Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

The Mainstays TV stand is a good base for flat-screen televisions. The 42-inch flat-screen TV stand is ideal for televisions with a width less than 43.1 inches and a weight of about 95 pounds. This wood television stand has two shelves in the center where you can keep your audio and video components. Two cabinets on each side of this TV stand provide additional space for DVDs, gaming devices, and other items. The TV stand can be assembled at home without much effort. The Mainstays TV Stand is made from engineered wood with a black laminating finish that makes it sturdy and attractive. Its sleek look and neat finish further enhance the beauty of your flat-screen television.
Average Customer Rating:
4.26 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(704 Reviews) 614
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
391
4 stars
206
3 stars
47
2 stars
19
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation89%630 out of 704reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 232 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
391
4 stars
206
3 stars
47
2 stars
19
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Excellent value, solid stand

12/24/2012
By ,
plover, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble in less than 1 hour. Looks nice and very solid. I did not need anything other than a hammer and a Phillips screwdriver to assemble and it's very sturdy! Highly recommended for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Patience pays off!

02/25/2012
By ,
Southside, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll start with the shipment, Item arrived on time and packaging was very big & heavy. It is highly recommended to team lift the unit. I was worried that it will arrive damaged however everything was good condition.
Assembly took me almost 1hr 30min because I was assembling it by myself, team assembly is the key here. Before assembling I highly recommend having a Hand Vacuum & Duster in reach for easy clean up - unit had lots of wood dust. The instructions were very thorough, patience and following the directions will pay off!
When everything was set up and assembled I was very happy with my purchased! A colleague of mine saw the TV Stand and thought that I bought it for a lot of money, he does not know that I saved a lot of money by buying at Walmart.
This TV Stand is Great, Wonderful, and - Fabulous!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

6 Months and Counting

05/17/2013
By ,
OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first home in October. This was the first item I purchased. My sister and I put it together with ease. It only took us about 30 minutes. My REALLY large wireless internet receiver fits well in the right cabinet, it was easy to cut a hole in the back for a cord. I have a 42" flat screen TV that fits perfectly. The only thing I don't LOVE is that if you follow the directions when you put the back on, the hole for the power cords in the center is located inconveniently at the bottom. It could probably be remedied if you thought about it before hand. Just depend on where you want your DVD player. It was also easy to move. I am remodeling the first room it was in and moved it to another room with no issues.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

great buy

05/10/2013
By ,
houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came on time. none of the pieces were broken, there were actually extra screws and things in the pack for you incase something goes wrong. In the beginning it was kind of difficult to understand the directions, however, once you got it, it went well. Was set up in about one hour. It looks GREAT. The black finish to it is exactly what I wanted. I saw a table almost similar to this for double the price. I keep getting compliments about it and asked where did I get it from and all I could say is Walmart.com. I did have a problem with some of the coloring on the wood coming off while I was putting it up, as well as slight lines being formed but I know that was created by me and how I was handling the product while fixing it up. Just don't force anything too much and you won't have that problem. But it fits my 43" tv very well and the table in itself is very heavy and rich looking. once again great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

great for a first apartment

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
furnishing my first apartment. bought this tv cabinet, its a little smaller then i first expected but thats okay. it was really easy to put together. the directions had pictures, corresponding numbers and letters for each piece of the cabinet. had written instructions to accompany the pictures. if you dont mind a bit of a puzzle its really super easy. just follow the directions and it all goes together sturdy as can be.
i read about some of these press board pieces being super unstable but im finding that its strong and steady. when constructed properly it certainly lives up to expectations
if you are trying to buy a piece of furniture that comes pre-assembled and you are not a diy type of person, this furniture piece is not for you.
overall i love it, and would buy it again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Mainstays Entertainment Center for Flat Panel TV

01/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this TV Stand; I only wish it had come in a lighter color of wood tone instead of just the dark Ebony. There are a couple of concerns with the set up of this TV stand. First off I am not crazy about how the doors fit on the two (2) side cabinets; but that may have just been me and maybe further adjustment to the doors may correct this; not sure. The one other thing was the fact that they gave you some little pads to nail onto the feet or legs of the stand. Ok, if this is going to be placed on carpet, I wouldn't use these pads at all. On the other hand; if going onto a hardwood floor I would use them but as small as they are I would pre-drill a very small hole in each leg of the stand to except these nails/pads; as one of the ones I installed split the particle board leg of my stand. In other words be careful when or if installing these pads. Will add a new TV soon as the one I have here isn't even a Flat Panel TV.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"
10/14/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is even better than I was thinking it should be. looks great in my apartment. Nice size for 42" flat TV! Easy to assemble, took me about an hour.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Very Great Buy

12/05/2010
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This piece has plenty of storage for all of your electronics. We currently have an X-box, a DVR, a sound system and a stereo all tucked into the shelves, and it looks great! The little doors are great for storing loose wires or controllers, there is ample space in them as well. This piece has held up through 3 moves, and still remains sturdy. It looks great when kady-cornered, and the wires are easy to get to from the back. I would recommend this piece to anyone looking for practicality. It also pairs well with the black Parson's end tables.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Excellent TV Stand!!

08/01/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed a cheap tv stand for my 40'' samsung tv, and saw this online went to the store bought it the picture on the box looked average. but it was cheap so i got it had walmart put it together for me took 3days which wasnt a problem, when i got home i couldnt belive how beautiful it looked. for a $60 tv stand i was exspecting some thing cheap. but i was wrong it looked like i spent a over a hundred for this tv stand my girlfriend was even blown away when i told her it was just $60 i would def recomend this to anyone who is looking for a good looking tv stand for a cheap price and if the pictures turn you off ignor them becuase after its build your jaw will drop!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Great buy

02/20/2014
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was a ease. Took me about two hours only because I have a two year old who kept wanting to help. It looks great and I have a 50 inch so a little bigger then what it's made for but it still holds up nicely.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Simple, Stylish, and a Steal

01/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this was great. It took maybe 25 mins to put together, looks just like it does in the pictures. It fits my 42inch TV perfectly and looks great in my bedroom. Met all of my expectations. Plenty of room for several of my video game consoles, and room to store some games.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Easy to assemble

01/01/2011
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This entertainment center is just perfect for my apartment. It's the perfect size, looks really good and was really easy to assemble. I am very pleased and would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Sharp looking for low price

01/25/2011
By ,
Pocono Mountains, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv stand is perfect for our new flat screen tv. We couldn't spend much on a stand and chose this one for it's reasonable price. It was simple assembly and we are getting a lot of compliments on its look. Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

you don't have to have a flat screen

09/20/2011
By ,
New Orleans LA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is soooo nice I don't have a flat screen, this stand holds my 32in. tv well. No shakes or wobbles at all. real easy to put togather and I did it by myself yeah me, lol... adds a nice touch to my Pewter/Black Leather sectional sofa. thanks WalMart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

I was more than satisfied..

09/13/2012
By ,
albany, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I have a 9 month old that is all over the place and I wanted something very sturdy..There was a broken piece...I just put some wood glue on it and kept building..it took me more than an hour to put together but I was happy with the finishing product..** now I'm waiting on my tv to arrive
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Great Value but too much work

12/01/2011
By ,
Union City, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did everything all by myself. From carrying the heavy box from Walmart to my car and to my living room. It was a pain. I assembled everything without anyone's help. I really don't need a man. a 30-year old petite, 102 lbs woman can do the work! I started from 7pm and finished 1am-ish.... (had like 30 min break)...
For the money, yes!!! i approve!
For the work, ughhhh!!!!
Checkout the finished product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Economical and Elegant

11/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42 inches is not only economical but also elegant. It took about two hours to assemble. It required Phillips screwdriver, flat head screwdriver, and a hammer. The instructions were clearly labeled which was a big help. It was extremely easy to assemble. I think the only challenging part of assembly was installing the doors. When you screw in the door, be careful not to press the hinge of the door against the body of the table or you may risk scratching the finish on the door or the table. Also, the wood material is not flimsy but it is not solid oak either. So, I would not recommend using power tools as you may damage the wood. Again basic tools are all you will need for assembly. Although this television stand is not high end, it surely complements the more expensive furniture in my living room with its sleek design. I plan on purchasing the companion audio towers to fill out the media center. I think it will look great when all of the pieces are together!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

receive it damaged...

12/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
receive it damaged, surface cracked, only realize that after I open the package, too much work to pack it to return so I took the lost. I will Never buy furniture from Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Great for the money.

12/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my boyfriend put this stand together. When he opened the package, he gave me the dirtiest look. There's a billion little screws and whatnot that goes in this thing. Three hours later (be careful you don't split the particle board) and you have a semi-heavy, sturdy TV stand.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat-Screen TVs up to 42"

Solid and sturdy and strong.

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a solid and sturdy product. I gave it 4 stars only because of the height, it's a bit low.
The assembly instructions were easy to follow but it took about 3hrs to put together. I was surprised at the weight, when put together, it's rather weighty which makes it stable and prevents any kind of movement.
I think this will last a very long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 615 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next