Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Scosche Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Scosche Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

The Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter is a handy product that allows you to play music through any audio device in your car. The car MP3 player FM transmitter supports up to 20 different frequencies that can be changed quickly. The Scosche FM Transmitter can be easily connected to an MP3 player too. This product car stereo FM transmitter is compatible with different versions of the iPod and other MP3 players that have a 3.5 mm jack. The device comes with an on/off switch which helps you conserve energy when not in use. The static on the various frequencies is very minimal, giving you great quality sound. The transmitter works with two AA batteries that have to be bought separately. It comes in dark grey color and will blend well with your cars interior.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%41 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Don't judge it by its ridiculously low price.

08/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and works great. One thing though: It's so cheap that in Walmart, they don't even sell it in the electronics section but in the automotive section.
I live in NYC Metro where all stations are used and this really did work very well, even in my congested area.
Works as clear as if the songs were coming out of the radio or CD player. And if you don't like one FM station, because it's giving you a little static, you can easily pick another.
I also did *extensive* research on *numerous* FM transmitters and have read an untold number of consumer reviews and, to date, this FM transmitter is the only one that gets multiple 4 - 5 stars anywhere, whether it be Amazon or Walmart or another site. The exceptionally cheap price makes it a must-have!
I got it for the latest generation (generation 4) iPod touch and for my husband iPhone.
The only con is that it requires AAA batteries. Oh, well. Get ready to buy some rechargeables, because this FM transmitter is still the best around -- bar none.
BR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
One thing i dont understand
Posted 11/27/2011
How do those channels work... there weird lookin?? on the device
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Works Great!

11/13/2011
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it for GPS from my phone, works great. Just plug into my phone in my shirt pocket and get the directions. Have not used it for music yet, but the GPS voice comes through loud and clear. Uses 2ea. AAA, so plenty strong signal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Exceeds all expectations!

02/16/2012
By ,
Bristol CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a $60 transmitter that broke and needed to replace it. Found this for $15 and thought oh why not, if it's junky I would just bring it back. Much to my surprise, it exceeds my expectations. The choices of stations to choose is outstanding (20 in all) and the range has far exceeded my previous transmitter, which at times was staticy in the car, the range on this unit is around 300 feet. I use it in my car and at home by attaching to laptop and listening to music throughout the house. Broadcasts in clear stereo with no static, the batteries seem to last forever and the ease of use make this, in my opinion, one of the best transmitters available. Made of decent strength plastic, and the wire is attached very well. Overall, I would recommend this to friends, give a 5 stars, and would rate as 100% satisfaction product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Exceeded expectations

03/05/2012
By ,
Sylacauga, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a number of different transmitters & paid anywhere from $20-$50 for them. Needless to say something has gone wrong with every one of them. When I went to Walmart to buy another one, they were out of everything else except this one. I was VERY hesitant bout spending only $13 on a transmitter, but I wanted to listen to the music on my phone (EVO Design 4G), so I decided that I would buy it & if it turned out to be a piece of junk I would just return it. I got to my car & couldn't wait to try it out. Well I forgot that it used 2 AAA batteries so I came home to get my rechargeable batteries. I put the batteries in & turned it on & was immediately blown away. Before I turned it on, the station I was going to play it on had a little bit of static as well as someone talking, but when I turned it on it overpowered the static & talking. I could not believe how strong this thing is. The most impressive thing about it is that it only cost $13 & works better then any other transmitter I've had. I was expecting to get what I paid for, but in this case I scored big time. The ONLY thing that I don't like about it is that the cord from the transmitter to the earphone jack is very short. It would be nice if it was a little longer. I love the fact that you can turn it off (which helps increase battery life). I use this 3 times a week for 3 hours a day & have only had to change the batteries once in a months time period) . Don't be fooled by the low price, jump on it cause it is one great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

AMAZING

09/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it today. i absolutely love it. it works better then i thought. One thing i should say is it takes AAA batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Great little FM unit, do it!

04/22/2012
By ,
Salina, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to some good recommendations on this unit I decided to pick one up at my local WM. Only $13.49. Brought it home, loaded some batteries, plugged it in and turned it on. Set the frequency for 88.1 and hit search on the radio. Radio searched and stopped on the frequency and it played very good sound quality audio. I was playing an audio book from my Le Pan Tablet and couldn't hope for better sound. Totally clear background. Formerly had an FM transmitter in a Serius Radio unit and this one works just as well.
I'm in Kansas and heading for California in May. Will be on the road for around three weeks. I'll try to remember to come back and post an update then. But for now I would certainly recommend this little unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Works...but not very well

07/17/2012
By ,
Iowa City, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I guess the best I can say is that this product works as advertised; it just doesn't work very well. There is no setup required so you just need to pop in the batteries, tune your car radio to an empty frequency (among the 20 that are supported by this item), tune the transmitter to that frequency and play your IPod or MP3 player.
The signal was clear and I had no problems using the item. The big problem is the sound quality. Very narrow frequency range so everything sounded flat and tinny. Very noticeable difference in sound quality between this item and a CD.
I had hoped to avoid the cost and hassle of installing a auxillary plug on my 2000 Honda Odyssey, but I am taking that route after trying this and one other FM Transmitter.
You might even consider replacing your car radio before using an FM Transmitter. Most new models come with a built in AUX inport jack.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Great transmitter

11/21/2013
By ,
Big spring,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best fm transmitter I have owned!
I have tried other more expensive ones, but
This one is the best one. The price for this transmitter
Is really good for the sound it produces as far as a
Transmitter is concerned!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
From ScoscheCustomerService02/11/2014
We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your new Scosche FM transmitter. Thank you for taking an interest in our products and our company.Scosche
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter
04/30/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these years ago and the cord separated from the transmitter within a few months. I decided to try my luck again and bought another one of the same (my store has a very limited selection). It did the same thing within weeks.I then got another Scosche brand transmitter, more heavy duty, and it broke within a week and I returned it. I don't think I will try this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
From ScoscheCustomerService02/11/2014
We apologize for any inconvenience our FM transmitter may have caused you. Did you try contacting Scosche Technical Support for possible assistance? It is unfortunate that you've had multiple units fail on you. We can possibly set you up with a complimentary upgrade to a better model transmitter. For further assistance, please feel free to contact Scosche Technical Support directly at 800 363 4490 x3 or techsupport@scosche.com.Scosche
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Very Pleased

01/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product absolutely gives you more bang for your buck. Easy to use and good quality (I had no issues with static like some other transmitters). If it had a built-in rechargeable battery it would be perfect because I can see myself going through a lot of AAA batteries (I use this unit daily driving to/from work, elsewhere). I also love to use it in the household. I just turn on my home stereo and control the music from anywhere in my apartment - iPod in hand.
Note: if it says the product isn't at your local Walmart, I suggest calling or going in anyway. According to the website this wasn't in any of my local stores. However, when I stopped by it was right there in the automotive service area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Unexpectedly Amazing

07/05/2012
By ,
Medford, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work for a company that requires me to drive long distances from coast to coast in America, which previously meant that I would spend long periods of time (think from Nevada to Colorado) with almost no decent radio reception. One time when I came home my wife handed me the Scorsche FMT4 TFM Transmitter and a few batteries and told me that it should fix the problem.
Having previously experienced the disappointment of owning the cigarette lighter style FM transmitters I was quite hesitant to think that this more compact and cheaper product would be any better. Was I wrong! The following trip had me go from my home state to Colorado and I was able to pick up reception nearly the entire distance of my almost 2,000 mile trip (there were some station bleed over issues in Wyoming for about an hour). I was able to save the cigarette lighters for my phone and GPS because the transmitter uses two AAA batteries, which I have yet to need to replace at about a months use.
I have began recommending this product to many of the other people at my company who have to deal with static on the airwaves and everyone seems to be pretty happy having a consistent music source for their long haul trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter
03/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the transmitter plugged into my computer using a 6 foot extension. It transmits perfectly throughout the house and even a fair distance outside in the yard. The signal quality is excellent and the batteries last a long time. I'm DELIGHTED with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

“Fantastic” with one Caveat and one Pet Peeve

07/29/2013
By ,
Northern Virginia (Fairfax County)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First a word of confusion. There are two of these identical listings on the WalMart web site. One is with “14-channels” and is listed as Model FMT4R, and one is with “20-channels” and is listed as Model FMT4. I bought the “20-channel” model. That was the only model on the display hook in the store. My “guess” is that the 14-channel is an older model but the web page has not deleted it.
As for performance, it is flawless and clear as a crystal. Rich sound. Perfect fidelity. Amazing.
Caveat: I experience “hiss” interference if my smartphone is directly next to the FMT4 so I had to separate the two by stretching out the 6-inch attached cable.
Which brings me to my Pet Peeve. The 6-inch attached cable. It makes no sense and is impractical to use with a smartphone that must be lifted to your ear or held in your hand. It was immediately obvious that I could not use the smartphone without the FMT4 dangling in my way so I went back into WalMart and purchased a male-to-female extension cable so that I could use the phone connected to the extension cable without the FMT4 dangling in the way.
Also, the attached 6-inch cable is thin and flimsy. One of the other Reviews said that his cable was fraying and it’s easy to see why. I would highly recommend that the attached cable not be moved and wiggled any more than necessary.
Which is a secondary reason I purchased the extension cable. Now I can leave the FMT4 in one place, not handle or wiggle the attached 6-inch cable, and plug in the extension cable which is heavier gauge, much more durable and made for every day handling.
On a scale of 1-5 Stars, I would have scored the FMT4 a “6” except for the thin and flimsy 6-inch attached cable. Which cost me an extra $4.88 for the extension cable. That is also the reason for the Value Rating of 4 (Good) because of the additional extension cable purchase.
Bottom Line: If you are considering the FMT4 you should factor in the additional cost of an extension cable. Aside from that the FMT4 is a technological marvel that does everything one could expect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Not bad for the price

10/18/2011
By ,
Staten Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the FM transmitter because the one I had was getting a lot of static. I figured that this one would be better. It still had static, but it was an improvement over the old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter
05/17/2012
By ,
conway, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this works fine, the number of channels is somewhat limited but the sound is clear and loud. it was on in my purse and i could still hear it clearly Overall i'm happy with this
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Overall Good deal!

02/05/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros- Cheap, good sound, small, convenient
Cons- Takes AAA batteries, signal not to great ( but this is my first FM transmitter so maybe this is standard)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Always some static.

04/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works ok. There id definitely some static when using the Miami area on all stations. But it works and sounds pretty good.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

not good product

04/26/2012
By ,
manchester, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product hoping to be able to play music in my car with my mp3 player but it is really bad with the static and I have tried every station. When I decrease or increase speed the static gets worse. when I pull up in front of buildings I pick up another radio station when trying to play music off of my mp3 player. Going under poles heading home is awful. I would never recommend anyone getting this product if they want good quality music that isn't a bunch of static
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buffalo,N.Y.
Posted 04/27/2013
Sounds like you need RF noise suppression.
Its not from the FM transmitter could be your
spark plug wires.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

Works great with Car Stereo but volume is soft

07/18/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plugged the ipod in and placed it on the dash board, and it works great in the car. The volume is 20% lower when compare to all other FM stations on my car radio. The sound tends to be heavy on the bass.
With home stereo, it is harder to find an empty FM station. I ended up using 90.1MHz, with pushing the lone control button on it to find station. The lite hissing sound is more audible on home stereo.
Overall, it is a cost effective device. I am using it to listen to MP3 music on FM radio. Maybe I can use it to replace the wireless front speakers for my Video projection system, in my man cave.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scosche FMT4 TFM Transmitter

surprisingly good

10/09/2012
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this because it was one of the cheapest option. Didn't want to spend too much because I've experienced that these things are not good. To my surprise it has worked great! Got it for a roadtrip, and even in the changing of cities, it had great sound. Once you find your sweet station to transmit, its great.
The only thing is that when the batteries start getting low, it gets hard to change stations, and the lights my turn off, so you wont know what station you're trying to sync. But keep batteries fresh, and its great! and for less than $15... great choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next