Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Sylvania Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Play two movies at once or one movie on two screens perfect for family travel! The Sylvania dual DVD players actually consist of two 7" portable DVD players to let passengers indulge in enjoying their own DVD movies and music on the road when used as car DVD players. The mounting kits make installation faster and easier, too.
Average Customer Rating:
3.712 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation75%136 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for car rides or just around the house.

07/19/2012
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so that me and my siblings could watch movies in the car for long rides and I must say that they are GREAT! I don't know what people are talking about saying the sound is bad, because the sound is really good for music or movies also the earphone that come with have great audio. It is a great deal when you buy this with the bonus DVD bundle. The straps are kinda tricky but it's pretty easy to figure out. Good picture and easy to set up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Good Value

01/13/2014
By ,
Plymouth, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought these DVD players with a Walmart gift card (our other portable players by Phillips stopped working but luckily we purchased the protection- I highly recommend spending the extra money for the protection, Walmart's is wonderful), we chose these units because of the option to either watch the same movie on both or play two separate movies. I love that it's two DVD players! It was kind of confusing setting up the players to show the same movie on both screens- the DVD has to be in the "A" player and you must press a button on the "B" remote-but it wasn't much trouble once we actually read the directions.
The sound isn't wonderful but with headphones it's fine- we hooked it up to the car stereo so the sound is perfect- the picture is good, screen size is nice.
The description doesn't say the units have batteries but they do, I'm not sure how long they last but they're there!
We've only been using the units
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great DVD travel system

03/31/2014
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 sets of this DVD player because I thought it would make travel in our van much easier. We currently had 2 different DVD players and one stopped working. I saw the Sylvania Dual Screen portable players and felt it would be perfect for our 3 kids. Everyone always wants to watch their own movies, so that is a struggle to get them to compromise. THIS system can play the same movie on both screens OR each can play their own!! The plus is that each unit brings its own remote and earphones. The picture is sharp and the sound quality is great. I also, like that the movie starts back where it leaves off, after the player is turned off. The ease of set up was not that easy as far as programing. I was ready to take the DVD players back because I couldn't initially get the second screen to play the movie that both were going to share. My husband found that you need the B remote for the B screen and must program DVD/IN. Otherwise, it won't work as one unit. The instructions weren't very clear but it's there. As far as skipping, we haven't had that problem. The delivery was really quick and the price was just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Horrible Customer Service

11/24/2011
By ,
Jacksonville NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2 DVD players from this company and they have both broke twice. I had to fight with them to try to get them to replace both of them without paying a $45.00 co-pay fee for each. The DVD players were $99.00 a piece, and they wanted us to pay a $45.00 fee to fix them + $14.00 to ship (each flat rate box) them back to the company and include (2) $7.00 checks to ensure them when they shipped them back to us. After all the fee's it came out to $67.00 to get them fixed as this company only has a 3-month (90 day warranty). Both of our DVD players broke just after the 90 day warranty expired. When they sent us the replacements they both broke, yet again just after that 90 days. This company's product is designed to work for the first 3 months then it's a matter of time before you're out purchasing a new product. We do NOT recommend this product to anybody who values the hard earned American dollar in which you worked so hard to earn.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Worth the money

02/09/2014
By ,
St. Michael
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this it entertaines him in the car, the sound is great and the picture quality! No skipping on rides, I love that each one plays it's own DVD and u can also have them both play the same DVD. It's worth the wait ordering it online and it's the only one I found that comes with a remote. Highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for rear facing kids!

02/18/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 9 month old. Love that I can use 1 or both. I can put it anywhere I need it and the picture and sound are great!
Only simi negative is I can't turn the volume up
Or down with remotes. You can mute it when u need quiet though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great investment

01/05/2014
By ,
Conway, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad I didn't listen to the poor reviews and purchased this product anyway. We bought these for our two daughters to watch when we travel. The straps are very secure and stay on nicely during our long trips. The sound was loud enough with and/or without headphones. Our girls had no problem hearing their movies. The picture is also great. We are very satisfied with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Looks like a great buy...but not worth the trouble

07/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a thrifty shopper and I love to get a great deal. I went with this product thinking "you can't beat this for 100 bucks". The reason I returned it? The volume. We synced the two players together and turned the volume all the up. (We even tried it with headphones) We could barely hear it.
Pros: Battery life of 2 hours, Dual DVD players (not just dual screens), carrying case,
Cons: Mounting straps are nonsense, remotes are low budget and made it more complicated (if you lose a remote you cant sync the 2 players), syncing the players was too complicated for kids to do, earphones are useless,no resume playback
Summary: I went with the Philips dual DVD players. Fifty bucks more....the picture and volume are amazing! Mounting straps are simple but effective, has resume playback, the screens are 9in., and no remote hassle (all controls are right on the units) The 2 downsides: no battery and no carrying case. I decided that I can live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

excellent item for travel

03/07/2014
By ,
sylacauga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought these dvd's for the grandkids,they love them,makes travel a lot easier. the picture quality is excellent,easy set-up,great value for the price,very fast delivery,we got them before estimated delivery. we're very happy with them. we would recommend these for anyone with small children who travel alot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Really good for the price

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this player about two years ago and it still work great. What I like most is the ability for the kids to watch separate movies if they choose to. I have bought several players and all I've had to replace after about a year due to some kind of malfunction. From now on I will stick with this one. I would recommend this to any family on a budget. I is a really good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Excellent product

04/19/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was quick and easy. Picture is excellent. We bought these for our 5 and 7 year old daughters which worked out really well. The only thing I don't like about this product is the earphones. They work just fine, they're just too big for my daughters ears so we purchased different headphones. Other than that these are awesome! No skipping discs during bumpy rides or any other problems! I would definitely buy these again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Very unsatisfactory

04/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this player maybe 4 or 5 times and the sound would not work any longer, I bought it for a Christmas gift, so the warrenty was up and it could not be replaced. Yes we did do troubleshooting by both of my children who are very advanced in the workings of these products and neither could figure out what was wrong. So I spent at that time $79.00 dollars on this product and certainly didn't get my money's worth, very dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Turns out to be not so great!

01/09/2013
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these about a year ago for long trips with our toddlers and figured they would be great since its a Sylvania products! I thought they would be decent since some of the reviews turned out to be great products. But after only using them less then a handful of times, it turns out the dvd players are cheap. The head straps were very cheap and did not hold the dvd players in place at all. If you bumped them or if you turned the vehicle lightly, it seems like they were always falling out. They didn't hold the dvd players up whatsoever. Today I started them up before one of our trips and now the screens are not working!!! I am not very happy with these and wish I could take them back but since we had them for about 2 years and only used them about 3 times, the money is gone to waste. I would not purchase these. When you first get them they work great but after using them two or three times, they go bad. The second screen isn't working and the first screen is just pure white. Definitely not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great value

03/15/2014
By ,
Lufkin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for a 600 mile road trip...and could not have been happier. Everything needed was in the box, the batteries charged while in use and the size was perfect. Our seven year old learned to use it on his own in about two minutes. I scored serious mommy points with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

2 DVD players in one box

09/25/2011
By ,
Forked River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sylvania finally did it right by including 2 DVD players in one box. I now have the capability of allowing 2 people in the rear of car to independently watch different shows. Also allows one to watch movie while the other plays games. Watch the same movie or separate movies. The only drawback is I would like Sylvania to include 2 separate car adaptors but I understand that one adaptor connecting both devices works best for everyday use. Overall, both players work very well and the print on function buttons make it very easy to read and use. Remote controlls (2) are very useful including volume control which is not available on competitor's unit. Service dept. very helpful and easy to reach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

great buy

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love it! Great for the kids and long trips!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Hard to hear

10/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, I am pleased with the product. The two screens each have their own players, to my kids can watch their own movie if they want to. They also connect together so the same movie will show on both screens. My kids love the flexibility. However, the volume level is way too low when turned up all the way. There is both an external dial-like volume control, and an internal volume control that can only be changed with the remote control. With both turned up all the way and the two units connected, the kids can barely hear the movie, either with the external speakers, or the ear-buds in.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Awesome product

03/11/2014
By ,
Warrington, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and quality I am very happy with the purchase thanks again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Good deal

04/09/2014
By ,
Kenosha, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price, fast shipping, nice product can play a different movie on each screen or one on both.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sylvania 7" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player with Dual DVD Players, SDVD8791

Great for road trips

04/08/2014
By ,
Calhoun GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this set for a recent road trip to Myrtle Beach. They were really easy to install, set up took about 15 minutes and they are easy go use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next