Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Make your busy schedule a whole lot more manageable with this digital microwave oven with 1000 watts of meal preparation power.
Average Customer Rating:
2.513 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation38%28 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Just purchased it

01/07/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews after purchasing the microwave. Most of them are negative in their content, and some with good reason.
I'm writing at this time just to say it is working correctly after 3 days of use. Only time will tell regarding the durability of this microwave. My previous microwaves have been failing after three to four years of use. I feel that they should provide a longer service life, but that's why I purchase the inexpensive models.
In the future I will follow up with progress reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 22 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Ongoing Problem....RETURNING!

11/30/2011
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this micro after my old, large Kenmore finally gave out (was over 18 years old) when trying to start to heat/cook, timer shows a countdown and doesnt come on. stop, reset, still will not come on and heat, repeatedly shows the tier counting down.
I called Hamilton Beach, was told, politely, return it to the store since I have my receipt and its within the 90 guarentee time period.....even when I told HB I did not have the box. Will be taking it back to Wal-Mart tonight or in the morning.
1:00, :59, :58, :57, :56, :55, :54......all I want to do is heat leftover soup!!! GRRR!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 23 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

does not last long

01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stop working after 10 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 24 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

lasted 4 months then stopped working

01/02/2012
By ,
Exton, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this microwave in august 2011 and it suddenly stopped working after 4 months. the 3 months wallmart warranty was gone and the manufacturer warranty is very difficult to activate and will probably take months before it will be fixed or replaced.
the features were ok, not many automatique functions but it was fine, there is definitly better product on the market for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 25 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Did not work out of box

11/20/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great, all the features we wanted and the price was right. Got home and the microwave does not work. The turntable does not turn. The light did not work. And the fuse was blown. I service ovens and fixed all but the turntable motor. Will have to order one from HB to repair.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 26 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

1st one broke after a month, 2nd after 4 months!!!

01/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AVOID this microwave! I wish I read the reviews first but we needed a microwave and this one looked fine. The first one stopped heating after about a month so I returned it to the store, no big deal I thought, it happens. However, now the 2nd one just stopped working, and of course just outside of the 90 days I had to return it. With this one, it's just dead, no power, nothing. Save yourself the trouble and go with I different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Don't waste your money

02/09/2013
By ,
sterling,ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it as a Christmas present for my daughter- I thought Hamilton Beach was a good name and it was on sale. My daughter and husband loved it - but as soon as they plugged it it turned on , it wouldn't shut off no matter which button was pushed. When they called H.B.- their response was to return it to Walmart. I should have listened more to my late parents- "you get what you pay for" and "spend a little more, it'll be worth it in the long run".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 28 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
09/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Failed after about 6 months of use! Features, looks and performance were fine until it died. Unless you only need a microwave for a few weeks, then you probably don't want this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 29 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Defective Cooling Fan

11/27/2011
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
COPY OF EMAIL SENT TO WAL-MART BENTONVILLE
Hamilton Beach 1000 watt microwave oven:
I purchased this oven I believe 2-3 weeks ago for about $58. Great price! But...from day one, I thought this oven ran awfully quite. Then one day I noticed it was making a loud vibrating sound. Turns out the cooling fan is defective runs sometimes not others and if used long enough, even with the fan running, to heat an item such as a caserole the outer skin becomes very hot and the oven shuts off because of the over temperature switch. After cooling 15 minutes the display comes back on and will once again operate. I have a lot of expirience in appliance repairs just so you know. I've seen the hundreds stacked in all your stores...good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 30 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Hamilton Beach should junk this one!

01/24/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this for Christmas 2011. On January 20th 2012 it stopped working. It won't even light up. Hamilton Beach should be ashamed to put their name on this product. Clearly from all the negatives I read that 75% of these Microwaves are lemons. DON"T BUY IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 31 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Microwave looks nice and is the perfect size BUT, after about 3 or 4 minutes shuts off and will not restart till it cools down. Works perfectly for things that only take a minute or two. Top of microwave gets really, really hot! Returned it after a week. Wish I had read the reviews prior to buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 32 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Junk - Damaged Goods

01/08/2012
By ,
Rochester NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave oven at Walmart. When I got home and took it out of the box, I found the microwave oven was damaged. There is a metal plate that covers the outside bottom of the microwave. The metal plate was bent terribly. The screws holding it in place were put in wrong forcing it to bend. Obviously there was no quality inspection of this when it was made. PURE JUNK. I immediately return this to Walmart for a fund refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 33 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Here's your warning...

03/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is a piece of junk! We were in a pinch and bought a microwave to fit our basic microwaving needs... warming up a piece of pizza..or popping popcorn..etc... Apparently we were too trusting of Wal-Mart's products, and threw away the box it came in. After the first week of use, power cuts off automatically after first minute of use, which makes the product absolutely worthless. Can not heat food, pop popcorn....power and clock resets automatically for no apparent reason. Working with manufacturer to resolve problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 34 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Broke after 6 Months

02/27/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very unsatisfied. I bought this microwave for my new apartment. I thought it was a great price but I guess I got what I payed for. Last week it started acting funny and would overheat turn off. The light dims and it makes weird noises whenever I try to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

DOES NOT WORK

06/05/2011
By ,
32960
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice clock light comes on table spins but does not heat the food. This is my 2nd one in two days on to number 3. I cant find a microwave with solid reviews I guess its luck of the draw these days my last microwave lasted over 10 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/22/2011
I know! I've found lots of products walmart sells get poor reviews. They are so poorly made. I don't understand why they can't just hang on to a model that works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

This Product is JUNK

09/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is a piece of JUNK!!!! Mine just stopped working after having it only a month. It comes on but does not heat. After doing some searching I have found several people with the same problem. DO NOT BUY THIS MICROWAVE!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 37 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Stops Heating!

12/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never write reviews but I have to in this case, this microwave was great in the beginning, but just like others have mentioned it stops heating. It has lasted about 6 months, a major disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 38 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

**Junker that does not heat**

09/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped heating less than 1 week after purchase. Called Hamilton Beach customer support - they said to just return it to Walmart for another one. Going to get a different model. Do not buy this Hamilton Beach microwave!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Review 39 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

waste of money

09/22/2011
By ,
Chicago Suburbs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this microwave on July 20th from my local Walmart to replace my 10 year old microwave. I did not want to spend a lot of money and just wanted a basic model for heating coffee, popcorn, and hot dogs for the kids. We use our microwave several times a day, but as of September 20th, this microwave no longer works. It will run, but never gets hot as if the heating element has blown. The front plastic has also begun to crack over the "reset" button as well the "start/stop" button. I made the mistake of throwing away the box at 30 days, not expecting it to stop working at 60 days. So now I am stuck with a broken microwave that I am unable to return to Walmart. I am planning to contact Hamilton Beach in hopes that they will help. Bottom line, don't waste your money on this microwave!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Keep your receipt -- you WILL return this!!!
Posted 03/03/2012
I had to replace our 10+ year old microwave and did not have $300 to spend. I went to Walmart, looked at the various models, and decided on Hamilton Beach since it was "name brand," had the basic features I needed, and the price was great. I took it home, put it in the same spot as my old microwave, and started using it. After about the 4th use, it starting blowing a fuse every time I used it. So...I moved it to another location..and the same thing happened. Luckily, I still had my receipt and was able to exchange it at Walmart for another microwave -- same model and brand. Same thing happened...worked a few times, then started blowing fuses. (We did check and make sure there was no issue with our electrical and it WAS the microwave.) I am, once again, off to Walmart to return it for a full refund. This was a complete dissapointment and waste of time and money.
0points
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Box for what
Posted 10/01/2011
Read the return policy. Do you have the receipt? I know you have 90 days with walmart returns.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 40 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Only if you're looking for a disposable....

09/25/2011
By ,
Slidell, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is the perfect color and size for my counter. Unfortunately, it only works for approximately 3-4 months and then completely stops. This has happened twice now. The first time I thought it was just a fluke. This time I'll be looking for another brand. Some component must be faulty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
21-40 of 64 total reviews