Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Coleman Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Enjoy a delicious cup of your favorite java wherever you go with the Coleman Portable Propane Coffeemaker. Its made of genuine stainless steel, which offers the durability needed to ensure long-lasting use. This camping coffeemaker is operated by a single 16.4-oz propane cylinder that keeps an area free from any cords or a percolator. Its ideal equipment to have on hand when hunting, at job sites or camping. This Coleman propane coffeemaker uses 5,000 BTUs of power to prepare up to 10 cups of java in just 18 minutes. Its PerfectFlow regulator enhances the performance of the device by providing a steady fuel stream. The Coleman Portable Propane Coffeemaker is easy to set up and use. Simply press its InstaStart auto ignition button to begin the process. This durable coffeemaker requires a propane cylinder for use, which is sold separately from the unit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

One word WOW!

06/29/2012
By ,
Long Island,N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being I am new to camping I cannot picture a time without such an appliance. I just bought it and received it a couple days ago. I ran two pots of water to break it in a little before brewing my first test pot. First when I took it out of the box I realized what a solid unit this is. A bit on the heavy side, but I have my wagon to haul my stuff so weight isn't an issue. I love the upgrade to a steel pot. So I know I will have this unit practically forever if I take care of it. It brews a perfect pot every time! Just like my brew station. And trust me i'm VERY picky when it comes to my coffee, especially the first cup of the day! So with that said if you are on an itinerary as I will be at Cub parent weekend I plan to get up about a half hour early. Its not fast. 18 mins for a full pot is about right. As a previous review states if you plan to brew a full 10 cup pot you will need to add about a cup of water as it its brewing. What I did was fill the pot and dumped as much as I could into the reservoir, then dumped the rest in a cup and added it as the coffee was brewing. For that reason it would have been nice if they stamped the side of the steel pot so you know how many cups your making or measuring for like a regular coffee pot. The other drawback is you can't keep the pot warm but I will try just turning my grill on low and see how that works. I would only see this being a problem if it was cold out anyway. I also wish you didn't have to buy the storage / carry bag separate. I ordered it because it will help protect my investment and help keep it clean when its not being used. I would rather them charge a few more bucks and include the case which is not usually sold where the coffee maker is. In conclusion despite the few drawbacks that keep this bad boy from being completely perfect, I would highly recommend this to anybody who loves their coffee when camping. I can't wait to"field test" it and my only wish is that my mom could have seen this, she loved to camp and she loved her coffee so i'm sure if this was around while she was alive and going camping I would not have had to buy one. Oh and the other positive I liked is that its all self contained. Which is attractive to take anywhere without having to lug a stove too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

A Happy Camper...? With Coleman Quality...

05/29/2012
By ,
North East Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used it yet...can't WAIT to go camping this season. Bought this among other items recently. Opened up the box to a BEAUTIFUL, QUALITY, STURDY item! Well made!! I chose this one instead of the 'other' Coleman coffee maker, as this can be used on a separate, small propane tank. More versatile, as the other type can ONLY be used on the propane stove. Hum...what about picnics, or in the backyard, or for an extra pot?? Also, I believe the other one has a GLASS carafe. Love the stainless-steel pot...& red...my favorite color! A few years ago I bought a Coleman's blue-enamel perk-coffee-pot but it was a piece of junk, was flimsy & broke before I even used it! (I think that one was about $25) Returned it to Wal-Mart quite easily. Looking forward to a normal, tasty cup of 'Jo' this year. Will mostly be using for yearly-camping trips. Looks to work exactly like my household (cone-drip basket) pot, so, in anticipation of of a perfect brew, I will give this all 5's. I will update review QUICKLY if this turns out to be a piece garbage!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Camp Coffee at its finest

07/13/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy and just like at home. I can't live without my coffee and though this is a bit on the extravagant side for camping....its a must if you gotta have your morning Jo.
I liked that I didn't need to have the campfire going first and no messy coffee grounds to clean-up as you get with a perk-pot strainer......Just put your coffee filter in and go.
I left it out the second night and awoke to rain so the push button ignition didn't spark, so I had to hold a lighter up to the side to get it lit.....ignited right-off (a close one....thought I'd miss out on coffee).
I used the same can of gas for six or seven pots and i can get several more out of it I'm sure.
Truly this is camp coffee at its finest!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

A Camper's Dream Machine!

09/21/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this a few months ago, but wanted to wait and use it a few times before writing a review. All I can say is.... THIS HAS GOT TO BE THE BEST WAY TO MAKE COFFEE EVER!! I too had a percolator that you put on your camp stove or on the grate of the fire your husband had gotten up early to start. Since most stoves only have 2 burners, using the stove was a hassle, especially when trying to fix breakfast too. And on the fire, the coffee pot always got blackened from the ash. And cleaning the grounds out for a second pot was such an ordeal. Anyway what I am trying to say is you will LOVE using this coffee maker. It is truly just like making coffee at home. There are only 2 things I feel should be mentioned. First, this coffee maker does get HOT on the metal part, so be careful. And the other thing is the metal carafe doe NOT hold the heat long enough on a cold morning. (You will need to finish that pot pretty quick). It is a little expensive, but to me it is worth every penny. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good cup of coffee with NO hassle brewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Great Cup of Coffee

03/20/2012
By ,
Memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It makes a great cup of coffee. Easy to use. Only drawback is that you need to fill the reservoir and then fill a cup with the rest of the water and add it after some has brewed to get a full pot. There is probably some lawsuit reason for this so I did not deduct a star.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Very good for camping.

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes coffee just like our electric drip. We are very impressed
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Very convenient. Makes a pretty good cup of coffee

08/02/2014
By ,
Akron, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No need to light the fire or start up the generator anymore when we go to our cabin! Easy to use and clean. Coffee stays hot for a long time when done brewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Quality coffee while dry camping.

08/30/2013
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We don't always have electric hook up while camping in dry camping conditions. The portable generator, although somewhat quiet, can't be run until after 7 AM in consideration of the quiet time for others that are camping also. We like to have our coffee, tasty and hot, around 5 AM. This coffee maker can be used quietly at the earliest hours and not disturb a sole. You do have to wait about 20 minutes for your first cup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

so far best camping coffee maker i have found

11/03/2011
By ,
cocoa, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this for my wife for a cub scout camp out she seems to love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Works perfect

05/23/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. Saves time money and my sanity. Works perfectly and I'd not camp without it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Great

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wont hold whole pot of water in resivior but just added rest of water after started brewing only took 15 min to brew whole pot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Awesome product, starts my day off right on the bo

06/22/2012
By ,
Anderson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is this is an awesome product, really lets me start my day off right on the boat. Coleman hit a homerun with this one, the only thing I would have changed is to maybe have made it have a thermal carafe instead of just being polished steel. I spend a lot of weekends aboard my sailboat, and this definitely lets me bring another comfort of home aboard!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Awesome

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just got back from camping in the adirondacks and we loved it! A must have for coffee drinkers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

great for camping & the beach

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to clean, and very compact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Excellent for Emergencies

06/21/2012
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item on the first of June 2012. Approximately two weeks later we had an unscheduled power outage that lasted more than 8 hours. My home range and oven are electric. While most of my neighbors went out to eat dinner, we continued with our regular routine of cooking a Tri-Tip roast in our portable propane stove, and used the propane range to prepare the potatoes.
When I wanted a cup of coffee, we pulled out the propane coffee pot and made two pot fulls of coffee. Its takes a little longer to brew a pot of coffee compared to an electric coffee maker(15 mins).
The only problem that I had with the coffee maker was an issue with the arm that releases brewed coffee from the drip basket into the coffee pot. When I unpacked the maker from the box, I may have inadvertently dislodged the arm from the side of the maker. While I installed the arm correctly coffee flowed from the brewer basket.
For back-up, I have a Coleman coffee maker that can be used on a propane range. After using it in tests I decided to keep it as back-up and brought the self-contained coffee maker as the primary.
I live in earthquake country, and try to stay prepared. At present I have 60 pounds of propane gas and 200 pounds of charcoal in standby for cooking. I am increasing my propane to 200 pounds during the next year.
Then on to a generator and fuel.... My goal is 30 days self sustained....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Works Great!

08/16/2012
By ,
Litchfield Park, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee pot is great for brewing outside. It has it's own burner and does not take up space on the stove. Brewing time is about the same as for a similar electric pot and has an auto shut-off so you can pour a cup before it is finished brewing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Coleman Propane Coffee Maker

10/05/2012
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This propane coffee maker is great!! We can now have fresh brewed coffee when camping, no more carrying a couple of thermos' and having to reheat the coffee in a pot. It is also great for tailgating. It uses the small propane bottles so we don't have to carry a large bottle and have to get the gas line adapters, since our grill also uses the small bottles. Even great for making coffee in the backyard when we light up the firepit and just want to relax. No more stringing extension cords or having to get up and run in and out of the house for a cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Awesome Pot Of Coffee Fast

08/24/2013
By ,
Cornelius, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our coffee and we love our camping. However this coffeemaker worked so well I would not hesitate to use it in any situation where hot coffee in the go is a must. Brewed quickly and when set on low kept the pot warm without overheating the coffee. We used it multiple times over four days and it did not use even one tank of propane. I found it a little pricey considering however it did not disappoint.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Great coffee

07/10/2013
By ,
Spokane ,wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make real good coffee. Take a long time, and only make small amount of coffee. But it's only camp coffee maker so it great coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Portable Propane Coffee Maker

Makes Good Coffee

01/17/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tried percolators and never could make a good cup of coffee while camping. This is just what we needed. Tastes just like the coffee we make at home. I had a small problem when we first got it and customer service could not have been better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next