Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

The Sevylor 1-person kayak is certified to hold a load of up to 400 pounds. This Sevylor sport kayak includes a fishing rod holder for anglers and a stringer attachment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%79 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great little inflatable for the casual kayaker

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased one of these a couple months back. What arrived in the mail was one with blue markings not red like in the pic here. Inflated it and was pleased with the construction material. It has two small skegs on the bottom which help stabilize it in the water.
Have taken it out in a bay for kayak fishing and had a blast. Anyone thinking of purchasing one of these to fish off of should take into consideration that there is a certain element of risk when fishing from one of these. It is difficult to unhook fish safely and there is also not good way to attach rigging (anchor trolleys, anchor lines, etc.). If you are planning on doing some serious kayak fishing invest in something that is designed for fishing.
I love my little kayak and how easy it is to inflate and deflate and then pack away in a backpack. It is also quite light and can be carried by one hand. It is also nice and wide and makes a stable platform for me to relax on and fish from. Great value for money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Can't believe how much fun this little kayak is

08/25/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister had bought one in Pensacola and was so excited about it that I had to see what was all the fuss. I ordered on line from walmart.com and had it delivered directly to my home. It even came in earlier that expected. My son happened to be visiting from Atlanta & in no time we had it inflated and headed to the beach. My sister came and brought hers as well. The two of them headed out in the emerald green waters of the gulf and paddled along side the shoreline about 50 ft. out and went for quite a distance. Finally, I got my chance and saw how much fun it is. I can't believe how stable it is and how easy to paddle. Did I tell you I am a senior citizen? Can't wait to get back out there. May be buying a 2nd one for my husband who just got back from a motorcycle ride to Sturgis. He hasn't tried it yet but am sure he will love it. If you are looking to have some fun and a little exercise don't hesitate to order this kayak.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Love it!!

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally ordered 4 of these and a 2 person inflatable boat. The boat never would fully inflate, so I returned it and got 2 more of these. We used them in the Intracoastal Waterway at Holden Beach, NC. My kids (ages 13-20) never wanted to get out of the water. I am very clumsy, but I didn't have any trouble getting in or out of the kayak. The weight of my family ranges from 100-240 pounds. No one had any problems. They are blue and white as others have mentioned. One person can carry one kayak and a paddle. They inflated in less than 5 minutes each, using an air mattress pump. My only complaint is that the vinyl stitching along the armrests rubs the back of our arms raw until it is broken in. We simply put a towel over it, and that solved the problem. I highly recommend these and will probably buy 2 more myself. Happy kayaking!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

You may consider to buy glue...

07/06/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase it for fishing in small lakes. The size is ok, it is very stable, confortable, easy to use, a nice product for the price, and will make you happy, BUT it does not include a complete repair kit.
It just come with two patches from the same material without glue, so you will need to buy a urethane flexible glue (normally used to repair waders, I could not find any in Walmart) if you have any problem. I burst mine on the second day of use. It was my fault, I guess that it was a hook or a bush during the transport, because the PVC is thick and seems durable. It was a small hole so I did not even need a patch and the glue was enough to repair it and now it works nice.
Last, I do not like the rod holder. It is a personal opinion, but I believe that it does not make a lot of sense to do not hold the rod with your hands while fishing from a kayak and it is not useful when paddling, as it is very easy to touch the rod with the oar and drop it through the lake. Also, it makes it difficult to keep a bag with fishing tools between your legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Excelant Value for great inflatable kayak

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th Sevylor Hui Sport kayak and two of them i have given away so others can enjoy them as much as i do. I can kayak on this boat for hours and remain comfortable. It is like riding on a pillow of air without all the boat noises of a hardshell. The seat back is solid enough to provide a level of comfort/support and yet let you kick out your legs and lean back when you need to. The arm rests are a nice touch for resting your arms between paddling. It is super easy to setup and take down and can last 2 or 3 seasons if you care for it. I love i can keep it packed in a 32'' duffle bag (with all the gear i need) and go SOLO, kayaking on a moments notice.
There are only a few trade offs: 1) It is only really suitable for creeks, slower rivers, and smallish lakes, 2) protect it from punctures and abrasions, 3) keep it clean and THOROUGHLY dry before packing (I wash it with Armor All car wash and wax, the polymers protect the PVC shell and increase its lifetime), 4) be gentle and cautious when pulling open valves (a strong hand will rip them right off).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Comfortable, Tough, Great Quality and Fun!

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it to a pond in the Adirondack Mountains and it was perfect. It was sturdy and one of the most comfortable things I have ever sat in. The back rest was perfect. Sat and paddled for hours. I will warn you, you will get wet with the paddle, but what fun is it being on water if you do not get wet. The fishing rod and cup holder worked well. I am 5' 8" and the leg position was perfect plenty of space to stretch. The net was great for the little extra things, sunblock, bug spray, shoes and tackle. Thought of everything with this. Never lost air over a 5 day use!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Fun, Economical Kayak

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well in 12"-12' river waters. Good float ability and easy to use. Perfect if you don't want to shell out the money for a pricier kayak, or don't have storage room for large kayaks. This works much like a tube in South Texas rivers, and you can have more control than tubes with of the paddles. Or you can use it in shallow areas for sunbathing and napping! Not anything for hard-core seasoned kayakers, but perfect for beginners/intermediate levels.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Decent One person Kayak

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this kayak out two times so far and have had no problems with air leaks.
The material is fairly tough vinyl probably best suited for lakes. It is stable and does very well in moderate chop. I never felt like I was going to fall out or be overturned by passing boats etc.
There are two fin keels built into the bottom of the hull that provide very good tracking. Cup holder in the middle is useless and I didn't use the rod holder but it seems ok. There is a small storage area on the bow but it would be great if they had used the much larger area behind the seat for storage instead. BTW the boat is white with blue accents not red as advertised.
I don't think this would be the best choice for river kayaking where you may encounter rocks, sticks and rougher conditions due to there being no protection layer of fabric on the bottom of the boat.
Still though a very good value for he money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Inflatable kayaking.

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best purchases I have ever made. We love being able to float around our lake on this kayak. Having never kayaked before I thought this would be a great way to find out if I wanted to spend a lot of money on a regular kayak. This is so comfortable. It is very sturdy as I get onto it stepping down off our boat.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Economical very mobile

08/24/2012
By ,
Washington D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is exactly what I expected it to be. Except for I was unaware that I needed to purchase a paddle separately. Luckily I had a paddle already. It is light weight. It is easily inflated in 5 minutes tops! Very maneuverable in he water. In fact, I have used it twice thus far, and on both occasions, it has be used in the ocean waters of Miami. I personally weigh 240 pounds. The kayak sustains my weight and other gear Thwt I have taken with me. A twelve of corona beers. A back pack with roughly another 4-5.5 lbs. of added weight. I have a Boston terrier and if I can manage to figure a way that we can go out together on this kayak, I will! I recently purchased a foot pump that collapses into the back pack. I can fold and roll the kayak into a back pack and jump on my bicycle and a bus and be at the ocean without having to take my car. I recommend this kayak to beginners and veterans of kayak lovers! -Misha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

impressive

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
260 lbs here. I can't believe how stable and comfy this thing is. Just got back from a 10 MILE river trip. Longest ever for me. Handled wonderfully.
The only thing I wish it had was boston valves. 5 chambers total, deflating # 5 allows easy transport fitting in the back of an SUV.
If you don't want to pump when you get to your put in, a cordless leaf blower does wonders, in mere seconds.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Fun

07/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Kayak. Easy to transport. Inflates quickly, i am using a pump I had that plugs into the lighter plug. Haven't done much kayaking and didn't want to go through the expense of a Kayak and carrier if it wasn't going to be enjoyable. Being used by someone that is around 260lbs and 5'10". Supports them no problem.
Does not come with paddle or pump and is blue not red.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

wrong color

07/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did not take the kayak from the store because it was blue instead of red.This may not be important to most but to me it was. I did research and know that this is a great boat for the money and will buy the blue in time
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Sevlar 1 person sport kayak

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never been kayaking before so I purchased this inflatable kayak for $80.00 in case I did not like it I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I just love it. Easy to use ,easy to inflate , fits blown up inside my vehicle. It's light to carry and has netting to carry my shoes and towl. I'm not a small person either and it hold me just fine. Just love it :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

great affordable family fun

07/14/2014
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because of the price, under a hundred, took a chance on Kayak, took it out with a friend and my son, much better than expected! We all had a blast paddling around!
Only 3 small things I didn't like.... no hand holds for carrying,
the drink holder is to close to the seat and to small,
the rod holder position is a little awkward.
The biggest of the issues for me would be the rod holder position, my line would be in the way while I paddle. fine if you aren't trolling, but that was what I wanted to do with it.
I'm sure I'll figure out something, it was very comfortable, I could see my self sitting in it all day.
If you are new to kayaking this would be a good, economical start, you will get wet, but lots of fun!
I'll be buying another one for my son, and maybe a third for friends or family that want to join in the fun!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Love it

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kayak is great. It isn't the same color as the one displayed but it works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great and tough for the money

07/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat this kayak for the money. I'm 6' 6" and weigh 270 pounds, and can fit easily. I've also taken it out in some pretty rough water, and it's done a great job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great Kayack

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have two other plastic type Kayack and wanted add'l kayaks so when kids came to visit one for everyone. The inflatables are great, actually better than standard ones as they are more roomy, comfortable and track better since they have fins on bottom. Seem very well made. A bit hard to fully inflate thoug but wound up using an eclectic pump and then was able to get pretty rigid
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Sweet for the price

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this kayak on a Sunday evening & it arrived Tuesday evening with the free shipping to home option. Couldn't have been more thrilled with the shipping.
As others have mentioned, it is blue & white (not red & white as pictured), which I like better. It doesn't come with paddle, air pump, carrying case, etc. You order a kayak, you get a kayak. I went ahead & ordered the recommended paddle by same manufacturer. It arrived same day, in the same box - another bonus. I already had an air pump (air mattress for tent camping) & it worked just fine.
My 10 yr old nephew & I took it to the lake as soon as we got it out of the box. I gave it a go to start off to see how it handled, if it took on any water, stable enough for a 10 yr old to safely paddle around in the cove. I was really impressed. No awkward climbing on, flipping over... The first few times the little guy got on I made him wear a life vest just to be safe, but he gets around on it just as well (if not better) than I do. We even used it to haul both of us, 2 fishing rods & tackle box without difficulty to avoid having to walk clear around our favorite cove.
The mesh netting in front holds our water tight box (not included) for cell phone, keys, tackle, etc. I really like the fishing rod holder. It's just out of my way of paddling. I think what I enjoy most of all is it's so easy to use the air pump to deflate & poke it in the back of the truck & be done with it. I've always wanted to give a kayak a try & figured I'd buy this one to see if I really wanted to make an investment in the hobby. This really is a great little boat for the money. I'd recommend leaving it inflated after first use to allow the natural stretching of the PVC material. So the next time you take it out, just add a bit more air to get a more solid ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Much more than expected!

08/08/2012
By ,
Picayune, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been wanting to try my hand at kayaking but didnt wanna take the expensive plunge into the recreation. I found the Hui Spoort kayak at my local walmart reduced to $59.00 so I bought it. After a few trips around local lakes and creeks, Im happy to say that this might well have been the best 59 bucks I;ve ever spent. It tracks pretty straight, and glides across the water almost effortlessly. I use a 12v inflator to blow it up and it ready to go in under 3 minutes. I've run aground, passed over debris, sticks and suken tree roots and have yet to have any hole or air leak. I'm 6'4", around 220lbs and this kayak keeps me afloat just fine. Invest in a good paddle and you'll be loving this kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next