Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sylvania Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

The Sylvania 4GB Video MP3/MP4 Player features a 3.6" color touchscreen that allows you to navigate your MP3 player easily. It supports popular MP3/MP4 and video formats. The eBook function allows you to read TXT files on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
2.969 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
29
1 star
70
Customer Recommendation51%113 out of 223reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
29
1 star
70
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Awesome mp3 player for the price~!

05/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the product's screen looks very little like in the picture. The icons are square and in a straight row at the bottom, while there is a 'now playing' icon in the top left that you can drag around the screen.
Pros:
-great, resonsive, colorful touch screen
-includess video, songs, ebooks, pictures, recorder, built-in microphone, a search bar to look for files (suprisingly handy)
-video is clear and can be full or widescreen on a pretty large screen :)
Cons:
-touch screen is a bit delicate. I had the same mp3 player before and after dropping it (from a not-very-high distance) the screen had 1 crack in it that just happened to go down through the wires that make the touch screen work. :(
-no radio or internet, but I don't really need/want that anyway
To conclude:
I really wish they made skins/cases for this kind of mp3 player for better protection, but overall, it's the best one I've had so far. Even after breaking my first one, I liked it so much I had to get another! Luckily, they come with a 1 year warranty and I also ordered a warranty from Wal-Mart to ensure I can get a new one if it happens to break again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
12/26/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought that the look of the product would look similar to the one above but it did not. I liked the background of the picture provided and you cannot change the background to match. It is good to play music though I have put over 700 songs on it and noticed that it can slow down when you want to look at the song that you are listening to from the main screen. I like that if the screen blacks you can touch the screen to wake it back up. This is a good product over all but a little misleading
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
10/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter (14 yr old) was very excited about this purchase. She loved that it is touch screen. She loved that it has a speaker so she doesn't have to use headphones to listen to her music while she's in her room. Those are both great features. Unfortunately, she hasn't had it 2 days and we're already having to return it. It is fully charged but when she powers it on, the Sylvania screen flashes and then the MP3 player powers off. We can't get it to stay on. We have reset it and that has not helped at all. I would say that one time in 20, we are able to get it to stay on. That's the only way we found out that the problem isn't that the battery is dead. I can not say how easy it is to put songs on it because we haven't had a chance to. Unfortunately, I am taking it back to Walmart tomorrow. And unfortunately, my daughter is out of the money she spent, in her excitement, to have the MP3 player shipped directly to her.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+201points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Neches
how do u work it?
Posted 02/16/2012
I just bought this MP3 player can someone help me? I tryed to syc the device to my real player and no music.. please someone help me work this..
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
12/18/2011
By ,
Council Bluffs, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I looked on the website and saw the picture of this MP3 player, I thought that it looked great and would be exactly what I would like. When I received it, however, I opened the box and turned it on only to find that the display is totally different than the one shown. Not only that, but the screen needs to slide in order to give you other options. The slide function is very difficult to use. Next comes the actual use. The sound quality is fantastic! I couldn't believe that it put out so much sound on such a low setting (my other MP3 player required a nearly full blast setting in order to hear it). The player is touch screen, however, it is so much smaller than I'd thought it would be. Either way, it works for what I need it to do and the minor problems that I've had have gotten easier to deal with. The more you use it, the easier the transitions become. Great value for what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 5 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
10/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price it is a wonderful product. The touch screen is a little had to get use to due to being really sensitive. Went I first started working with the product it froze up. I hit the reset button and it hasn't stopped working since. I recommend that when you first start working with the mp3 player preform the touch panel calibration under settings then system settings. Also I put all my files in different folders such as music. books. photos. When you open ebooks or photos it open all files including the music because the player saves everything in one big file and it takes a while to find what you are looking for. I love the fact it has a built in speaker, the music quality is great. even the ebook function works but the screen is small for that. Don't forget every ebooks file has to be in plain TXT. format. I
would buy this product again and recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Review 6 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

What you paid for is what you get

09/26/2011
By ,
NC, charlotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this simply to listen to music during school so it meets my only expectation. I thought it had a few extra features that might interest me but you can only listen to music, watch videos(not record them), record sound, and read .txt files . If you want more than that then dont buy this.I like the fact that it plays music loud and quality is great. only thing i dont like is that the headphones it came with are about 1 cm to short to reach from my pocket to my head. but that can be fixed. battery life is acceptable. overall, i like it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+421points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sylvania stays true to their quality
Posted 03/13/2012
Bought this little MP3 player for my son for christams before spending the money on a more expensive one . Should of went ahead and bought the good one it has stopped working and it is only mid march.. So sylvania has kept to the quality to which i expect from them.
0points
Customer Avatar
SACRAMENTO CA
Xmas Gift for little girl.
Posted 12/04/2011
I brought this item for my 7Yrs old daughter for xmas 2011 and I hope she enjoy this item I will post more if she do or if she don't.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Great MP3 for someone who wants something simple.

10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this little MP3 player. It was half the cost that my 1GB was back in 2007 and holds a ton more songs. The transfer for songs is very simple, as is photos, videos, etc. The only things kind of disappointing is that you can't change the background and the touch calibration only has three points, so it can be a little jumpy until you learn how to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+170points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Great little device with a few "fixes" needed
Posted 09/29/2012
The instructions for the device are pitiful, in my opinion. Calibrate the screen by sliding page to "settings" (slide to left) and calibrate several times...On button must be held down for more than two seconds. I use my nail and hold it down until the Sylvania screen comes on. My husband's finger is stronger and he just uses it. If you notice the touch screen isn't reacting well...recalibrate. I had to calibrate three times before I was satisfied. All in all a neat mp3 player for the $$. You are not paying for an IPod....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Great MP3 Player

01/17/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The touch screen works amazing. It goes by touch, not heat. Sound is clear and can go really loud. Putting music inside was easy and simple. All the features work great. Got it for one of my siblings and they loved it. I was even impressed with it. It's worth buying (:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 9 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

great product!

10/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this mp3 player is great, got it for my son, and now my husband wants one, was nervous about it because of the reviews, but after owning it for a while, i think they didn't like it because they compared it to an 'ipod' but this one is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 10 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Touch Screen media player for great price

01/16/2012
By ,
OKC, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am still very surprised at the cost of this mp3 player. For the price, you are getting alot. This is not an ipod however, so dont expect an awesome interface or anything like that. In fact, the interface is a little quirky, but nothing close to a deal breaker. The touch screen also takes a little adjusting to get used to, but still, not a deal breaker. This is an awesome product for the price. You cant beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Excellent mp4 for the price!

01/04/2012
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my kids for Christmas after reading many reviews. And, as most commented, the touch screen is a little hard to use....but it seems to be getting better (more sensitive) the more we use them. Also, my son, who has no fingernails to use on it, and doesn't want to carry a stylus around, has figured out he can take the earbud our of his ear from his headphones, and just tap the screen with that....it's works GREAT! The gentleman who put a review on Amazon for adding video was a MAJOR help! After trying this on my own, and a few conversations with him, I figured out Mp4 videos only work if they're very short. So to add an entire movie for my kids, I had to upload a movie that we own on DVD to my computer then convert the movie file to .avi format. That is the only way it worked. The only drawback, I couldn't figure out how to get the subtitles off the DVD upload, so when I converted it to .avi, the subtitles were still on it. My kids, however, don't mind that, cause if they can't understand a part, they can read it....and I think that's GREAT, cause they're READING while watching a great movie! So that ends up "Win-Win!" I tried the recommended file conversion software from his review, but all of them that were free either put a watermark behind the movie, or they only converted the first 3 minutes of the movie and stopped, wanting you to download the full version of the software for a price. I searched and searched, and with the help of "c-net reviews", discovered "Prism Video File Converter". It converted my .wmv movie files to .avi with no problems, no gimmicks and no fee...that's right, I downloaded it for free. (Thank you C-Net) I have about 20 or 30 songs, about 20 photos, one e-book "Peter Rabbit", and 2 movies, downloaded on each of their mp4s, and they are finally getting close to being full...and we all know how large movie files are. On another note...the only e-book file supported is .txt which you can find for free in some places online also (if the copyright has expired you do not have to purchase them, and there are some sites out there that have already done the research and put them into one easy to use site)....I felt lucky in finding Peter Rabbit for free. All in all, this mp4 has pleasantly surprised me, and my kids are super excited to have a "touch screen"! They think they're big time! :0) I would definitley buy again! Only wish I had a cord to charge it in a vehicle or outlet....only cord it comes with is USB, so looks like we'll be investing in a USB converter for charging purposes and traveling convenience! Don't hesitate in buying this....it's adult and kid friendly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
best review!
Posted 01/11/2012
This is the best review ive seen on here so far!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Great mp3 player!

07/07/2012
By ,
Bechtelsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for myself, 17, and my little brother, 10. We love them! People complain about not being able to do things but it's really not that hard if you are any bit intelligent and tech savvy.http://www.curtisint.com/html/CustService/Manuals/SYL_SMPK4230_EN.PDF is the link for the online manual if there are any issues. It's really nice for all the features. So what if the menu screen looks different from the picture, you can change the background! Also the touch screen is not like an ipod, yes you have to use either a stylus or your nail but it's like $30! Video quality is great as well as picture. Ebooks read very well and music sound thru headphones is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
questions
Posted 11/12/2012
can you play games on this one if so what kind please let me know since im trying to get one for my son thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Great MP3 Player for an 8 yr old

10/04/2011
By ,
Port St Joe, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this MP3 player for my grandaughter birthday and she loves it; easy to manage, touch screen, etc...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+194points
Review 14 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
10/15/2011
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The battery isn't as good as you would expect, considering it plays video's. However, it has great sound quality, even has built in speakers. You will need to buy better headphones, but after that its great. The video capability is somewhat okay, I don't use it that often. The touch screen calibration fixes the issue of having to touch the screen multiple times, mostly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 15 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen
01/06/2012
By ,
Baltimore Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is 11 and he loves it. the size is great and it was not that hard to put the songs on it. It has a lot of options on it that we have not tried yet. but plan on doing so soon. the sound is great, and the touch screen is good also. we like it. Sylvania 4GB Touch Screen, MP3/MP4 Video Player
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Great for a 6 year old!!!

12/12/2011
By ,
Winter Haven, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 6 year old daughter for Christmas. She hasn't used it yet, but I have. I downloaded music on it for her very easliy and the sound quality was good. I also put some pictures on it with ease. I have yet to put any books on it and not sure how to go about it, but hope to figure it out after Christmas. The touch screen is a little sensitive, but will be perfect for little fingers. I feel she is too little for an expensive ipod and didn't want any electronic with internet access, so I am very Happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 17 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

A must for Teenagers

01/02/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I don't have the money like alot of people to get their children an iPod but I had to look at something that was functional and affordable MP4 players. My daughter who is 13 years old got it for Christmas. She charged it completely before using it and she just fell in love with it, the touch screen and the name brand. She told that it was alot better than what her dad got her the Christmas before it was the off the wall brand not a good thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Awesome product!

01/02/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Santa" got two of these for a 7-year-old boy and 9-year-old girl. They both asked for an MP3 player and video player with a touch screen. All others we looked at were MUCH more expensive, and had smaller screens. The screen size is really great, and the touch screens are fantastic! Adult fingers have a harder time getting the touch screens to work, though - I recommend a stylus or something for adults. The built-in speakers have good sound. The music & movies are easy to find. The text reader is an added bonus, and is great! Pick up a plug adapter so you can re-charge in the wall instead of in a computer or a car charger, and you're good to go! This was a FANTASTIC buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Verdict still out

10/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I charged my video/mp3 player for three hours until the battery icon stopped flashing like the instuctions said and when I started playing with it, it shut down and then would only flash "Sylvannia" and then go blank. I contacted the manufacturer and was told that I need to charge the unit for at least 9 hours before doing anything with it. So I returned it. Iwill buy a new one and try this one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Review 20 for Sylvania 4GB MP3/MP4 Video Player w/ 3.6" Touch Screen

Let down purchase

12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very let down with this purchase. I had the Mp3 player for one day and it worked fine. The next day I went to turn it on and it wouldn't work. Thinking maybe it needed a charge I plugged it into my laptop where it wouldn't even register as being plugged in. We continued to try and get it to come on only for it to come on occasionally. Needless to say we returned it to the store for a refund and I didn't bother wasting my time with buying another online and having to wait another week for it to arrive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Same problem but solved...
Posted 02/17/2012
I had the same problem as you ... I would try to charge it on the computer but wouldn't even show up .. The problem, i found out, was with my computer, not the player.... Come to find out my computer did not have the driver installed for the player thus not allowing it to charge.. Once I installed the driver, nothing but great success !!! Had to go to Sylvania website to get the driver...
Hope this helps...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next