Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Sevylor Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

The Sevylor 1-person kayak is certified to hold a load of up to 400 pounds. This Sevylor sport kayak includes a fishing rod holder for anglers and a stringer attachment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%65 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great little inflatable for the casual kayaker

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased one of these a couple months back. What arrived in the mail was one with blue markings not red like in the pic here. Inflated it and was pleased with the construction material. It has two small skegs on the bottom which help stabilize it in the water.
Have taken it out in a bay for kayak fishing and had a blast. Anyone thinking of purchasing one of these to fish off of should take into consideration that there is a certain element of risk when fishing from one of these. It is difficult to unhook fish safely and there is also not good way to attach rigging (anchor trolleys, anchor lines, etc.). If you are planning on doing some serious kayak fishing invest in something that is designed for fishing.
I love my little kayak and how easy it is to inflate and deflate and then pack away in a backpack. It is also quite light and can be carried by one hand. It is also nice and wide and makes a stable platform for me to relax on and fish from. Great value for money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Can't believe how much fun this little kayak is

08/25/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister had bought one in Pensacola and was so excited about it that I had to see what was all the fuss. I ordered on line from walmart.com and had it delivered directly to my home. It even came in earlier that expected. My son happened to be visiting from Atlanta & in no time we had it inflated and headed to the beach. My sister came and brought hers as well. The two of them headed out in the emerald green waters of the gulf and paddled along side the shoreline about 50 ft. out and went for quite a distance. Finally, I got my chance and saw how much fun it is. I can't believe how stable it is and how easy to paddle. Did I tell you I am a senior citizen? Can't wait to get back out there. May be buying a 2nd one for my husband who just got back from a motorcycle ride to Sturgis. He hasn't tried it yet but am sure he will love it. If you are looking to have some fun and a little exercise don't hesitate to order this kayak.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Excelant Value for great inflatable kayak

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th Sevylor Hui Sport kayak and two of them i have given away so others can enjoy them as much as i do. I can kayak on this boat for hours and remain comfortable. It is like riding on a pillow of air without all the boat noises of a hardshell. The seat back is solid enough to provide a level of comfort/support and yet let you kick out your legs and lean back when you need to. The arm rests are a nice touch for resting your arms between paddling. It is super easy to setup and take down and can last 2 or 3 seasons if you care for it. I love i can keep it packed in a 32'' duffle bag (with all the gear i need) and go SOLO, kayaking on a moments notice.
There are only a few trade offs: 1) It is only really suitable for creeks, slower rivers, and smallish lakes, 2) protect it from punctures and abrasions, 3) keep it clean and THOROUGHLY dry before packing (I wash it with Armor All car wash and wax, the polymers protect the PVC shell and increase its lifetime), 4) be gentle and cautious when pulling open valves (a strong hand will rip them right off).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

great affordable family fun

07/14/2014
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because of the price, under a hundred, took a chance on Kayak, took it out with a friend and my son, much better than expected! We all had a blast paddling around!
Only 3 small things I didn't like.... no hand holds for carrying,
the drink holder is to close to the seat and to small,
the rod holder position is a little awkward.
The biggest of the issues for me would be the rod holder position, my line would be in the way while I paddle. fine if you aren't trolling, but that was what I wanted to do with it.
I'm sure I'll figure out something, it was very comfortable, I could see my self sitting in it all day.
If you are new to kayaking this would be a good, economical start, you will get wet, but lots of fun!
I'll be buying another one for my son, and maybe a third for friends or family that want to join in the fun!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Decent One person Kayak

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this kayak out two times so far and have had no problems with air leaks.
The material is fairly tough vinyl probably best suited for lakes. It is stable and does very well in moderate chop. I never felt like I was going to fall out or be overturned by passing boats etc.
There are two fin keels built into the bottom of the hull that provide very good tracking. Cup holder in the middle is useless and I didn't use the rod holder but it seems ok. There is a small storage area on the bow but it would be great if they had used the much larger area behind the seat for storage instead. BTW the boat is white with blue accents not red as advertised.
I don't think this would be the best choice for river kayaking where you may encounter rocks, sticks and rougher conditions due to there being no protection layer of fabric on the bottom of the boat.
Still though a very good value for he money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

You may consider to buy glue...

07/06/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase it for fishing in small lakes. The size is ok, it is very stable, confortable, easy to use, a nice product for the price, and will make you happy, BUT it does not include a complete repair kit.
It just come with two patches from the same material without glue, so you will need to buy a urethane flexible glue (normally used to repair waders, I could not find any in Walmart) if you have any problem. I burst mine on the second day of use. It was my fault, I guess that it was a hook or a bush during the transport, because the PVC is thick and seems durable. It was a small hole so I did not even need a patch and the glue was enough to repair it and now it works nice.
Last, I do not like the rod holder. It is a personal opinion, but I believe that it does not make a lot of sense to do not hold the rod with your hands while fishing from a kayak and it is not useful when paddling, as it is very easy to touch the rod with the oar and drop it through the lake. Also, it makes it difficult to keep a bag with fishing tools between your legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

rest value

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this out for the first time today and can't wait to go back tomorrow..I have had two hip replacements and this boat was so easy to get in and out of..I have never used a kayak before but can't wait to take it out again,,even with the wake from boats it was very sturdy and reliable..the seat was very comfortable and plenty of lleg room. I would recommend this for Al first time kayak users.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Sweet for the price

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this kayak on a Sunday evening & it arrived Tuesday evening with the free shipping to home option. Couldn't have been more thrilled with the shipping.
As others have mentioned, it is blue & white (not red & white as pictured), which I like better. It doesn't come with paddle, air pump, carrying case, etc. You order a kayak, you get a kayak. I went ahead & ordered the recommended paddle by same manufacturer. It arrived same day, in the same box - another bonus. I already had an air pump (air mattress for tent camping) & it worked just fine.
My 10 yr old nephew & I took it to the lake as soon as we got it out of the box. I gave it a go to start off to see how it handled, if it took on any water, stable enough for a 10 yr old to safely paddle around in the cove. I was really impressed. No awkward climbing on, flipping over... The first few times the little guy got on I made him wear a life vest just to be safe, but he gets around on it just as well (if not better) than I do. We even used it to haul both of us, 2 fishing rods & tackle box without difficulty to avoid having to walk clear around our favorite cove.
The mesh netting in front holds our water tight box (not included) for cell phone, keys, tackle, etc. I really like the fishing rod holder. It's just out of my way of paddling. I think what I enjoy most of all is it's so easy to use the air pump to deflate & poke it in the back of the truck & be done with it. I've always wanted to give a kayak a try & figured I'd buy this one to see if I really wanted to make an investment in the hobby. This really is a great little boat for the money. I'd recommend leaving it inflated after first use to allow the natural stretching of the PVC material. So the next time you take it out, just add a bit more air to get a more solid ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Good Value for the Money

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first inflatable kayak, and I have to say I am impressed. I have taken it out twice: once on the river, and once on a small lake in town. It performed well on both bodies of water. I even paddled over a submerged stump in the lake, and it did zero damage to the kayak. I am 240 lbs and was concerned about the stability of the kayak, but it handles my weight and fishing gear with ease. It does get moved around by current and wind more easily than a hard kayak especially when not paddling, but for the price I have been very happy so far and look forward to taking it out again soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WATERvliet ,NY area
GLAD to read it floats well with a MAN in it.
Posted 08/05/2014
Thanks for your weight note because I'm 230 with concerns about 'ROLL ROLL ROLL my boat". thanks again 240 LOL!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Economical very mobile

08/24/2012
By ,
Washington D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is exactly what I expected it to be. Except for I was unaware that I needed to purchase a paddle separately. Luckily I had a paddle already. It is light weight. It is easily inflated in 5 minutes tops! Very maneuverable in he water. In fact, I have used it twice thus far, and on both occasions, it has be used in the ocean waters of Miami. I personally weigh 240 pounds. The kayak sustains my weight and other gear Thwt I have taken with me. A twelve of corona beers. A back pack with roughly another 4-5.5 lbs. of added weight. I have a Boston terrier and if I can manage to figure a way that we can go out together on this kayak, I will! I recently purchased a foot pump that collapses into the back pack. I can fold and roll the kayak into a back pack and jump on my bicycle and a bus and be at the ocean without having to take my car. I recommend this kayak to beginners and veterans of kayak lovers! -Misha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Best Bang for the Buck

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my very first kayak, and I was not sure if I would like I kayaking or not. I went for cheapest I could with the best quality possible. I am very pleased. I love this kayak. It is a definite keeper. If I continue to enjoy kayaking, I will spend the money and upgrade. But for first time buyers, I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

light weight easy to use

09/06/2014
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Posting didnt say different colors
I already had a red one
The one delivered was blue!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Good Kayak for limited space or beginners

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this Kayak for my father, it's a decent kayak if you have limited space or if you're a beginner, unfortunately my father isn't a beginner and he has a truck and trailer. His comment regarding this kayak was that it wasn't V-hulled enough which made it easy to steer but made it difficult to get up to speed with other kayaks.
A great kayak to use if everyone has inflatables, but other hard hulled kayaks are going to be moving much faster and much more easily than you are.
It's very stable and very fun, but not as fast as the hard hulled kayaks, then again hard hulled kayaks are around $500 and this inflatable costs less than $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

We Are Enjoying This Kayak

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had it on the lake 2 times so far. We used the Sevylor 12v pump to inflate and it only took a few minutes. Seems pretty sturdy. And Yes, it is blue not red. Bought it from Walmart online. It came in pretty quick and was in good condition. Only one person can fit although we sat our 40lb granddaughter with her lifejacket on at the front end of the boat and paddled around with her in more shallow water for a half hour with no problems. She had a blast too! Very fun so far! This is our first boat. I think this boat is good for small lakes/ponds. I would probably not go out to sea with it or down any rapids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Nice Kayak

06/10/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cant beat this inflatable Kayak for the price! While i wouldnt want to use it in a rocky river, for calm flat lakes this is a great inexpensive option...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great inflatable kayak!

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these inflatable kayaks. Perfect choice for us as they are easy to transport. Perfect one-man kayak! Everyone from my 8 yr. old grandson (paddling solo!) to my 6ft husband found this kayak stable, secure, easy to steer, and FUN in the lake. All of us can easily use the suggested paddles. My daughter and I (the nana!) went out kayaking together taking both the kayaks, each with our dog perched at the front!! We have one suggestion: nylon handles would even make this a better purchase because it would allow us to drag or carry it much more easily. The kayak is blue and white, not red like the picture. We are very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Much more than expected!

08/08/2012
By ,
Picayune, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been wanting to try my hand at kayaking but didnt wanna take the expensive plunge into the recreation. I found the Hui Spoort kayak at my local walmart reduced to $59.00 so I bought it. After a few trips around local lakes and creeks, Im happy to say that this might well have been the best 59 bucks I;ve ever spent. It tracks pretty straight, and glides across the water almost effortlessly. I use a 12v inflator to blow it up and it ready to go in under 3 minutes. I've run aground, passed over debris, sticks and suken tree roots and have yet to have any hole or air leak. I'm 6'4", around 220lbs and this kayak keeps me afloat just fine. Invest in a good paddle and you'll be loving this kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

terrific little kayak

08/21/2014
By ,
Greenport NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have arthritis among other age related problems and I could no longer get in or out of my kayak and I thought I would never be able to kayak again until I tried this one. I can get in butt first without straddling it and out the same way. I'm thrilled with it. I've have an electric pump that works off a plug so I ordered a rechargeable air pump which will work well for me. I can easily lift my kayak and carry it a block to get to the water. I'm very excited about it. All my friends and neighbors are trying it. I won't go sea kayaking in it, but I can use it the bay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Awesome fun!!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, easily portable, durable and tons of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sevylor 1-Person Sport Kayak

Great fun!

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 4 of these for myself, husband and our two teens. They were bigger than we expected! Very durable and stable. They were delivered today and we took them out immediately on the Erie Canal. We had hours of fun! They were pretty easy to get in and out of. The cargo net in front is great for extra drinks, sandals, etc. The cup holder is especially cool! The seat backing is super supportive and very comfy. I'm not complaining about it, but some might not like that the fins on the bottom are kind of small, so you will have some left to right motion in the front as you paddle. I can't wait to take these on our next camping/fishing trip! We will be using these a lot this summer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next