w/o your reading glasses (stress reduction)
-glass platter carousel
- clock; add cooking time in 30 sec increments by pressing a button (up to 12 min)
- a dozen pre-programmed cooking/defrost settings, which are dialed-in (no key pad)
- child lock feature
- fits countertop space of ~ 20"L x 12"h x 14"d
- 3 prong grounding plug
- oven compartment ~ 12"L x 7-1/2"h x 13"d (turkeys or large casserole dishes are a no-go)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Great Looks, lacks features

02/03/2012
By ,
Spokane, wa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Out of the box this looked dynamite! And truly, while I'm generally not superficial, that was really the reason I purchased this: for its looks. I had it shipped to store and it arrived in 4 days-I was beyond pleased! That being said, there were a few things I hadn't considered before I purchased it. First, its smaller than I figured...I know the dimensions are posted- I just couldn't visualize it. The turntable holds exactly the size of my large dinner plate. So it will be good for most things, but my old microwave was wide enough to hold a casserole dish. The biggest feature I hadn't even thought about, however, was a light. This microwave has a light, but only comes on while it is heating- my old one came on when the door was opened and during heating. Not a huge deal, but thought I would share that in case its a big deal for others. It also takes longer to heat than my old model, but there was probably a wattage difference. I just heated 4 Costco sausage patties, which took my old microwave 2 minutes...this one took 3 minutes. The express button is great, but since this cooks differently than my old mmicrowave I am trying to become disciplined at using the knob feature...which if you turn it to the left, and select 1 beverage, it heats a cup of tea water perfectly in 1minute 30 seconds. One slight irritation is the three beeps when the microwave is finished- great if you are across the house, but unfortunately the beeps sound wether you've already opened the door or not. Again, not a big deal, but a little irritating. I read other reviews and some had mentioend how loud it is. When I first turned it on it sounded really loud to me as well, but i'm thinking its not necessarily louder- just a different sound(deeper/lower), so I think I will get used to it. The controls are different than other microwaves, so it will take some getting used to, but has been easy enough to use so far and I think i will prefer the dial in the long run. Overall, it has some minor disadvantages, but I am NOT dissapointed with it- I love the way it looks, it heats food fine, and for me its a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+268points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Love it!

11/27/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This microwave is just what my kitchen needed. I love the old car look of it and the dial buttom used for the timer. It is just beautiful. It's a little smaller than my last one but so far does the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Just What I Expected

07/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll be the first to admit I ordered this based solely on aestetics. I love the way this looks! Everyone who has seen it has commented favorably on its retro-look design.
My old microwave was an 1100w so I do very much notice a difference in this ones ability to heat quickly as it's only 800w. My large mug of coffee that I would reheat would take 1 minute in the 1100w but now takes 2 minutes. I had expected this in advance of ordering.
I would not reccommend this for a family or for heavy duty use but as a single person I find it to be just what I needed, works fine for reheating beverages or leftovers and for frozen dinners but is not, from my perspective, designed for long timed actual cooking of food.
I would suggest you carefully read the instructions regarding cleaning of this microwave and what products you can use in it for heating and cooking. (it seems paper is discouraged which I am assuming extends to paper towels which I used to use in my old microwave for steaming hotdogs) I will likely seek out bpa free containers with covers for reheating food to avoid splattering.
Whether this product stands the test of time for durability remains to be seen, but I'm happy with it and it looks great in my kitchen. It's my first 'fun' microwave :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Beautiful show stopping red!

02/20/2012
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In redoing my kitchen with red accents, the day my microwave died, I looked online to see if anyone had one in red as I'd recently replaced another small appliance in red. I found one at Walmart, of course, and the price on line was great. I was told that the 800 wattage was not good by my daughter but have found it to be fine for all my needs. The only downside I have found is in the dialing for cooking time, etc. since I've been spoiled by push buttons. I understand that this is because of the retro look and I'm becoming used to it. This is the 2nd thing that I have purchased at Walmart.com and I am hooked. It is so great not to have to drive around and go in person to look for things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Love the look

10/28/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The microwave was delivered to the store in a timely fashion. I experienced no glitches during the pickup.
The retro-look microwave (mine is red) is exactly as described. Very pleased. I am enamored of the "dial" time/option feature. Much simpler than the push-button variety. I did read the instuction booklet, but my granddaughters (ages 13+15) had no difficulty in just diving in and figuring it out for themselves. As stated in other reviews, the light does not come on when the door is opened. As to the loud noise during operation that some users reported: no... nothing unusual here.
Yes, it is only 800 watts, and this is less cooking power than many frozen foods are test-timed in. So be prepared to add to the suggested microwave times. That may be a deal-breaker for some, but my old microwave (the one this replaces) was manufactured in 1986(!) so I had become used to adding minutes to the recommended cook times.
I rated this only average for "durability" as I haven't had it long enough to be more accurate. Since I am unfamiliar with the manufacturer, I did purchase the Service Plan for $9.00. I don't know if that was really necessary but I wanted to hedge my bets, based on some other buyers' dissatisfactions.
Overall, I am extremely pleased with the look and functionality of my new retro-look microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

It's not red. It's burgundy.

12/30/2013
By ,
KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This may sound silly but like others I purchased this based on looks and also how well it would go with my retro kitchen. I was most excited about design and the red color. It is definitely not red. It's a deep red like burgundy. I haven't seen any other complaints about this so maybe they have changed their dye. I purchased online and the pic is clearly red. Just disappointed because now it clashes. It's a gorgeous color, just isn't what I expected. My only complaint! But that's because that was one of the two reasons I purchased it in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED
01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this microwave, I like the 5's style, the microwave is very easy to use, and a nice counter top size. Walmarts has excellent shipping, took less than a week to recieve. Recieved in very good condition.
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Good

11/03/2013
By ,
Rock Springs, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Couple of issues. When the micro arrived, the front label had not been adhered properly and and was a bit crooked and was lifting on the side. The microwave is also quite loud, louder than most. It does work great however. Simple to use and looks fantastic overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Not happy with experience

09/25/2012
By ,
Aiken SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This one was the 2nd one this household had. The first one failed within about 5 weeks. It did look good and the power was a little light. When I started smelling burning things I knew it wouldn't last long. The second one did not even work out of the box. Returned to WalMart next day for a full refund.
I won't purchase another microwave from Nostalgia Electrics Retro again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

I really liked the look of this microwave.

01/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really like the look and small size of this microwave. It would have been a great look. There was a rivit or small bolt sticking out the side the microwave and pushed out the paint to the point of a large flake of it came off as I lifted it out of the box. I didn't even get a chance to use the microwave. Walmart was very nice about the return to the store. I think that the retro look was popular for this last Christmas season and the workmanship on them were not up to the standard.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven, Red, RMO400RED

Neat look, but very basic functioning.

06/20/2014
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought I was going to love this, but I only mostly like it. It's smaller than I thought, so it looks a little weird in my kitchen. There's no light in the interior, so when warming something at night it's not very practical. It is noisy as some of the other people said. The look is pretty snazzy and draws attention from visitors. It's easy to use, so that's a plus. It seems to take longer to cook than our old microwave. I think it looks better on the outside than it actually is. If it holds up for awhile I may consider recommending to others, but as of now I don't think I would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next