Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sylvania Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

The Sylvania Dual-Screen DVD Player features two 9" widescreen color displays with headrest mounting kits for easy viewing in your car. Two sets of stereo earphones allow for private listening to movie soundtracks or CDs on this 9" portable DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation68%30 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

For long trips-awesome

11/30/2011
By ,
Edmond, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So here is the scoop. If you are looking for a DVD player for your kids to ride around town watching-this could be the wrong choice. If you need one for long trips and don't want to keep changing the DVD...this is your player!
2 problems: the headrest mount makes changing a DVD difficult and the player does not return to the last stopping point if the car is turned off. This is why for short trips it is a pain.
However, the fact that it plays an SD card, and I can load 12 movies on one card, is awesome! I loaded a bunch of movies and they just play one after the other so there is no changing DVDs and no carting around a bunch of DVDs that might get lost.
I would have given it an excellent rating if it didn't start over everytime I stopped the car...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+173points
Review 2 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Audio not very loud.

11/28/2011
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The video is great. The cable is too short to run down the seat and across the floor. It has to run straight across the open access between the front seats, which I don't like at all. The audio is clear but it isn't loud enough. It is a bit difficult to hear when driving. I do have the sound turned up as high as it will go on both units. I may end up taking these back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Review 3 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Fantastic value

07/13/2012
By ,
Harrisburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i chose this brand based on others reviews. They are easy to set up and relatively easy to use. The volume is low, but unless you have a lot of road noise, it's manageable. My car continues to feed the power so we do not lose our spot on the DVD after a quick stop. I did have a challenge with the mounting straps, my headrests are an odd shape, but we worked that out.
We have also learned that changing the DVD while the car is in motion is unlikely. Both my girls are still in car seats and cannot reach the unit... And I can't do it while driving... But this is a manageable issue. I love that the unit comes with both a car charger and regular wall charger, increasing the number of uses... We only use this during long trips and otherwise keep it stored in the case. No technical difficulties ,..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 4 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Great for long road trips

01/17/2012
By ,
las vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family really enjoys the dual player on long road trips, but it was my 15 year-old daughter that had to unvelcro the straps to change the dvds. I do not believe that a child in a carseat or booster chair could do the same.
In the product description, I am pretty sure that the dual player could be viewed individually or together. When I used the player for the the first time, found there is only one player and the other is just a screen for veiwing.
There is an USB port for a flash drive. If you planned ahead, you could download music and movies to the flashdrive and not have to change the disk out everytime. I thought that was a very nice feature.
The sound was ok. It is best when you use the earphones or connect to the car stereo system through the auxiliary jack (not included, separate purchase).
The picture was very good and clear and the 9" screen was perfect.
The most missed features for this purchase was that it does not have a last memory playback and that it does not have the option to play it on battery power. When the car is turned off, so is the power and the player. When the car is turned on, the movie/cd will go back to the beginning and you have to skip forward to get back to where you left off. A little annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 5 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002
12/12/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was not very well thought out before distribution. It has no straps for headrest mounting, no resume play if you turn off the vehicle the DVD starts over again. The resolution is so so. A battery should be added in order to insure that the DVD can resume, and pause. If you are going on a long trip with no stops for at least 2 hrs this would be great, other than that, NO.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Review 6 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Works like you thnk it would

05/27/2012
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am reviewing this item brand new. At the current time, everything is fine. works as expected and does what it is suppose to do. For me, this is the only style of DVD player that works in my vehicle without doing a $1000 custom job. For that much I can buy these several times till some new technology roles out.
My problem, no matter the brand has always been screen 2 going dead. I never had a Sylvania and can't compare apples to apples... but I expect the same thing to happen in a year to year and a half. We don't put these through major usage. Used a few times a month.
This is the only product I have found that is a dual 9 inch screen, and not having both monitors with a DVD player. That is an added cost and don't plan on running 2 seperte movies in the van with 5 kids. One is distracting enough as the driver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Pretty Good - 1 Drawback

04/29/2012
By ,
Orlando, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture is great and it was easy to install. The only drawback is that when you turn it off and then back on again it doesn't keep your place in the DVD. It totally starts over, which is a little annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Ok

11/27/2011
By ,
seminole tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a good deal but they aren't very loud
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 9 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

WORKS FOR NOW

03/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this for our 4 year old and 1 year old. It will work for now, but if you have older children, they have to watch the same movie. The three things I don't like is the remote works within a 30 degree radious of the front of the DVD player. If I am in the car, I can't push play with out stopping the car, getting out and doing it. It would be so much nicer if I could just push the button and go. The second issue is that the cords linking the two of them are way too short. I can't pin them to the floor or the roof of my van so they go accross the middle of the seats, where I will accidently catch it with my purse of my kids tear it out climbing through the middle. Third, the player does not charge, it must be plugged in to work. This isn't my favorite because I would love to just take the DVD player into wherever I am and allow them to watch it sometims! It was a good priced compared to others similar. You get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Dont Do it! Pick something else!

04/17/2012
By ,
FT LAUDERDALE, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I dont like the way the wires have to run from one unit to another. The way I have it set up in the car is the main CD player is behind the drivers seat and the 2nd unit is behind the passenger seat. If you only have someone in the passengers back seat, both units have to play. You have to have both units running even if you only have one person in the back seat. There is a terrible noise already coming from the unit that holds the CD and it does not always load. The units can be sat on a table but held up the same way a picture frame is. Falls over very easily and constantly. Going to have to send it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

The volume on this player is horrible! Don't buy!!

05/17/2012
By ,
Orange, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't waste your money or time on purchasing this dvd player. You get a good picture but little to no sound. I am packaging mine up and returning to my local WalMart as soon as possible! What a dissappointment!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 12 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002
01/26/2012
By ,
Castle Rock, Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the long trips as well as the short ones. Audio seemed to be quiet but plug in some headphones and you're good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 13 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Returned DVD player.

08/13/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this Sylvania DVD player as a replacement for an Audiovox and Sony that both long outlasted their batteries. Unfortunately, it is cheaper to purchase a new DVD player than replacement batteries. However, we returned it to Wal-Mart within the 15 day cutoff period to return DVD players. Wal-Mart refunded the purchase price plus tax, but would not refund shipping or the 1 year replacement guarantee we purchased. On the positive side, this player did play DVD's. On the negative side, we returned it because the volume had to be kept at the max level just to be able to barely hear it in a quiet vehicle. Also, the screen had to be held at a certain angle to see the picture or it would appear black. Finally, this player does not use batteries and does not have resume play therefore each time the power supply was off the DVD would start over from the beginning. We read in some reviews about the volume issues, but mistakenly assumed that the reviewers were just being to picky. Truthfully, the volume is just not loud enough. Our next player will be either another Audiovox or Sony!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Do not recommend; a waste of money!

03/13/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the first product review I have ever submitted, but I felt a strong need to keep others from suffering the misfortune I have with this!!
I purchased this for my granddaughter in November, to be used daily in the car. Upon hooking up, realized there is no internal battery, so it has to be plugged in to use. So, every time you get in the car, the DVD starts all over, which is a pain. Then, about 3 weeks in, the wires on the car power cord completely came out of the part that plugs in, so I had to go to Radio Shack and pay $20 a new one so it would work. Last and final straw...about a week ago (3 months in), it completely stopped working properly! When you turn it on, it will start to play the beginning credits of the DVD, but quits after about 1 minute! I called the company for help, and that was a complete joke! They asked for purchase date, and when I told them November, the guy told me "Product has only 90 warranty, so you will need to find repair shop or purchase new unit". He would not even transfer me to anyone in tech that might be able to help me see if there was a way to fix it because it had been 93 days since I ordered it (even though, since I had it shipped, I had only had the product in hand for use 86 day total!).
So, I am now shopping for a new, better DVD player for the car. Please do not waste your money on this!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Pure Junk ,Dont Buy

05/18/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this thinking it would work in the car . No Volume ,had it all the way up and couldnt hear it . Called Tech Support ,What a joke . Sylvania doesnt even have support for this product ,had to call Somewhere in India , Guy Says You take back to store where you bought .
Dont Buy this Junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Exactly what I needed

04/19/2012
By ,
Woodland Hills, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was exactly what I needed. What is more important to me is that I was able to find what I needed on the internet, order it and have it just come to my door in a couple days. What is even MORE important is that I found I needed another one in a hurry and I ordered it on-line. I checked the rush box and figured it would do me no good but it came practically the next day. I needed this as part of a bigger project and I was going to miss my deadline. Then it shows up at the door and my day is saved. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Nice for long car rides

07/11/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great buy for the money. Only thing that was a bit annoying was the straps that hold the players onto the seats were not made properly so one player is hard to keep firmly attached.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 18 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9

05/30/2012
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player arraived Friday, installed and played Saturday, and monitor showed only stripes Tuesday, only 3 days later. This DVD player will be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Great DVD PLAYER

07/28/2012
By ,
OCONTO WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tHIS IS A GREAT PLAYER, THE GRAND KIDS LOVE IT AND IT IS EASY TO INSTALL NO TROUBLE CHANGING DISKS AND GOOD VOLUME, THE PRICE WAS RIGHT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Sylvania 9" Dual Screen Portable DVD Player, SDVD9002

Product does not hold a charge / sound is terrible

07/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually do not leave reviews on products but could not pass the opportunity to leave a review for this product. I purchased these to go on vacation with me and found that the unit could not hold a charge - brand new out of the box. I had to plug it into the 12V anytime my kids wanted to watch their movies and since there are no plugs on a plane my kids could not watch their movies at all. In addition, the sound did not work unless you moved the cord around.
These were very disappointing for the price paid. We will be returning these screens and will not purchase another Sylvania product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next