Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Make your busy schedule a whole lot more manageable with this digital microwave oven with 1000 watts of meal preparation power.
Average Customer Rating:
2.513 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation38%28 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Just purchased it

01/07/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews after purchasing the microwave. Most of them are negative in their content, and some with good reason.
I'm writing at this time just to say it is working correctly after 3 days of use. Only time will tell regarding the durability of this microwave. My previous microwaves have been failing after three to four years of use. I feel that they should provide a longer service life, but that's why I purchase the inexpensive models.
In the future I will follow up with progress reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 22 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

does not last long

01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stop working after 10 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 23 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Did not work out of box

11/20/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great, all the features we wanted and the price was right. Got home and the microwave does not work. The turntable does not turn. The light did not work. And the fuse was blown. I service ovens and fixed all but the turntable motor. Will have to order one from HB to repair.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 24 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Not up to the usual Hamilton Beach quality

02/08/2012
By ,
Mansfield, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the product on January 30, 2012.
This is the only item on a 10 amp circiut and it still trips the breaker on most uses. I am sure this is indicative of a more severe problem in the future and I will be returning the item before it fails entirely.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

lasted 4 months then stopped working

01/02/2012
By ,
Exton, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this microwave in august 2011 and it suddenly stopped working after 4 months. the 3 months wallmart warranty was gone and the manufacturer warranty is very difficult to activate and will probably take months before it will be fixed or replaced.
the features were ok, not many automatique functions but it was fine, there is definitly better product on the market for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

* DO NOT BUY * Died within months of purchase

02/25/2012
By ,
Central TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I echo 75% of the other negative reviews on this microwave. Worked perfect for a short time, now just turns on and spins, but no heat. Walmart now carries this as an "Online / ship to store" item. BUYER BEWARE!
Guess it's time to go "Office Space" this thing, what a waste as we purchased in store for $99. Now they are $63, not even worth that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Don't buy this microwave, piece of junk !

09/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this microwave for our son for his dorm room. The first time he tried it, the turntable worked, the light worked inside, but it did NOT heat up at all !! We had to quickly go out & buy a different microwave, (not a Hamilton Beach brand I assure you). We quickly returned this one to Walmart, and while in line waiting to return it noticed another microwave, (same exact kind had already been returned). Needless to say we will not again buy any type of appliance by Hamilton Beach. I don't think it is the fault of Walmart, but that of the manufacturer, for producing a poorly constructed product. Save yourself an extra trip back to the store by passing this particular microwave up when shopping for one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 28 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Died after one year!

02/19/2013
By ,
East Troy, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What does it matter if it looks good if it doesn't work after only ONE year? Up until then it worked fine. I wrote the date we purchased it on the back of it and sure enough, just like the last microwave, it only lasted one year. Things aren't made like they used to be. We only use it to heat vegetables or reheat drinks. I have a Hotpoint in the barn that gets more use and have had it since 2008. This one is junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Busted upon arrival...

03/02/2013
By ,
Bowling Green, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The entire side of the microwave was indented a good inch/inch-and-a-half when I opened the package. I would have normally assumed poor shipping conditions, until I noticed that the styrofoam blocks it was packed in were completely unharmed... Who does not check their products before packing and shipping?!?! Not pleased with Hamilton Beach; will never buy the brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 30 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
09/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Failed after about 6 months of use! Features, looks and performance were fine until it died. Unless you only need a microwave for a few weeks, then you probably don't want this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 31 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Out of the box - door would not close completely.

10/22/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this microwave to use at work. Got it all set up. Ran the microwave box down to my car (all of this before my work day was scheduled to start). Dummy me, waited to plug it in until after I took the box down to my car. Didn't dawn on me that a brand new product would not work properly! Once, I plugged it in - the light would not go off and that's when I saw that door would not close completely. So, now I have to go back down to the car, get the box, pack it all back up, and take it back for a refund. I am definitely going to buy a different brand. :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 32 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
03/17/2013
By ,
Morris,Il.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave 3/13/2013, three days later my wife was heating a cup of coffee and hit the start button and it blew the breaker. I bought this before I read the reviews. Over half of them had one star and it said about kicking the breaker out. I put it back in the box and took it back to the store. I looked at reviews on others and decided to go with a Magic Chef.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

DOES NOT WORK

06/05/2011
By ,
32960
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice clock light comes on table spins but does not heat the food. This is my 2nd one in two days on to number 3. I cant find a microwave with solid reviews I guess its luck of the draw these days my last microwave lasted over 10 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/22/2011
I know! I've found lots of products walmart sells get poor reviews. They are so poorly made. I don't understand why they can't just hang on to a model that works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 34 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Had to return the product in less than 3 weeks.

07/14/2013
By ,
El Centro, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rotating platter stopped spinning when the microwave was operating. Not that it is the brand problem, but I drive nearly 175 miles round trip to this Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

WARNING -- DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never Worked from the moment I purchased this complete waste of money. I purchased this Hamilton beach microwave last night. I set it up today and attempted to heat up some left overs. Timer and fan ran but no heat. Total junk. Waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 36 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

waste of money

09/22/2011
By ,
Chicago Suburbs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this microwave on July 20th from my local Walmart to replace my 10 year old microwave. I did not want to spend a lot of money and just wanted a basic model for heating coffee, popcorn, and hot dogs for the kids. We use our microwave several times a day, but as of September 20th, this microwave no longer works. It will run, but never gets hot as if the heating element has blown. The front plastic has also begun to crack over the "reset" button as well the "start/stop" button. I made the mistake of throwing away the box at 30 days, not expecting it to stop working at 60 days. So now I am stuck with a broken microwave that I am unable to return to Walmart. I am planning to contact Hamilton Beach in hopes that they will help. Bottom line, don't waste your money on this microwave!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Keep your receipt -- you WILL return this!!!
Posted 03/03/2012
I had to replace our 10+ year old microwave and did not have $300 to spend. I went to Walmart, looked at the various models, and decided on Hamilton Beach since it was "name brand," had the basic features I needed, and the price was great. I took it home, put it in the same spot as my old microwave, and started using it. After about the 4th use, it starting blowing a fuse every time I used it. So...I moved it to another location..and the same thing happened. Luckily, I still had my receipt and was able to exchange it at Walmart for another microwave -- same model and brand. Same thing happened...worked a few times, then started blowing fuses. (We did check and make sure there was no issue with our electrical and it WAS the microwave.) I am, once again, off to Walmart to return it for a full refund. This was a complete dissapointment and waste of time and money.
0points
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Box for what
Posted 10/01/2011
Read the return policy. Do you have the receipt? I know you have 90 days with walmart returns.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 37 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Absolute waste, Stopped working after 6 months

01/12/2013
By ,
Bloomfield, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never wrote any reviews before this one...., but was so disappointed with this product. Don't waste your money. I guarantee it will pack up in a few months like mine that stopped working after 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 38 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven
01/04/2012
By ,
Patterson, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks great, priced right, out of the box and plugged in --- DOOR DID NOT CLOSE CORRECTLY! Returning it straightaway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 39 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Junk - Damaged Goods

01/08/2012
By ,
Rochester NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave oven at Walmart. When I got home and took it out of the box, I found the microwave oven was damaged. There is a metal plate that covers the outside bottom of the microwave. The metal plate was bent terribly. The screws holding it in place were put in wrong forcing it to bend. Obviously there was no quality inspection of this when it was made. PURE JUNK. I immediately return this to Walmart for a fund refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 40 for Hamilton Beach 1.1 cu ft Digital Microwave Oven

Don't bother.

12/12/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this microwave for exactly one month and decided to return it. I was very unhappy with the way it heated things and when in use it was very loud. The plastic over the start button had already started to crack too! Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
21-40 of 64 total reviews