Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VTech CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

VTech CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

The AT&T CL83201 cordless phone features a push-to-talk functionality paired with DECT 6.0 technology for clear communication. The phone includes two handsets with speakerphone and intercom between them. The AT&T cordless phone offers large white lighted display with high contrast back lights. The 2 handset cordless phones have HD audio for better sound quality and four preset profiles with 50 name/number caller ID history. The cordless phone comes with an unsurpassed range for better communication and lighted keypad on handset for easy use. You can select the ringer melodies and control the handset volume. The setup menu is available in various languages such as English, Spanish or French for users convenience with call waiting and voicemail capabilities. The DECT 6.0 cordless phones has new or missed call indicator and can be expandable up to 12 handsets through a single phone jack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%47 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

What a HIT!!

02/21/2012
By ,
Florence, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is Great! We absolutely love it. It has a feature that announces who's calling after the second ring. I LOVE IT! I call my husband every morning to wake him up to put our son on the bus. The first day we got it and I called him, it scared him right out of bed, which was amazing for me since he can sleep through a tornado. LOL! Also we get calls from a toll free service all the time and we crack up everytime they call because it sounds like the phone is saying JOE FREE....hince the nick name.....lol! My kids are like mommy who's Joe Free.....We love it!!! We also use the intercom system all the time because I am always downstairs and my husband is upstairs or vice versa, and if I need to ask him or tell him something I can just use the intercom. We were cleaning the house, he was upstairs and me down and he was listening to music, I called him over the intercom and said I wish I could hear it, so he put the phone next to the speaker and I could hear the music on the base of the phone like the radio was downstairs too...... BEST PHONE EVER....WHAT A HIT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portsmouth,VA 23704
Posted 04/05/2013
:) ;) Read ur review!! I like it11
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great sound and talk time while easy to use

09/09/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These phones have just the right combination of features including voicemail alerts (through your carrier, such as T-Mobile @Home) on the phones, although a pre-defined voicemail preset would be handy but I just made it the first speed dial number which is easy enough. The sound quality and clarity is great and I haven't even used the EQ settings on the phones yet. The displays are very legible and keys are easy to use and lit up well. Speakerphone works well both from the handsets and the base and adding expansions is easy. I like the adjustable tilt on the base display and the white backlighting on the screens. Reviewing call logs is easy as is adding numbers to the directory which is shared, although I wish redial was shared amongst all the phones but it's individual to each from what I've found. Setting the time on one phone updates them all along with any other setting changes. The only thing I would have liked would have been a headset jack on the handsets for ease of use while you're busy around the office or the house. The talking caller ID isn't too bad - I don't expect miracles although some simple names trip it up but it's still pretty good. Directory listings stored in the phone take precedence over caller ID and it will speak the directory names, so you could be creative if you chose to give a humorous announcement for someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Some disappointing details

07/18/2011
By ,
Cherokee, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone seems to work fine, but for me there were 2 features that are disappointing. The dial from the base was one feature that was important to me, but once the party answers being not able to pick up the hand set and have the conversation switch to the handset is a real negative. I must pick up the handset press a button to talk and then I have to press a botton on the base
to disconnect from the base unit or I have a stereo conversation.
The second disappointing feature is that call waiting I.D. only displays on the unit that is being used for the conversation. So if I am talking on a handset when a second call comes in, I must either take the phone away from my ear to view caller I.D. or press CID button on the base unit twice to see who is calling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
conferencing feature is a plus
Posted 11/28/2011
I read a review that said "once the party answers being not able to pick up the hand set and have the converstation switch to the handset is a real negative. I must pick up the handset press a button to talk and then I have to press a button on the base to disconnect..."
This is clearly an example of buying a phone without reading enough information about it. The conferencing feature is a PLUS for most users that buy the phone as most phones that support it cost much more. Pushing a couple of buttons to switch from the base is a small inconvenience for having the ability for other people in the house to pick up the phone without having the conversation switch to the other handset. I believe this is the least expensive new phone you can get right now with conferencing, an answering machine, and speakerphone/dialing from the base. (It is also made by V-tech)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great phone!!!

07/01/2011
By ,
Hodgenville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. Has a long range. I can talk to my husband when he is outside thru the intercom on the phone.
The viewing area is white rather than the green on most other models making it easy to see who is calling. It even announces to you the number calling before you pick up. Have only had a few days but it is the best land phone I have ever had.
Easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Exceptional Value and Quality

02/16/2013
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was very good. Shopped online as well as locally and could not find this product for less money. I liked this phone because its base was a phone as well as the two cordless phones that were included. I put this phone in my kitchen and quite often when the phone rings and the cordless phone is not on the base, I am still able to answer the base phone by hitting, Speaker, rather than running around looking for the cordless phone. The extra cordless phone only has to be plugged into an electric outlet. So that allowed me to put it outside on my lanai. Does not need an additional telephone outlet. Has all the features of many of the more expensive phones (caller id, call forwarding etc.) . Sound quality is good and has a volume control. Answering machine also works well. This product served all my needs in a phone and I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone
10/28/2012
By ,
lake tahoe, nv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great phone! easy to use. love the voice caller id, i dont have to run across the room to see who is calling. only one thing is i wish the answer and end button lit up, sometimes hard to see with old eyes. still learning some of the features, other than that i love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone
07/05/2011
By ,
Brooklyn N.Y
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to operate, love the incoming voice caller ID voice. Very clear and good range. Manual is a easy to read but a bit to much. Easy to learn to your own
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cabot, AR
Piece of junk
Posted 07/10/2011
Bought this phone at my local Wal-Mart store on May 30, 2011. Charged the battery on both handsets overnight. Set up and started to use on May 31, 2011 and on June 30, 2011. Phone quit working. Phone would ring for incoming calls but you could not answer, make out going calls or check messages. I bought it only because my dad liked it so I bought it. I've personally never had any luck other than bad luck with anything from AT&T. Will never buy anything from AT&T ever again. Took this phone back and now I'm back to looking for a replacement phone. Save your money and buy something else.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

01/23/2012
By ,
Casa Grande, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had several cordless phones and this is the best EVER. So many features, clear sound and announces caller. Love everything about it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great extras...

07/12/2011
By ,
Owasso, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone does so much its almost overwhelming! I can receive my cell phone calls via blue tooth, which is helpful with an iphone thats low on battery most of the time. My favorite feature is that it tells you outloud who's calling. "call from...." then it when actually say the name of the person. I didn't know it did that until I got my first phone call :) nice surprise actually. Unless you're a really private person, but you can turn that feature off. My only complaint with this phone is the clarity. I hear a bit of static when I'm on the phone, I have noticed it with everyone i've talked to, so I know its on my end. Im considering returning it just based on that, maybe I just got a lemon since everyone else talks about how clear it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
No Bluetooth
Posted 09/09/2011
I did want to clarify that this model does not offer Bluetooth functionality and the review might have been meant for a different model, so please do not be mislead. In spite of that, and knowing there were phones that offered Bluetooth but quite often with their share of headaches, I am happy with these phones.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Causes Security System Alerts

08/19/2012
By ,
Brookside, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have a security system which has access to our phone line. If the phone line appears unavailable, the security systems sounds an alarm and gives the message "Telco interrupted". We never had any problems with our previous wireless phone system, an old Panasonic. When we installed the new AT&T system, we began getting intermittent alarms from our security system. We called AT&T and they were not helpful at all, telling us to contact our security system provider. I explained that this started when we plugged in the AT&T system, but they stated they couldn't help me because it wasn't their problem, it was the security system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Excellent phone

03/06/2012
By ,
Evansville,In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are busy and are usually in different rooms, we run a small business from our home. This allows us to use the intercom system, I don't loose phone calls, great reception. I am very pleased and will recommend this phone to others
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Worth the price!

11/30/2012
By ,
Portland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this phone. It's clear, the answering machine works great, and I love how it tells you who's calling. I'd recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great Phone

01/23/2013
By ,
Lakewood,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the easiest phone in the world to use and to set up. I just hope it last longer than 2 years like my Radio Shack piece of garbage did and at least with an at&t phone if something goes wron with it I know att will give me a new phone
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

So far, so good

06/05/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great so far. I like all the available options though some seem a little confusing so I need to read up on them a little more. I like that I can answer the phone from the base so if you can't find the phone, you can still answer a call before it is forwarded to voicemail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

good enough

06/15/2012
By ,
rahway nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exactly what i need it for to make and receive calls . only thing i dont like is, i cant lower my message recording when someone calls when i dont wanna answer. for example on my old panasonic phone i can lower the answering service where i cant hear it at all when i dont wanna pick up but i can still hear very loudly whos calling with the voice caller id and i wont hear what message they are leaving which i like . on this phone if i lower the answering machine then when phone rings i cant hear the voice caller id or ring tone on answering machine base! thats all but overall good phone i like the ring tones . oh the base for the seperate cordless phones are very light and will move around on a table when placing phone in it. my old panasonic where more stable .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
AT&T cordless phone w/intercom
Posted 08/08/2012
I'm trying to decide between this and a Panasonic or Uniden phone. What is a big deciding factor for me is the comfort of the phone. Does this phone fit well to your ear? Does it hurt your ear; do you find that its "end" button is located too closely to your cheek so that you accidentally hang up; does it slide off your shoulder if you try to rest it on your shoulder while talking? I noticed that the Panasonics have a gripping material on the backs of the handsets. Many models advertise that, but the AT&T says nothing about anything like that. Otherwise, I love the features of this phone above the others as well as the good reviews. Any input from anyone would be helpful!!! Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Yet to find a negative

01/29/2013
By ,
Port Huron, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All necessary features.Well-constructed and designed.Smart-looking.Clear and strong voice.Clear set-up and instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

I love it

09/04/2011
By ,
Garden Grove, Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is more that I expected. It is a answering machine which I did not know. The screen on the base is large so that I can easly read who is calling, (that is what I bought it for) plus orally it will tell you who is calling. If the answering machine is turned off you know you missed a call because it tells you & then all you have to do it check the CID & it tells you who called. It has a choice of many different rings. the back light of the screen is white so it is easy to read. In two words "Love it" Wonderful phone. A+. I have bragged about it more that once. You will also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

obviously excellent

03/02/2013
By ,
fla/33062
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
with just a tad of difficulty closing the battery compartment after installing them, these phones are the best i ever had so far. hope they meet similar future expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great value for your money

09/28/2012
By ,
Virgin Islands
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently got this phone so I haven't explored all its capabilities. I would however say it's lightweight and does what I expected it to do, which is make and receive calls without the battery dying during the call.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CL83201 AT&T 2 Handset Cordless Phone

Great phone at a good price

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced a Panasonic phone with caller ID. The AT&T phone has all of the features I wanted. The large display on the base unit is easy to read and the talking caller ID works well. Range and clarity are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next