Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Super Tech SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Super Tech SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil has enhanced wear protection and outstanding resistance to thermal breakdown at operating temperatures.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation56%5 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

It's ok

11/18/2011
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usually, I use penzoil for 97 Lexus ES300. I tried ST conversion oil a few times. With ST oil the engine runs noisier right after change or after 1500-2000 miles. With penzoil or valvoline engine works smoothly and quietly. The difference is like you drive a newer car. This condition last up to 4000 m. (dint drive longer with one oil change).
I would recommend change ST not longer than 3000 miles, or use a good brand oil during 5000 m, if you want to compensate for the difference in price. Also, brand new ST oil is darker and smells bad. I think it is because this oil contains higher (maybe 40-50%) proportion of recycled oil. To be fair, didn't see any difference in mpg and cleanness.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Frankfort, KY
What makes you think the ST oil is recycled?
Posted 07/22/2012
First, recycled oil costs more to produce, simply because there is less dirty oil available from which it can be re-refined (the oil industry term recycling used oil into new oil). So, how can an inexpensive oil contain a more expensive product, and why in the world would a retailer sell it for less than it's worth?
Second, although there is, currently, no requirement to label oils as virgin or recycled, in the past, oil mfr's were reluctant to use the term "recycled" for fear that the (generally) ignorant public would think they were getting less for their money. Today, however, most people tend to believe that recycling is good for the environment, so NOT indicating "recycled" or similar, would actually be a negative!
Third, regardless of the percentage of recycled oil used, modern recycling techniques make it virtually as good as virgin oil; it is a myth that the recycled oil will look or smell any different than virgin oil.
Fourth, any difference in color or viscosity or smell will be due to the manufacturing process, having nothing to do with whether it is virgin or recycled. In other words, the manufacturing process may include a variety of additives (or, contrarily, the exclusion of such) which are more likely to account for any sensory differences. Regardless, as long as the oil is labeled "API SM" (or higher 'S' (gas) letter (e.g., 'SN')), then it is perfectly suitable for the majority of modern (post 2000) cars, whether virgin or recycled.
Fifth, given similar API and environmental and driving conditions over each oil change at regular intervals, the average motor oil consumer (and most mechanics) wouldn't notice any difference between any manufacturer's oils, virgin, recycled, or a combination of either, even if they were to compare similar sets of virgin, recycled - - new or used - - oils set in front of them.
So, please, if you must give a review, don't throw in seemingly random statistics without proof (BTW, your Walmart user name doesn't inspire confidence).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

excellent value oil

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Supertech 5W30 has been the exclusive oil for my 2001 Camry 4-cyl for over 150,000 miles. I still get 29 mpg on the highway. I change the oil every 3000-5000 miles and there has never been any sign of sludge (you can tell when the oil is draining). I don't know if Supertech is better than brand name oils but it certainly is an excellent value oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
It's ok.
Posted 11/18/2011
Usually, I use penzoil for 97 Lexus ES300. I tried ST conversion oil a few times. With ST oil the engine runs noisier right after change or after 1500-2000 miles. With penzoil or valvoline engine works smoothly and quietly. The difference is like you drive a newer car. This condition last up to 4000 m. (dint drive longer with one oil change). I would recommend change ST not longer than 3000 miles, or use good brand oil for 5000 m, if you want to compensate for the difference in price. Also, brand new ST oil is darker and smells bed. I think it is because this oil contains higher (maybe 40-50%) proportion of recycled oil. To be fair, didn't see any difference in mpg and cleanness. 4 stars from 5.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Great oil at good price

10/30/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For normal oil changes you can't beat the supertech oils. Pushing 150k miles now on Hyundai Sonanta with 5k oil changes with supertech filters and oil. Both are high quality items and perform very well. Just look around on the web for oil analysis on this oil and you will see what I mean. It is as good as any other comparable dino oil and cost less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Best Buy

02/02/2012
By ,
Fall River, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this oil for over ten years in my Nissan altima. I have never had any problems and my car has been great. Also the supertech filters are great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Good Product

07/11/2012
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using Super Tech oil (and filters) for at least 15 years. I used this in my 1997 Camry, changed oil and filter every 3,500 miles, put over 240k miles on the car. The car never used any oil, got great gas mileage and still running like new when I sold the car. The new owner is still driving the car two years later.
You can't beat the price for either item. The Super Tech oil filter is no longer carried at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Far from the best.

03/24/2012
By ,
Warfield, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got my 02 Malibu 5 years ago and I normally use Quakerstate oil in my car. I usually have my dad change the oil in my car and I made the mistake of letting him pick up my oil. Instead of coming back with my regular oil he came back with this stuff. Well he changed the oil and almost right away I knew the difference. My engine didn't run as smooth and was noiser than normal. At first I didn't think it was the oil until after I got another oil change. When I had the oil change this stuff was really dark in color compared to Quakerstate, even at 3,000 miles. I will never again use this stuff and I'm more than happy to pay 1-2 extra dollars on good oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oakridge, ore
shopper
Posted 07/05/2012
Tech motor oil was in consumer guide it tested good as any oil you can buy --5 stars I use it in everything that uses oil, boat motor,lawn mower ,weed eater,car motor home and my pickup never an ounce of trouble,the lady with the Malibu had an existing problem before the oil change not her Dad's fault without a doubt -,I know a dozen people who uses this oil has had NO problem.
0points
Customer Avatar
Iowa CIty
about your comment
Posted 05/20/2012
If I were you, I would say "the oil is still transparent and clean after 3000 miles". The better the oil, the more dirty it becomes after usage. Good oil always has more detergent to clean the engine, so it is more dirty.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Great price but...

07/23/2012
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cap on this plastic container does not prevent spills. Also, there is no tab to peel off the aluminum seal under the cap, making it frustrating to open, because you have to just puncture the seal instead of peeling it off easily, which subsequentially affects the pouring of the oil. We added oil to my wife's car in the walmart parking lot and then put it in the back of the car. On the way home it leaked all over even in an upright position with the cap on tight. If you buy this oil don't open it unless you are in a garage and have a nice flat shelf to store it on, as it is not able to contain the oil if you move it around. So mad there is oil all over the back of the car now, won't buy this again just because of that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greenfield,Ca
Walmart will not ship there SuperTech oil WHY?
Posted 08/05/2012
I have been buying SuperTech oil from Walmart.com for years now. I buy it because it's a good oil and cheap and I have been buying alot online from Walmart.com that ships to my home but this is a product they will not ship to your home why not Walmart.com? Do you what me to buy from you or someone else?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

Great Price And Value

01/22/2012
By ,
Salem,NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The oil is a great value and i use it in both of my trucks and i have not had any issues.I change my oil between 3k and 4k and the engines are quiet and run great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SuperTech 5W30 Motor Oil, 5-Quart

It gets the job done.

12/11/2011
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used this oil for 200 miles after I changed the head gaskets. When I was pouring it in, it was like water. It meets the API standards but I don't trust it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.