Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Rival Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Grab a quick snack or a hot meal with the Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven. This sleek, Rival Microwave Oven features one touch cooking settings that allow you to heat a variety of foods. Plus, this Black Microwave Oven gives you ten power levels to give you control for perfect heating results every time. Additional features of this Rival Microwave Oven include 6 program settings, defrost setting, clock with timer, and 900 watts of power. A child safety lock makes this Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven an ideal microwave for you family.
Average Customer Rating:
2.461 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation38%29 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Works great

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best deal for power/dollar out there
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

COOL FOR THE PRICE BUT NOT FOR THE LONG RUN!

07/15/2011
By ,
CHICAGO,IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this microwave last month and at a nice price. It was a nice looking microwave. I had it for a month and now it doesn't heat food any more and it doesn't shut off. I have to either leave the door open or unplug it to shut it off. I called Rival and let them know what the problem was and they called the Walmart I purchased it from and they are going to exchange it(with no receipt and no box) So hopefully this one can upstand warming my food and can last longer than a month!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New jersey
rival phone number
Posted 08/07/2011
Hi, I have the same problem may I ask what is the phone number to call?
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Look at the reviews before purchasing a product...

05/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for the office break room. Took it out of the box, never used, plugged it in...nothing happened. Tried another plug and resetting the outlets, still nothing. Tried 3 different plugs and the microwave never functioned. No power at all ever came to this microwave. So disappointing. Returned it and bought another brand with great reviews. Check the reviews before purchasing the product...I learned my lesson the hard way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

It died after 4 days.

05/30/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The microwave was completely dead 4 days after we bought it. While it was working, it took a long time to heat anything (e.g. 5 minutes for a hot pocket). We had the .7 cubic feet microwave and a regular 3.5 oz. popcorn bag couldn't fit and wouldn't rotate in it. The alarm that goes off when the food is done is the loudest, longest (about 6 beeps), and most annoying I've heard on a microwave. Sort of glad it died so we can get a new and better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

DOA (well, can't shut it off after you plug it in)

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needed a cheap small microwave so gave this one a shot. After I got it unpacked and plugged in, the microwave would not shut off. Once you closed the door the light, fan, and turntable all stayed on like the microwave was running. I placed a cup of water in there for a few minutes to see if it was actually heating it up, but it was not (even though it was giving all appearances of staying on). Pressing the buttons will not turn it off. Complete piece of junk. Save the hassle with this one.
Also, I did a few internet searches after I purchased this; I wasn't the only one with this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Powerful and easy to use

07/07/2011
By ,
Voorheesville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a few weeks of owning this microwave, I find that it's just wonderful! It's 900 watts, so it's got great power. Food heats evenly and quickly. My 7 year old son and I find that it's easy to use; his favorite feature is the popcorn button. The 30 second button is very convenient. The button to open the door seems a bit flimsy, but time will tell on it's durability. It's light weight and the size is just right for a dinner plate or 2 cereal bowls. The price was wonderful and we couldn't be happier with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
IL
WARNING Peeling Paint
Posted 07/19/2013
DO NOT buy this product after ONLY 1 year the paint starts to bubble & peel inside.
0points
Customer Avatar
Midwest city ok
Junk
Posted 06/22/2013
This item is no good bought and had for a little over a month and when I hand wash it out starts peeling and rusting. I would not recommend u buy this microwave.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Reliable and easy to use, a good value, too.

03/26/2013
By ,
South Fork, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this microwave for about six months and I am quite happy with it. It replaced a stainless steal Emerson that had problems with the platter rotating off when I was cooking, so I saw this unit and hoped it would work properly and it did. Six months later I have no complaints at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

DO NOT BUY!!

05/04/2014
By ,
Schenectady, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had my last microwave for 14 years before it quit on me... I decided to pick this one up and Ive had it for 5 weeks and it stopped working. the touch pad and light work but it will not cook. I guess I have to go through the warranty process now. I'll update & let you know how that worked out :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Rival 0.9 cu. ft. microwave

03/27/2014
By ,
Erwin, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is total junk!!! I bought it about 4-5 wks ago and of course its the ONE receipt I can't find to return it!! Its making awful noise when I try to cook something and there was a cracking noise when I push the start button. NOW....its not heating at all. I also have a Rival 4 slice toaster which is also total junk. It cooks hotter on one side of the bread than the other and now 2 of the slots arent working at all. I only had this item for about 6 mo. or so. Buyer beware.....just saying!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Excellent Value

09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our over the range microwave died last night so I wanted to get something fast just to use till we replaced it. Picked out one and went to get a shopping cart and on the way back saw a stack of this one for half the price I was going to spend. I figured why not give it a shot.. $55 and it was 900 watts .
Couldn't believe how well it worked when I got it home, and it's not bad looking either. I've read the other reviews that trashed this product but based on my experience I give it 5 stars.
Even my wife likes it and she usually hates anything cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Palmdale, California
That's EXACTLY how I felt the first 2 days!!!....
Posted 10/31/2011
I hate to tell you this, but that's EXACTLY how I felt the first 2 days I owned it. Within 2 weeks it basically stopped working except the "30 second" button. Not to rain on your parade, but I've actually been going back & forth with rival over email trying to figure out what they can do to resolve this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Perfect for College Student

10/27/2013
By ,
Putney Vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this microwave for my college dorm room. It works excellent it is very power full for its size and cost which was a great price! Its Simple to use and its better at cooking food then my 1200 watt microwave in my family's kitchen at home and that is new also. Great Product would recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

It's just the first day, but I love this so far.

10/31/2012
By ,
Kingston, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm hesitant to rave about this Rival 900W, after reading all the negative reviews. But this is exactly what I've wanted. Compact, nice quick heating, and to the right temperature. Heats a meal evenly right to the middle of the big dinner plate. Smart beverage heating too -- when I use the "larger mug " program I get perfect temperature coffee. Big bowl of soup heated for 3 min 30 secs, perfect too. Yes, I'm a heavy user, all this on the first day. Mostly to heat up things. The touch pad feels sturdy enough, sturdier than the other brands on the shelf. I would prefer the rotating glass tray sat more securely on its shaft. I just got this today... wish I had more days to report on. I look forward to discovering whether this good experience will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

I didnt get what I paid for!

08/03/2013
By ,
Suwannee County, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this about 2 months ago, worked great. Probably still does, I'm not going to be the one trying it out again. Since I've noticed all this peeling on the inside of the Microwave, exposing rusty and dark looking places on the edges some 1/4" -1/2" in length, I'm not comfortable eating anything cooked or heated up in this. I will never buy another Rival product again. We get what we pay for? On a limited income, should've got better than this!! Down below where it says I 'Never' use it, I dont anymore due to the nasty way it looks old and rusted out inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Mr

05/29/2011
By ,
cbarbee64
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HEATS UNEVENLY, AND BUTTONS ARE ALREADY WORN AFTER 2WEEK USE
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbia, PA
about the buttons
Posted 08/29/2011
I had the same problem with the buttons wearing off. But then I realized there is a thin plastic covering on it. It starts at the top of where you see the time display. Once you pull that off you will see it's difficult to wear off those buttons.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Fabulous microwave for the price !

02/23/2013
By ,
Shreveport LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have one and bought this one and had it shipped to my mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Kudos to Eric--Great example of customer service!!

05/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thanks to Eric, Rival/Walmart Customer Support Representative, I was able to exchange and replace my Rival 0.9 cu ft microwave at Walmart.
The back story is, I purchased the microwave after April, 2013. Unfortunately it stopped working May, 2014. None of the features worked. And I had lost my receipt.
Kudos to Eric for asking the right questions and instructing me on the steps to take to resolve my issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Keep your money in your purse/wallet/bank account

04/23/2014
By ,
Memphis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this whack microwave today 4/23/14. It is now sitting in the box of which it came in. Reason being is the door will NOT stay close. Not to forget to mention that I held the door close punched in a time and pressed the start button it never came on. My other microwave went out today and at this time Walmart's customer service is closed. So at this present moment I have nothing. This makes me so freakin angry. Do yourself a favor and do NOT buy this piece of junk or you will prob end up disappointed as I am now!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

DOES THE JOB

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS IS MY SECOND ONE - ECONOMICAL - LIKE THE TURNTABLE. MY PREVIOUS ONE LASTED ABOUT 2 1/3 YRS WHICH BY INDUSTRY STANDARDS IS THE NORM FOR THESE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Great Small Sized Microwave

04/07/2014
By ,
Mount Dora, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had Rival microwaves in the past as well as other brands. Every brand but the Rival failed me before its time should have been up. This is the second Rival Ive had and they all work great. They don't have the flaws that others seem to have. Others break down before their time and cost a whole lot more! Its small size is good for the smaller kitchen I have as well. The price of Rival's are always reasonable and seem to be on sale all the time too. I will continue to use Rival for a lifetime. The remainder of it anyway!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rival 0.9-cu ft Microwave Oven, Black
06/21/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i had this microwave for about a month and i had no problems with it. i dont know if it is cause i dont use it everyday. i use it every other day or so. but im happy with it, and price is a fair deal, all microwaves this size are about same.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next