Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Sylvania Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Play two movies at once or one movie on two screens perfect for family travel! The Sylvania dual DVD players actually consist of two 7" portable DVD players to let passengers indulge in enjoying their own DVD movies and music on the road when used as car DVD players. The mounting kits make installation faster and easier, too.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation75%142 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for car rides or just around the house.

07/19/2012
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so that me and my siblings could watch movies in the car for long rides and I must say that they are GREAT! I don't know what people are talking about saying the sound is bad, because the sound is really good for music or movies also the earphone that come with have great audio. It is a great deal when you buy this with the bonus DVD bundle. The straps are kinda tricky but it's pretty easy to figure out. Good picture and easy to set up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great DVD travel system

03/31/2014
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 sets of this DVD player because I thought it would make travel in our van much easier. We currently had 2 different DVD players and one stopped working. I saw the Sylvania Dual Screen portable players and felt it would be perfect for our 3 kids. Everyone always wants to watch their own movies, so that is a struggle to get them to compromise. THIS system can play the same movie on both screens OR each can play their own!! The plus is that each unit brings its own remote and earphones. The picture is sharp and the sound quality is great. I also, like that the movie starts back where it leaves off, after the player is turned off. The ease of set up was not that easy as far as programing. I was ready to take the DVD players back because I couldn't initially get the second screen to play the movie that both were going to share. My husband found that you need the B remote for the B screen and must program DVD/IN. Otherwise, it won't work as one unit. The instructions weren't very clear but it's there. As far as skipping, we haven't had that problem. The delivery was really quick and the price was just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for families on the go!

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just needed something to help the kids on our trips into town which are typically 45min-1 hour long drives and with appointments and other things, we really desperately needed some kind of distraction from what was going on.
They are pretty good DVD players, I recommend the tablets and not the flip ones, they just last forever. The sound is actually quite good, I mean, you can't expect it to sound like your TV from home! We use both headphones and the speaker and my kids are so so happy! And the price is AMAZING! We were wary after reading the other reviews about this purchase but I decided to take the chance and go for it. It came with everything I needed and I was able to buy some good headphones to go with it! Kids love it, I love it, they work great! I am glad I didn't listen to the reviews of this product! Oh and you can always buy a cord to plug into your stereo and then I get to listen to Frozen when they are watching it. Win Win.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Good Value

01/13/2014
By ,
Plymouth, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought these DVD players with a Walmart gift card (our other portable players by Phillips stopped working but luckily we purchased the protection- I highly recommend spending the extra money for the protection, Walmart's is wonderful), we chose these units because of the option to either watch the same movie on both or play two separate movies. I love that it's two DVD players! It was kind of confusing setting up the players to show the same movie on both screens- the DVD has to be in the "A" player and you must press a button on the "B" remote-but it wasn't much trouble once we actually read the directions.
The sound isn't wonderful but with headphones it's fine- we hooked it up to the car stereo so the sound is perfect- the picture is good, screen size is nice.
The description doesn't say the units have batteries but they do, I'm not sure how long they last but they're there!
We've only been using the units
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Horrible Customer Service

11/24/2011
By ,
Jacksonville NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2 DVD players from this company and they have both broke twice. I had to fight with them to try to get them to replace both of them without paying a $45.00 co-pay fee for each. The DVD players were $99.00 a piece, and they wanted us to pay a $45.00 fee to fix them + $14.00 to ship (each flat rate box) them back to the company and include (2) $7.00 checks to ensure them when they shipped them back to us. After all the fee's it came out to $67.00 to get them fixed as this company only has a 3-month (90 day warranty). Both of our DVD players broke just after the 90 day warranty expired. When they sent us the replacements they both broke, yet again just after that 90 days. This company's product is designed to work for the first 3 months then it's a matter of time before you're out purchasing a new product. We do NOT recommend this product to anybody who values the hard earned American dollar in which you worked so hard to earn.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Worth the money

02/09/2014
By ,
St. Michael
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this it entertaines him in the car, the sound is great and the picture quality! No skipping on rides, I love that each one plays it's own DVD and u can also have them both play the same DVD. It's worth the wait ordering it online and it's the only one I found that comes with a remote. Highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great investment

01/05/2014
By ,
Conway, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad I didn't listen to the poor reviews and purchased this product anyway. We bought these for our two daughters to watch when we travel. The straps are very secure and stay on nicely during our long trips. The sound was loud enough with and/or without headphones. Our girls had no problem hearing their movies. The picture is also great. We are very satisfied with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for rear facing kids!

02/18/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 9 month old. Love that I can use 1 or both. I can put it anywhere I need it and the picture and sound are great!
Only simi negative is I can't turn the volume up
Or down with remotes. You can mute it when u need quiet though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Looks like a great buy...but not worth the trouble

07/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a thrifty shopper and I love to get a great deal. I went with this product thinking "you can't beat this for 100 bucks". The reason I returned it? The volume. We synced the two players together and turned the volume all the up. (We even tried it with headphones) We could barely hear it.
Pros: Battery life of 2 hours, Dual DVD players (not just dual screens), carrying case,
Cons: Mounting straps are nonsense, remotes are low budget and made it more complicated (if you lose a remote you cant sync the 2 players), syncing the players was too complicated for kids to do, earphones are useless,no resume playback
Summary: I went with the Philips dual DVD players. Fifty bucks more....the picture and volume are amazing! Mounting straps are simple but effective, has resume playback, the screens are 9in., and no remote hassle (all controls are right on the units) The 2 downsides: no battery and no carrying case. I decided that I can live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Cheap but will not last

04/22/2014
By ,
Buford GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased item on-line at wal mart.com got this for under $60.00 I was like this is great to occupy my two grandkids. I had to replace the power cord less than 6 months after purchase and paid over $20.00 for replacement cord and now the second monitor does not work and the main monitor comes on and off while power is on. The owners manual offers no customer service number or directions to direct warranty issues. There is only a 90 days warranty and after that its done nothing you can do. When it worked it was great but spend a little more for a better brand that will last a little longer. I only had this since June 2013 this has not lasted a year....very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Very Good Set-Up!

04/24/2014
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am VERY pleased with this set-up. Some complained about the sound quality and some about it skipping. I have had no trouble with either of these. I live in the country and have to travel dirt roads and gravel roads. Even with these issues the DVD player kept on playing without a beat and the sound was very good.
I could even have the radio on and not inturupt my 2 year old daughter listening to her DVD.
I love the feature about playing two different movies. Makes for a comfortable vacation ride when there are more than two children in the backseat. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for long drives

04/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it for the vacation. Setting up the product is easy.
I have only two problems with the product:
1. the USB input is only for one device. The master device (called A) can play DVD for both devices. However, the USB and SD card connectors are on device B thus the two devices can play the same DVD but not any other input.
2. I have to set up the DVD input for device B every time I opened the DVD. In addition, it doesn't "remember" the last location on the DVD and it starts from the beginning each time.
Other then that, it worked great and my daughters loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

excellent item for travel

03/07/2014
By ,
sylacauga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought these dvd's for the grandkids,they love them,makes travel a lot easier. the picture quality is excellent,easy set-up,great value for the price,very fast delivery,we got them before estimated delivery. we're very happy with them. we would recommend these for anyone with small children who travel alot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Really good for the price

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this player about two years ago and it still work great. What I like most is the ability for the kids to watch separate movies if they choose to. I have bought several players and all I've had to replace after about a year due to some kind of malfunction. From now on I will stick with this one. I would recommend this to any family on a budget. I is a really good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Turns out to be not so great!

01/09/2013
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these about a year ago for long trips with our toddlers and figured they would be great since its a Sylvania products! I thought they would be decent since some of the reviews turned out to be great products. But after only using them less then a handful of times, it turns out the dvd players are cheap. The head straps were very cheap and did not hold the dvd players in place at all. If you bumped them or if you turned the vehicle lightly, it seems like they were always falling out. They didn't hold the dvd players up whatsoever. Today I started them up before one of our trips and now the screens are not working!!! I am not very happy with these and wish I could take them back but since we had them for about 2 years and only used them about 3 times, the money is gone to waste. I would not purchase these. When you first get them they work great but after using them two or three times, they go bad. The second screen isn't working and the first screen is just pure white. Definitely not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for traveling long distance or long waits.

04/24/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product to keep busy while traveling. I can watch them not only in the car but anywhere I have a long wait. Small n easy to carry around. Well worth my money. I got more then what I thought I was paying for. Awesome product and I do recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Excellent product

04/19/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was quick and easy. Picture is excellent. We bought these for our 5 and 7 year old daughters which worked out really well. The only thing I don't like about this product is the earphones. They work just fine, they're just too big for my daughters ears so we purchased different headphones. Other than that these are awesome! No skipping discs during bumpy rides or any other problems! I would definitely buy these again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Very unsatisfactory

04/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this player maybe 4 or 5 times and the sound would not work any longer, I bought it for a Christmas gift, so the warrenty was up and it could not be replaced. Yes we did do troubleshooting by both of my children who are very advanced in the workings of these products and neither could figure out what was wrong. So I spent at that time $79.00 dollars on this product and certainly didn't get my money's worth, very dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Good DVD player for the price

04/21/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sound seems to be better with some DVDs than with others, but overall I am pleased with the sound compared to a previous portable DVD player I owned. I like that it came with headphones and my kids have the choice to watch the same DVD or different ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Was perfect for a family trip!

04/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was perfect for our family trip - kids loved it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next